Meath v Derry

No doubt they will, may be to our advantage. But if we steady the ship next weekend we should be capable of picking up enough points to keep us up. ( Derry/Fermanagh/Down and Clare) Tough ask but not impossible

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 06/02/2017 21:57:51    1953066

Replying To dunboynelad:  "With all the talk of the midfield situation, we may have got away with it last year to an extent but this new mark is meaning we've gone from in the space of a few months, where it looked the midfield position in GAA as we know it was bordering extinct, right back to a massive emphasis being put on fielding with the mark rule, which to be fair is proving a success. In that sense we're unfortunate with the timing of Rooneys departure as he'd have flourished under it. I should add Kildare are particularly strong here, Feely will mop up some amount of marks this year, and even Moolick is better than most midfielders we'll face in this division.

Anyway as for suggestions, we can barely get two on the inside forward line as it is, never mind three so the spare man is in and around the park to hopefully counteract our weakness. The 'spare man' Sunday was Wallace but I'm not sure where he was meant to be really, keep him wing forward if he can play himself in to the form we know he's capable of. The obvious one is bring in Lowndes now, he's athletic, not lacking in height, and I touched on the quality of ball to the forwards in the other thread; this is where I feel he's best as he's a proper footballer. As a third midfielder he could effectively be the playmaker from deep which is something else badly lacking. As dangerous as our half forward runners are, they're not Trevor Giles, or even Niall Kellys as we saw Sunday. Menton still shows glimpses in the middle even if we know it's not his best position, there's some good aggression there, so I'd keep him there for now til we have alternatives, and Flanagan has probably earned a shot at partnering him.

Elsewhere we badly need to find someone to partner Lenihan inside, we don't have many natural inside forwards, take out the injured Newman and there's very little there, is McMahon injured as well? Unless we're looking at two half forwards in Bobby O Brien and O Coilean to move inside for now I'm really struggling to think of other options. Neither Kennelly or Sheridan have worked, nor did we unearth anything in The O Byrne cup.

As a few have said I'd have POR back in goals for the kickouts, his ability to bypass midfield is now massive.

In defence, I'd have Lavin back in the corner, he was arguably our best defender up there in the summer that day. Burke takes some stick on here but I'd definitely have him in the side this week, he won't be bullied or stand off in how we were doing so on Sunday, and if there will be changes he gets the benefit of the doubt as he happened to miss most of Sunday with the black card."
I seen lowndes in the O'Byrne cup he's not the answer!! No where need good enough

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 06/02/2017 22:51:47    1953088

Won't be the team for sunday but Would like to see this team tried
1 Hannigan
2 Lavin
3 Menton
4 Burke
5 Wallace pace could be used to launch attacks & also to stop his man doing likewise
6 Keoghan
7 Forde
8 Flanagan
9 Reilly
10 Downey
11 F Ward accurate ball into sheridan & lenihan
12 Kennelly
13 C. o Brien move out around midfield
14 Sheridan didnt get great ball in 1st half so would give him another shot
15 Lenihan

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 06/02/2017 23:01:14    1953094

Where is COS!

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 07/02/2017 08:17:55    1953141

Worrying that Meath had 2 weeks to prepare for the Kildare game and we got hammered by 10 points. I would hve taught getting knocked of the OBC was blessing in the disguise. But now are are no further on. Only roughly about 7 or guaranteed starers .
Alan Forde
Donal Leinhan
COS
Graham Reilly
Mc Gill
Donal keoghan
Menton

Any other starters the last day would very lucky to make the Derry game. Some mentioned above where poor but we have no else to replace them at the moment.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 07/02/2017 11:29:20    1953210

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Worrying that Meath had 2 weeks to prepare for the Kildare game and we got hammered by 10 points. I would hve taught getting knocked of the OBC was blessing in the disguise. But now are are no further on. Only roughly about 7 or guaranteed starers .
Alan Forde
Donal Leinhan
COS
Graham Reilly
Mc Gill
Donal keoghan
Menton

Any other starters the last day would very lucky to make the Derry game. Some mentioned above where poor but we have no else to replace them at the moment."
McGill is i no way a guaranteed starter

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/02/2017 13:17:03    1953257

