Meath v Derry

Replying To Bear10:  "Cian Ward or Jamie queeney ????? . Ha ha . maye Paddy o rourke . I think he plays there for Skyrne. Other option is to put in a fast player like O Coileain or Downey and bring them out to collect ball and help out our young midfielders"
Bobby O'Brien could be our best option short term..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/02/2017 18:12:39    1952918

Replying To anto_meath:  "Unfortunately ziggy32001 that is a major problem, look at the club scene there is no stand out mid fielder in the county nor as there been for some time. Its very unfair on poor Menton expecting him to play midfield. We are robbing the half back line of someone who would be an addition and not really getting any benefit from him at midfield. I think Keogan, Menton and Ford should be the half backs, Midfield G Reilly, Flanagan (If fit). Half forwards, O'Sullivan, Paddy Kennelly, McMahon. I would also start F Ward as Full Forward. Ye I know its not great but I do think it would be better than what was on display yesterday."
yeah you could be right.If we use Kennelly it would be as a 3rd midfielder.As you say Menton is a quality wing bak,but as bad as the midfield was,nobody was getting into position for breaking ball.Personally I think there is still a workrate issue.Did every player truely give it 100% on Sunday? I don't think so,so we haven't got that foundation yet.Would love to know what andy thinks of this side of things..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/02/2017 18:18:03    1952920

Replying To anto_meath:  "Unfortunately ziggy32001 that is a major problem, look at the club scene there is no stand out mid fielder in the county nor as there been for some time. Its very unfair on poor Menton expecting him to play midfield. We are robbing the half back line of someone who would be an addition and not really getting any benefit from him at midfield. I think Keogan, Menton and Ford should be the half backs, Midfield G Reilly, Flanagan (If fit). Half forwards, O'Sullivan, Paddy Kennelly, McMahon. I would also start F Ward as Full Forward. Ye I know its not great but I do think it would be better than what was on display yesterday."
This is going to sound shocking but I don't think O'Brien is going to make it at county standard

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2017 18:36:45    1952932

When Menton played wing back two seasons ago he won a lot of dirty ball...But yesterday with the new Mark rule he was playing midfield and punching the ball :/

I always thought with the introduction of the Mark rule it would suit Meath football ! Winning clean catch ball from kick out would do away with a lot of punching the ball down to nobody or the opposition ! You know this is going to be very hard to believe and a lot of lads will be scratching there little loaf of bread to this one..But Paddy O'Rourke would have caught a lot of ball yesterday from midfield from kick out...and from there we would have established a platform to reset and attack ! See football its very simple game really ..Paddy O'Rourke he can't sing he can't dance and he looks awful but he would have won clean ball from midfield yesterday and called the Mark...if Kildare didn't have Menton yesterday punching the ball down to them they wouldn't have won ! So is there any need for a shiny brand new Seamus Kenny if we were able to catch the fecking ball :)

ps

There were five marks called in Salthill, with four of them directly leading to scores !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 06/02/2017 19:08:50    1952948

It really is deckchairs on the titanic stuff for the Derry game as Andy said there are no more players back.

One of the mistakes that Andy made yesterday was not swapping Keoghan with Douglas during the first half. A couple of occasions when Keoghan moved forward Douglas went back & covered & I thought there had been a switch. I think we have to try Keoghan on the half back line for at least this game. Leadership from him and Biggy in the middle part of the field will be will be vital.

1. POR (I think he takes better kickout options)
2. Douglas (v quiet yesterday but I dont think his man scored)
3. Menton (not suited for midfield - hopefully can plug the gap here)
4. Burke (not sure what happened yesterday for black card)
5. Downey (deserves a start based on OBC)
6. McGill (more effective there imo than full back)
7. Keoghan (hopefully get more breaking ball)
8. Flanagan
9. Biggy (longer term hope we have other options but need him here this weekend anyway.)
10.O'Sullivan
11.Bobby O'Brien
12. Forde (should try o play the Seamus Kenny role as mentioned by someone else)
13. Wallace (also quiet on sunday but hopefully potential in two man FF line)
14. O' Coilean ( move out a bit on to the half forward line)
15. Lenihan

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 06/02/2017 19:28:26    1952958

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "When Menton played wing back two seasons ago he won a lot of dirty ball...But yesterday with the new Mark rule he was playing midfield and punching the ball :/

