All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone

All pure media nonsense. Most fair minded Dublin supporters respect Tyrone and would be wary of them after Omagh earlier in the Summer. Dublin seem to have more strings to their bow but in a once off game anything can happen. If they played 10 times Dublin would probably win a higher percentage of the tussles but with the exception of the semi-final last year they are normally tight and tense affairs with no more than a kick of the ball between them. If Dublin lose the final. the media will have a field day on it. Dublin are favourites but tyrone are there on merit and deserve their place in the final. Only issue I have with the format is that you could have a situation with Tyrone having lost twice in the championship ending up with Sam and Dublin can lose once and up without it.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 16/08/2018 17:00:12    2133902

Replying To IrishGael3:  "You know something maybe they should just cancel the final this year and give the cup to Dublin now. Tyrone are in final fair and square - they had to beat what's in front of them so they're the best of the rest. This doesn't seem to be good enough for some people - would the Dubs and others prefer an easier game to give them the 4 in a row? Seriously in a one off game anything is possible - Tyrone as much as people don't like them will not just show up in final and get heavily beaten. Any semi is a game most footballers hate - it's just needs to be won to get into final - no matter how badly you play. The final Tyrone will plan and scheme and do whatever to try and win this game. I just wonder if Tyrone do win will they get the respect they deserve or will people just wheel out all the usual nonsense - Tyrone cynical, dirty, divers blah blah blah!!! Last team going for a string of visctories was Kerry in 2008 and who stopped that?"
I don't think there is any bias against Tyrone regarding posters calling how the game will go. Tyrone have been brilliant so far this year and are definitely the best of the challengers to Dublin. The problem is that Dublin are way ahead of the challengers and domination in any sport leads to apathy from general public. I think most of the neutrals want Tyrone to really put it up to Dublin in the final. The evidence points to a Dublin victory but you just never know.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 16/08/2018 17:02:47    2133903

Tyrone seem to have picked up a lot of American support. Maybe even Trump will turn up at the game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/08/2018 17:32:40    2133906

No fairytale ending here im afraid.
Dublin by 8+.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 16/08/2018 18:33:44    2133921

Replying To IrishGael3:  "You know something maybe they should just cancel the final this year and give the cup to Dublin now. Tyrone are in final fair and square - they had to beat what's in front of them so they're the best of the rest. This doesn't seem to be good enough for some people - would the Dubs and others prefer an easier game to give them the 4 in a row? Seriously in a one off game anything is possible - Tyrone as much as people don't like them will not just show up in final and get heavily beaten. Any semi is a game most footballers hate - it's just needs to be won to get into final - no matter how badly you play. The final Tyrone will plan and scheme and do whatever to try and win this game. I just wonder if Tyrone do win will they get the respect they deserve or will people just wheel out all the usual nonsense - Tyrone cynical, dirty, divers blah blah blah!!! Last team going for a string of visctories was Kerry in 2008 and who stopped that?"
Could you swing that?

I'll throw you a few quid...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/08/2018 18:55:43    2133927

Replying To jimbodub:  "Could you swing that?

I'll throw you a few quid..."
Not sure if I can jimbodub but how much are you talking about?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 16/08/2018 21:11:13    2133952

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Not sure if I can jimbodub but how much are you talking about?"
lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/08/2018 21:42:16    2133955

It's going to take a mighty effort from Tyrone and they'll have to play better than they have played all year to beat Dublin but I think they can do it or go very near to it, I think if Tyrone are up by a few points in the closing stages they are streetwise enough to hold onto it, really looking forward to this and wishing my Ulster neighbours well.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 16/08/2018 23:26:36    2133964

Replying To jimbodub:  "Twill be no narrowing of pitches coming up!!

None whatsoever.

It'll be tough but expect Dublin to win after a purple patch or two for Tyrone.

Dublin's options from the bench this year is top notch and they are all in form. Tyrone just don't have that.. and same awful wides for Tyrone today that's been haunting them for years now.

Feel Tyrone really showed their hand today. Think there's plenty to be learned from Tyrone today.

