Meath v Derry

As mentioned above, Joey Wallace made a big difference as the game developed later on.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 12/02/2017 17:24:52    1955373

I thought Shane McEntee was one of our better players today.. Made good contributions in defence and attack.

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 12/02/2017 17:26:01    1955375

Replying To waynoI:  "you where interested enough to take the bait all the same ;)"
As I said nothing better to do!! Goodbye

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 17:28:54    1955378

I think some of the defence are just keeping the spot warm until the likes of Donnacha Tobin or James McEntee return. I was also surprised at James Toher starting as he was poor in his previous outing against DIT in Ashbourne. I really hope it wasn't because the hurlers were playing also in Navan. Anyway, he did pop up with a nice 45 but once again I would say it's a case of him keeping the spot warm for someone else (hopefully Rooney) returning.

Anyway Andy is the man (at the moment anyway) but I am just a little surprised at this. Good and welcome performance today and hopefully onwards and upwards against Down in 2 weeks with Biggy hopefully back.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 12/02/2017 17:39:35    1955391

Don't think toher is there just to keep a spot for someone else warm, thought he was very impressive, was disappointed he didn't take more of the frees, particularly the ones Sheridan took from him. Himself and Menton both got through a mountain of work

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 12/02/2017 17:49:04    1955396

Paddy O'Rourke's kickouts were much better than Hannigan's today I felt, they travel faster, don't hang in the air as long. Give our midfield a better chance. Menton and O'Brien are rightfully taking stick last week stood up today. Joey Wallace very good when he came on I thought. Toher did well without being outstanding but definitely improved midfield. Cillian O'Sullivan is such a good athlete and a devastating runner. If he can learn to finish the goal chances he will be incredible. Not getting carried away because Derry were poor but that is a good one to steady the ship

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 12/02/2017 17:50:34    1955398

The big thing about todays win was the fact that we played better in a 2nd half and finished strong.long my that continue.

Joey Wallace did very well and he was taken out twice off the ball.People being harsh on McEntee,he did well.Carry and Menton stood up big style today.Derry tried to bully us and failed to do so,that was good to see.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 17:52:11    1955401

Harnan would be the ideal number 6.

Bigballer30 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 12/02/2017 18:00:08    1955416

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Derry 21/10 on PP... lump on"
Hope you bet and lost.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/02/2017 18:02:12    1955420

Replying To waynoI:  "Now that Meath have beaten the mighty Derry, i look forward to you now going on to win the league, leinster, and all ireland titles aswell as the premier league, champions league, FA cup, league cup, Europa league, European championships, The world cup, Superbowl, Ashes, Grand Slam, Six nations, Triple crown, super league, Mosconi cup, The Ryder cup, Chess world championships, tour de france, olympic games, Wimbledon, the gold cup, the grand national, the masters, NBA finals and so on.

Then the great Andy McEntee can go and defeat Kim jong un in North Korea."
I'd be happy with you refraining from posting on this forum ever again to be honest.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 12/02/2017 18:03:05    1955423

Game of two halves. Good to put a team to the sword for once but that was a poor Derry team so let's not get carried away.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 12/02/2017 18:07:30    1955428

Good to get the win but I thought we were poor for most of the game against a poor Derry. Scores at the end put a gloss on it.

I thought support play was very poor, lads just standing looking on, and free taking was weak again though admittedly into a strong wind.

I thought a lot of our build up play was very laboured but we managed to cut loose once the goal went in and Derry started to wilt.

Defence was much improved.

Menton stood up today--fair play.

Best for me --Carry, Forde, Menton, O Sullivan, J Wallace

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 12/02/2017 18:12:08    1955434

Replying To Barney123:  "Good victory, improved a lot in the second half. Probably not as good as the scoreline suggests but that was a must win game imo. Brian Sheridan, Keogan, Carry and Menton were impressive today. O'Brien playing as a half forward was a good decision, also to bring in O'Coilean for Burke at half time was a good decision and it looks like we have a better plan to break down blanket defence so the management deserve praise but it's still early in the year.

