Meath v Derry

McGill, Curran and O'Brien aren't anything close to intercounty standard and have never done anything even on the club scene in Meath.
I've not seen Menton do much either apart from disappear in the county final. He did a good marking job on Michael Murphy in the Sigerson alright (was a poor enough DIT team that won that year) but thats hardly warrants being on the Meath panel, or is that how far we have fallen?

Why are these players being picked? What pedigree do they have?
Or did they just happen to play for fashionable clubs underage, get picked on a county minor team (that didn't win anything), picked by an under 21 manager who couldn't be bothered to scout for actual talent in the county so picks the county minors and then they end up on Meath senior panels.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 09/02/2017 12:52:56    1953962

This weekend id go for

1. Hannigan - Didnt do much wrong the last day. Not his fault if his kickouts aren't being won.

2. Lavin - Our best defender up there last year.
3. Keogan
4. Burke

5. Downey - Definitely deserves a chance after OBC.
6. Harnan - IMO D.Tobin is long term answer here, but until then Harnan is best of what we have.
7. Menton - His best position.

8. Flanagan - Best high fielder available to us at the moment.
9. Cian O'Brien

10. COS
11. Biggy
12. Forde

13. McMahon
14. O'coilean/Kennelly - Coming out around the middle to act as extra midfielder/ half forward. Leavin space for McMahon and Lenihan.
15. Lenihan

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 09/02/2017 13:23:30    1953972

Crinigan (Meath) Agree with you there and add that guys posting as 'best performer' means very little either. I have not seen anyone play well in the no 6 position over the past 3 years. I would put Keoghan in that position . We can all pick teams and maybe that is why none of us are managers!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/02/2017 13:33:48    1953976

Replying To subzero:  "My team if everbody was match fit :

1. POR. Hannigan not far off him though.
2. D. Keoghan. Still one of the best corner backs in the country.
3. C McGill. Would persevere with him in a better back line.
4. D. Tobin. When he recovers from injury.
5. B. Menton. Our best player in 2015 in this position.
6. P. Harnan. Best performer at 6.
7. S. Curran. Good pace and can come up and score.
8. Adam Flanagan. Need a fielder in midfield.
9. C O Brien. Good engine but needs to bulk up.
10. C O Sullivan. Dangerous forward but needs to be more of a team player.
11. Biggy. Has improved his work rate this year.
12. A. Forde. Great work rate and can take on a defence.
13. B McMahon. Pace to burn and can score. Needs to bulk up a bit
14. M Newman. Needed for longer frees. Very injury prone though.
15. D Lenihan. I feel we have not seen the best of this man yet."
Alright team but S. Curran is not up to it he was wiped out against Louth he was first to be subbed and it obvious to.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 09/02/2017 13:38:44    1953978

Replying To Crinigan:  "McGill, Curran and O'Brien aren't anything close to intercounty standard and have never done anything even on the club scene in Meath.
I've not seen Menton do much either apart from disappear in the county final. He did a good marking job on Michael Murphy in the Sigerson alright (was a poor enough DIT team that won that year) but thats hardly warrants being on the Meath panel, or is that how far we have fallen?

Or did they just happen to play for fashionable clubs underage, get picked on a county minor team (that didn't win anything), picked by an under 21 manager who couldn't be bothered to scout for actual talent in the county so picks the county minors and then they end up on Meath senior panels."
I amn't saying that they are good but while you are attacking their pedigree can you please name some alternatives ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1461 - 09/02/2017 13:50:47    1953986

With the football and hurling both clashing this Sunday, it will be interesting to see what panel James toher chooses, he's without more important to the hurlers but I think he could contribute well with our footballers is well, he has a great engine and a lovely left foot

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 09/02/2017 13:52:32    1953987

Replying To Crinigan:  "McGill, Curran and O'Brien aren't anything close to intercounty standard and have never done anything even on the club scene in Meath.