I always thought with the introduction of the Mark rule it would suit Meath football ! Winning clean catch ball from kick out would do away with a lot of punching the ball down to nobody or the opposition ! You know this is going to be very hard to believe and a lot of lads will be scratching there little loaf of bread to this one..But Paddy O'Rourke would have caught a lot of ball yesterday from midfield from kick out...and from there we would have established a platform to reset and attack ! See football its very simple game really ..Paddy O'Rourke he can't sing he can't dance and he looks awful but he would have won clean ball from midfield yesterday and called the Mark...if Kildare didn't have Menton yesterday punching the ball down to them they wouldn't have won ! So is there any need for a shiny brand new Seamus Kenny if we were able to catch the fecking ball :)

ps

There were five marks called in Salthill, with four of them directly leading to scores !"
Was Paddy not injured? I would support him returning in goals but putting him straight into midfield would be pushing it I would say.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 06/02/2017 19:30:28    1952959

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Who should we play full forward in this game?"
Bobby o brien

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 06/02/2017 20:00:49    1952975

Alternatively, we could try not kicking long balls into midfield from out kick-outs, if we don't have anyone there capable of catching them. Develop a plan for taking quick short kick-outs to corner-backs, or kicking it out to the wings to half-backs and half forwards making runs for the ball.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 06/02/2017 20:01:31    1952976

Replying To royaldunne:  "This is going to sound shocking but I don't think O'Brien is going to make it at county standard"
Why?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 06/02/2017 20:08:48    1952982

This team is simply unable to compete with a top 10 team. No foundation in place with a poor midfield and poor supply of ball into a mediocre full forward line. Brian Sheridan was a gamble that didn't pay off. Keoghan is clearly overrated and isn't being played to his strengths. At least Alan Forde showed some ambition and took on his man at times. Why isn't Conor Downey starting?

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 06/02/2017 20:14:57    1952984

Replying To bert09:  "Bobby o brien"
You having a laugh.

Honestly where do people get these notions about Ratoath players? What have they ever done?
You dismissed my team entirely for having likes of Larkin and Lenehan on it, proven leaders and winners with Keegan cup medals to show for it, yet you think Ratoath lads are going to do it for us? How exactly did Ratoath with 7 meath players get on against that intermediate team from Kerry? Forget about it

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 06/02/2017 20:19:35    1952992

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I see your points,but where do we find a midfield at this stage? We have Derry on Sunday.The best midfielders in Meath are Harry Rooney,Shane O'Rourke,Conor Nash and Ronan Jones.
we don't have a full forward and in general when players look up to pass there is nobody there to pass too.I would play D.Tobin at midfield but he is injured.We are stuck with Menton out of position and either O'Brien or flanagan."
Waste of time playing Menton at midfield he is just filling a shirt, has been tried in many position and half back is where he will contribute most, try Toher and Flanagan cannot be any worse.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 06/02/2017 20:34:31    1953003

Replying To Crinigan:  "You having a laugh.

Honestly where do people get these notions about Ratoath players? What have they ever done?
You dismissed my team entirely for having likes of Larkin and Lenehan on it, proven leaders and winners with Keegan cup medals to show for it, yet you think Ratoath lads are going to do it for us? How exactly did Ratoath with 7 meath players get on against that intermediate team from Kerry? Forget about it"
Can you post your team again to allow me to review it?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 06/02/2017 20:38:39    1953006

Replying To Crinigan:  "You having a laugh.

You dismissed my team entirely for having likes of Larkin and Lenehan on it, proven leaders and winners with Keegan cup medals to show for it, yet you think Ratoath lads are going to do it for us? How exactly did Ratoath with 7 meath players get on against that intermediate team from Kerry? Forget about it"
I agree that Bobby O'Brien isnt the answer to our problems but why do you keep mentioning players that aren't even on the panel. I presume you mean lenehan from Skryne and not Dunboyne. Him and Larkin were tried with Meath and weren't great either so why are you mentioning them. I have seen lenehan playing for Skryne a number of times and he has been impressive but he was very poor with Meath.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 06/02/2017 20:39:22    1953007

Replying To bert09:  "Why?"
He is too light for a start, and gets very hard to win his own ball. We have all seen great club player who just don't do it at county.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/02/2017 20:41:55    1953009

