Derry v Meath

Id also add that it is far easier on the legs when you have the ball than when you are chasing shadows in a blanket defence.. WE have some decent quality forwards who on their day can give teams real problems, so I really feel we should be going all out attack. push teams back and as soon as they go to break down field nail them. We are not dirty enough.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 01/07/2016 11:04:23    1874570

Replying To browncows:  "Forglory- I do not know for what reason some players left. We do need the best available- not just players who are there because they were on some underage team in the past. A lot of folk are posting to media and blaming players which I do not agree with --enough said about that. On a more interesting note I read an article today - a damming report (a Leinster Council initiative) on the inadequacies in GAA spending and player development (this was a review carried out in 4 counties but expected to be similar in many more). In summary it says that absence of skill-testing with over -emphasis on strength, conditioning areas resulting in less focus on technical, tactical, team play development, psychological and nutrition (I think that mean lot of spuds!). Many poster on these boards post about our lack of strength, conditioning. Guys think that lots of S/C makes for good players which is not the case. Its a question of balance between all the necessary attributes."
I agree completly with you. I think the whole S/c thing is overdone. There is no point been able to run 100m in 11 secs or lift 200kgs if you cant read a game or put the ball over the bar. Also wonder about the fact that we seem to use the players to suit a system rather than a system to suit the players. Youhave to be able to trust the players to play, we seem so worried about making mistakes we dont try anything any more and the fun has gone out of it, I know we are only following what other teams are doing but that does'nt mean its right.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 01/07/2016 11:41:14    1874597

Replying To Uncle_Fester:  "Lads will everybody moaning about the older lads being cleared out ever cop on. Does anybody any this not remember Joe's last game when he was centre forward? We lost the game and he got absolutely torn to shreds on this about how he's too old and not up to the pace anymore etc. Ward and Farrell got similar treatment. The only player I had any problem with getting dropped was Peader Byrne thought he was a great bit of stuff, but Damian Carroll had to go.

Just to play devil's advocate I'm not quite sure the fitness issue is as bad as some make it out to be. I think this Meath team is fit enough to last the full 70 minutes but what I wanna know is what is going on in the dressing room at half time? Why aren't these players coming out with fire in their bellies? Anybody who has played to a decent level of football at half time in an important game in a dressing room will know the craic. If you're leading you want to go out and kill the other teams spirit in the next 10/15 minutes. Other teams seems to come out fired up but Meath seem to come out like it's just a kick around and once another team gets momentum is near impossible to stop.

In short I think Meath are mentally weak and don't have the leadership to be ruthless enough to finish a game rather than they are simply not fit enough."
I totally agree with this these lads train 5 nights a week fitness can't be the issue. Most counties I'm sure are doing the stuff training wise. My issue is how we play and managed. If your coached to be ultra defensive and worry about opposition players and game plans as we did v dubs. How do you get belief into your players about their ability? Then first sub is a lad who never played not knocking him my point is how did the other subs feel? Looks to me mod doesn't believe in the team or subs

username.if (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 01/07/2016 11:48:37    1874603

Replying To Uncle_Fester:  "Lads will everybody moaning about the older lads being cleared out ever cop on. Does anybody any this not remember Joe's last game when he was centre forward? We lost the game and he got absolutely torn to shreds on this about how he's too old and not up to the pace anymore etc. Ward and Farrell got similar treatment. The only player I had any problem with getting dropped was Peader Byrne thought he was a great bit of stuff, but Damian Carroll had to go.

Just to play devil's advocate I'm not quite sure the fitness issue is as bad as some make it out to be. I think this Meath team is fit enough to last the full 70 minutes but what I wanna know is what is going on in the dressing room at half time? Why aren't these players coming out with fire in their bellies? Anybody who has played to a decent level of football at half time in an important game in a dressing room will know the craic. If you're leading you want to go out and kill the other teams spirit in the next 10/15 minutes. Other teams seems to come out fired up but Meath seem to come out like it's just a kick around and once another team gets momentum is near impossible to stop.

In short I think Meath are mentally weak and don't have the leadership to be ruthless enough to finish a game rather than they are simply not fit enough."
A team been mentally weak is also a sign of the manager been weak,especially after 4 years in charge.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2016 12:07:02    1874613

Also lacking belief comes into it and if a manager cannot instill belief then he has to go.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2016 12:07:46    1874614

Replying To username.if:  "I totally agree with this these lads train 5 nights a week fitness can't be the issue. Most counties I'm sure are doing the stuff training wise. My issue is how we play and managed. If your coached to be ultra defensive and worry about opposition players and game plans as we did v dubs. How do you get belief into your players about their ability? Then first sub is a lad who never played not knocking him my point is how did the other subs feel? Looks to me mod doesn't believe in the team or subs"
Amazed that McMahon was one of if not the last sub on.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2016 12:09:44    1874617

Conall Collier, Meath Chronicle:

"The evidence suggests that there won't be too many making the trip based on the amount of complaining and negative remarks about last Sunday's display against Dublin.

