Meath v Derry

Replying To nobull456:  "Sean Tobin"
Sean Tobin! Were you not at the louth game Jaysus such a suggestion !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 22:47:44    1955765

Replying To bert09:  "Very happy with the managers substitutions today."
Bert 09 yes agreed

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 12/02/2017 22:47:49    1955766

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Why should he have been taken off?"
Bryan McMahon is why, scored a great goal with his first touch, we didn't need a target man, Derry couldn't cope with our speed,the best thing Brian was doing was getting out of the way for cillian bursting through

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 12/02/2017 22:52:04    1955773

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Sean Tobin! Were you not at the louth game Jaysus such a suggestion !"
He couldn't have seen the Louth game!

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 12/02/2017 23:05:29    1955783

Replying To pauk123:  "This place is a mad house one decent half against a pale shodow of a Derry team and suddenly it's the start of something great. Down will the easiest away fixture. If this management team are even half as good as the hype it'll be a win."
Doesn't matter who the win comes against, winning breeds confidence it's as simple as that. On to the next game, up the Royals!

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/02/2017 23:09:31    1955788

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Sean Tobin! Were you not at the louth game Jaysus such a suggestion !"
Yes i was ......and i am the first to say our options are limited. I also saw Brian Sheridan get his chance to claim a place. No not for me .Sean Tobin may not be the answer either. Probably Newman because he has operated at this level in the past. Can he re capture that form ? Now that is the question

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 12/02/2017 23:24:01    1955803

Replying To redser123:  "Bryan McMahon is why, scored a great goal with his first touch, we didn't need a target man, Derry couldn't cope with our speed,the best thing Brian was doing was getting out of the way for cillian bursting through"
Yeah I heard you saying that earlier ! Game was over when McMahon came on! Any forward would relish coming on 10 points up with the wind with fresh legs and the hard work done!! And by the way McMahon is an excellent player !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 23:33:52    1955814

Replying To ziggy32001:  "yeah agree with this,maybe I'm wrong,but I thought Sheridan did everything you want from a full forward.Was aggressive when he had to be,won alot of clean ball,worked hard to get out in front of his man and set up a lot of scores.Just because he doesn't get 1-4 doesn't mean he had a bad game.
Some of the comments about Sheridan,McEntee is just wrong and disappointing,we won by 15 points.."
I thought Brian Sheridan did very well today, completely amazed to see some complaining about him here.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1355 - 12/02/2017 23:40:06    1955822

Good result today and I wouldn't bring him in for the next days by any means. Anybody know where Kennelly is gone ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 12/02/2017 23:41:10    1955824

I personally thought Sheridan was good today, he was winning plenty of ball that went his way and laying it off for scores. Lenihan had a poor game but that happens so I wouldnt be too worried there. The wind was also quite strong so we had to carry the ball the first half which suited Derry as they could retreat to their 45 and get a hit on us there as kicking it in was never really an option with 2 sweepers at times.
Menton was superb today, and Toher and Carry did themselves no harm either. O Sulllivan could have finished with 2 more goals as well!!

On a side note about Sheridan, Derrys full back was called ashore quite early so Sheridan was obviously doing something right. That said he may have been injured.

royalfan4life (Meath) - Posts: 76 - 12/02/2017 23:54:56    1955834

Fair play to young Joey Wallace. This lad has taken a lot of flack from keyboard warriors across the county. Onwards and upwards for Meath. Division 2 is wide open.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 13/02/2017 06:33:14    1955859

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I thought Brian Sheridan did very well today, completely amazed to see some complaining about him here."
Big time

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 13/02/2017 08:17:22    1955873

Replying To nobull456:  "Yes i was ......and i am the first to say our options are limited. I also saw Brian Sheridan get his chance to claim a place. No not for me .Sean Tobin may not be the answer either. Probably Newman because he has operated at this level in the past. Can he re capture that form ? Now that is the question"
Newman will play no doubt when he returns !! But he could play corner forward as well! We need competition and options for places and I can see that happening ! To say Brian Sheridan is not county standard is plain wrong! He has bags of a ability! Anyway onwards and upwards

