All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Very true, in fact I would go as far as to say we are hated by the vast majority but none more so than Kerry, Donegal, Derry Armagh, take your pick! And you know what? We don't particularly care the feeling might be mutual! The neutrals will be hoping the Dubs stuff us, despite their well wishes!"
This could be footballs equivalent of Trump Vs Hilary, may the worst candidate win.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/08/2018 08:44:07    2135516

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Very true, in fact I would go as far as to say we are hated by the vast majority but none more so than Kerry, Donegal, Derry Armagh, take your pick! And you know what? We don't particularly care the feeling might be mutual! The neutrals will be hoping the Dubs stuff us, despite their well wishes!"
The neutrals are conflicted for once ha ha.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 22/08/2018 09:49:07    2135521

Parnell Pass as well myself so I'll pick up my ticket next week.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 22/08/2018 10:18:59    2135527

GAA equivalent of a rock and a hard place , a kerryman having to choose between Tyrone and Dublin, with the heaviest of hearts they will go for Tyrone to protect the four in a row

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2018 10:26:28    2135528

Replying To Damothedub:  "GAA equivalent of a rock and a hard place , a kerryman having to choose between Tyrone and Dublin, with the heaviest of hearts they will go for Tyrone to protect the four in a row"
Not really Damo.
For the first time in my life I have no interest in the football final. I couldnt give a toss who wins.
I don't really expect it to be an entertaining match so I won't lose any sleep if I watch it or not.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/08/2018 10:53:21    2135536

Replying To waynoI:  "must admit I don't know why so many people would dislike Tyrone. I have no problem with them at all. This thread like everything else on hoganstand is only a bit of craic. I genuinely hand on heart think we will beat them and that we've far too much for them, but idon't rather us lose a final to Tyrone than mayo or kerry .. and if they do beat us rest assured despite all my bravado and confidence I'll 100% be back on to congratulate every last one of them. A very good team, just don't see them being good enough to beat one of if not the greatest team there has been..... but sport is mad so who knows.

how are we all looking ticket wise ??

have mine as I've a parnell pass, collecting it next Tuesday. who else is sorted or are some still.stuck"
Season tickets came through yesterday so sorted. Counting down the days at this stage. Big scramble going on among non-season ticket / Parnell pass holders in my family, friends, work colleagues etc.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 22/08/2018 11:18:47    2135547

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Season tickets came through yesterday so sorted. Counting down the days at this stage. Big scramble going on among non-season ticket / Parnell pass holders in my family, friends, work colleagues etc."
Mine came today. Fantastic seats. Couldn't beat it.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/08/2018 12:43:08    2135580

Dublin should be too strong and I've always thought they will win at least 5 in-a-row. One thing is for sure though, a MH team will take some beating in an All Ireland final. I suspect he had one eye on Dublin since last August and the tactics and style of play will be slightly different to what we have seen thus far. There will be a specific plan for Dublin and he will try to win Sam with an element of surprise like he did in his three previous All Ireland wins. I'm not sure it will be enough to win this final but as the game gets closer and you look at his record in finals, we might be set up for a great All Ireland. This will not be a one sided final; expect it will go down to the last ten minutes.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 22/08/2018 13:13:27    2135589

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Mine came today. Fantastic seats. Couldn't beat it."
Sweet! See you in there :-)

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 22/08/2018 14:16:03    2135612

Replying To The_Fridge:  "The two leaders of the Mickey Harte out campaign agreeing with each other. Jeez lads you two have changed your opinions pretty quickly. You two give Tyrone fans a bad name. Maybe irishgael coukd join in that conference in Miami you are going to on all Ireland weekend. Get a condo and shake with fear that Micky Harte will an all Ireland playing the football they do."
Fridge - you can't respond to any of my questions so you change the topic. You continue to bestow on me the high office of leader of the MH leave brigade. I can only assume you cannot read or if you can you cannot understand - either way if I were you I would go back to Glencull Prinary School and start from scratch. With regard to my agreeing with this poster I assume by your reaction you actually agree with the South Derry persons nonsense - if that's the case your delusion knows no bounds!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 22/08/2018 14:22:16    2135614

