All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone

Replying To legendzxix:  "Definitely exhausting with against province's advancement in sport science."
Must be exhausting typing about us all the time, gets you all tingly...if you know what I mean? There are movies for that.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/08/2018 20:11:09    2136087

I got to be brutally honest here as a Tyrone man, I have studied the match ups, looked at the respective tactics, the strength of the benches and I have to say that I simply cannot see how Tyrone can engineer a win over this Dublin team, I just can't. That pains me very much as I'm dedicated to my county but I have to be realistic here, but I have my ticket sorted, flights are booked, and I shall be there regardless because they are your county and that's what you do. Its worth remembering that this is only the 6th AI final that we have ever made, just 6, put into context Mayo have contested that amount just since the turn of the new millennium, so being here actually is a big deal for us. I have to admit that I love mixing with the Dubs at Croke park on any big game day and the 2nd September will be no different, cant wait.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/08/2018 08:30:16    2136161

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Because of course Tyrone are the only team who do this!!!! Do you actually watch any matches - this is rife in the game. But of course you will say Tyrone invented it !!!! This is tiresome to read - why don't you just post you don't like Tyrone and hope Dubs win and save us from all the lazy punditry."
I go to a lot of games mainly as a neutral, hoping to see a good contest that is all, never said Tyrone invented anything, they are in the final on merit. I just think if Harte trusted his player's, Tyrone have a lot of good player's, to express themselves they will be a match for anybody. Not a dubs fan but you have to respect their achievements and their football and the single mindedness of Jim Gavin in the pursuit of success.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 24/08/2018 08:42:09    2136162

Replying To avonali:  "Oh you will watch it for sure."
herself has the Khardashians series linked so I might allow her to catch up on it on Sunday instead!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 24/08/2018 12:50:52    2136244

Replying To totalrecall:  "I go to a lot of games mainly as a neutral, hoping to see a good contest that is all, never said Tyrone invented anything, they are in the final on merit. I just think if Harte trusted his player's, Tyrone have a lot of good player's, to express themselves they will be a match for anybody. Not a dubs fan but you have to respect their achievements and their football and the single mindedness of Jim Gavin in the pursuit of success."
Fair enough.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 24/08/2018 13:44:52    2136278

The lads on here saying they won't be watching are talking out of their arse. You know damn well you will at least have a look at it. And if it's tight, you will watch all of it. Chancers :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/08/2018 21:17:21    2136431

A lot of noise about Tyrone in the media.

Dublin very quiet.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/08/2018 03:28:05    2136456

Replying To woops:  "herself has the Khardashians series linked so I might allow her to catch up on it on Sunday instead!"
Think Star Trek isn't quite as good now as the earlier series.
Captain Kirk and Picard were the best for me.
Them Kardashian's were a sneaky shower alright. ;0

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/08/2018 09:00:39    2136462

i have never been less excited, less enthused or less bothered by a Dubs AIF in my life
Can't get excited atall
The trip to Omagh knocked all the life out of it for me
It was so flat, so boring.

Give em all hurleys, make a real game of it.

Of course I will be roaring on the day, of course I will care more next week but as of right now my interest is at a record low, which for someone who has been all over the country following the dubs for 25 years, is really quite sad

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/08/2018 11:14:00    2136473

Replying To witnof:  "A lot of noise about Tyrone in the media.

Dublin very quiet."
We know why this is. Jim and the lads do their talking on the pitch.

Much has been spoken about how MH is going to take on the Dubs, and you have to say, it will be very interesting to see what kinda curve balls he might throw.

But you can bet yer bottom dollar that Jim is doing his homework too. This could be a car crash of a game, as two managers try to outwit one another. But it will be fascinating to watch, of that I have little doubt.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 25/08/2018 12:10:32    2136484

Replying To brendtheredhand:  "I got to be brutally honest here as a Tyrone man, I have studied the match ups, looked at the respective tactics, the strength of the benches and I have to say that I simply cannot see how Tyrone can engineer a win over this Dublin team, I just can't. That pains me very much as I'm dedicated to my county but I have to be realistic here, but I have my ticket sorted, flights are booked, and I shall be there regardless because they are your county and that's what you do. Its worth remembering that this is only the 6th AI final that we have ever made, just 6, put into context Mayo have contested that amount just since the turn of the new millennium, so being here actually is a big deal for us. I have to admit that I love mixing with the Dubs at Croke park on any big game day and the 2nd September will be no different, cant wait."
I think Tyrone need it to lash rain and then for Dublin to struggle a bit.

If it's a fine day then I can see a few of your points being just about spot on

But again I believe Tyrone are perfectly capable of causing Dublin plenty of trouble, the evidence is there to back that up

A horrible wet wild day and it'll be a right battle

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2018 12:10:53    2136485

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i have never been less excited, less enthused or less bothered by a Dubs AIF in my life
Can't get excited atall

Of course I will be roaring on the day, of course I will care more next week but as of right now my interest is at a record low, which for someone who has been all over the country following the dubs for 25 years, is really quite sad"
Gwan outta tha. I used to think you could take the man outta Dublin but not Dublin outta the man but I think the Treaty have won ye over with the small ball. This will be my 15 AI final with the Dubs and I'm as excited as the first. Anything can happen in 70m, remember Kerry in 78, remember Mayo in 2006, remember Donegal in 2014. It's winner takes all in front of a packed 80,000 screaming fans. Dublin don't win AI finals by big scores. If they win it will be close enough I would think. It's going to epic. Can Tyrone topple this once in a lifetime Dublin team? Can't wait for it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2018 12:31:10    2136489

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "i have never been less excited, less enthused or less bothered by a Dubs AIF in my life
Can't get excited atall

Of course I will be roaring on the day, of course I will care more next week but as of right now my interest is at a record low, which for someone who has been all over the country following the dubs for 25 years, is really quite sad"
An honest opinion

A baffling one to me personally

With Dublin playing to be crowned in immortality and go down as easily the greatest side of all time is something I could only dare to dream about in the 90's / 00's

We/they now have that opportunity... We to watch it as fans and They the players the opportunity to seize it for themselves.

