Meath v Derry

Opposion poor to day ,nevertheless i found us frustrating in first half slow cumbersome.against the wind. Improved second half,some good play especially COS who was my man of the match...Menton thats more like it. Toher earned his way for the next match at least for workrate alone. Carry likewise. Think some posters here a bit harsh on Shane Mc entee shows promise at least. Do not see a place for Sheridan if Newman returns.We need him or another for frees. All in all improved, but new players wanted in some areas . and concerned that some of our smaller players may find the going too tough when the chips are down

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 12/02/2017 19:52:48    1955541

Seriously where did they pull that ref out of ?? He was consulting the line man and umpires flat out. At one stage he ran to the linesman who was 50 yards away and the ref himself was only 20 yards away. Could he not make a decision himself ? Anyway lucky he didn't come in to play.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/02/2017 19:54:34    1955544

Replying To royaldunne:  "Lads we got to stop the , let it in, the gaaps when holding possession, what the hell is the point in kicking a 50/50 ball into a gale force wind? Honestly it's not the 1980s the players shouldn't have to listen to dinosaurs criticise them for obviously obeying orders to keep possession and work it in, Andy went mad when so.e lads under pressure kicked it in first 35, we as supporters have to accept the game has changed and if it is hand passing for 10 mins , it's 10 mins opponents don't have ball to kick wind assisted at our goals."
Fair point ! An auld fella today saying when Keoghan made a mistake "a good footballer wouldn't do that " and began to say how he was "roasted" a good few times! And in his day they would do this that and the other!! Too much gym work not enough ball work!! Bla bla bla

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 19:56:08    1955548

Replying To royaldunne:  "Lads we got to stop the , let it in, the gaaps when holding possession, what the hell is the point in kicking a 50/50 ball into a gale force wind? Honestly it's not the 1980s the players shouldn't have to listen to dinosaurs criticise them for obviously obeying orders to keep possession and work it in, Andy went mad when so.e lads under pressure kicked it in first 35, we as supporters have to accept the game has changed and if it is hand passing for 10 mins , it's 10 mins opponents don't have ball to kick wind assisted at our goals."
Ah yeah the auld lads like to say always "Let it in!" under any circumstances. :)

Against the wind in the first half we had a lot of the ball.The movement/support for the player with the ball could have been better though and it was second half.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 20:02:00    1955555

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Good win today, it didn't matter how we won just get points on the board. So job done. We squandered easy chances in first half COS goal chance been the worst of them. But we need to come up with better plan to break down defenses it first have there was nobody running at speed or off the shoulder and the ball was been kicked over back we looked totally clueless. Second have obliviously that was rectified But it a northern team why was the no plan in place form the start. We where really slow and ponders. Just a slight worry going forward. As people have all ready mentioned the introduction of Joey Wallace seem to spark a bit of life into us. Sheridan did well winning the ball winning a free hear and there. But the ball into the forward line was near 100% better than the Kildare game. The problems in midfield where put right from the last day also. We did well there throughout. I still don't like the fact we are slow to mark up on there kick out. Lots of positives Carry Togher Joey Wallace and ROC all all did well. Oen thing on Roc he gave away to score able frees for over aggressive tackling he needs clam down there. It's was still good to see him get stuck in tough. And scored excellent point from where he ran from half back line. All subs that came in made a positive contribution. Which was refreshing. Also Biggy missing and Leinhan our top scorer the last have a off day we still got the win."
you surely thought Menton was superb?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 20:03:57    1955557

Hindsight is a great thing, I think last week can be put down to a number of things, firstly we underperforming, secondly we took Kildare for granted, today v cork proved they better than any of us thought.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 20:07:20    1955560

Any day we beat Derry by 15 is a good days work

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 12/02/2017 20:18:58    1955573

Yeah that was unecessary, and if they do kick it in long and Sheridan or Lenihan don't win the ball because they are surrounded by 3 men they are "useless". The game was close, it was the first half and we were against the wind, sometimes you have to keep handpassing it short. Anyone know when Harnan and J McEntee are due back? Good to see AMac isn't rushing them back though.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 12/02/2017 20:21:27    1955576

everyone giving out about fordes discipline ,the way I see it is finally a meath man ready to give all for the jersey and not get bullied or his teammates get bullied,and i noticed o'sullivan has started to get abit of bite to add to his skill.

