Meath v Derry

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Ratings..

1.O'Rourke-7- Decent kickouts ,no real threats for goals..
2.Keoghan-7- played OK made a few errors in possession
3.McGill-6- decent performance was protected more today
4.Burke-5- time is up for Mickey
5.Carry-7- impressive performance albeit against weak opponent
6.Power-6- steady performance
7.McEntee-5- poor enough
8.Menton-8- good game and scored 4 points
9.Toher-7- pleasantly suprised excellent league debut
10.Forde-5- another red card ,discipline is becoming a huge issue
11.O'Sullivan-9- man of match could have had 4 goals ! Always a danger
12.O'Brien-7- could have found his position
13.Downey. 4. Things didn't go his way
14.Sheridan-7- much better performance gives us the target man option! Impressive performance
15.Leniham-5- not his day

Joey Wallace. 7. Made a big impact when introduced well done to him
O.Coileain.6. Impressed made a few nice runs and scored a good point
McMahon.6. Would be pushing hard for a start next time out
Eamom Wallace .not on long enough
Kevin Ross .as above
Sean Tobin .as above"
Agree with all but mcentee was never a 5, scored a superb point and defended very well, 6 or 7 out of 10 for me

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 12/02/2017 18:49:06    1955478

Replying To waynoI:  "Now that Meath have beaten the mighty Derry, i look forward to you now going on to win the league, leinster, and all ireland titles aswell as the premier league, champions league, FA cup, league cup, Europa league, European championships, The world cup, Superbowl, Ashes, Grand Slam, Six nations, Triple crown, super league, Mosconi cup, The Ryder cup, Chess world championships, tour de france, olympic games, Wimbledon, the gold cup, the grand national, the masters, NBA finals and so on.

Then the great Andy McEntee can go and defeat Kim jong un in North Korea."
Why do you have to go there Wayno? Sitting at home all morning coming up with that witty reply I presume. I mean why so sarcastic and random? Absolutely no call for it just because people are here discussing a league win what's the problem with that. Maybe your comment was supposed to be funny I just think your comments are weird and petty.. Why bother

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 12/02/2017 18:49:39    1955480

Replying To redser123:  "Agree with all but mcentee was never a 5, scored a superb point and defended very well, 6 or 7 out of 10 for me"
McEntee didn't play well last week,but looked far more comfortable at 7 today as did Power at 6,not sure why some people have an agenda..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 18:51:58    1955481

Replying To waynoI:  "you where interested enough to take the bait all the same ;)"
Ahh lads take it easy on waynol, he isn't the worst of them and is only taking the Michael, long enough around, trust me lot worse lads on this site. I might never agree with him on football matters , but he can take and give a bit of banter without ever getting too serious, plus he will be in croke park to shout on his parish next weekend, come on the ciles

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 18:52:13    1955482

Replying To ziggy32001:  "another harsh red for Forde imo.I love his style to be honest.."
I like his style but he looks like he's going to be sent off every game ! He needs to be disciplined!! No other player does it

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 18:52:28    1955484

Replying To matthematx:  "As I said he was my man of the match he ran his legs off was hard as nails and played with a bit of fire in his belly that's what I want to see of Sullivan was very good and has a different set of skills but in my opinion ford was my man of the match as that's the kind of player I love to watch your man of the match is your choice it's still a free country isn't it .any way at least there was a meath man of the match unlike last two games on the royal"
you are right though,Forde is everything you want from a Meath player.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 18:53:33    1955486

What a difference a week makes, Derry were poor in second half- missing a fair few lads-but good to see us push on. Big improvement around midfield and half forwards.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 12/02/2017 18:57:31    1955489

Replying To redser123:  "Agree with all but mcentee was never a 5, scored a superb point and defended very well, 6 or 7 out of 10 for me"
Fair point

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 18:57:56    1955490

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I like his style but he looks like he's going to be sent off every game ! He needs to be disciplined!! No other player does it"
Harshly sent off imo though.. A few Derry players took Joey out off the ball twice and he got a kick in the head,no free given.Thought the ref was harsher on our tackling than he was for them...

oh and the linesman needs a new job to be honest..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 18:59:31    1955491

Replying To matthematx:  "As I said he was my man of the match he ran his legs off was hard as nails and played with a bit of fire in his belly that's what I want to see of Sullivan was very good and has a different set of skills but in my opinion ford was my man of the match as that's the kind of player I love to watch your man of the match is your choice it's still a free country isn't it .any way at least there was a meath man of the match unlike last two games on the royal"
He played well and I like his style. a bit of a throw back to times past, but needs to keep cool and not get involved in off the ball stuff

