Meath v Derry

Replying To Crinigan:  "No chip on my shoulder lad, I've had my time with my own county.

I can see all the time in Meath that at underage level a lot of players don't get a run because they aren't attached to fashionable clubs. For eg, Donncha Tobin (Meath's best player along with Keoghan) never got a sniff with the Meath U21s. How many players like this are overlooked and don't get a break? Many players don't even get a sniff in favour of these lads with big names from big clubs who never actually have won anything (ie Ashbourne and Ratoath). Why are so many players coming from these clubs?

Heres the Ratoath team that were defeated by St Mary's of Kerry by 2-20 to 1-5 (18 point defeat!)....

RATOATH: S Duffy; G McGowan, C McGill, P Flaherty; B O'Connor, B Power, E Boyle; C O'Brien (1-0), B O'Brien; E Wallace (0-1), K McCabe, B McMahon (0-4, 3f); C Rooney, G Rooney, J Wallace. Subs: D McGill for Flaherty (14), D Kelly for G Rooney (27 mins), F Coyne for C Rooney (39), B Daly for Power (49), M Daly for McCabe (49), J McGowan for O'Connor (54).

6 players on the Meath panel at the moment (and Joey Wallace on the panel last year to make it 7).

And people wonder why Meath aren't what they used to be?"
In fairness Andy and the selectors are best placed to decide who plays from the limited resourses we have. They see a lot more of players than we do. So my main concern at this stage is how those resourses are used. I was very disappointed on that score against Kildare. Several posters on here made similar comments. However,It is early days for Andy at this level,and i assume he is very willing to learn from mistakes.Fair play to him for taking the job at a time when Meath football is so low. For Sunday i think we will see much clearer plans for Kickouts,for breaking ball in the middle third. Our runners used and supported fully by running directly at defence. Forwards out in front and always available rather than hiding behind defenders etc.etc. I imagine we will see more swift adjustments as required from the sideline. Mental toughness hopefully will be a key objective to be addressed and will take time ,expertise and experience..i will be expecting much more direct football as over elaboration increases errors with our current playing squad...Freetaking will fave a clear focus.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 09/02/2017 18:22:03    1954115

Mark Lynch missing for Derry,we really need to win this game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/02/2017 22:07:34    1954218

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Mark Lynch missing for Derry,we really need to win this game."
we'll take anything we can get

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 10/02/2017 04:14:24    1954244

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "This weekend id go for

1. Hannigan - Didnt do much wrong the last day. Not his fault if his kickouts aren't being won.

2. Lavin - Our best defender up there last year.
3. Keogan
4. Burke

5. Downey - Definitely deserves a chance after OBC.
6. Harnan - IMO D.Tobin is long term answer here, but until then Harnan is best of what we have.
7. Menton - His best position.

8. Flanagan - Best high fielder available to us at the moment.
9. Cian O'Brien

10. COS
11. Biggy
12. Forde

13. McMahon
14. O'coilean/Kennelly - Coming out around the middle to act as extra midfielder/ half forward. Leavin space for McMahon and Lenihan.
15. Lenihan"
decent team selection

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 10/02/2017 04:17:11    1954245

Tests are being failed at an alarming rate over last few weeks counties that under Micko we handled with ease are turning us over Louth Kildare and only for a lucky penalty Laois.
In time the Micko knockers will realise he was doing his best with what he had,
Derry who we drew with up there last season is another test. In navan we should beat them and I have a feeling that we might

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 10/02/2017 09:00:18    1954259

Replying To Brownepat:  "Tests are being failed at an alarming rate over last few weeks counties that under Micko we handled with ease are turning us over Louth Kildare and only for a lucky penalty Laois.
Derry who we drew with up there last season is another test. In navan we should beat them and I have a feeling that we might"
if things are so bad get up of your arse and do something about it
its whingers like you who love to point out everything thats wrong and do nothing to resolve it that have contributed to us being so far from where we'd like to be

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 10/02/2017 09:07:29    1954261

Replying To Brownepat:  "Tests are being failed at an alarming rate over last few weeks counties that under Micko we handled with ease are turning us over Louth Kildare and only for a lucky penalty Laois.
Derry who we drew with up there last season is another test. In navan we should beat them and I have a feeling that we might"
Lucky we not facing the mighty 4 years consecutive relegated, could only draw with Carlow, Westmeath Ireland we would be i n serious trouble.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2017 09:07:37    1954262

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Mark Lynch missing for Derry,we really need to win this game."
But will we be without G Reilly though ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 10/02/2017 09:11:36    1954263

Replying To brian:  "if things are so bad get up of your arse and do something about it
its whingers like you who love to point out everything thats wrong and do nothing to resolve it that have contributed to us being so far from where we'd like to be"
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2017 09:56:46    1954275

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "But will we be without G Reilly though ?"
We will know tonight, it's a no win situation. Unfortunately