Maybe the so-called loyal supporters could follow the example of the hurling supporters who have endured years of frustration and no success but still turned up at Croke Park last Saturday where they created a feverish atmosphere that really lifted the team.

"Sing when we're winning" seems to be the new tradition that is unfolding amongst the football fraternity?"

HahaHa, good jaysus I laughed out loud when I read that, it's basically pro-County Board, Pro-O'Dowd, anti-opinion propoganda.

The best part is though saying that Meath football fans should follow the example of the Meath hurling fans in their support. Tell me how many hurling fans turned up to Croker on Saturday compared to football fans on Sunday??? Does he actually want less support at the football games, looks to me like he inadvertently encouraged that while trying to make another point.

Also Meath fans are still going to have their opinions regardless of attempted censorship and shaming, same as every other county.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/07/2016 12:12:23    1874620

Replying To Forglory:  "I agree completly with you. I think the whole S/c thing is overdone. There is no point been able to run 100m in 11 secs or lift 200kgs if you cant read a game or put the ball over the bar. Also wonder about the fact that we seem to use the players to suit a system rather than a system to suit the players. Youhave to be able to trust the players to play, we seem so worried about making mistakes we dont try anything any more and the fun has gone out of it, I know we are only following what other teams are doing but that does'nt mean its right."
I agree with you 100% and would say if you are afraid of making mistakes you will never be successful and furthermore players have got to be able to make decisions on the field (adapt to what is going on around them) otherwise we are going nowhere- just as with success in clubs.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/07/2016 12:13:51    1874622

Replying To Htaem:  "Conall Collier, Meath Chronicle:

"The evidence suggests that there won't be too many making the trip based on the amount of complaining and negative remarks about last Sunday's display against Dublin.

Maybe the so-called loyal supporters could follow the example of the hurling supporters who have endured years of frustration and no success but still turned up at Croke Park last Saturday where they created a feverish atmosphere that really lifted the team.

"Sing when we're winning" seems to be the new tradition that is unfolding amongst the football fraternity?"

HahaHa, good jaysus I laughed out loud when I read that, it's basically pro-County Board, Pro-O'Dowd, anti-opinion propoganda.

The best part is though saying that Meath football fans should follow the example of the Meath hurling fans in their support. Tell me how many hurling fans turned up to Croker on Saturday compared to football fans on Sunday??? Does he actually want less support at the football games, looks to me like he inadvertently encouraged that while trying to make another point.

Also Meath fans are still going to have their opinions regardless of attempted censorship and shaming, same as every other county."
Pathetic remark..

Him not you..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2016 13:20:26    1874650

Interesting to note that Burke was playing hurling with his club over the weekend.I thought Meath management didn't allow this kind of thing?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2016 14:26:09    1874683

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Interesting to note that Burke was playing hurling with his club over the weekend.I thought Meath management didn't allow this kind of thing?"
That was last night.

I know Douglas is for dual too, wonder will he be allowed play.? Be interesting to see if he plays tonight.

Many other dual players on the panel.?

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 01/07/2016 15:09:56    1874713

Also Meath fans are still going to have their opinions regardless of attempted censorship and shaming, same as every other county."
What a piece of utter utter crap.
He would be better off critiquing the performance rather than having a go at the loyal, and I have to say fantastic, but Lon suffering Meath fans.
How has mod got sooo much influence over local media/press/CB, can anyone put their finger on the REAL reason he doesn't face the Same levels of scrutiny as any of his predecessors or any other county manager?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2016 18:41:12    1874816

Replying To royaldunne:  "

He would be better off critiquing the performance rather than having a go at the loyal, and I have to say fantastic, but Lon suffering Meath fans.
How has mod got sooo much influence over local media/press/CB, can anyone put their finger on the REAL reason he doesn't face the Same levels of scrutiny as any of his predecessors or any other county manager?"
To be fair it seems odd.O'Brien got way more criticism and Banty was killed.But the Meath Chronicle and LMFM are the opposite with MOD.It does seem very odd.
My dad(who usually doesn't offer an opinion),said there didn't seem to be much of a plan against Dublin.He is also very optimistic,but feels they won't win in Derry and that will be the end of MOD,otherwise more players will leave the panel.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2016 19:07:31    1874824

He would be better off asking some hard questions of CB and management rather than writing that insulting rubbish

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 01/07/2016 19:14:52    1874827

How has mod got sooo much influence over local media/press/CB, can anyone put their finger on the REAL reason he doesn't face the Same levels of scrutiny as any of his predecessors or any other county manager?"
I would imagine the complete balls up that was made of past managerial issues has kept the criticism at bay this time, remember the embarrassing way Eamon O'Brien was treated, remember the farcical situation around Banty both of which made national headlines. Delegates have no desire to be seen wielding the axe or portrayed as unfair so no matter even if it would be the right thing to do in being critical they won't do it, next county board meeting Monday night may touch on the Dublin game although usually such things aren't discussed until the championship run is over.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/07/2016 19:21:43    1874828

