All Ireland Final 18 - Dublin V Tyrone

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I will be supporting Dublin, I am from Ballyronan South Derry, I would always support the 5 Northern teams against southern teams but not Tyrone, I admire their players and history, I saw them play a lot in 2000s so I remember how good they were but I think they are like the NI soccer fans, claiming they have a monopoly on Ulsters core history, the red hand, etc, it is insulting to me as an O'Neill and a proud Ulsterman who actually lives in land once ruled by the O'Neills."
Jesus get over yourself. Talk about a chip on your sholder.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/08/2018 20:41:00    2135427

Replying To neverright:  "Away from the 'soundbites' and back to the game. I don't see any reason why Tyrone players would feel they are inferior to the players on this Dublin team, good though they are. Let Micky do his talking to the players, show his motivational ability and them and then let them play to their ability. If this happens, they won't have any need to talk because everybody will be talking about them in a positive way."
Tyrone will feel they can beat dublin of course they will, but the are inferior right now

They haven't won an all ireland since 08, dublin have won the last 3 including absolutely obliterating Tyrone and MH at the semi final stage last year , 4 if they win this one.

We've also gone up to omagh twice this season, beat them both times including once when they even narrowed the pitch and barring the last 5 mins it was as comfortable a day out away in the championship as you're likely to get considering the calibre of both teams on the field. So while I agree Tyrone won't be going into the game thinking they haven't a hope and will be positive, the year so far and the last few years point to a dublin win and there's no reason why dublin fans would be quietly or very vociferously confident like in my case.

Dublin are, for me, much better than Tyrone. My opinion means absolutely nothing though and Tyrone winning it wouldnt exactly be the biggest shock of all time.

but I do expect a dublin win and for it to be a relatively comfortable one....in the end

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2018 20:46:19    2135430

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Definitely, I'm another MH fan when it comes to his boycott, fair play to him."
definitely right behind mickey...rte are a disgrace and tyrone will be working with plenty of media outlets over the next week and beyond

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/08/2018 21:15:49    2135445

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sound move!

Nice to give the kids a day off.

It'll give them time to get over the disappointment.."
don't be so sure jimbo....the boys are coming for you

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/08/2018 21:18:45    2135449

will be so interesting to see what happens when tyrone don't rise to dublin's bait...in other words dublin play an extreme form of the game in that they seek to exert complete control...they will play keep ball handpassing the ball around until they find an opening...what will happen when tyrone say to them...ok we are not falling for your trap...play keep ball all you want but you have to find a way through...tyrone will man mark kilkenny, and prevent caffrey and mccarthy from seeking those one-two's...tyrone have pioneered this in the league game last year in croke pk and have now refined it...we will see a low scoring all ireland final with tyrone seeking to pick off the dubs on the break and playing off the cuff counter attacking football while dublin will seek to maintain a controlled hand passing game through the lines...intriguing stuff

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/08/2018 21:28:41    2135451

what will happen when tyrone say to them...ok we are not falling for your trap...play keep ball all you want but you have to find a way through

we will just beat your "refined system" 0-01 to 0-00 after ET in the replay after a 0-00 to 0-00 Tyrone defensive masterclass in the first game next Sunday..

will ya give us a break!

sure you sat the whole of Tyrone behind the ball last year and we ole'd it after 20 mins on the hill cause we where murdering ya. Do it again and it'll be the most comfortable and comprehensive dublin all ireland final win in our history.

I'm loving the soundbites from you about this game, you said the same on the game in omagh, preparing for us all year we where told and we went to your gaff and had a *relatively* comfortable evening.

at least my confidence can be backed up with results and all irelands that Dublin have won, you're confidence and In the know mentality about this refined system is almost as delusional as some of royaldunnes infamous delusions (no offence RD, mate)

listen though, in all seriousness, we appreciate the heads up and I for one can't wait to see this revolutionary game plan that Tyrone have been preparing for the dubs since what seems like 1884.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2018 21:52:27    2135458

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "don't be so sure jimbo....the boys are coming for you"
Hope you're okay Jim?

here for a chat if you're nervous or anxious about the big boys from the north coming for you, pal.

xx

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2018 21:55:17    2135459

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I will be supporting Dublin, I am from Ballyronan South Derry, I would always support the 5 Northern teams against southern teams but not Tyrone, I admire their players and history, I saw them play a lot in 2000s so I remember how good they were but I think they are like the NI soccer fans, claiming they have a monopoly on Ulsters core history, the red hand, etc, it is insulting to me as an O'Neill and a proud Ulsterman who actually lives in land once ruled by the O'Neills."
Dublin would not be well liked by many non-Dubs, as we all know, but I would think that Tyrone would be the next most disliked county in Ireland, in football terms (closely followed by Kerry).

For once, there might be a few neutrals shouting for the Dubs in this years All Ireland Final. ;o)

No offence meant to the Tyrone folk on here.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 21/08/2018 22:02:30    2135464

Replying To waynoI:  "Hope you're okay Jim?

here for a chat if you're nervous or anxious about the big boys from the north coming for you, pal.

xx"
i was thinking more of the boys in the white coats!!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/08/2018 22:05:03    2135465

Replying To Fionn:  "Dublin would not be well liked by many non-Dubs, as we all know, but I would think that Tyrone would be the next most disliked county in Ireland, in football terms (closely followed by Kerry).