Replying To sam1884:  "Dublin should be too strong and I've always thought they will win at least 5 in-a-row. One thing is for sure though, a MH team will take some beating in an All Ireland final. I suspect he had one eye on Dublin since last August and the tactics and style of play will be slightly different to what we have seen thus far. There will be a specific plan for Dublin and he will try to win Sam with an element of surprise like he did in his three previous All Ireland wins. I'm not sure it will be enough to win this final but as the game gets closer and you look at his record in finals, we might be set up for a great All Ireland. This will not be a one sided final; expect it will go down to the last ten minutes."
It's not as good as Gavin's record.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/08/2018 15:28:39    2135632

Replying To The_Fridge:  "The two leaders of the Mickey Harte out campaign agreeing with each other. Jeez lads you two have changed your opinions pretty quickly. You two give Tyrone fans a bad name. Maybe irishgael coukd join in that conference in Miami you are going to on all Ireland weekend. Get a condo and shake with fear that Micky Harte will an all Ireland playing the football they do."
What are you talking about now. What did my reply to this poster have to do with Mickey Harte?

Its funny, you never seem to reply to my posts when I call you out and contradict you. You just randomly come out with these comments.

Again I freely admit that I have been extremely critical of our management team over the years which i am not ashamed of. We have been playing an ugly and unproductive type of football for years and I will always call out anybody who trys to defend it.

And what has happened when we actually started expressing ourselves and attacking the game?? We got to an All Ireland final that's what!

But guys like you who go on the ultra defensive as soon as you hear even the slightest criticism of Mickey Harte are not doing anybody any favours, and what's more, you will never admit that you were wrong.

Now I will await for you to try and put together an articulate response to my points above but I definately won't hold my breath

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 22/08/2018 17:08:20    2135666

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Sweet! See you in there :-)"
Yep! :)

Hope everyone gets sorted

Best of luck to all

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/08/2018 17:21:44    2135668

Replying To Wally:  "What are you talking about now. What did my reply to this poster have to do with Mickey Harte?

Its funny, you never seem to reply to my posts when I call you out and contradict you. You just randomly come out with these comments.

Again I freely admit that I have been extremely critical of our management team over the years which i am not ashamed of. We have been playing an ugly and unproductive type of football for years and I will always call out anybody who trys to defend it.

And what has happened when we actually started expressing ourselves and attacking the game?? We got to an All Ireland final that's what!

But guys like you who go on the ultra defensive as soon as you hear even the slightest criticism of Mickey Harte are not doing anybody any favours, and what's more, you will never admit that you were wrong.

Now I will await for you to try and put together an articulate response to my points above but I definately won't hold my breath"
It's hilarious that you think Tyrone changed there style. And I mean hilarious. Tyrone didn't change their style. Please stop listening to Joe Brolly.
You were proved wrong and you have egg on your face. You flip flopped from side to side as I have proven many many times, you want you to prove you wrong again? You jumped on the bandwagon 2 years ago, thought Tyrone were going nowhere and have been proved wrong.

I'm just so so happy you aren't going to the final and denying a genuine supporter a seat. I know you turned up for the semi final last year after saying you don't go to games.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/08/2018 17:53:34    2135676

Replying To The_Fridge:  "It's hilarious that you think Tyrone changed there style. And I mean hilarious. Tyrone didn't change their style. Please stop listening to Joe Brolly.
You were proved wrong and you have egg on your face. You flip flopped from side to side as I have proven many many times, you want you to prove you wrong again? You jumped on the bandwagon 2 years ago, thought Tyrone were going nowhere and have been proved wrong.

I'm just so so happy you aren't going to the final and denying a genuine supporter a seat. I know you turned up for the semi final last year after saying you don't go to games."
Well somebody really cant see what is right in front of their own eyes. Are you saying Tyrone haven't changed their style at all??? They didn't go man to man with Monaghan??

Everybody and I mean everybody has been commenting on this yet The Fridge says we are all wrong. He just puts his fingers in his ears,closes his eyes and cries out MICKEY IS ALWAYS RIGHT!!!

You my friend could not have been proved more wrong. Mickeys change of heart has been based on lobbying from guys like me and his acceptance to change his style has finally vindicated me.