Again an honest opinion but one that is far removed from my own and other Dub fans feelings on the game.

It's a shame you feel in such a way as not so long ago you were of the opinion that Dublin looked to be in trouble and you feared for our chances.. it's some turn around Liamo

From fearing for our chances to not giving a figs and find it all boring...

I respect your honest opinion though but if I'm to be honest it's sort of a worrying sign for you personally. Hope all is well.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2018 13:12:09    2136495

Replying To jimbodub:  "An honest opinion

With Dublin playing to be crowned in immortality and go down as easily the greatest side of all time is something I could only dare to dream about in the 90's / 00's

We/they now have that opportunity... We to watch it as fans and They the players the opportunity to seize it for themselves.

Again an honest opinion but one that is far removed from my own and other Dub fans feelings on the game.

It's a shame you feel in such a way as not so long ago you were of the opinion that Dublin looked to be in trouble and you feared for our chances.. it's some turn around Liamo

I respect your honest opinion though but if I'm to be honest it's sort of a worrying sign for you personally. Hope all is well."
If Dublin Region were preparing for a Railway Cup final against Ulster, it would be a truer reflection of modern Ireland.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 25/08/2018 13:46:04    2136498

Replying To legendzxix:  "If Dublin Region were preparing for a Railway Cup final against Ulster, it would be a truer reflection of modern Ireland."
Were you a train driver in a past life by any chance? You spend more time talking about railways than Thomas the Tank Engine. This is a GAA forum!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2018 14:31:45    2136503

Replying To jimbodub:  "An honest opinion

I respect your honest opinion though but if I'm to be honest it's sort of a worrying sign for you personally. Hope all is well."
Not a bother on me ol pal, just fallen out of love with football.

Omagh just depressed me. When I heard people saying it was "electric" or "incredible" and all this I started wondering are people just telling lies here or what? I was in the the side terrace with Holymoly and the atmosphere was like a challenge game apart from the last 5 minutes. There were periods where it was literally silent for MINUTES at a time. At one point myself and another lad behind me tried a belt out of COYBIB and people looked at us like we had 2 heads, and that was Tyrone AND Dublin fans.

And this was Dublin, away, in Omagh, in a Super 8's game. I was expecting manic stuff, our biggest away trip in 17 years....into the bearpit etc etc.....

If thats what the current game has done then stop and let me off

Sorry me ol pal Jimbo

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/08/2018 15:01:42    2136506

Best of luck to both sides next weekend. I have my name in the club draw for a ticket to watch our minors so I might even be there on the day.

I don't really mind who wins but like most on this thread I am finding it hard to see how Tyrone can beat Dublin. They had a good look at Dublin in Omagh and Mickey Harte is a brilliant manager I don't doubt that he will have a good plan, whether they have the personnel to pull it off is the question. I agree with Jimbo if we get a wet day and a slippery ball I think they have a better chance as anything can happen in those conditions.

Anyway well done to both sides on reaching the final. There is no doubt we have the two best sides this year on show so may the best team on the day win.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 25/08/2018 15:20:16    2136509

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Not a bother on me ol pal, just fallen out of love with football.

Omagh just depressed me. When I heard people saying it was "electric" or "incredible" and all this I started wondering are people just telling lies here or what? I was in the the side terrace with Holymoly and the atmosphere was like a challenge game apart from the last 5 minutes. There were periods where it was literally silent for MINUTES at a time. At one point myself and another lad behind me tried a belt out of COYBIB and people looked at us like we had 2 heads, and that was Tyrone AND Dublin fans.

And this was Dublin, away, in Omagh, in a Super 8's game. I was expecting manic stuff, our biggest away trip in 17 years....into the bearpit etc etc.....

If thats what the current game has done then stop and let me off

Sorry me ol pal Jimbo"
Fair enough buddy, I 100% respect your opinion

Glad to hear all is well.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/08/2018 15:30:01    2136511

Replying To legendzxix:  "If Dublin Region were preparing for a Railway Cup final against Ulster, it would be a truer reflection of modern Ireland."
Here for you, hun xx

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/08/2018 16:07:02    2136514

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Best of luck to both sides next weekend. I have my name in the club draw for a ticket to watch our minors so I might even be there on the day.

I don't really mind who wins but like most on this thread I am finding it hard to see how Tyrone can beat Dublin. They had a good look at Dublin in Omagh and Mickey Harte is a brilliant manager I don't doubt that he will have a good plan, whether they have the personnel to pull it off is the question. I agree with Jimbo if we get a wet day and a slippery ball I think they have a better chance as anything can happen in those conditions.

Anyway well done to both sides on reaching the final. There is no doubt we have the two best sides this year on show so may the best team on the day win."
Fair play GG , best of luck in the draw

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/08/2018 16:14:46    2136515