Expectations for league?

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well since you don't know Andy pedigree I'll happily educate you.
Andy brought Meath minors to both Leinster and all ire final, only loosing out to perhaps the best minor team in decades, beating the likes of Mayo and Tyrone along the way , who you and others seem to think have great young talent coming through from those teams that Andy's team beat. Go figure. Also he brought the 5th favourite team in Dublin senior championship to not only win that but also Leinster and all ire. But sure yourself and grahammc would do a better job since you are such experts . or better still let's bring back mod, I can see the banners now. After all look at his creditials"
Royaldunne - you must not be able to read.

I asked a clear question: What are Andy McEntee's SENIOR INTER COUNTY credentails.

I didnt ask for his minor or club credentials.

So, can you tell me his Senior Inter County credentails which affirm he can consolidate Meath as a mid table division 1 team.

Please counter respond, like a 'good man' now

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 04/02/2017 20:04:34    1951881

Replying To royaldunne:  "ahh ye can't beat a inferiority complex, good lad. Haha. Sorry my friend I not only don't have any other account I don't ever give thumbs down as I find it childish (you probably do) if I disagree I'll post my counter argument, I won't give a nonsense thumbs down. Sorry you better look elsewhere for those who think your posts are nonsense"
Inferiority complex? Please enlighten me.

It is evident in a public forum that no one can challenge your posts.

I have backed up my argument's with facts.

You back up yours with incoherent nonsense.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 04/02/2017 20:08:47    1951882

Replying To Royalio11:  "Inferiority complex? Please enlighten me.

It is evident in a public forum that no one can challenge your posts.

I have backed up my argument's with facts.

You back up yours with incoherent nonsense."
Haha sorry, please supply the facts that I have multiple accounts? I ask HS to put up my IP address to substantiate this. Now please enlighten me as to the facts you have that say I have multiple accounts??? Go on

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2017 21:27:53    1951914

This thread has gone off topic, please return to posting about the topic at hand. Any messages off topic will simply not be posted.

Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 04/02/2017 21:33:27    1951915

Replying To Royalio11:  "Royaldunne - you must not be able to read.

I asked a clear question: What are Andy McEntee's SENIOR INTER COUNTY credentails.

I didnt ask for his minor or club credentials.

So, can you tell me his Senior Inter County credentails which affirm he can consolidate Meath as a mid table division 1 team.

Please counter respond, like a 'good man' now"
Sorry I thought been a Meath man you would at least have known that Andy had not managed a inter county team prior to this. Just like Jim Gavin and others. Their would be a very small pool of manager if they all had to pass you're test of previous IC manager criteria, I mean did banty do good, even your mate mod hadn't any experience were u so comcened with his appointment? I'll leave you with one comment from multiple all ire winner and all star Michael dara McCauley, Andy mcentee is the best manager I have played for.
But sure you know better

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2017 21:34:35    1951917

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry I thought been a Meath man you would at least have known that Andy had not managed a inter county team prior to this. Just like Jim Gavin and others. Their would be a very small pool of manager if they all had to pass you're test of previous IC manager criteria, I mean did banty do good, even your mate mod hadn't any experience were u so comcened with his appointment? I'll leave you with one comment from multiple all ire winner and all star Michael dara McCauley, Andy mcentee is the best manager I have played for.
But sure you know better"
Good man more deflection.

Your answer should have been - True, Andy McEntee has no experience at Inter County level, however he has proven himself at other grades.

Alas, you are of the opinion that Andy McEntee, as Manager makes Meath a Mid Table Division 1 on absolutely no grounds.

You refer to Ballyboden as the 5th ranked team in Dublin. However, a true gael would know that 4 different teams won the Dublin Senior Football Championship in the last 6 years with St. Vincents winning Lenister, and All Ireland and Ballymun Kickham's winning Leinster and losing the final.

That shows the strength in DUBLIN club football and cannot be compared to Meath at Club or County level.

You refer to me as a fan of Mick O' Dowd when I was probably the most outspoken and negative poster against O'Dowd ( Richieq will vouch for that)

So keep digging and digging. It's obvious you can't back up anything you say when you resort to quoting Dublin footballers opinions in respect of managers

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 04/02/2017 22:11:04    1951941

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha sorry, please supply the facts that I have multiple accounts? I ask HS to put up my IP address to substantiate this. Now please enlighten me as to the facts you have that say I have multiple accounts??? Go on"
You have been called out on it before.

Stick to the topic and stop stresing yourself. #identity

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 04/02/2017 22:12:37    1951942

I would take 4 points from our first 3 games.The game I would see us losing is Derry.We should beat Kildare at home and Down away imo.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/02/2017 10:39:35    1952013

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I would take 4 points from our first 3 games.The game I would see us losing is Derry.We should beat Kildare at home and Down away imo."
Well, after today survival in Division 2 is about the best we can hop for.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 05/02/2017 16:34:16    1952120

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Well, after today survival in Division 2 is about the best we can hop for."
Derry next up will tell a lot

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 05/02/2017 18:42:22    1952243

After 6 games played and we can look back on it here is how I see it.
I reckon if we had Harnan , D Tobin and James Mc Antee from the very start we could and beaten Down and Cork. And we would be promoted and we might have the Rooney and Newman back next year to try and survive Div 1 next year. below team might look something like this next Jan. I think talk of staying in div 2 and and taking on the big guns in div1 is loser talk.

