Time to call a halt

Brownepat- What is that that you are on, is in liquid form? could I have some please. I have heard that tune though over the last couple of years.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/04/2016 19:37:13    1841077

BROWNPAT............ I t would be great if you say that, and believe it at the same time...... No, it is reality time now . The facts speak for themselves!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 03/04/2016 19:39:43    1841079

Ah ye all a bunch of glass half empty men.
U right results show . Our good young team stayed in division 2 fair play to them and better things to come from our fine young lads

Up Meath up the Royal

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 03/04/2016 19:58:44    1841096

Brownepat........A happy christmas to you as well ! Can i have a bottle of that stuff as well !.....comme onn tha royell !! uhh.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 03/04/2016 20:07:36    1841110

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts:66 - 03/04/2016 19:58:44

Would you have not been better off saying nothing ? you have only brought focus back on hotbed of negativity!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 03/04/2016 20:17:24    1841127

What stay stum and listen to the doomsayers naw not me I say what I think. Me I'm a glass half full man

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 03/04/2016 20:38:37    1841165

They finished the campaign fairly well (on the whole) to stay in D2. While we are all relieved to do so, it shouldn't have come to this. Too close for comfort. It hasn't been a successful league season and the margin between survival and relegation was very small. Armagh have found that out to their cost. Good job Meath picked up those two points (from Galway and Derry) and didn't throw one of them away on the day (ref's timekeeping aside).

Anyway, the players and team performed well today, for most of the game. And well done to all the Meath supporters who travelled today to cheer the team on. It felt like we were the home team.

But it doesn't change the bigger picture. Laois are just in an even bigger crises than we are.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 03/04/2016 20:53:09    1841191

Guys have left the panel at different times this season.You wouldn't mind if they were going abroad to work or something.But we have had a number of lads this year who have left the panel and are still playing their clubs.Something doesn't add up here.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/05/2016 16:41:43    1852003

I know another who was on the brink of quiting.It also makes you think some others have serious doubts.We have to get the best players available,if that alone doesn't happen under MOD,well..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/05/2016 16:53:25    1852010

sure I honestly believe they are happy to let mod continue as it saves the cb the hassle and expense of having to find a new manager and also to be made look like fools for reinstating the man. simple as that

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 04/05/2016 17:19:32    1852025

the quick judgements of mick o dowds tenure as manager are very rash without an overall assessment. Re: players who aparently wont commit to mick odowd Ruari o Caoilan fantastic club palyer who was not willing to bide his time and take his chance when it came.... seamus mattimoe talented without doubt but is doing a masters and cant justify time commitments if not in first 20 players for match day. bryan menton has been in the meath panel over 6/7 years and was on the verge of burn out so decided to step back and take a break....no issue with mick o dowd.
The lack of informed opinions are laughable at times and presents a chance to slate a man doing his best with whats available. On an overall picture injuries have caused havoc to mick odowds era unfortunately kevin reilly, shane orourke, conor gillespie all forced to retire while entering their prime. the positioning of these top quality players with size, skill and experience to match have caused a void in the team. it is obvious from the top teams like dublin, kerry, mayo the solidity of a close bunch of players is the foundation of success. example darren o sullivan, donaghy, keith higgins etc played in 2006 final where is meaths replica in terms of experience and athletic condition ?? sadly its the kevin reilly shane conor who fit this mold. the criticism of young players like cillian o sullivan, wallace, bryan mc is short sighted.......these players will develop into corner stones of meath over a number of years not months. holding our league status offers hope that we can push on next year with a stronger better conditioned panel. So the real fans who know there football will remain loyal and support the lads.....meath abu!
I hope the admin allows this message to help the unimformed understand why there high expectations arent being met, its a range of issues coming together.!

brollysboy (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 04/05/2016 17:47:30    1852040

brollysboy

That if these players stay around to be cornerstones... Ruari should be in team imo and I said it before that he should have plyed more now this is the result.We have one player on the panel from NOM's who are by far the best team in the county.Some players play who don't give it 100% every time.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/05/2016 18:13:34    1852050

Ok I was going to let all things pass and not comment negatively until the summer is over and we know where we are but brollysboy really takes the biscuit, are you Tring to say o,caoilean doesn't know his football and not to mention the others who wont play under mod, here's just a little list, Menton, d bray, forde, Carroll , need I go on? But sure we are not real football fans and know nothing about it just like the most embarrassing manager of all time stated in radio after hailing staying in a very average div 2. Pathetic.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/05/2016 08:57:57    1852146

i heard MOD interview on LMFM yesterday. He said he was happy with the league outcome .The interviewer did not ask how he could be happy when his clearly stated objective i.e. div 1 was not met. Micko did answer in the nice polite tone as usual though.looking forward to the championship etc. Ah well Dublin dominance will come to the rescue and mask the reality in Meath that Micko just does not have a clue. He will continue with the waffle whilst players walk away,CB sit on their hands,clubs do nothing . Then again i would imagine nobody will be willing to clear up the mess anyway.This mess was allowed develop over at least 2 years now.Enough is enough. Clubs have the power if they want to organise themselves to use it. They do not have to have decisions made for them that clearly are not designed to put Meath football first.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 05/05/2016 09:55:00    1852167

Isn't that part of the problem? Local media (i.e. LMFM and the Meath Chronicle) not willing to ask the obvious and most relevant questions. Like Oliver Callan on the Late Late, he said it as it was and you could see Ryan Tubridy squirm as Callan's rant wasnt on Tubs agenda. Likewise the Chronicle and LMFM are happy to not rock the boat and quote meaningless soundbites from MOD.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 05/05/2016 10:21:22    1852183

Agreed seems a go easy and soft shoe shuffle with local media. Somehow ,the problem might go away if you dont ask real questions. Sometimes on this forum it seems to remain loyal to Meath you cannot be critical of management. I was supportive of MOD initially for a year or so. When i began to hear his media waffle i questioned his ability to do the job. In reality he proved me correct. i was critical of the CB for re electing sorry re appointing him . I deem the current status as a shambles,and of major concern for all real LOYAL supporters. MOD is a nice polite gentleman though that is not relevant

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 05/05/2016 16:42:03    1852390

Micko is the man new young team best players that want to play in the County involved.... we will take Louth and the Dubs beware ... you heard it here FIRST......

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 10/06/2016 18:57:59    1864965

Brownepat- you must still be on that stuff!- Brollyboys appears to be on it as well. Do you get it in the post or is it sold over the counter

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/06/2016 19:17:29    1864970

Replying To Brownepat:  "Micko is the man new young team best players that want to play in the County involved.... we will take Louth and the Dubs beware ... you heard it here FIRST......"
Jaysus I would love to say you are correct!

With getting into an argument,tell me why YOU think he is the man to lead the Royals?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 10/06/2016 19:23:42    1864974

Replying To moylagh:  "As John Cleese once said: "Aside from the roads, sewerage system, education, law and order, what have the Romans ever done for us"?"
Brilliant! great reference

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 10/06/2016 19:51:30    1864987