For once, there might be a few neutrals shouting for the Dubs in this years All Ireland Final. ;o)

No offence meant to the Tyrone folk on here."
good man fionn...so how does it stack up that if dublin are the most disliked county and tyrone the second most disliked, that the neutrals will plump for the most disliked county??

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/08/2018 22:07:11    2135466

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "good man fionn...so how does it stack up that if dublin are the most disliked county and tyrone the second most disliked, that the neutrals will plump for the most disliked county??"
Well I cant imagine many neutrals wanted Dublin to beat Mayo again last year, but for sure some neutrals will not want Tyrone winning this year, including some of your northern brethern.... ;o)

Tyrone are not well liked, and that is a fact, no matter how you try to dress it up...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 21/08/2018 22:16:05    2135474

must admit I don't know why so many people would dislike Tyrone. I have no problem with them at all. This thread like everything else on hoganstand is only a bit of craic. I genuinely hand on heart think we will beat them and that we've far too much for them, but idon't rather us lose a final to Tyrone than mayo or kerry .. and if they do beat us rest assured despite all my bravado and confidence I'll 100% be back on to congratulate every last one of them. A very good team, just don't see them being good enough to beat one of if not the greatest team there has been..... but sport is mad so who knows.

how are we all looking ticket wise ??

have mine as I've a parnell pass, collecting it next Tuesday. who else is sorted or are some still.stuck

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2018 22:25:39    2135476

Replying To Fionn:  "Dublin would not be well liked by many non-Dubs, as we all know, but I would think that Tyrone would be the next most disliked county in Ireland, in football terms (closely followed by Kerry).

No offence meant to the Tyrone folk on here."
Very true, in fact I would go as far as to say we are hated by the vast majority but none more so than Kerry, Donegal, Derry Armagh, take your pick! And you know what? We don't particularly care the feeling might be mutual! The neutrals will be hoping the Dubs stuff us, despite their well wishes!

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 21/08/2018 22:30:56    2135478

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Very true, in fact I would go as far as to say we are hated by the vast majority but none more so than Kerry, Donegal, Derry Armagh, take your pick! And you know what? We don't particularly care the feeling might be mutual! The neutrals will be hoping the Dubs stuff us, despite their well wishes!"
And monaghan

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 21/08/2018 22:40:12    2135481

Replying To Wally:  "Jesus get over yourself. Talk about a chip on your sholder."
Agree what is this guy on - never read anything like this before on a football forum - think he's been watching too much Game of Thrones!!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/08/2018 23:04:52    2135486

Replying To Wally:  "Jesus get over yourself. Talk about a chip on your sholder."
Agree what is this guy on - never read anything like this before on a football forum - think he's been watching too much Game of Thrones!!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 21/08/2018 23:08:57    2135487

That's a poor bait to bite on

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 21/08/2018 23:30:49    2135491

Replying To waynoI:  "must admit I don't know why so many people would dislike Tyrone. I have no problem with them at all. This thread like everything else on hoganstand is only a bit of craic. I genuinely hand on heart think we will beat them and that we've far too much for them, but idon't rather us lose a final to Tyrone than mayo or kerry .. and if they do beat us rest assured despite all my bravado and confidence I'll 100% be back on to congratulate every last one of them. A very good team, just don't see them being good enough to beat one of if not the greatest team there has been..... but sport is mad so who knows.

how are we all looking ticket wise ??

have mine as I've a parnell pass, collecting it next Tuesday. who else is sorted or are some still.stuck"
Respect your honesty Wayno. Il be honest I feel you have went to the other extreme of over confidence. There's a happy medium.

Ticket wise I have a season ticket so I'm sorted. Posted on Monday I believe. Not hear yet but it will be interesting where we will be seated.
Clubs will struggle from what I'm hearing....seems to be nally and hill 16 tickets in the majority but hey, a ticket is a ticket. Enjoy the day where ever you are.

Another thing that has pissed me off is the hotel prices. Massive increase when an event is on. I know it's the same for concerts, been caught before, but they shouldn't get away with it.

Jeez can't wait. Excitement building big timr

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/08/2018 01:07:05    2135504

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Agree what is this guy on - never read anything like this before on a football forum - think he's been watching too much Game of Thrones!!!!"
The two leaders of the Mickey Harte out campaign agreeing with each other. Jeez lads you two have changed your opinions pretty quickly. You two give Tyrone fans a bad name. Maybe irishgael coukd join in that conference in Miami you are going to on all Ireland weekend. Get a condo and shake with fear that Micky Harte will an all Ireland playing the football they do.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/08/2018 01:12:38    2135505

What starting team do we all think MH will go with?
Meyler has declared himself fit, does he come back in to start with his running game?
Lee Brennan/Mark Bradley?

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 22/08/2018 06:45:03    2135508