Derry v Meath

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Meath actually lost to Longford at the weekend,now I know it was just a challenge,but not a great sign in the middle of the championship.."
cant have done the fragile confidence levels much good, hope it was a run out for panel members, any idea of the score?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 04/07/2016 20:35:27    1876435

Replying To umpireview:  "Then why have you picked two other players instead of him for derry game???????"
Thats not my team..thats ziggy team..he asked the question about Eamon Wallace playing of Newman..so i but Eamon in corner forward and moved Jones in ..i thought i pressed reply to his post !

Don't worry i would have young Douglas in my Team :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 04/07/2016 20:41:14    1876440

Replying To seadog54:  "cant have done the fragile confidence levels much good, hope it was a run out for panel members, any idea of the score?"
Wouldn't there have been a couple of lads playing hurling championship at weekend too so maybe there was a bit of experimenting done.
It must have been fairly high scoring was it?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 04/07/2016 20:50:18    1876450

Players probably annoyed that they weren't allowed have a proper go at Dublin particularly in the second half. I'm sure they were scratching their heads as much as we were with the defensive system that was persisted with up to minute 70. When results don't go your way, naturally you'll look for someone to blame. Hopefully they can put this frustration behind them and give a good account of themselves this weekend. Management should let them play with a bit more freedom. These lads know how to play ball, give them a chance to show it!

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 04/07/2016 20:54:35    1876454

Replying To seadog54:  "cant have done the fragile confidence levels much good, hope it was a run out for panel members, any idea of the score?"
everyone got a run including first teamers,but you would reckon Longford did the same.

Not sure of the actual score though.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/07/2016 21:33:44    1876476

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "Players probably annoyed that they weren't allowed have a proper go at Dublin particularly in the second half. I'm sure they were scratching their heads as much as we were with the defensive system that was persisted with up to minute 70. When results don't go your way, naturally you'll look for someone to blame. Hopefully they can put this frustration behind them and give a good account of themselves this weekend. Management should let them play with a bit more freedom. These lads know how to play ball, give them a chance to show it!"
I wonder if the Westmeath game has impacted management in that manner?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/07/2016 21:34:41    1876477

Replying To Jinxie:  "Wouldn't there have been a couple of lads playing hurling championship at weekend too so maybe there was a bit of experimenting done.
It must have been fairly high scoring was it?"
Apparently it was high-scoring.Have to say I am very nervous about Derry.The evidence of the past and recent times suggests we may ultimately lose.I hope to god I am wrong though!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/07/2016 21:35:42    1876478

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I wonder if the Westmeath game has impacted management in that manner?"
To an extent, yes. There's probably been a realisation that we can't be so naive in our tactical approach to games. At the same time we shouldn't have to make such a drastic change. It takes time and effort to put an effective system in place. I think Mick is still learning in this regard. I wouldn't be surprised though if the Derry game is much more open and enjoyable

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 04/07/2016 22:09:14    1876504

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "To an extent, yes. There's probably been a realisation that we can't be so naive in our tactical approach to games. At the same time we shouldn't have to make such a drastic change. It takes time and effort to put an effective system in place. I think Mick is still learning in this regard. I wouldn't be surprised though if the Derry game is much more open and enjoyable"
That depends on Derry too.But you have to get a balance.Since Bray retired nobody makes those wide runs in the full forward line.McMahon can do this,but has barely kicked a ball.Wallace is more effective closer to the full forward line etc.We don't counter attack as well as we should either with the players we have at our disposal.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/07/2016 22:21:12    1876516

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I think Newman would do better with a bit of pace to work off him."
you could be correct there it might help Newman but forwards won't be under real pressure like they were versus Dubs . Micky Newman finds it hard to win ball but his other attributes ensures he gets another chance . Hope it goes well for him . We just need a big man to be able to switch tactics when needed and they don't seem to be out there. Bar Tormey and mcdonagh & Tobin who else can play there . we are limited in these positions. there must be someone out there to bring into frame for next season. we could end up with rooney in there for a period and play Jones with O brien in midfield just like what kerry do with Donaghy and Donegal with Murphy

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 04/07/2016 23:14:30    1876537

Replying To Bear10:  "you could be correct there it might help Newman but forwards won't be under real pressure like they were versus Dubs . Micky Newman finds it hard to win ball but his other attributes ensures he gets another chance . Hope it goes well for him . We just need a big man to be able to switch tactics when needed and they don't seem to be out there. Bar Tormey and mcdonagh & Tobin who else can play there . we are limited in these positions. there must be someone out there to bring into frame for next season. we could end up with rooney in there for a period and play Jones with O brien in midfield just like what kerry do with Donaghy and Donegal with Murphy"
I don't think McDonagh is good enough though.O'Rourke has been a huge loss in this aspect.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/07/2016 11:23:36    1876692

Cannot see Rooney as a FF, he is still trying to come to grips with playing midfield at county level. He needed a bit of experience alongside him for learning curve. We badly need a ball winning full forward with ability to read game and bring team mates into play.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 05/07/2016 11:40:46    1876708

Don't see to many making the trip to Derry. unsuitable time.

AnFearBan1234 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 05/07/2016 12:15:24    1876726

Can't get my head around everyone pinning their hopes on this Jones lad. No one even heard of him let along mentioned before he came on the last day. Madness.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 05/07/2016 12:47:57    1876750

Anybody know if there are any bus' travelling from anywhere in Meath for this game ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 05/07/2016 12:54:10    1876753

Replying To RedMeath12:  "Can't get my head around everyone pinning their hopes on this Jones lad. No one even heard of him let along mentioned before he came on the last day. Madness."
Yeah its absolutely ridiculous

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 05/07/2016 13:44:08    1876788

Replying To RedMeath12:  "Can't get my head around everyone pinning their hopes on this Jones lad. No one even heard of him let along mentioned before he came on the last day. Madness."
I find it quite amusing. I only saw him once for the minors but he looked like a good footballer. Like Rowe, it will take time for him to establish himself in the team but because we're so short at midfield, this could be sooner than we'd like.

There mustn't be a supporters bus running. Normally there'd be a notice up about it. Says a lot about what Meath followers are thinking these days. A win in Derry would mean so much more than getting to round 3 of the qualifiers

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 05/07/2016 13:49:13    1876792

In Jones' defence he is a very good young player with serious potential. He was one of the stand out players from the minors a few years ago and he's been playing particularly well for Dunboyne this year, I can see him being a Meath starter in the future.

Now with that being said, I don't know what MOD was doing bringing him on in that game.

A few years ago MOD cleared out older players in favor of younger, faster players (the Wallaces, McMahon etc) which is fair enough, that 's his decision as manager and he wanted to build a team around a certain style of play. But then against Dublin he basically shows some of these players a vote of no confidence by not bringing them on and bringing on an even younger player with no inter county experience at all? I don't like giving out about managers but I just found the decision very strange.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 05/07/2016 13:52:17    1876797

Replying To AnFearBan1234:  "Don't see to many making the trip to Derry. unsuitable time."
Absolutely. Still can't fathom the reason for it.

I'm working Saturday till 12 and can't see how I'm gonna get to Dungiven in time. There was very little thought and consideration for travelling support.

I thought it was one of the things the GAA were banging on about a few years about fixing games at a safe time to allow adequate travel time for people getting to games.... 2.30 on a working day doesn't seem to tick that box.....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 05/07/2016 13:56:06    1876804

You obviously have no interest in underage football in Meath if you never heard of Ronan Jones. Still only 19/20 not sure if he is ready for Senior yet but definitely one for the future.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 05/07/2016 14:10:21    1876817