Derry v Meath

Right lads ...2016 over.

Another winter of looking back on the glory years...

Who was Meath best ever full back?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 09/07/2016 16:41:17    1878939

I would beg Mick O'Dowd at this point to please just step away from the job, the current state of Meath football is by no means his fault but for whatever reason, he simply can't get a second half performance out of his team, so why stick rigidly to a failed project. Here's 2 interesting dates for yous:

15/06/2014 = that was the day we last won a second half of championship football........it was against Carlow, and we leading by 13 points at half time.

28/07/2012 = the last time we scored a goal in the last 20mins of a tight championship match (a losing effort against Laois). We got late goals against Carlow and Dublin in 2014 but both of those games were long over when we scored the goals.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/07/2016 16:47:19    1878941

http://www.meathchronicle.ie/sport/gaa/articles/2016/07/09/4123058-meath-lose-and-mick-odowd-steps-down/

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 09/07/2016 17:02:36    1878963

Keoghan not injured, I am disgusted, and I will NEVER spend one cent on Meath football if the arms folded one continues,
We have wasted 4 years regressing year on year. Call Andy McEntee, call Graham Geraghty, call sean Boylan, or even call micky mouse, cause at this stage even the Disney character would do a better job than mod, luckily I was on far side of grounds.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/07/2016 17:11:37    1878982

Replying To Htaem:  "I would beg Mick O'Dowd at this point to please just step away from the job, the current state of Meath football is by no means his fault but for whatever reason, he simply can't get a second half performance out of his team, so why stick rigidly to a failed project. Here's 2 interesting dates for yous:

15/06/2014 = that was the day we last won a second half of championship football........it was against Carlow, and we leading by 13 points at half time.

28/07/2012 = the last time we scored a goal in the last 20mins of a tight championship match (a losing effort against Laois). We got late goals against Carlow and Dublin in 2014 but both of those games were long over when we scored the goals."
o dowd gone he stepped down

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 09/07/2016 17:14:08    1878995

Replying To royaldunne:  "Keoghan not injured, I am disgusted, and I will NEVER spend one cent on Meath football if the arms folded one continues,
We have wasted 4 years regressing year on year. Call Andy McEntee, call Graham Geraghty, call sean Boylan, or even call micky mouse, cause at this stage even the Disney character would do a better job than mod, luckily I was on far side of grounds."
Micko has gone thank god

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 09/07/2016 17:15:29    1879005

Apparently Keoghan had concussion.It seemed ok to me,he certainly wasn't happy about coming off..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/07/2016 17:53:45    1879098

Disgraceful, shambolic, clueless. Plenty of other adjectives to describe that performance. Why was Sean Tobin put on? Too many of them see it as a status symbol. The rumours of going out on the lash were more than likely true. It's about time pride is restored to the jersey. Plenty of lads on the junior team who would do anything to get on that team. Where was the leadership today?

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 09/07/2016 17:54:33    1879099

You all seemed very confident. Going by the past few years and your 5 previous losses in the qualifiers I'm surprised. Hard luck chaps. I like meath but you are a sinking ship

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 18:31:38    1879171

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "You all seemed very confident. Going by the past few years and your 5 previous losses in the qualifiers I'm surprised. Hard luck chaps. I like meath but you are a sinking ship"
Thanks. Respectful.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 09/07/2016 21:53:27    1879528

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "You all seemed very confident. Going by the past few years and your 5 previous losses in the qualifiers I'm surprised. Hard luck chaps. I like meath but you are a sinking ship"
We're not sinking we are sunk!!

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 09/07/2016 21:54:45    1879531

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Apparently Keoghan had concussion.It seemed ok to me,he certainly wasn't happy about coming off.."
I'm ok if he had concussion but why wasn't he replaced with a back Dan o Neill was the perfect option -

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 09/07/2016 21:56:07    1879537

Ye I think we're long since sank as well, we haven't been a top team since 2001 and we haven't even been a decent team since 2010.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/07/2016 22:04:58    1879557

Hard to add much to what is already written. Mick O Dowd seems a nice guy but cuteness and toughness not his strong points. A very weak appointment and as far as I could see only got it because Trevor Giles and Sean Kelly were on the ticket. When they moved on it should have been clear that he was not up to it and had lost those selectors, just that they were classy enough not to air the dirty linen in public.

So the county board are just as culpable in all of this.

Decision making on the sideline was poor again yesterday and it is so frustrating to see us change from a team that people feared in the second half of games to a team where ordinary teams like Derry and Westmeath believe that they can take easily in the second half.

In my opinion, we have a dearth of scoring forwards in comparison to previous teams. The new manager needs to identify players that can easily take points and be ruthless in taking goals. We just don't have them and we need a free taker or need to develop Newmans contribution in open play

I am very interested in Colm Collier of the Chronicles take on all of this now. Very critical of supporters that voiced concerns yet the local media gave MOD a free ride as far as I could see.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 10/07/2016 09:44:39    1879812

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Hard to add much to what is already written. Mick O Dowd seems a nice guy but cuteness and toughness not his strong points. A very weak appointment and as far as I could see only got it because Trevor Giles and Sean Kelly were on the ticket. When they moved on it should have been clear that he was not up to it and had lost those selectors, just that they were classy enough not to air the dirty linen in public.

So the county board are just as culpable in all of this.

Decision making on the sideline was poor again yesterday and it is so frustrating to see us change from a team that people feared in the second half of games to a team where ordinary teams like Derry and Westmeath believe that they can take easily in the second half.

In my opinion, we have a dearth of scoring forwards in comparison to previous teams. The new manager needs to identify players that can easily take points and be ruthless in taking goals. We just don't have them and we need a free taker or need to develop Newmans contribution in open play

I am very interested in Colm Collier of the Chronicles take on all of this now. Very critical of supporters that voiced concerns yet the local media gave MOD a free ride as far as I could see."
Yeah thought of that myself! The attack on the supporters was out of order and frankly lazy.The supporters have also been proven right..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/07/2016 12:12:03    1879929

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Yeah thought of that myself! The attack on the supporters was out of order and frankly lazy.The supporters have also been proven right.."
who actually reads the chronicle nowadays ?

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 10/07/2016 22:01:09    1880473

If Keogan was concussed then fair enough. He wasn't best pleased at being replaced though. What was the idea in talking off Newman and replacing him with McDonagh. I don't know what the game plan was but our forwards never made runs into space. Seemed to either just stand beside their or run the opposite direction. How many times in the game particularly in the second half where we didn't have a player within the opposition 45m line. Crazy Stuff. Micko is a gentleman but he hasn't much of an idea on how to manage a team or produce a plan of play.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 10/07/2016 23:36:01    1880527

Embarrassing..!!

I don't think I have ever been so angry leaving a match before. Shocking stuff.Mind blowing substitutions, cannot get my head around the changes.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 11/07/2016 08:27:05    1880604

I for one was not confident, and don't believe many were on this site either. No need to stick the knife in, we know where our standing is already. Good luck against Cavan - probably the hardest draw ye could have got but a game you could win though.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 11/07/2016 09:16:24    1880629

Replying To royalpainter:  "who actually reads the chronicle nowadays ?"
I buy the Chronicle most weeks. However, they have generally not rocked the boat at all with regards to the problems with the Meath team. I was disappointed with Collier's comments regarding the fans. In effect they were asking the questions the local media should be asking. I was also disappointed with some of the coverage of the previous rounds of championship games as the Chronicle was always my go to for match reports.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 11/07/2016 10:08:36    1880683