Paddy o Rourke no 14 and for 45's and long range frees as a trial. We have to exploit long high early delivery to him, with players feeding off his deflections even. Midfield we need players hoovering lose ball to supply forwards. Maybe Flanagan could try clean fielding of high balls when possible . Our Kickouts short when possible with players running into position for possession. Variety in approach to reduce predictibility. limited in what we can do .but we have to use what we have more productively,or at least try. Keoghan no 6 [for 1st half) In general play must be much more direct, as we simply do not have the time or the players for over elaboration. A lot of blanks to be filled in.' all forwards run into position for a pass.out in front rather than parked behind a defender.
It seems we have players who are in development at least,and really the name is not as important as the ability of that person to fill a role as a team player who always gives his all. Midfield Flanagan and an other with Menton as a defender. Andy tough job in instilling maximum ALERTNESS in all players..in his reading of the game and responding etc .Best of luck Andy!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 07/02/2017 13:21:12    1953260

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Worrying that Meath had 2 weeks to prepare for the Kildare game and we got hammered by 10 points. I would hve taught getting knocked of the OBC was blessing in the disguise. But now are are no further on. Only roughly about 7 or guaranteed starers .
Alan Forde
Donal Leinhan
COS
Graham Reilly
Mc Gill
Donal keoghan
Menton

Any other starters the last day would very lucky to make the Derry game. Some mentioned above where poor but we have no else to replace them at the moment."
how can you seriously say McGill is a guaranteed starter? how many roastings has he got over last 2 years?? Meaths main problem is we don't have a commanding full back and centre back. teams running through to easily for goals

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 07/02/2017 13:23:05    1953261

Anyone expecting Graham Reilly to play next Sunday is clueless and ignorant. The lad is playing the biggest game in his clubs history and good luck to them. I would expect him to be unavailable until after their All Ireland Final is done.

leftnright (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 07/02/2017 13:24:56    1953263

Replying To meathforsam09:  "how can you seriously say McGill is a guaranteed starter? how many roastings has he got over last 2 years?? Meaths main problem is we don't have a commanding full back and centre back. teams running through to easily for goals"
Mc Gill is not a guaranteed he is one of the ones I would have listed as dodgy. But this first goal was Keoghans man when Mc gill pulled out and it was Keoghan that got swiped out one on one. So are you going drop him as well ?? My point is we just cant drop everyone my list is only the ones that I think will make it one way or another for the Derry game. Sure we played Killdare with 4 players Forde Lenihan COS Reilly in bits. The rest where poor to say the least.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 07/02/2017 14:01:04    1953285

AGREED

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 07/02/2017 14:26:19    1953293

Based on the performance in the Kildare game only COS, Reilly, Forde and Lenihan would be guaranteed, but I would continue with the same full back line for at least the next game and try a completely new Half back line and midfield as they were anonymous and it would matter if you had the best 3 defenders in the country in there the last time they would have been turned over with the amount of space out in front of them!! Now none of them played well don't get me wrong, but if we held our own further out the field maybe we would have done better in the full back line. McGill got his hand in on a number of balls that got played in, and did well under the one high ball played in in the 2nd half. Keoghan is Keoghan and was poor by his standards but still is our best back, and Burke wasn't on long enough to play well or poorly.

Personally with whats available to us I would go with a half back line of Downey Menton Forde and the O Brien and Flanagan in the middle!! Flanagan may not have the fitness for the full 70 but if needs be then Menton can be pushed up! Harnan played against Ratoath in Feis cup, so may be on the bench so can come in at CHB for the last 15-20 mins, or even Power (much better suited to the middle than wing). Either way whoever starts in the cluster of 5 need to offer more protection to the Full back line or as I said, it won't matter whos playing there, they will be destroyed.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 07/02/2017 15:09:55    1953311

Replying To ratlag:  "Based on the performance in the Kildare game only COS, Reilly, Forde and Lenihan would be guaranteed, but I would continue with the same full back line for at least the next game and try a completely new Half back line and midfield as they were anonymous and it would matter if you had the best 3 defenders in the country in there the last time they would have been turned over with the amount of space out in front of them!! Now none of them played well don't get me wrong, but if we held our own further out the field maybe we would have done better in the full back line. McGill got his hand in on a number of balls that got played in, and did well under the one high ball played in in the 2nd half. Keoghan is Keoghan and was poor by his standards but still is our best back, and Burke wasn't on long enough to play well or poorly.