On thinking of my best 15 I keep completly changing my mind ! I would play with the sweeper system ! We have a habit of conceding big scores..I think at the very least we need to be hard to beat! We need a huge workrate!! Sweeper cutting out long balls into our full back line !! We need to inject pace into the forwards, have them playing off each others shoulders but be patient when needed and be clinical !! Too many wrong decisions missed goal chances ! I remember at a training session in seneschalstown just after he took over the first time he encouraged us to be confident and sometimes try the spectacular and it really payed off!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 06/02/2017 21:12:50    1953030

As there were only two FF players inside yesterday, I think instead of having Wallace drop deep and hover around the place mostly for his pace, we should try someone like Downey instead (I'm open to suggestions who else might fit) to take on the role of winning breaking and dirty ball around the middle. It is more suited to a small tigerish defensive type player who is not afraid to go in where it hurts (like Kenny was, a half back converted/switched to playing a defensive half forward role by EOB) and with the ability to use the ball well when he gets it (and initiate attacks). I'd leave Alan Forde where he is, wide on a wing. We are going to have to set up more defensively. And if we have two mobile corner forwards/forwards inside with pace, for flip sake deliver some low ball into them, in front of them or wide, not high balls that nullify the advantage of having their pace.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 06/02/2017 21:13:55    1953031

Replying To royaldunne:  "Forget about Kildare, we can do nothing about it. It's all about getting a win on Sunday, if we should win everything is back on the table, however a loss and relegation is on the table, I'll be honest I had wins against Derry Kildare and Down as been certain ( well as near to it as possible) also I had Clare away as a win, and to win one the other homes games, 10 points and see where that takes us. Now one of those is gone this game is now must win or we could end up at best on 6 , that may not be good enough. So let's pack out"
As I said, Armagh got relegated on 6 points last season.

On yesterdays performance every other team in the group will think they can take Meath.

Call me negative but it's actually just a bit of realism. Where will the win's come from?

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 06/02/2017 21:39:33    1953053

You drop/pick up points in games you don't expect to. Anyway, the most important games are the ones vs. potential relegation rivals. Have the head to head advantage. A win in Newry is essential or we're heading for D3.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 06/02/2017 21:50:07    1953062

With all the talk of the midfield situation, we may have got away with it last year to an extent but this new mark is meaning we've gone from in the space of a few months, where it looked the midfield position in GAA as we know it was bordering extinct, right back to a massive emphasis being put on fielding with the mark rule, which to be fair is proving a success. In that sense we're unfortunate with the timing of Rooneys departure as he'd have flourished under it. I should add Kildare are particularly strong here, Feely will mop up some amount of marks this year, and even Moolick is better than most midfielders we'll face in this division.

Anyway as for suggestions, we can barely get two on the inside forward line as it is, never mind three so the spare man is in and around the park to hopefully counteract our weakness. The 'spare man' Sunday was Wallace but I'm not sure where he was meant to be really, keep him wing forward if he can play himself in to the form we know he's capable of. The obvious one is bring in Lowndes now, he's athletic, not lacking in height, and I touched on the quality of ball to the forwards in the other thread; this is where I feel he's best as he's a proper footballer. As a third midfielder he could effectively be the playmaker from deep which is something else badly lacking. As dangerous as our half forward runners are, they're not Trevor Giles, or even Niall Kellys as we saw Sunday. Menton still shows glimpses in the middle even if we know it's not his best position, there's some good aggression there, so I'd keep him there for now til we have alternatives, and Flanagan has probably earned a shot at partnering him.

Elsewhere we badly need to find someone to partner Lenihan inside, we don't have many natural inside forwards, take out the injured Newman and there's very little there, is McMahon injured as well? Unless we're looking at two half forwards in Bobby O Brien and O Coilean to move inside for now I'm really struggling to think of other options. Neither Kennelly or Sheridan have worked, nor did we unearth anything in The O Byrne cup.

As a few have said I'd have POR back in goals for the kickouts, his ability to bypass midfield is now massive.

In defence, I'd have Lavin back in the corner, he was arguably our best defender up there in the summer that day. Burke takes some stick on here but I'd definitely have him in the side this week, he won't be bullied or stand off in how we were doing so on Sunday, and if there will be changes he gets the benefit of the doubt as he happened to miss most of Sunday with the black card.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 06/02/2017 21:56:42    1953065