You won't be seeing Dublin running into swarm tackles time after time and really slow build up play like Monaghan today and getting turned over. Not sure what Monaghan's game plan was.. just a really poor showing

All those battles against Mayo will have Dublin completely prepared for this AI final.

Gas.. a team that loses twice gets to an All Ireland final..

Weird. First time that's ever happened right?

Tyrone 2018 - The best losers to ever reach a final!

Dubs unbeaten. There will only be one ALL Ireland champion this year.

Up the Dubs

#fantastic4"
I wont be too confident on this one Jimbo.

Lessons learned from the Donegal ambush a few years back.

We were even stronger favorites then, 1/10 I think it was.

Mickey Harte is sure to have a trick up his sleeve, let's hope Jim Gavin has held a couple in reserve himself.

Always nervous for the big games, and the prize on offer for Dublin this year dont get much bigger.

Huge chance to achieve something very rare - lets hope we dont leave it behind us.....

All this talk of an easy win, doesn't sit comfortably with me at all.

But players and management definitely wont take anything for granted after what happened v Donegal.

At least the pitch wont be narrowed...! ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 16/08/2018 23:27:15    2133965

Quiet a few posters think Dublin are going
to run away with the final where is that coming
from they had a more experienced team the
last two years and barley got past the finish
line thanks to Mayo handing them both games
i can tell u Mickey Harte is not going to Croke park
to run Dublin close he is going to win he is going
to make life very difficult for the Dubs and i expect
to have new AI champs come the final whistle

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 17/08/2018 03:16:11    2133972

All Ireland's aren't won on previous performances or statistical analysis they are won on the day , in a pub chat you go over everything player for player last time teams met etc and you come to the same conclusion, the reasoning factual based on What You Know.
The danger is the unknown factor , those things you couldn't posibnly have factored into the equation, Jack McCaffrey injury last year a perfect example , some one having a brain fart and getting sent off , look at the Israeli runner last week pulling up and celebrating a silver medal , then realizing there's still a lap to go and finishes fourth , I've seen the USA dream team of 100 metre runners drop the batton in the relay , countless quality jockeys take the wrong course or celebrate at the wrong finishing line ,
So while I'm confident I'm praying there won't be a Devin Loch moment or for that matter a Seamus Darby moment

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/08/2018 08:55:31    2133982

I don't ever recall a build up to a final quite like this one. I have listened to two or three podcasts this week and there's more talk about who can stop Dublin doing the FIVE in a row than there is about this upcoming game. There's even more talk about how it's a pity that mayo aren't in the final as they can put it up to Dublin! Tyrone will be loving this.
Finals are finals; everything that has gone before goes out the window and any team can win on the day.
Dublin are getting very much ahead of themselves.
I think it will be a much closer final than the 'experts' are suggesting

sam09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 339 - 17/08/2018 09:01:29    2133983

Replying To sam09:  "I don't ever recall a build up to a final quite like this one. I have listened to two or three podcasts this week and there's more talk about who can stop Dublin doing the FIVE in a row than there is about this upcoming game. There's even more talk about how it's a pity that mayo aren't in the final as they can put it up to Dublin! Tyrone will be loving this.
Finals are finals; everything that has gone before goes out the window and any team can win on the day.
I think it will be a much closer final than the 'experts' are suggesting"
To be fair the majority of Dublin posters are being fairly cautious and not counting their chickens and all that.

Some like Wayno is confident his side will have more than enough to see of Tyrone, I can't say I blame those posters who see it that way, I probably see it like that myself but really hope I'm proven wrong.

As others have mentioned before its all on the day and anything can happen, ones things for sure the actual Dublin management and team will not be taking Tyrone for granted, if we win it'll be because we have produced a level of performance not seen in Tyrone since we defeated Kerry ( chasing 3 in a row) back in 2008.

Let's hope the whole county get behind the lads and hopefully we will have a new set of Heroes in Tyrone on all Ireland Sunday.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 17/08/2018 09:42:37    2133991

Replying To Fionn:  "I wont be too confident on this one Jimbo.

Mickey Harte is sure to have a trick up his sleeve, let's hope Jim Gavin has held a couple in reserve himself.