loyalroyal15 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 12/02/2017 20:25:44    1955579

Replying To loyalroyal15:  "everyone giving out about fordes discipline ,the way I see it is finally a meath man ready to give all for the jersey and not get bullied or his teammates get bullied,and i noticed o'sullivan has started to get abit of bite to add to his skill."
spot on! What I want to see..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 20:48:47    1955602

Replying To loyalroyal15:  "everyone giving out about fordes discipline ,the way I see it is finally a meath man ready to give all for the jersey and not get bullied or his teammates get bullied,and i noticed o'sullivan has started to get abit of bite to add to his skill."
maybe some of our fans have gone soft too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 20:50:19    1955606

Yeah sure no bother let him get sent off every game! But he's fighting for the shirt, I like Alan but simply he needs to be more disciplined ! Imagine a leinster final and he floors someone !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 20:50:54    1955607

I also enjoyed Sheridan smashing a Derry lad out over the line.Menton also did this.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 20:53:32    1955609

This place is a mad house one decent half against a pale shodow of a Derry team and suddenly it's the start of something great. Down will the easiest away fixture. If this management team are even half as good as the hype it'll be a win.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 12/02/2017 20:54:46    1955613

Replying To nobull456:  "Opposion poor to day ,nevertheless i found us frustrating in first half slow cumbersome.against the wind. Improved second half,some good play especially COS who was my man of the match...Menton thats more like it. Toher earned his way for the next match at least for workrate alone. Carry likewise. Think some posters here a bit harsh on Shane Mc entee shows promise at least. Do not see a place for Sheridan if Newman returns.We need him or another for frees. All in all improved, but new players wanted in some areas . and concerned that some of our smaller players may find the going too tough when the chips are down"
Do you not think Sheridan was better than Lenihan today? Lenihan missed 3 free's that shouldn't be missed and was poor from general play I thought but he was decent last week.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 12/02/2017 20:57:04    1955617

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Yeah sure no bother let him get sent off every game! But he's fighting for the shirt, I like Alan but simply he needs to be more disciplined ! Imagine a leinster final and he floors someone !"
But he didn't floor anybody.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 20:57:56    1955620

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Fair point ! An auld fella today saying when Keoghan made a mistake "a good footballer wouldn't do that " and began to say how he was "roasted" a good few times! And in his day they would do this that and the other!! Too much gym work not enough ball work!! Bla bla bla"
Yeah I heard something similar beside me. Look I'm no spring chicken myself, but I do realise things move on and change, if it's keep ball they have to play at times then so be it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 20:58:52    1955622

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Yeah sure no bother let him get sent off every game! But he's fighting for the shirt, I like Alan but simply he needs to be more disciplined ! Imagine a leinster final and he floors someone !"
imo the red today was harsh enough, but when have we seen a meath player like him in last few years who are willing to stand up for himself and team mates without been pushed around. if that game took place 2 years ago do you think we would have bossed derry around like we did in the second half today NO,we would of been pushed around and thats what i see in this up and coming meath team they wont be pushed around anymore, listen this is just my opinion but in my eyes some fans have ben turning soft ,is it not about time a meath man wasnt afraid to stand up for his teammates and himself.

loyalroyal15 (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 12/02/2017 21:05:19    1955631

Replying To pauk123:  "This place is a mad house one decent half against a pale shodow of a Derry team and suddenly it's the start of something great. Down will the easiest away fixture. If this management team are even half as good as the hype it'll be a win."
Huh???? Not sure where you getting that idea from, we discussing today's game, but everyone knows tougher tests lay ahead. One game at a time. But it's all a building process

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 21:06:12    1955634

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "I thought Shane McEntee was one of our better players today.. Made good contributions in defence and attack."
You've got to be from dunboyne!!!!!
He was only ok and should have been substituted way earlier

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 12/02/2017 21:07:01    1955636