Paddy O'Rourke

Donal Keogan , Conor McGill , Donnacha Tobin

Pauric Harnan Bryan Menton Alan Forde

Adam Flanagan Harry Rooney

Cillian O'Sullivan Graham Reilly James Mc Antee

Bryan McMahon , Mickey Newman Donal Lenihan

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/03/2017 09:06:24    1971616

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I would take 4 points from our first 3 games.The game I would see us losing is Derry.We should beat Kildare at home and Down away imo."
Just goes to show what a strange league Div 2 was this year!

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 27/03/2017 09:36:59    1971630

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Just goes to show what a strange league Div 2 was this year!"
haha indeed!

but i think kildare were fortunate to get us on the first day

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/03/2017 10:05:12    1971646

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "After 6 games played and we can look back on it here is how I see it.
I reckon if we had Harnan , D Tobin and James Mc Antee from the very start we could and beaten Down and Cork. And we would be promoted and we might have the Rooney and Newman back next year to try and survive Div 1 next year. below team might look something like this next Jan. I think talk of staying in div 2 and and taking on the big guns in div1 is loser talk.

Paddy O'Rourke

Bryan McMahon , Mickey Newman Donal Lenihan"
id say you can wipe forde off that suspected cruciate done,. if flannagan gets more fitness into his legs he could be a threat but only time will tell, we are still a long way off div 1 pace and standard yet though lads and lassies

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 27/03/2017 16:54:06    1971912

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "After 6 games played and we can look back on it here is how I see it.

Paddy O'Rourke

Bryan McMahon , Mickey Newman Donal Lenihan"
1. Menton is not a good centre half back. I don't know why - it would seem an obvious place to play him, but he just doesn't seem to play well there. If he is to be moved from midfield, then he would be better as a wing half back. He could play full-back either, but that would be unfair on McGill as he has looked pretty solid this year.
2. McEntee seems to like Power at CHB, so it is unlikely he will be moved from there. I am not convince myself, and would prefer to have Harnan there, but at the minute it doesn't look likely to happen.
3. I am not sure that Rooney and Flanagan would be a great midfield combination. I think you would need one midfielder with more of an engine to get up and down the field and do the hard grafting. One of them with Menton would seem like a better plan.
4. A full forward line of McMahon Newman and Lenehan would probably have to play as a three man full forward line, since that is their best positions. But that idea went out years ago. I think that you could probable only play two out of the three, with the third person being another half forward.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 27/03/2017 19:05:52    1971980

Replying To anfearbeag:  "1. Menton is not a good centre half back. I don't know why - it would seem an obvious place to play him, but he just doesn't seem to play well there. If he is to be moved from midfield, then he would be better as a wing half back. He could play full-back either, but that would be unfair on McGill as he has looked pretty solid this year.
2. McEntee seems to like Power at CHB, so it is unlikely he will be moved from there. I am not convince myself, and would prefer to have Harnan there, but at the minute it doesn't look likely to happen.
3. I am not sure that Rooney and Flanagan would be a great midfield combination. I think you would need one midfielder with more of an engine to get up and down the field and do the hard grafting. One of them with Menton would seem like a better plan.
4. A full forward line of McMahon Newman and Lenehan would probably have to play as a three man full forward line, since that is their best positions. But that idea went out years ago. I think that you could probable only play two out of the three, with the third person being another half forward."
You make good cases for your section but I think broadly agree with the team bar one or two just maybe different positions. Either way I think team would make a decent fist at staying in Div 1. if you look at what Kildare did this year came up from div 3 and brushed everyone aide to get to div 1, I dont hear them cribbing about been promoted and its better they mess around in div 2 for another year until they are ready.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/03/2017 21:04:03    1972039

Jesus i was was one of very few that called this right. We nearly and should've got promotion. Great craic though. Great to see intensity back in Meath football and been peed off with a draw to cork away.
Roll on the championship.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/03/2017 21:39:53    1972050

the levels of delusion are strong around here. A few weeks ago we had the annual "work performance ever" "worst meath team ever" talk, Now were disappointed in not getting promotion and roll on the championship talk like we will be making a big impact. We would be spanked in division one. We were bet out the gate by kildare and lost to down who hadnt won in ages. Drew against a cork team in crisis and bet a rubbish derry and fermanagh. We had a good tight win against galway which suprised me and many others. I expect us to lose to clare as we simply cannot win away. I would say im being realistic rather than negative btw.

edd (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 28/03/2017 02:07:49    1972109

Replying To edd:  "the levels of delusion are strong around here. A few weeks ago we had the annual "work performance ever" "worst meath team ever" talk, Now were disappointed in not getting promotion and roll on the championship talk like we will be making a big impact. We would be spanked in division one. We were bet out the gate by kildare and lost to down who hadnt won in ages. Drew against a cork team in crisis and bet a rubbish derry and fermanagh. We had a good tight win against galway which suprised me and many others. I expect us to lose to clare as we simply cannot win away. I would say im being realistic rather than negative btw."
Seems like you think Kildare are way better than us, I am not sure that's the full picture even though results say otherwise. And they are in great shape for div 1. totally disagree we where without all a lot top player when we played them D Tobin POR Haran James Mc Antee. Plus we where in an experimental phase I think we would beat them if we have the players mentioned.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 28/03/2017 09:32:59    1972146

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jesus i was was one of very few that called this right. We nearly and should've got promotion. Great craic though. Great to see intensity back in Meath football and been peed off with a draw to cork away.
Roll on the championship.
Hon the Royal"
it is great to see the intensity back in meath football hopefully we can build on this into the championship and maybe the super 8's and then build towards div 1 next year

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 28/03/2017 15:39:32    1972318