Meath v Derry

Replying To Barney123:  "Do you not think Sheridan was better than Lenihan today? Lenihan missed 3 free's that shouldn't be missed and was poor from general play I thought but he was decent last week."
Newman could play with Sheridan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 21:08:41    1955640

Replying To Barney123:  "Do you not think Sheridan was better than Lenihan today? Lenihan missed 3 free's that shouldn't be missed and was poor from general play I thought but he was decent last week."
Agreed Lenihan was poor to day, Sheridan also taken off. I agreed with both decisions Unfortunately options limited though !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 12/02/2017 21:10:17    1955643

Lenihan was very poor today I must say, surprised me. He was good last week

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1461 - 12/02/2017 21:10:20    1955644

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah I heard something similar beside me. Look I'm no spring chicken myself, but I do realise things move on and change, if it's keep ball they have to play at times then so be it."
i hate to say it myself but the days been able to run the ball to the 21 relitivley easy are gone,everyone plays blanket and if it were me managing i would have lads kicking the ball over the bar around the 45 instead of keep going backwords as to avoid the blanket ,but to be honest i couldnt care what way they play once they win and show pride and passion to wear the great meath jersey,some of the older crowd need o realise the days of long ball are over as teams are more into possesion stats handling stats etc.

loyalroyal15 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 12/02/2017 21:11:07    1955647

Replying To royaldunne:  "Huh???? Not sure where you getting that idea from, we discussing today's game, but everyone knows tougher tests lay ahead. One game at a time. But it's all a building process"
Think we should be moaning even if we win :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 21:11:23    1955648

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "You've got to be from dunboyne!!!!!
He was only ok and should have been substituted way earlier"
mcentee was brought off after andy was talking to him with shane pointing to his leg

loyalroyal15 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 12/02/2017 21:12:27    1955651

Replying To ziggy32001:  "But he didn't floor anybody."
He plays right on the edge !! Look how many red cards has he this year?? He can be aggressive but controlled aggression ?? He's no good to us standing on the line!! All well to sat "great to see him fighting for the shirt" but if he gets himself sent off we will lose games

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 21:14:22    1955653

Anyone know what exactly is wrong with Newman?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 21:14:48    1955656

Replying To loyalroyal15:  "everyone giving out about fordes discipline ,the way I see it is finally a meath man ready to give all for the jersey and not get bullied or his teammates get bullied,and i noticed o'sullivan has started to get abit of bite to add to his skill."
Dont think Forde will lose his place........we need a few more like him. Prefer to see him adjust from that position of "power play" than some who stand with hands on hips

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 12/02/2017 21:17:07    1955667

People overrating Sheridans performance today, he hit a few terrible frees that he should have left for toher to take, just about got a point with the aid of the post, 1 point in 2 games is not rewarding the faith Andy Mac has put in him, best thing he did today was getting out of the way for O'Sullivan to steam through for his goals , the sooner Newman gets back the better

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 12/02/2017 21:18:28    1955670

Replying To nobull456:  "Agreed Lenihan was poor to day, Sheridan also taken off. I agreed with both decisions Unfortunately options limited though !!"
Sheridan was takes off with 2 mins to go!! He played very well today! Where you even at the game

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 21:19:23    1955671

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Think we should be moaning even if we win :)"
Haha looks like that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 21:19:40    1955672

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Sheridan was takes off with 2 mins to go!! He played very well today! Where you even at the game"
Yeah I agree sherridan had a good game and got great response coming off, worked hard, look He hasn't the pace with of most guys, but his strength can bully a back or two.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 21:27:17    1955682

Replying To redser123:  "People overrating Sheridans performance today, he hit a few terrible frees that he should have left for toher to take, just about got a point with the aid of the post, 1 point in 2 games is not rewarding the faith Andy Mac has put in him, best thing he did today was getting out of the way for O'Sullivan to steam through for his goals , the sooner Newman gets back the better"
He set up at least 1-6 today ! Credit where credit is due

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 21:28:35    1955685

Think a few of the comments on Brian Sheridan are harsh.
He was there to link up play and I thought he did it very well.
Some lads have people written off and knocked before they even go out to play. Listen to a few lads around me in the crowd, almost derisory jeers when balls played into Brian. The the same lads calling him Joe the whole time.
There are certain elements of our own support at games which is far from classy. Some of the comments royaldunne and a few others had earlier about lads berating the players for not hoofing it in against the wind is also testament to this.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6343 - 12/02/2017 21:31:28    1955687

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Sheridan was takes off with 2 mins to go!! He played very well today! Where you even at the game"
Yes i was at the game. i was surprised Sheridan was not taken off earlier.. I have no club loyalty !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 12/02/2017 21:32:05    1955689

Yeah in the match report it says he was subbed off in the 70th min so I wouldn't pay too much attention to it but Lenhihan was taken off with 17 mins to go. Don't get me wrong Sheridan didn't look great today but I think he can get much better and today he didn't score much but was strong on the ball and laid off a few balls that directly lead to scores.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 12/02/2017 21:38:05    1955693

Replying To grahamc9897:  "He set up at least 1-6 today ! Credit where credit is due"
I'm afraid I'm not a fan, he offered no scoring threat against a pathetic enough Derry team, i think we all know once Newman returns to full fitness that 14 Jersey is his, I have nothing against Brian personally but I just don't think he's up to intercounty standard

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 12/02/2017 21:49:18    1955698

Replying To Jinxie:  "Think a few of the comments on Brian Sheridan are harsh.
Some lads have people written off and knocked before they even go out to play. Listen to a few lads around me in the crowd, almost derisory jeers when balls played into Brian. The the same lads calling him Joe the whole time.
There are certain elements of our own support at games which is far from classy. Some of the comments royaldunne and a few others had earlier about lads berating the players for not hoofing it in against the wind is also testament to this."
yeah agree with this,maybe I'm wrong,but I thought Sheridan did everything you want from a full forward.Was aggressive when he had to be,won alot of clean ball,worked hard to get out in front of his man and set up a lot of scores.Just because he doesn't get 1-4 doesn't mean he had a bad game.
Some of the comments about Sheridan,McEntee is just wrong and disappointing,we won by 15 points..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 21:56:20    1955705

Replying To Jinxie:  "Think a few of the comments on Brian Sheridan are harsh.
There are certain elements of our own support at games which is far from classy. Some of the comments royaldunne and a few others had earlier about lads berating the players for not hoofing it in against the wind is also testament to this."
Yeah I agree with this, it shows a lack of class and general cop on , he took some stick and again , the why not lob it into "Joe" shouts, I turned to the same old lad 3 times to say it's Brian not Joe, didn't make a blind bit of difference

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 21:59:34    1955713