Big game against Down next and hopefully we win. Also whoever said Toher isn't good enough for county football is a clown."
Big game against Down next and hopefully we win. Also whoever said Toher isn't good enough for county football is a clown.

One Swallow never made a summer.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 12/02/2017 18:12:38    1955435

Ratings..

1.O'Rourke-7- Decent kickouts ,no real threats for goals..
2.Keoghan-7- played OK made a few errors in possession
3.McGill-6- decent performance was protected more today
4.Burke-5- time is up for Mickey
5.Carry-7- impressive performance albeit against weak opponent
6.Power-6- steady performance
7.McEntee-5- poor enough
8.Menton-8- good game and scored 4 points
9.Toher-7- pleasantly suprised excellent league debut
10.Forde-5- another red card ,discipline is becoming a huge issue
11.O'Sullivan-9- man of match could have had 4 goals ! Always a danger
12.O'Brien-7- could have found his position
13.Downey. 4. Things didn't go his way
14.Sheridan-7- much better performance gives us the target man option! Impressive performance
15.Leniham-5- not his day

Joey Wallace. 7. Made a big impact when introduced well done to him
O.Coileain.6. Impressed made a few nice runs and scored a good point
McMahon.6. Would be pushing hard for a start next time out
Eamom Wallace .not on long enough
Kevin Ross .as above
Sean Tobin .as above

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 18:13:24    1955437

Big improvement today menton and toner much better of brien at 12 was good 11 . 5 .ford was very good today very strong and played with great heart subz were good today we gave away some very silly frees but hit hard and stopped alot of derry players in there tracks. Crowd shouting at players to kick the ball in to forwards in first have was very silly player's kept there cool and tried to find openings .we did lose the ball alot but that's the game now if u give the ball away it ends up a score against us. We kept players back and shored up the middle. Having said that Derry were poor but a win is a win players are learning if we improve the next day half as much I will be happy finally fair play to joey Wallace he played very well when came on but ford was my man of the match on the royal

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 12/02/2017 18:17:04    1955443

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "I'd be happy with you refraining from posting on this forum ever again to be honest."
Don't worry the well will dry up for Dublin quite soon and he will dismount from his high horse with his tail firmly between his legs!

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 12/02/2017 18:23:02    1955447

Replying To matthematx:  "Big improvement today menton and toner much better of brien at 12 was good 11 . 5 .ford was very good today very strong and played with great heart subz were good today we gave away some very silly frees but hit hard and stopped alot of derry players in there tracks. Crowd shouting at players to kick the ball in to forwards in first have was very silly player's kept there cool and tried to find openings .we did lose the ball alot but that's the game now if u give the ball away it ends up a score against us. We kept players back and shored up the middle. Having said that Derry were poor but a win is a win players are learning if we improve the next day half as much I will be happy finally fair play to joey Wallace he played very well when came on but ford was my man of the match on the royal"
forde was never man of the match !!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 12/02/2017 18:32:06    1955462

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Ratings..

7.McEntee-5- poor enough
14.Sheridan-7- much better performance gives us the target man option! Impressive performance

Kevin Ross .as above
Sean Tobin .as above"
another harsh red for Forde imo.I love his style to be honest..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/02/2017 18:39:58    1955468

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Ratings..

7.McEntee-5- poor enough

Kevin Ross .as above
Sean Tobin .as above"
A pretty good assessment but I would have not given a '9' to any player. Carry set up the first goal which changed the course of the game. Down away should be at best no better than Derry.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 12/02/2017 18:46:33    1955475

Replying To grahamc9897:  "forde was never man of the match !!"
As I said he was my man of the match he ran his legs off was hard as nails and played with a bit of fire in his belly that's what I want to see of Sullivan was very good and has a different set of skills but in my opinion ford was my man of the match as that's the kind of player I love to watch your man of the match is your choice it's still a free country isn't it .any way at least there was a meath man of the match unlike last two games on the royal

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 12/02/2017 18:48:32    1955476