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 12/02/2017 19:03:56    1955499

Lads, let's be honest with ourselves here Derry were poor today , so let's not loose the run of ourselves!Derry like us have slipped back down the ladder and are desperately trying to get back up a rung or two on it.We just need to keep the basics right going forward and hopefully when Harnon, Mc Entee, Tobin, and a few of our 21s come back into the set up we can have a bit of competition for places and it will help Andy & his backroom team .

cilles man (Meath) - Posts: 142 - 12/02/2017 19:06:13    1955501

Replying To ziggy32001:  "McEntee didn't play well last week,but looked far more comfortable at 7 today as did Power at 6,not sure why some people have an agenda.."
Yeah can't understand it either , mcentee was excellent today. Yes a bit green, but what do people expect? I think some of the reason is cause he Andy son. And think he is been favoured, nonsense, there on merit and proved so today.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 19:06:53    1955502

Really like the way Forde plays he gives it everything he has but he has to calm himself down or he will be regularly targeted by other teams. I would also give McEntee a 5, Carry on the other wing is what he should have been doing but he was fairly anonymous. Hopefully James McEntee and D.Tobin are back soon.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 12/02/2017 19:20:08    1955508

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh lads take it easy on waynol, he isn't the worst of them and is only taking the Michael, long enough around, trust me lot worse lads on this site. I might never agree with him on football matters , but he can take and give a bit of banter without ever getting too serious, plus he will be in croke park to shout on his parish next weekend, come on the ciles"
Spot on, well able to give a big of slagging without being spiteful like some of the ABMs out there

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 12/02/2017 19:21:17    1955509

Best thing to come out of today's game was that there was no second half fade out.
To be a bit critical, in the first half, all be it against a strong wind, we packed back but when we got possession we did not get support to the ball carrier quickly enough and so we had the few screaming in the stand screaming to kick the ball in.
If we don't develop a plan to get players forward quickly we will never put up a winning score against a team that is super organised for 75 plus minutes.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 12/02/2017 19:27:46    1955514

Replying To seadog54:  "He played well and I like his style. a bit of a throw back to times past, but needs to keep cool and not get involved in off the ball stuff"
To be fair the ref let Derry away with a lot and didn't offer Meath the same courtesy..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 19:31:39    1955518

Replying To seadog54:  "What a difference a week makes, Derry were poor in second half- missing a fair few lads-but good to see us push on. Big improvement around midfield and half forwards."
If Andy gets us playing with that bit of fire and higher workrate more often,we would be happy with that.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 19:32:45    1955520

Lads we got to stop the , let it in, the gaaps when holding possession, what the hell is the point in kicking a 50/50 ball into a gale force wind? Honestly it's not the 1980s the players shouldn't have to listen to dinosaurs criticise them for obviously obeying orders to keep possession and work it in, Andy went mad when so.e lads under pressure kicked it in first 35, we as supporters have to accept the game has changed and if it is hand passing for 10 mins , it's 10 mins opponents don't have ball to kick wind assisted at our goals.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2017 19:43:22    1955527

Good win today, it didn't matter how we won just get points on the board. So job done. We squandered easy chances in first half COS goal chance been the worst of them. But we need to come up with better plan to break down defenses it first have there was nobody running at speed or off the shoulder and the ball was been kicked over back we looked totally clueless. Second have obliviously that was rectified But it a northern team why was the no plan in place form the start. We where really slow and ponders. Just a slight worry going forward. As people have all ready mentioned the introduction of Joey Wallace seem to spark a bit of life into us. Sheridan did well winning the ball winning a free hear and there. But the ball into the forward line was near 100% better than the Kildare game. The problems in midfield where put right from the last day also. We did well there throughout. I still don't like the fact we are slow to mark up on there kick out. Lots of positives Carry Togher Joey Wallace and ROC all all did well. Oen thing on Roc he gave away to score able frees for over aggressive tackling he needs clam down there. It's was still good to see him get stuck in tough. And scored excellent point from where he ran from half back line. All subs that came in made a positive contribution. Which was refreshing. Also Biggy missing and Leinhan our top scorer the last have a off day we still got the win.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 12/02/2017 19:48:43    1955535

Backed O'Sullivan at 16-1 for first goal today ! Felt he was way over priced when I called into Boyles on way to game

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 19:49:27    1955536