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2017 09:58:07    1954276

He's a big loss to Derry alright, whether or not we have Biggy available remains to be seen, being honest in an ideal worldwe should be able to handle this game without him however we do not reside in an ideal world.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/02/2017 10:09:47    1954282

if things are so bad get up of your arse and do something about it
its whingers like you who love to point out everything thats wrong and do nothing to resolve it that have contributed to us being so far from where we'd like to be
brian (Meath)

You could have said the same thing to some regular posters who were whinging last year!! I will never whinge about any manager on any tread as managing any team and especially a county team is a very difficult and unthankful job. It easy to sit on a side line and shout abuse as many have done in the past.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/02/2017 10:35:02    1954292

Replying To brian:  "if things are so bad get up of your arse and do something about it
its whingers like you who love to point out everything thats wrong and do nothing to resolve it that have contributed to us being so far from where we'd like to be"
Brian, I think you are missing the point here a little. MOD was slated on here regularly for the defeats this Meath team were suffering over the last few years. Now we have what is regarded by many as a top class manager and the results (so far) haven't improved. So the reality is that both MOD and Andy were / are brave enough to try there hand at getting the best out of what is available to them and both men should be thanked and respected by the Meath supporters for their affords. The real issue is why have the resources available to Meath managers over the years been so poor. The responsibility rests fully at the door of successive county boards who lived in the past for the last 20 years. An issue which has been covered to death on this forum at this stage. But its the future that is important now. Hopefully with Andy in place there will be stability this year and the possibility to build over the next two years on the very recent good work that is currently being put into underage structures in Meath. We need to be patient, we are going to see some wonderful moments of play with fantastic wins and then there will be days like last Sunday. Knee jerk reactions are pure pointless at the minute. Everyone get behind the team, yes question strange decisions but remember everyone involved with Meath football is doing their level best for the good of the county and we will rise again. On D Royal.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 10/02/2017 11:23:52    1954307

Replying To anto_meath:  "Brian, I think you are missing the point here a little. MOD was slated on here regularly for the defeats this Meath team were suffering over the last few years. Now we have what is regarded by many as a top class manager and the results (so far) haven't improved. So the reality is that both MOD and Andy were / are brave enough to try there hand at getting the best out of what is available to them and both men should be thanked and respected by the Meath supporters for their affords. The real issue is why have the resources available to Meath managers over the years been so poor. The responsibility rests fully at the door of successive county boards who lived in the past for the last 20 years. An issue which has been covered to death on this forum at this stage. But its the future that is important now. Hopefully with Andy in place there will be stability this year and the possibility to build over the next two years on the very recent good work that is currently being put into underage structures in Meath. We need to be patient, we are going to see some wonderful moments of play with fantastic wins and then there will be days like last Sunday. Knee jerk reactions are pure pointless at the minute. Everyone get behind the team, yes question strange decisions but remember everyone involved with Meath football is doing their level best for the good of the county and we will rise again. On D Royal."
exactly

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 10/02/2017 11:44:33    1954315

A few quick points.
1. Mick O'Dowd was "slated" because after four years in charge, the team was no better than when he had taken over. Certainly that is not all his fault, as we don't have the top class players at the minute. However after 4 years, there was no settled team, no obvious game-plan, our fitness and mental toughness was behind many other counties, and some of out best players had walked away.
2. Andy McEntee has been in charge for about 6 months, and he could do nothing with the squad for the first 2-3 months as they were all playing with their clubs. So to make any sort of comparison between the two is ridiculous at this stage. Come back in 2 years and we can judge how he has done.
3. He has had 1 proper competitive game in charge. One. So to say that results (so far) have not improved is a little disingenuous.
4. I agree that a lot of the problem is in the lack of investment by the county board. I go back to the fact that in 2015 Meath were the 5th lowest spenders of all counties in Ireland on their county teams. You could argue that the county board is doing well to keep spending under control, and not to spend more than they have. If that is the case, then quite simply we have to generate more income/sponsorship. Which is the job of the county board.
5. That should not be used to completely excuse the team failings for the past few years. Good manager can take an average team and make them better - more than the sum of their parts. Pete McGrath at Fermanagh being an obvious example at the minute. Fermanagh have won nothing at underage ever, and yet have a better team than we have.
6. We do definitely need to be patient. There are going to be some rough times ahead. All we can do is to keep doing the work behind the scenes and it will pay off. Put good managers and coaches in place, give them the resources they need, and let them do their job. From what I can see, we do have good people in charge right up from U-14 through to the senior team. We now need to back them. However that should not mean that they should be above criticism. If they are not doing the job, they need to be moved on, and let someone else in who can.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 10/02/2017 11:56:51    1954319

Andy will make mistakes in his new role.

