Derry v Meath

In fairness..... All everybody did was give out about Sheridan, Farrell and quenney when they were around. Everybody said they were finished cause they were massively underperforming. And Carroll can't win his own ball by the way. I guarantee ya couldn't get a team from around the club scene to beat that starting Meath team, what a silly remark to make just to try and back up ur opinion.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 30/06/2016 13:19:51    1874230

Replying To southmeathgael:  "In fairness..... All everybody did was give out about Sheridan, Farrell and quenney when they were around. Everybody said they were finished cause they were massively underperforming. And Carroll can't win his own ball by the way. I guarantee ya couldn't get a team from around the club scene to beat that starting Meath team, what a silly remark to make just to try and back up ur opinion."
That is very true..they were called to slow and not fit enough for croke park in the big wide open places.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 30/06/2016 14:14:42    1874266

To be honest I think MOD was right to gte rid of the deadwood..

Brian Farrell was retiring anyway so he was not on option.
Joe Sheridan was without question past it.
Cian Ward just didn't have the right appetite and was often benched by previous managers.
Jamie Queeney was never really a first teamer at his best and was very slow to react on the field.
Damien Carroll seemed to lack confidence imo and needed to have a lot of space.Very poor at breaking tackles etc.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2016 14:46:07    1874281

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "That is very true..they were called to slow and not fit enough for croke park in the big wide open places."
But the current team are not fit enough either? Of that there is no doubt, every fact points to this, wrecked after 50 mins, loosing big leads, as htaem said we have only outscored Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow in second half since mod arrived.
The fitness levels of likes of ward Farrell and even Sheridan were better under eob than what mod has brought to the table.
As for game itself? All been equal we should win, but nothing is equal under mod, guaranteed to loose second half, so will need to be at least 5/6 up at ht , and if things are tight we will see more debuts as mod will want to build up his excuses and a reason to get another year to further bring Meath football down.
Hard to be optimistic but I will go and support the county and the players, who have to be pitied trying to perform under such incompetents.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2016 14:54:01    1874292

All of that older brigade were long finished. The only one who I felt still had something to offer was Cian Ward but his style of play didn't seem to sit well with the management. What we lost with those players was leadership but it's up to other lads to step up to the plate. We've seen this already with Keogan, Tobin, Harnan, Burke and even young O'Sullivan. It's now time for the likes of O'Rourke, Biggy, Newman, Tormey and Wallace among others to take responsibility.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 30/06/2016 14:56:50    1874295

Kev Reilly on twitter after the game..

"Insanity,doing the same things again and again and expecting different results"

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2016 15:52:52    1874334

Replying To royaldunne:  "But the current team are not fit enough either? Of that there is no doubt, every fact points to this, wrecked after 50 mins, loosing big leads, as htaem said we have only outscored Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow in second half since mod arrived.
The fitness levels of likes of ward Farrell and even Sheridan were better under eob than what mod has brought to the table.
As for game itself? All been equal we should win, but nothing is equal under mod, guaranteed to loose second half, so will need to be at least 5/6 up at ht , and if things are tight we will see more debuts as mod will want to build up his excuses and a reason to get another year to further bring Meath football down.
Hard to be optimistic but I will go and support the county and the players, who have to be pitied trying to perform under such incompetents."
The fitness thing with Meath is a bit of a enigma alright RD..i really dont know were we stand! When i went to the O'byrne cup games in January they were flying and looked like they could play 140 mins of football ..two weeks later during the league they look dead on there feet after 20 mins!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 30/06/2016 17:10:42    1874390

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "The fitness thing with Meath is a bit of a enigma alright RD..i really dont know were we stand! When i went to the O'byrne cup games in January they were flying and looked like they could play 140 mins of football ..two weeks later during the league they look dead on there feet after 20 mins!"
Yes but when other teams get fitter we stay the same.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2016 17:29:02    1874398

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Yes but when other teams get fitter we stay the same."
Why is that would you say Ziggy? i am very curious about this also if i am honest,there is always level of fitness achieved by all players and all teams!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 30/06/2016 18:06:12    1874411

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "Just after listening to Oisín McConville on the second captains podcast saying Meath are quarter final if not semi final material. When you strip it all back, it's easy to see where he's coming from. Dublin are the outstanding team in the country and are well ahead of the pack. Beyond that, we could compete with most other teams. Derry will be a tough game but we are capable of beating them. Our main weakness is our mental strength or lack thereof. In round 3, the strongest opposition would be the loser of the Tyrone - Cavan replay. The provincial finalists come in after this round so Tipperary, Westmeath, Galway/Roscommon and another one of the Ulster teams. A lot of ifs and buts but with a favourable draw, we could easily be playing in August."
That's great...I don't want Meath to be semi final material I want them to win the bloody thing outright.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 30/06/2016 18:09:42    1874413

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "The fitness thing with Meath is a bit of a enigma alright RD..i really dont know were we stand! When i went to the O'byrne cup games in January they were flying and looked like they could play 140 mins of football ..two weeks later during the league they look dead on there feet after 20 mins!"
They are overtrained