Or did they just happen to play for fashionable clubs underage, get picked on a county minor team (that didn't win anything), picked by an under 21 manager who couldn't be bothered to scout for actual talent in the county so picks the county minors and then they end up on Meath senior panels."
Just to correct you there Crinigan the DIT team that won the Sigerson in 2013 with Menton at full back was one of the strongest of the last Decade with Kevin O Brien, Nicky Deveraux, Colin Walshe, Aidan O Shea, David Givney, Martin Reilly, Mark Collins, Tomas O Connor, Jason Doherty and some lad called Darran O Sullivan. All current inter county players for Dublin, Monaghan, Mayo, Cavan, Cork, Kildare and Kerry

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 09/02/2017 14:03:09    1953990

@Crinigan, infact that post is probably a good example of why players avoid putting themselves in the spotlight when ill informed comments get posted on social media without even the most basic research.

Winning a Sigerson at Full Back in a panel containing All Stars and Multiple All Ireland winners shows Menton has been an outstanding player for most of his career and certainly at all levels up to Senior Intercounty, IMO his peak years are being wasted being played out of position.

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 09/02/2017 14:17:16    1953991

Replying To highking12:  "@Crinigan, infact that post is probably a good example of why players avoid putting themselves in the spotlight when ill informed comments get posted on social media without even the most basic research.

Winning a Sigerson at Full Back in a panel containing All Stars and Multiple All Ireland winners shows Menton has been an outstanding player for most of his career and certainly at all levels up to Senior Intercounty, IMO his peak years are being wasted being played out of position."
Where would you play Menton.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 09/02/2017 14:58:54    1954018

One name I left out is Conor Downey who was one of the better players in the O Byrne Cup and a good man to win breaks.
Regarding Sean Curran he pulled his hamstring against Louth which meant he had to go off. Could be back in the reckoning for Sunday.

Finally Crinnigan, you sound like a lad with a chip on your shoulder because you could never make an underage Meath team ..... or maybe even a parent of same.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 09/02/2017 15:06:57    1954025

@irishdownunder I was simply pointing out the obviously flawed reasoning behind an argument my opinion is irrelevant. However as you've specifically requested it without agreeing or disagreeing with me all Il say is I wouldn't play someone at midfield who has no past there.
From the managers perspective its obviously plugging a gap exercise due to the dearth of quality players at 8 or 9 so he's not to blame here. Rooney opting out, coupled with other external factors have weakened Meaths hand

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 09/02/2017 15:17:58    1954033

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I think Andy is better off having a bad start than a good start ! It's not how you start the season, it's how you finish is more important ! When Joe Schmidt took over Leinster the first few games leinster look clueless ...but it takes time and a couple of games for the manager of any team to put their stamp on it and get through to lads this is what i want ! Another thing is there is no such thing as psychological damage done by losing a game of football lord jaysus..i still never met any Mayo footballers drooling from the mouth and swallowing a bucket of tablets for losing all them all irelands ! Its a game off ball the defender is not running after anybody with a shot gun :) Look if i was a Sport Psychologist i would be telling the lads after the louth defeat that they suffered psychological damage...and i am going to fix the problem but it will cost 2000 euros ...so i put on me big white doctors coat...then i put on my balaclava ! Do you know what i mean ?"
With you on the psychological damage aspect. If lads cant get over losing a football match God help us all. If that were the case Mayo would never play football again and what of the Dubs post 91
Mental strength had no part to play in Kildare,s early scores. Some are looking way too deeply for excuses.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 09/02/2017 15:40:26    1954042

Menton was tried at full back for Meath after his solid showing against Murphy but not very sucessfully. Best position seems to be wing back

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 09/02/2017 15:47:59    1954044

Thought Downing did well in any match that I've seen him play this year (best of all HB's and good at winning breaks). Wish all the best of luck on Sunday.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/02/2017 15:48:50    1954046

Replying To highking12:  "@irishdownunder I was simply pointing out the obviously flawed reasoning behind an argument my opinion is irrelevant. However as you've specifically requested it without agreeing or disagreeing with me all Il say is I wouldn't play someone at midfield who has no past there.
From the managers perspective its obviously plugging a gap exercise due to the dearth of quality players at 8 or 9 so he's not to blame here. Rooney opting out, coupled with other external factors have weakened Meaths hand"
no i was just genuinely curious as to where you think he would be suited best. We have traditionally been able to build on having a solid back line and normally an very good Full back. Personally I don't rate any of the full backs that have featured for us since reilly but even he struggled when injuries got the better of him. People will call for my head but I think menton should be deployed here or at least at CB but I think the game passes him by at CB

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 09/02/2017 16:43:59    1954072

Replying To seadog54:  "Menton was tried at full back for Meath after his solid showing against Murphy but not very sucessfully. Best position seems to be wing back"
its been a long time since then. I would like to see him given another go there.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 09/02/2017 16:45:12    1954073

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I amn't saying that they are good but while you are attacking their pedigree can you please name some alternatives ?"
I did. Named a full team on a different thread.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 09/02/2017 16:46:11    1954074

Replying To subzero:  "One name I left out is Conor Downey who was one of the better players in the O Byrne Cup and a good man to win breaks.
Regarding Sean Curran he pulled his hamstring against Louth which meant he had to go off. Could be back in the reckoning for Sunday.