I will finish with this. If you think we are playing the same system as last year, are you saying that we should play the exact same way against Dublin in the final as we did last year?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 22/08/2018 19:05:36    2135695

Replying To woops:  "Not really Damo.
For the first time in my life I have no interest in the football final. I couldnt give a toss who wins.
I don't really expect it to be an entertaining match so I won't lose any sleep if I watch it or not."
I'm flabbergasted to be honest , I've watched since 1974 never missed a final ,attended a few watched great Kerry sides , the coming of the North sides when Dublin were no where , I'd never miss a game
Hurling I never miss haven't ever been fortunate enough to see Dublin play in one , my club have never one a championship of note , just can't get my head around your type of thinking

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2018 19:44:44    2135701

Civil war in Tyrone

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2018 19:54:54    2135705

Replying To Wally:  "Well somebody really cant see what is right in front of their own eyes. Are you saying Tyrone haven't changed their style at all??? They didn't go man to man with Monaghan??

Everybody and I mean everybody has been commenting on this yet The Fridge says we are all wrong. He just puts his fingers in his ears,closes his eyes and cries out MICKEY IS ALWAYS RIGHT!!!

You my friend could not have been proved more wrong. Mickeys change of heart has been based on lobbying from guys like me and his acceptance to change his style has finally vindicated me.

I will finish with this. If you think we are playing the same system as last year, are you saying that we should play the exact same way against Dublin in the final as we did last year?"
Ok so Colm Cavanagh was playing as a midfielder????? And you say they went man to man??? He was sitting in front of the full back line. I was at the game-Tyrone played the same system as they always do, especially in the second half.
"Lobbying from guys like me".......hahahahaha. Jesus Wally you think highly of yourself. Do you honestly think MH comes on here and looks at posts from you and says to himself "my God, some random fool called Wally, who proclaimed to everyone to be going to Miami in conference, with all his inter county management experience, says we should play man to man, im just going to do what he says."
Wally you are hilarious. Lobbyist Wally to the rescue.
Answer me this, how did Tyrone play against Monaghan, Dublin, Carlow, Meath, Donegal etc etc?? The same way they always play. Pundits criticising them etc. Two sweepers etc. 12-13 men behind the ball. That is a fact.
MH will obviously try something different. Doing the same thing against the best team ever after getting beat last year would be madness. Now Tyrone will still have 12-13 men behind the ball. Do I know what MH will do? No. But I trust MH to come up with something, like he done in 2008, 03 etc.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/08/2018 20:00:29    2135706

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Ok so Colm Cavanagh was playing as a midfielder????? And you say they went man to man??? He was sitting in front of the full back line. I was at the game-Tyrone played the same system as they always do, especially in the second half.
"Lobbying from guys like me".......hahahahaha. Jesus Wally you think highly of yourself. Do you honestly think MH comes on here and looks at posts from you and says to himself "my God, some random fool called Wally, who proclaimed to everyone to be going to Miami in conference, with all his inter county management experience, says we should play man to man, im just going to do what he says."
Wally you are hilarious. Lobbyist Wally to the rescue.
Answer me this, how did Tyrone play against Monaghan, Dublin, Carlow, Meath, Donegal etc etc?? The same way they always play. Pundits criticising them etc. Two sweepers etc. 12-13 men behind the ball. That is a fact.
MH will obviously try something different. Doing the same thing against the best team ever after getting beat last year would be madness. Now Tyrone will still have 12-13 men behind the ball. Do I know what MH will do? No. But I trust MH to come up with something, like he done in 2008, 03 etc."
Colm Cavanagh has continued his sweeper role, that much is true but for 45min against Monaghan everyone else pushed up man to man, same for 20min against Donegal and 15min against Dublin.

Only a fool couldn't see that we are slowly developing a less conservative game plan and are actually starting to trust our players to take on their direct opponent.

If this was last year or the year before then Dublin would have hammered us and we would have got beat by Donegal as we would have tried to defend a 3 point deficient.

Why can't you just admit that Mickey has been wrong for the best part of a decade and has finally come to his senses.

The constant cry from true Tyrone gaels like me has made the difference in the end. But what really makes me sad is that this team really could have been competing for All Ireland's sooner if he just had of listened to meet earlier.

So yes I stand by my lobbying comment and am actually quite proud with the work I have done.

If we continue this curve and move onto an even more attacking game plan then I may actually start attending games live again. This will of course depend on my schedule as my career does keep me quite busy.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 22/08/2018 21:01:36    2135726

I'm quite enjoying this debate between the fridge and wally....

keep er lit

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/08/2018 21:13:16    2135735