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 30/06/2016 18:11:35    1874415

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Why is that would you say Ziggy? i am very curious about this also if i am honest,there is always level of fitness achieved by all players and all teams!"
It seems to be me that they are overtrained when it comes to fitness work.Been like this for the last 4 years.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/06/2016 18:21:10    1874420

Replying To Forglory:  "Just wondering does anyone know that if there was a change of management would the players that have dropped themselves off the panel become available again, I know there is too many to mention, but surely if that was the case the problem lies with the cb if they can not see this."
I would be fairly confident that a good few of the players made themselves unavailable would make themselves available to a new manager.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 30/06/2016 19:01:32    1874435

Regarding the fitness, are they putting too much emphasis on speed in training and not building up stamina, no other team seems to fade as dramatically as us

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 30/06/2016 19:31:00    1874442

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "Just after listening to Oisín McConville on the second captains podcast saying Meath are quarter final if not semi final material. When you strip it all back, it's easy to see where he's coming from. Dublin are the outstanding team in the country and are well ahead of the pack. Beyond that, we could compete with most other teams. Derry will be a tough game but we are capable of beating them. Our main weakness is our mental strength or lack thereof. In round 3, the strongest opposition would be the loser of the Tyrone - Cavan replay. The provincial finalists come in after this round so Tipperary, Westmeath, Galway/Roscommon and another one of the Ulster teams. A lot of ifs and buts but with a favourable draw, we could easily be playing in August."
Cannot see the logic in this, we have struggled against all opposition over last number of years, how can he say we are semi-finalist material?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 30/06/2016 19:35:28    1874443

Replying To begining:  "what experience is he lacking?

Is having experience a good thing? Mickey Newman, Reilly, Burke etc have plenty of 'experience' of being bet out the gate by Dublin anytime they play them, does the experience of never winning anything and consistent under-preforming at adult level count for anything? I don't think so.

He done well when he came on and I'd like to see him replace McDonagh v Derry. Good call by MOD"
No your right experience is a bad thing. The more we keep throwing on lads in big important games the better we will become. The man has had 4 years to build a team.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 30/06/2016 19:41:12    1874444

Southmeathgael quote: 'I guarantee ya couldn't get a team from around the club scene to beat that starting Meath team, what a silly remark to make just to try and back up ur opinion'. You were replying to Forglory.
My opinion is that he cannot back up his opinion and I would suggest that you cannot backup your opinion either - just a thought! I do however give great credit to the efforts the players are putting in as it is much easier when you are winning.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 30/06/2016 20:37:08    1874455

Replying To royaldunne:  "But the current team are not fit enough either? Of that there is no doubt, every fact points to this, wrecked after 50 mins, loosing big leads, as htaem said we have only outscored Wicklow, Wexford and Carlow in second half since mod arrived.
Hard to be optimistic but I will go and support the county and the players, who have to be pitied trying to perform under such incompetents."
In fairness to mod fitness has been a huge issue for meath footballers for years now. In 2010, with the exception of laois replay & dubs game we folded in the 2nd half of nearly every game we played league & championship. while i'm not a fan of mod the players have to take some of the blame.A lot of players are too young & inexperienced but theres an attitude & arrogance in SOME players that would lead you to believe they'd won it all. Contrast that with the dublin players ( breaks my heart saying this) who are genuinely honest footballers. thats what we're missing honesty. Saw a meath training session a few years ago before a championship game which they lost & was shocked at the attitude displayed by nearly every player, was all about fancy flicks & laughing & joking. you wouldnt see it at the goal challenge.

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 30/06/2016 22:52:14    1874485

Its such a strange thing, like yourself in January I was really pleased with the fitness of the team, come league and we dead on our feet, it gets worse in championship, over trained? Or is it wrongly trained? Surely someone within Meath has seen this? What is needed is stamina and endurance training, if we had both I think we would be in division 1 , which would seriously help our cause

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2016 10:16:03    1874545

Lads will everybody moaning about the older lads being cleared out ever cop on. Does anybody any this not remember Joe's last game when he was centre forward? We lost the game and he got absolutely torn to shreds on this about how he's too old and not up to the pace anymore etc. Ward and Farrell got similar treatment. The only player I had any problem with getting dropped was Peader Byrne thought he was a great bit of stuff, but Damian Carroll had to go.

Just to play devil's advocate I'm not quite sure the fitness issue is as bad as some make it out to be. I think this Meath team is fit enough to last the full 70 minutes but what I wanna know is what is going on in the dressing room at half time? Why aren't these players coming out with fire in their bellies? Anybody who has played to a decent level of football at half time in an important game in a dressing room will know the craic. If you're leading you want to go out and kill the other teams spirit in the next 10/15 minutes. Other teams seems to come out fired up but Meath seem to come out like it's just a kick around and once another team gets momentum is near impossible to stop.

In short I think Meath are mentally weak and don't have the leadership to be ruthless enough to finish a game rather than they are simply not fit enough.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 01/07/2016 10:44:30    1874559