Derry v Meath

Replying To umpireview:  "Are you serious?
I wouldn't wish that on any player
Let them challenge against the weaker teams and try to build some sort of momentum out of this crisis and dont be fooled we are in a crisis
Posters on here giving out about mod and dropping six or seven players
Here is one for you all
Who do you pick instead?
Have you watched club football lately ?
The whole problem is the standard of player?
Ask yourself how many of today's team would make it on to the current dublin team
Answer: none"
I agree with whythelongface defensively we where ok gave away to many easy frees, that can be worked on and perfected over time it's a new team that needs time. Most of our younger players played well harnan, COS, Smyth Jones first senior game kicked a good point. It's the more experienced players I'd be more concerned about reilly, Newman, tormey all good footballs just can't do it consistently. We can all blame club football for our failings maybe it is but its not the only reason. Underage is the key and every team doing well at present have good youth teams. As for Derry I've watched them this year there a poor team with no decent forwards we'll win that game by 5 to 10 points. If people think we're bad watch Derry

username.if (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 28/06/2016 10:20:43    1873159

Smith and mcdonagh have to be dropped for next game
How mcdonagh stayed on pitch for 60 min is beyond me , he obviously doesn't trust Mcmahon joey Wallace or lenehan all of which are way more mobile
And Finn need to be given a chance now
I've said many times Micko is nice guy and given his all but time to move on and give the next guy a chance and for me it's Andy mc
probably won't happen unless current county board change

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 28/06/2016 11:01:04    1873187

I think Meath and Derry are two reasonably similar teams, so I can't see much between them, just depends how motivated each team is to win.

Unfortunately though it's very likely to be another short summer for Meath, we just aren't a good team at the minute and to progress any further we're going to need soft draws and teams that aren't very interested.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 28/06/2016 12:02:53    1873211

Lads before we all go calling for andy mc just remember when we played dublin in minor a few years ago the system we employed. Was'nt a far cry off what we did on sunday. I dont know whether he would be the solution. We should defo start jones and probably oneill. Why not, what have we got to lose? The lads that are there are terrified of failure and are coached to an inch of their lives, to what end?? Give youth its chance go out and express yourselves in the best traditions of Meath football.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 28/06/2016 12:36:56    1873230

I've said it before and I will say it again the sooner the current minors make the breakthrough the better. This current team is not fit for inter county football. Enough damage has been done it is now time to salvage some pride with a new set up. A win on Sunday would obviously have atoned for not getting promotion in the league but our championship is more or less over. They will have a handsome lead over them before succumbing in the second half to another northern team while out on their feet chasing shadows. You can easily write the script.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 28/06/2016 12:37:32    1873232

Game confirmed for Saturday week at 2.30pm in Owenbeg. We played there in the league so it should be of help to our chances

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 28/06/2016 13:31:28    1873270

Replying To Jimin10:  "I've said it before and I will say it again the sooner the current minors make the breakthrough the better. This current team is not fit for inter county football. Enough damage has been done it is now time to salvage some pride with a new set up. A win on Sunday would obviously have atoned for not getting promotion in the league but our championship is more or less over. They will have a handsome lead over them before succumbing in the second half to another northern team while out on their feet chasing shadows. You can easily write the script."
What an absolute coconut (*abbreviate and adjust) of a time on a Saturday. How do they expect people who are working to travel to that game?
Even 5 would be a serious push, but just about manageable. No wonder attendances are going so bad. Really hope it's televised now because I'm working a half day that day so unless I find a helicopter I can't go. Clowns.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 28/06/2016 13:47:11    1873276

Replying To Jinxie:  "What an absolute coconut (*abbreviate and adjust) of a time on a Saturday. How do they expect people who are working to travel to that game?
Even 5 would be a serious push, but just about manageable. No wonder attendances are going so bad. Really hope it's televised now because I'm working a half day that day so unless I find a helicopter I can't go. Clowns."
Sadly the GAA don't care about things like that.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/06/2016 14:08:12    1873287

Replying To nobull456:  "Ziggy AGREED that is the best of what we got at present. It would be good if we could get Sean Boylan to have a "chat with the players panel or maybe take a session next week. I believe he helped the hurlers last week. Always refreshing to have a fresh experienced speaker at times like this. Im sure the lads would like to hear his input."
Will you please be serious ......... He ( SB) also spoke to the Ladies U16 team who were playing in the Leinster FInal this week , against a team that they had previously beaten in the championship ( Dublin) . So Statistically that's a 50/50 effective rating in a week . . Respect where respect is due . But a talk , to try to cure the ills of 4 years of mediocrity , Please .....