Always nervous for the big games, and the prize on offer for Dublin this year dont get much bigger.

Huge chance to achieve something very rare - lets hope we dont leave it behind us.....

But players and management definitely wont take anything for granted after what happened v Donegal.

At least the pitch wont be narrowed...! ;o)"
Absolutely agree chief

That post was tongue in cheek

As I said in a later post I saw plenty of evidence to suggest that Tyrone will most probably cause Dublin trouble. Up in Omagh Dublin dropped intensity when going 5 up and didn't do well off the back of it. This says it all. If Dublin aren't at the required level then Tyrone will punish Dublin.

I've seen it mentioned a few times now that games between Harte and Gavin has almost always been close. The 2017 s/f completely broke that trend and wasn't a proper reflection on how competitive previous games have been.

So I'd fully expect it to return to the norm as it did in Omagh.

For me personally I just don't see Dublin handing Tyrone such a gift as Monaghan did. That is exactly what Tyrone needs and wants to happen. Isolated slow build up play running into multiple tacklers.. that's what Monaghan did in the first half especially and Tyrone made hay and it was that early lead that for me was vital.

Just don't see Dublin being so naive.

It has the makings of a good final. If Dublin drop intensity Tyrone are capable of making it very close, but the same applies for Tyrone.. Dublin have proven that they can dismantle Tyrone if they aren't careful.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2018 09:49:33    2133992

Replying To sam09:  "I don't ever recall a build up to a final quite like this one. I have listened to two or three podcasts this week and there's more talk about who can stop Dublin doing the FIVE in a row than there is about this upcoming game. There's even more talk about how it's a pity that mayo aren't in the final as they can put it up to Dublin! Tyrone will be loving this.
How are 'Dublin getting ahead of themselves'?

If you're hoping for complacency to be beat the Dubs then you'll be disappointed.

Tyrone aren't going to get anything that easily. They'll have to earn everything.

They're capable of winning of course but not if they are going in hoping for the Dubs to be taking it easy. Mickey Harte and the Tyrone team won't be as foolish as the above poster though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13708 - 17/08/2018 10:14:05    2133997

Replying To Fionn:  "I wont be too confident on this one Jimbo.

At least the pitch wont be narrowed...! ;o)"
Have to agree with you, the two teams i didnt want to meet in the latter stages of the championship was Galway and Tyrone.

Dublin and Tyrone games have always been close historically and no greater motivation is needed then an All Ireland final.

As opposed to other teams Tyrone will be looking forward to having a cut of Dubliin and will leave every ounce of what they are capable of on the pitch.

This will be a proper game like the one n Omagh, skin and hair flying and massive hits, it will be battle from first to last.

Its hard not to be confident in this Dublin team, but if we play anything like we did in the first half against Galway the ambush is on.
I would also be a bit concerned the Dublin have played in gears this year they have upped intensity and lowered at different points in the game. In the final Dublin usually only care about the result as opposed to the performance and will be cautious.

This is going to be a very tight game full blooded game for me i think it will be a great game with big hits and high intensity i think its going to surprise a lot of people who seem to be going into it with a bit of malaise, i think its going to be fantastic game and hopefully we shade it.

Make no mistake about it this is going to battle with no quarter given and a real game where both teams have a massive chance.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 17/08/2018 10:23:13    2134002

It's not genuine Dublin supporters/management or players that are getting ahead of themselves. It is the media doing their job to hype it all up for a big fall.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 17/08/2018 11:41:41    2134023

Ulster says no, to 4 in a row.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 17/08/2018 11:43:51    2134026

Replying To Adamski:  "It's not genuine Dublin supporters/management or players that are getting ahead of themselves. It is the media doing their job to hype it all up for a big fall."
We should be used to it at this stage.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/08/2018 12:04:13    2134031

Replying To Adamski:  "It's not genuine Dublin supporters/management or players that are getting ahead of themselves. It is the media doing their job to hype it all up for a big fall."
Genuine Dublin supporters are very confident of victory by a big margin. I'm a genuine supporter and I think we win by 8+.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/08/2018 12:09:29    2134036