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 13/02/2017 08:24:03    1955878

Replying To Meathgaa5:  "Student ticket was €7 last week. Nearly half the price"
it was €12 for a pre paid ticket and €15 for a ticket at the gate last week so don't know what your issue is if anything that represents great value for money. last week was scandalous with €15 for a single game

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 13/02/2017 08:59:54    1955894

A good result , even without the Slaughtneil contingent , a win is a win . And in the league you get those opportunities . Some very good performances there , Carry from Drumbaragh seemed to be involved big time in a lot of the positive moves during the match ,Menton showed brief flash's of what he is capable of. so I'd be putting a tick against both their names for further opportunities .
Its hard to understand what the issue is with D Lenihan , on his day he can be exceptional . But yesterday fluffed , missed , and generally looked very nervous to be playing at this level ,three scorable opportunities went a begging due to nerves etc. Andy needs to be getting a Sport psychologist to be working with these guys . on a one to one basis ( teaching them the tricks of controlling the situation . that is , depending on what their perceived role is going to be in the game , ie. Free taker , Peno taker , etc. Missing opportunities the likes of which were missed in the first half needs to stop . In the desert , or during a drought , every drop of rain needs to be harvested to ensure survival . Div 2 could turn out to be that desert , drought situation for Meath this year .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 13/02/2017 09:08:07    1955900

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Quick question does anyone else think Brian should have been taken off earlier ?"
I think Sheridan been taken was to give Tobin a run in fairness. Game was well over when Sheridan came off he got a good reception from the crowd to for his efforts when coming off. To be honest Sheridan was poor last week. But I was dam glad of him yesterday. especially with Leinhan having a off day.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/02/2017 09:08:10    1955901

Replying To cilles man:  "Lads, let's be honest with ourselves here Derry were poor today , so let's not loose the run of ourselves!Derry like us have slipped back down the ladder and are desperately trying to get back up a rung or two on it.We just need to keep the basics right going forward and hopefully when Harnon, Mc Entee, Tobin, and a few of our 21s come back into the set up we can have a bit of competition for places and it will help Andy & his backroom team ."
agree here but its still could to see the team take advantage of a very poor derry team. need to take these opputunities when they come still a lot of work to do. the support play at times was horrendous nobody following up on the man in possession

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 13/02/2017 09:10:56    1955905

Anyone know why we are not warming at the traditional end up at the O'Mabonys club house ? Strange to see the stuck the other end off the pitch.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/02/2017 09:11:14    1955906

Replying To Barney123:  "If some people don't see the forwards score 1-7 every game they think they're no good. But onto our next game, we really need to win and I think we will. I only expect one or two changes with one of them being Biggy coming back into the team."
Will Biggy get his place back we won by 15 points without him ? :) Seriously I think I would start COS at 11 and start Biggy at 12.
COS looks more at home at 11 and won some breaking ball too.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/02/2017 09:20:47    1955913

Replying To Meath_True:  "A good result , even without the Slaughtneil contingent , a win is a win . And in the league you get those opportunities . Some very good performances there , Carry from Drumbaragh seemed to be involved big time in a lot of the positive moves during the match ,Menton showed brief flash's of what he is capable of. so I'd be putting a tick against both their names for further opportunities .
Its hard to understand what the issue is with D Lenihan , on his day he can be exceptional . But yesterday fluffed , missed , and generally looked very nervous to be playing at this level ,three scorable opportunities went a begging due to nerves etc. Andy needs to be getting a Sport psychologist to be working with these guys . on a one to one basis ( teaching them the tricks of controlling the situation . that is , depending on what their perceived role is going to be in the game , ie. Free taker , Peno taker , etc. Missing opportunities the likes of which were missed in the first half needs to stop . In the desert , or during a drought , every drop of rain needs to be harvested to ensure survival . Div 2 could turn out to be that desert , drought situation for Meath this year ."
If we could get Leinhan firing very day we could have a seriously player on our hands. But at the moment he is a confidence player and once he missed 3 frees you could have just taking him off.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/02/2017 09:29:46    1955919