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 28/06/2016 14:22:52    1873305

Disrespectful to put an All Ireland qualifier on in a school of excellence instead of the county ground. As for the throw in time. What a joke.

Spoofer (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 28/06/2016 15:25:11    1873361

It's also absolute rubbish to boast about the fact that we shut out Dublin for goals. They scored 21 points. Get real.

Spoofer (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 28/06/2016 15:27:43    1873364

Replying To Spoofer:  "Disrespectful to put an All Ireland qualifier on in a school of excellence instead of the county ground. As for the throw in time. What a joke."
Jesus Spoofer. Their center of excellence is better than most county grounds around the country. Dunganny it ain't.

GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 303 - 28/06/2016 15:33:06    1873371

Replying To Spoofer:  "Disrespectful to put an All Ireland qualifier on in a school of excellence instead of the county ground. As for the throw in time. What a joke."
I didn't attend the league game.Are there stands?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/06/2016 15:34:29    1873374

Replying To Spoofer:  "It's also absolute rubbish to boast about the fact that we shut out Dublin for goals. They scored 21 points. Get real."
It does look impressive but not very large. It says it all these days that the GAA are planning for small attendances for games between teams likes Meath and Derry.

Spoofer (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 28/06/2016 15:39:10    1873380

Replying To username.if:  "I agree with whythelongface defensively we where ok gave away to many easy frees, that can be worked on and perfected over time it's a new team that needs time. Most of our younger players played well harnan, COS, Smyth Jones first senior game kicked a good point. It's the more experienced players I'd be more concerned about reilly, Newman, tormey all good footballs just can't do it consistently. We can all blame club football for our failings maybe it is but its not the only reason. Underage is the key and every team doing well at present have good youth teams. As for Derry I've watched them this year there a poor team with no decent forwards we'll win that game by 5 to 10 points. If people think we're bad watch Derry"
Defensively ok?, we conceded 21 points - you don't win matches doing that. We never laid a hand on a Dublin player running through on us, imagine what Tyrone or Donegal would have done with them. Also, Dublin were in 2nd gear for most of the match, at one stage in the 2nd half I saw the corner back doing his own stretching exercises as the ball was simply not getting inside the Dublin 45 yard line. The way I see it, if Derry are any way half bothered in this match they will beat us and as much as it pains me to say it, perhaps it will take us out of our misery!!!

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 28/06/2016 16:02:08    1873412

It wont fill the 5,000 capacity of our wee training ground. They have to play so many games there to keep the south derry people who don't like the city happy

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 28/06/2016 19:59:34    1873513

Replying To GoalsWinGames:  "Jesus Spoofer. Their center of excellence is better than most county grounds around the country. Dunganny it ain't."
Agreed. Dungiven. Town of 3000 and a stadium of 5000. Not many can boast that

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 28/06/2016 20:00:41    1873515

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I didn't attend the league game.Are there stands?"
One stand yes. Very modern facility. 3rd best in the country I'd say after that new one in Dublin and Tyrone

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 28/06/2016 20:01:22    1873516

Guys need to wise up complaining about Owenbeg. We were on the best pitch in the country last Sunday and it did little for us! Athboy -good post and to the point about defence- who was supposed to be marking Connolly?. I just do not know what some folk are watching.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/06/2016 21:36:39    1873557

Lads , what did ye expect, its two teams that dont have a hope of doing anything this year, in fact its a bit of a pointless exercise, we would have been better off been knocked out on sunday, forgetting about this year, getting a new management in place and starting for the league, all we are doing is prolonging the agony. I for one wont be travelling, sport is supossed to be enjoyable and the thoughts of going up to see two woeful teams......

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 29/06/2016 09:32:40    1873636