Personally with whats available to us I would go with a half back line of Downey Menton Forde and the O Brien and Flanagan in the middle!! Flanagan may not have the fitness for the full 70 but if needs be then Menton can be pushed up! Harnan played against Ratoath in Feis cup, so may be on the bench so can come in at CHB for the last 15-20 mins, or even Power (much better suited to the middle than wing). Either way whoever starts in the cluster of 5 need to offer more protection to the Full back line or as I said, it won't matter whos playing there, they will be destroyed."
We have 5 or 6 players at the required standard ,and they pick themselves. The rest are much of a muchness,and really eny meeny on the day. The manager's job is more difficult in that case. Critical that every player is used to his full potential,after it is clear he is fit for purpose. Confidence building is critical from here for most players. Laps of the field on its own simply a waste of time in this case. Anyway ,strenght and conditioning takes care of physical fittness issues. So Andy more or less gets a player fit for purpose physically,and he has to coach him onwards. One to ONE coaching, team coaching, individual and team goal setting,. video work, individually and collectively ,reviews etc.
Dont know how long it takes to do that in a given week. My point is that is what has to be done. To say they spend 6 nights a week training means nothing. What is the training about ? seems a good question. Are we more of a team now than 2 months ago because of that training ? Yes it will be slow, but like building a house you need solid foundations. Yes my remarks may sound cheeky, but as a life long Meath supporter i just thought 2017 would see us turn the corner at least. Maybe next Sunday could show some light!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 07/02/2017 17:14:57    1953359

Replying To nobull456:  "We have 5 or 6 players at the required standard ,and they pick themselves. The rest are much of a muchness,and really eny meeny on the day. The manager's job is more difficult in that case. Critical that every player is used to his full potential,after it is clear he is fit for purpose. Confidence building is critical from here for most players. Laps of the field on its own simply a waste of time in this case. Anyway ,strenght and conditioning takes care of physical fittness issues. So Andy more or less gets a player fit for purpose physically,and he has to coach him onwards. One to ONE coaching, team coaching, individual and team goal setting,. video work, individually and collectively ,reviews etc.
Dont know how long it takes to do that in a given week. My point is that is what has to be done. To say they spend 6 nights a week training means nothing. What is the training about ? seems a good question. Are we more of a team now than 2 months ago because of that training ? Yes it will be slow, but like building a house you need solid foundations. Yes my remarks may sound cheeky, but as a life long Meath supporter i just thought 2017 would see us turn the corner at least. Maybe next Sunday could show some light!!"
Does he need to do anything on the mental side of things?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 07/02/2017 17:40:28    1953372

Replying To bert09:  "Does he need to do anything on the mental side of things?"
Without mental preparation and toughness..... the rest is a waste of time.........Its clear this Meath team weakest point is its lack of mental toughness.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 07/02/2017 17:57:49    1953382

I am going to be very interested in the team announcement for this game, will lads get a chance to redeem themselves? will there be positional switches? will there be wholesale changes? Personally I think there will be changes and I'm all for Lowndes getting a shot at midfield and Menton going to full back with McGill going to half back with PO'R to return in goals, I would imagine there was little or no craic about Dunganny last night with the cat o nine tails being used in abundance during training, I expect to see a very different performance next Sunday

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/02/2017 18:12:40    1953390

Replying To nobull456:  "Without mental preparation and toughness..... the rest is a waste of time.........Its clear this Meath team weakest point is its lack of mental toughness."
I have been saying this for 2 years.
I got to be honest since the defeat to Westmeath we seem to be very fragile mentally, that has also seemed to pass onto the newer lads coming in.
How Andy address this is his major hurdle. I was not the only one scarred by that defeat, I think players were too. The team has only gotten worse since that day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2017 18:38:35    1953399

Replying To nobull456:  "Without mental preparation and toughness..... the rest is a waste of time.........Its clear this Meath team weakest point is its lack of mental toughness."
Mental toughness in a key objective of overall coaching rather than just a separate module exclusively. Its without doubt the most difficult part of the job in this case from where the team is at. Requires delicate and confident delivery ,and highlights a key skill for a good coach especially now. Note how the greats in this area joe Smidt rugby and our own Sean Boylan operated silently behind the scenes where SHOUTING on the day seemed unnecessary.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 07/02/2017 18:45:48    1953403

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "Where is COS!"
Sorry 13 should be Cillian o Sullivan

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 07/02/2017 19:34:38    1953411

Replying To Richieq:  "I am going to be very interested in the team announcement for this game, will lads get a chance to redeem themselves? will there be positional switches? will there be wholesale changes? Personally I think there will be changes and I'm all for Lowndes getting a shot at midfield and Menton going to full back with McGill going to half back with PO'R to return in goals, I would imagine there was little or no craic about Dunganny last night with the cat o nine tails being used in abundance during training, I expect to see a very different performance next Sunday"
Will have to be changes, but Menton is not a full back, bring him back to halfbacks. Andy Mc (unsurprisingly) sounded fairly glum in todays Indo

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 07/02/2017 19:57:39    1953421