Finally Crinnigan, you sound like a lad with a chip on your shoulder because you could never make an underage Meath team ..... or maybe even a parent of same."
No chip on my shoulder lad, I've had my time with my own county.

I can see all the time in Meath that at underage level a lot of players don't get a run because they aren't attached to fashionable clubs. For eg, Donncha Tobin (Meath's best player along with Keoghan) never got a sniff with the Meath U21s. How many players like this are overlooked and don't get a break? Many players don't even get a sniff in favour of these lads with big names from big clubs who never actually have won anything (ie Ashbourne and Ratoath). Why are so many players coming from these clubs?

Heres the Ratoath team that were defeated by St Mary's of Kerry by 2-20 to 1-5 (18 point defeat!)....

RATOATH: S Duffy; G McGowan, C McGill, P Flaherty; B O'Connor, B Power, E Boyle; C O'Brien (1-0), B O'Brien; E Wallace (0-1), K McCabe, B McMahon (0-4, 3f); C Rooney, G Rooney, J Wallace. Subs: D McGill for Flaherty (14), D Kelly for G Rooney (27 mins), F Coyne for C Rooney (39), B Daly for Power (49), M Daly for McCabe (49), J McGowan for O'Connor (54).

6 players on the Meath panel at the moment (and Joey Wallace on the panel last year to make it 7).

And people wonder why Meath aren't what they used to be?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 09/02/2017 17:03:05    1954081

I think Tobin played on the Meath minors that won Leinster in 2008. Surprised he wasn't on the under 21s.
I think Keoghan was a late developer. Don't recall him playing minor at any stage. Some guys may not put themselves forward with school, college etc. but I certainly agree with you they are two of Meath's best over the past few years.

Anyway, whoever Andy picks best of luck to them. I would never criticise any player with the sacrifices they are making for so little reward.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 09/02/2017 17:53:13    1954100

Replying To Crinigan:  "No chip on my shoulder lad, I've had my time with my own county.

I can see all the time in Meath that at underage level a lot of players don't get a run because they aren't attached to fashionable clubs. For eg, Donncha Tobin (Meath's best player along with Keoghan) never got a sniff with the Meath U21s. How many players like this are overlooked and don't get a break? Many players don't even get a sniff in favour of these lads with big names from big clubs who never actually have won anything (ie Ashbourne and Ratoath). Why are so many players coming from these clubs?

Heres the Ratoath team that were defeated by St Mary's of Kerry by 2-20 to 1-5 (18 point defeat!)....

RATOATH: S Duffy; G McGowan, C McGill, P Flaherty; B O'Connor, B Power, E Boyle; C O'Brien (1-0), B O'Brien; E Wallace (0-1), K McCabe, B McMahon (0-4, 3f); C Rooney, G Rooney, J Wallace. Subs: D McGill for Flaherty (14), D Kelly for G Rooney (27 mins), F Coyne for C Rooney (39), B Daly for Power (49), M Daly for McCabe (49), J McGowan for O'Connor (54).

6 players on the Meath panel at the moment (and Joey Wallace on the panel last year to make it 7).

And people wonder why Meath aren't what they used to be?"
Ratoath won a County and Leinster championship to get to that All-Ireland Semi-Final!! Ashbourne last year won Division 1 league and Feis Cup and well as making the Senior Championship Final so I don't undertsand how you can say they have won nothing!!

Fair point about Tobin on the U-21's but the team you mentioned on the other thread were players who had already been tried and failed at intercounty level or else through 2 different manager were deemed not good enough. Maybe they should be given a chance but at the minute Menton, Power and McGill all deserve/deserved their chance

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 09/02/2017 18:07:30    1954111