I would imagine the complete balls up that was made of past managerial issues has kept the criticism at bay this time, remember the embarrassing way Eamon O'Brien was treated, remember the farcical situation around Banty both of which made national headlines. Delegates have no desire to be seen wielding the axe or portrayed as unfair so no matter even if it would be the right thing to do in being critical they won't do it, next county board meeting Monday night may touch on the Dublin game although usually such things aren't discussed until the championship run is over.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/07/2016 19:22:56    1874829

Replying To browncows:  "Forglory- I do not know for what reason some players left. We do need the best available- not just players who are there because they were on some underage team in the past. A lot of folk are posting to media and blaming players which I do not agree with --enough said about that. On a more interesting note I read an article today - a damming report (a Leinster Council initiative) on the inadequacies in GAA spending and player development (this was a review carried out in 4 counties but expected to be similar in many more). In summary it says that absence of skill-testing with over -emphasis on strength, conditioning areas resulting in less focus on technical, tactical, team play development, psychological and nutrition (I think that mean lot of spuds!). Many poster on these boards post about our lack of strength, conditioning. Guys think that lots of S/C makes for good players which is not the case. Its a question of balance between all the necessary attributes."
I've pointed this out before, yes I've played the game and know the importance of skill, I also know you won't compete with the Dublins in croker being overweight and unfit, or a skinny weakling.

On the selection front I'm genuinely bored of coming on here saying who shouldn't be playing, when time and time again I'm proved right and it's of no satisfaction, just bizzarre MOD doesn't see it.

On the Ronan Jones points, yes he's very young but I don't see a better midfielder there right now there bar, look how a young Fenton done for Dublin in the middle of the park for example, age isn't that important, for another example see Bastick at the other end of the scale.

Elsewhere a few saying play Wallace corner forward, he is not a corner forward. He's an automatic starter and rightfully so but jaysis he's no Bernard Brogan kicking a ball. Let him run from deep, our half forward line is probably our only strong area, don't mess around with it. Sean Tobin is too slow to be there, keep the 3 lads running from deep and making use of them. On a lack of pace I'd also say we have space for one in the ff line without it, that's Newman - he's still vital. Play McMahon and Lenihan either side as two proper corner forwards. I said on Smyth he wasn't up to it physically and would have had Finn instead, I'll say the same again for this one.

John Giles said of Hodgson he failed his most basic task, playing his best players in their best positions. Same applies here, it's very simple.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 01/07/2016 19:31:57    1874831

Replying To dunboynelad:  "I've pointed this out before, yes I've played the game and know the importance of skill, I also know you won't compete with the Dublins in croker being overweight and unfit, or a skinny weakling.

On the selection front I'm genuinely bored of coming on here saying who shouldn't be playing, when time and time again I'm proved right and it's of no satisfaction, just bizzarre MOD doesn't see it.

On the Ronan Jones points, yes he's very young but I don't see a better midfielder there right now there bar, look how a young Fenton done for Dublin in the middle of the park for example, age isn't that important, for another example see Bastick at the other end of the scale.

Elsewhere a few saying play Wallace corner forward, he is not a corner forward. He's an automatic starter and rightfully so but jaysis he's no Bernard Brogan kicking a ball. Let him run from deep, our half forward line is probably our only strong area, don't mess around with it. Sean Tobin is too slow to be there, keep the 3 lads running from deep and making use of them. On a lack of pace I'd also say we have space for one in the ff line without it, that's Newman - he's still vital. Play McMahon and Lenihan either side as two proper corner forwards. I said on Smyth he wasn't up to it physically and would have had Finn instead, I'll say the same again for this one.

John Giles said of Hodgson he failed his most basic task, playing his best players in their best positions. Same applies here, it's very simple."
Agree with all your points.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 01/07/2016 20:07:55    1874836

Replying To Richieq:  "
Replying To royaldunne:  "[quote=Htaem:  "Conall Collier, Meath Chronicle:

I would imagine the complete balls up that was made of past managerial issues has kept the criticism at bay this time, remember the embarrassing way Eamon O'Brien was treated, remember the farcical situation around Banty both of which made national headlines. Delegates have no desire to be seen wielding the axe or portrayed as unfair so no matter even if it would be the right thing to do in being critical they won't do it, next county board meeting Monday night may touch on the Dublin game although usually such things aren't discussed until the championship run is over."]Nepotism at its finest

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 01/07/2016 20:08:22    1874837

I don't usually buy the papers after a Meath defeat, because people always have a different spin on things !

Bought the Meath chronicle today to see what was upsetting the lads,i was going to say it wasn't to bad :) But then i see more of the lads read the Meath chronicle since so i better say something else or one would be left with just his underpants!

It was middlin :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 01/07/2016 21:12:08    1874857