He should be judged on how he deals with those mistakes as should the team.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 10/02/2017 12:02:17    1954322

Replying To anto_meath:  "Brian, I think you are missing the point here a little. MOD was slated on here regularly for the defeats this Meath team were suffering over the last few years. Now we have what is regarded by many as a top class manager and the results (so far) haven't improved. So the reality is that both MOD and Andy were / are brave enough to try there hand at getting the best out of what is available to them and both men should be thanked and respected by the Meath supporters for their affords. The real issue is why have the resources available to Meath managers over the years been so poor. The responsibility rests fully at the door of successive county boards who lived in the past for the last 20 years. An issue which has been covered to death on this forum at this stage. But its the future that is important now. Hopefully with Andy in place there will be stability this year and the possibility to build over the next two years on the very recent good work that is currently being put into underage structures in Meath. We need to be patient, we are going to see some wonderful moments of play with fantastic wins and then there will be days like last Sunday. Knee jerk reactions are pure pointless at the minute. Everyone get behind the team, yes question strange decisions but remember everyone involved with Meath football is doing their level best for the good of the county and we will rise again. On D Royal."
Superb post and agree 100%

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/02/2017 12:07:20    1954325

Replying To royaldunne:  "We will know tonight, it's a no win situation. Unfortunately"
Why will we know tonight?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/02/2017 12:08:20    1954326

Replying To anfearbeag:  "A few quick points.
1. Mick O'Dowd was "slated" because after four years in charge, the team was no better than when he had taken over. Certainly that is not all his fault, as we don't have the top class players at the minute. However after 4 years, there was no settled team, no obvious game-plan, our fitness and mental toughness was behind many other counties, and some of out best players had walked away.
2. Andy McEntee has been in charge for about 6 months, and he could do nothing with the squad for the first 2-3 months as they were all playing with their clubs. So to make any sort of comparison between the two is ridiculous at this stage. Come back in 2 years and we can judge how he has done.
3. He has had 1 proper competitive game in charge. One. So to say that results (so far) have not improved is a little disingenuous.
4. I agree that a lot of the problem is in the lack of investment by the county board. I go back to the fact that in 2015 Meath were the 5th lowest spenders of all counties in Ireland on their county teams. You could argue that the county board is doing well to keep spending under control, and not to spend more than they have. If that is the case, then quite simply we have to generate more income/sponsorship. Which is the job of the county board.
5. That should not be used to completely excuse the team failings for the past few years. Good manager can take an average team and make them better - more than the sum of their parts. Pete McGrath at Fermanagh being an obvious example at the minute. Fermanagh have won nothing at underage ever, and yet have a better team than we have.
6. We do definitely need to be patient. There are going to be some rough times ahead. All we can do is to keep doing the work behind the scenes and it will pay off. Put good managers and coaches in place, give them the resources they need, and let them do their job. From what I can see, we do have good people in charge right up from U-14 through to the senior team. We now need to back them. However that should not mean that they should be above criticism. If they are not doing the job, they need to be moved on, and let someone else in who can."
Spot on, its the start of Feb in a mans first year in charge and the prophets of doom are out, Jesus give the man some time, too compare him to mod at this stage is pathetic really by some posters, I expect a few more days like Kildare game over next few months with players only coming back, bedding in of Andy etc , so god only knows what you'll all be like then, bring back Eamonn Barry will it???

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 10/02/2017 12:26:57    1954338

Replying To anfearbeag: & southmeathgael

I hope neither of you think I am a prophet of doom and gloom or being disingenuous to Andy.
I am merely pointing out that it will take a little bit of time before we see Andy able to harvest the fruits of the recent resources put into Meath's underage's structures.
I was pointing out the players currently been used by Andy are similar to what was available to MOD and so far, both obtained the similar results. Yes Andy has only had 1 competitive game and Sunday will tell another tale, I am hopeful that I will be happier walking down Brews Hill this Sunday than I was last Sunday, blind optimism had taken over from reality before the game last week.
If Meath had being winning regularly at underage over the last 20 years you would have had a que of people looking to manage Meath hoping to ride the glory. But we hadn't, instead Andy & MOD were courageous enough to put their heads on the block. I thank them both for that as neither I nor anyone else writing on here would do it. Some people expect Meath to a super power simply because we are Meath, but the game has changed and it takes years of development and nurturing. I remember about 15 years ago, kids from a Dublin club were staying in my Aunts house as part of an All Ireland under 14 blitz thing. A week before the young lads arrived the club sent my Aunt a letter outlining the food to feed the kids (steaks, chicken and pasta, no pizzas or chippers) and the exercises they were to be doing while the kids were staying in her house even what time there were to be in bed by. Some of these lads now have All Irelands with Dublin. It has taken serious dedication on their behalf and everyone else involved with them along the way. But that's is the level top teams are currently at.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 10/02/2017 13:44:35    1954378