McEntee's comments re burning hurls

Well halloween is only around the corner so we'll get our chance soon enough :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/09/2015 12:27:07    1786025

Will Westmeath be sending us some footballers in return?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 11/09/2015 19:21:27    1786240

The comments probably back fired in a way. After that meeting, the main talking point wasnt anything to do with football or football development, all the attention was devoted to McEntees comments about hurling.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 11/09/2015 20:48:08    1786268

Typical football attitudes on hear I see ,,shameful performance for our county's footballers this year and in regular fashion somting has to be blamed. Banty and refs an everything else has been blamed so now it's time to blame hurling these comments will start many an argument in clubs , pubs etc.. He should be ashamed of himself for making comments like that a man many in this county looked up to and a few people commenting here should be too. It's know wonder this county is goin nowhere,, sad sad very sad

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 12/09/2015 21:16:09    1786473

Ill supply the petrol. Round them all up and burn them.
Hurling can be looked after as the minority sport like karate etc, but football must always come first.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/09/2015 12:02:32    1786564

i will burn mine when there is more garda on the streets...

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 13/09/2015 14:04:58    1786602

this comes at perfect timing with bonfire night just around the corner, mcentee for chairman

domeanne (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 13/09/2015 15:12:54    1786620

Mcentee for chairman, president. Lets go and find every stick and burn them

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/09/2015 19:12:03    1786705

Meath footballers would be playing in B Championship if the football championship was divided like the hurling is at the moment. Let's be honest and realistic about it the football championship needs to be divided as there are too many hidings been dished out in championship matches over the past few years. The stronger are getting stronger and the weaker are getting weaker.

Look at the facts as they are at the moment
Dublin,Kerry,Tryone,Mayo,Monaghan,Donegal,Fermanagh,Galway,Cavan,Derry,Kildare,Cork, are all in a higher championship bracket than Meath in 2015.

If the GAA decided to restructure the football championship into different divisions as the hurling is at the moment Meath would not be competing for SAM and that is a fact. You can Dream all you like for 2016 but Meath have not got a snow ball's chance in hell of winning Sam in 2016, not a chance and that's a fact!!!

Going on 2015 if the GAA restructured the championship and made the Sam a 12 team championship it would look something like this
Section 1 to play for Sam

Dublin,Kerry,Tryone,Mayo,Monaghan,Donegal,Fermanagh,Galway,Cavan,Derry,Kildare,Cork,

Section 2 to play for Larry Maher Cup,
Down, Roscommon, Westmeath, Laois, Meath, Armagh, Tipperary, Sligo,

Section 3
Louth,Offaly,Longford,Antrim,Carlow,Waterford,Wicklow,Leitrim,London,Clare,Limerick,Wexford.

These are the facts on where Meath football stands at the present time.
A few questions for you Football only people

Would Meath win Section 2 in 2106 ?

Would they beat Westmeath ?

Would they beat Armagh ?

Would they beat Down ?

Would they beat Roscommon ?

Would they beat Laois ?

Would they beat Tippeary ?

If you are honest with yourself and truly know anything about football the answers to all of these questions are maybe or maybe not.

So would it be easy to win the LARRY Maher Cup ?

Answer in a nutshell is NO !!!!

and that is another fact

So stop all this slagging off of Meath Hurling and have a good deep honest look at where Meath football is at in 2015. Have an honest look at it and if you have one brain cell in your heads you will see that Meath football is in exactly the same place as Meath hurling. Big difference is that Meath hurling know where it's at, knows what has to be done and is not living in a false dream world. Also Meath hurling is fighting a daily battle with the powers that run GAA in Meath for what they are entitled to, a never ending battle, a battle that should not have to be fought for within your own association or own county.

To conclude I would like to point out that I am A Meath GAA man, I support the football and hurling teams at all levels with the same passionate gusto at every match I attend, I could not discriminate between the codes because both are games belong to our origination "The GAA" . In my view if you discriminate against either code at any level you cannot call yourself a GAA man !!

Are you a GAA man ?

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 14/09/2015 12:59:09    1787046

Firstly Gerry mc Entees comments in a forum to improve Meath GAA were inappropriate whether in a joke or not. Secondly it has been even more appropriate than no member from Meath Co board has made any comment regarding this outcry. Surely Conor Tormey could have made a statement on behalf of the Co board to distance themselves from such a sentiment. If Gerry Mc Entee addresses another forum and says something stupid about Meath or Dublin football it would not be tolerated by both Co boards without comment.

A.Chara (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 14/09/2015 13:44:12    1787099

I wouldn't go to a hurling match (borefest) if it was outside my back garden. Whereas i travel hundreds of miles to watch football. I also love handball. But as for the sticks? Mcentee is right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/09/2015 13:49:24    1787106

royaldunne, How small minded and ridiculous. The fact you do not like hurling is one thing but have respect at the very least. The guys playing the sport in the county do it because they love it and there is no less level of commitment of work put into their love as those who play football. Also how disrespectful to the dual players in the county.

Shivermetimber (Meath) - Posts: 124 - 14/09/2015 14:33:48    1787146

Royaldunne travelles the country hundreds of miles to support a team that are rated 14 in the country. He goes home complaining about management players and county board deficiency on this forum. Then does the same next week possibly the first sign of madness.

A.Chara (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 14/09/2015 14:59:57    1787171

I would totally disagree with that hurling lads put in as much work as the football.from first hand experience of dual players the lads mainly hurling would not b a patch on fitness with the lads committed to the football..physical shape would county players of both codes would back that up..even looking at the u-21 at wend some lads fitness would b very questionable even in a slow enough pace game..

Header33 (Meath) - Posts: 233 - 14/09/2015 19:47:59    1787354

Duelplayer 1 and shivermetimbers,, don't waste your time even bothering to argue here ye know your right an everyone with any cop on knows your right,, I'm sure you have spent a life time putting up with this kind of thing even from within your own club,, a lot of Meath football fans are a lot like Liverpool soccer fans living on past glories,,"no offense to Liverpool "

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 14/09/2015 20:33:01    1787378

Header33- have you played both codes? I am not a big hurling fan and have not played the game (however I would have loved to have played). Totally disrespectful to run down any GAA game and Dualplayer1 posts some interesting questions. Of course guys playing hurling put in as much time as the guy playing football. Sometimes if you watch the football at all levels you would wonder have some of the guys spent any time practicing the game. In last years All-Ireland we had a situation where a goalkeeper kicks out a ball 20m to the opposing full forward and nobody within 30m of him (takes a lot of practice and conditioning to do that!. And in Cavan recently a defender kicked a ball over his own bar (in a senior match ref Hogan Stand)

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/09/2015 20:39:45    1787382

Header 33 is right. I have played both games and Hurling was a type of rest because I could make the stick do the work.
Stick games always enable players to use 'know how' to beat a fitter opponent.

I would see this as a good argument to keep Hurling going in Meath. It puts the GAA in a unique position to cater for a wider range of player types than sports like soccer and rugby. At the moment Meath compete in The Football Championship but not the Hurling Championship. Who knows what the future will be, Would be helped by both codes continueing activities and forget about what others are doing.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 15/09/2015 08:30:35    1787427

Ahh lads will ye relax im only yanking your chain.
I don't like hurling and i wouldn't pay to watch it, that been said if its your thing great, of course it has to be looked after and like Gerry my comment was tongue firmly in cheek.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/09/2015 08:43:45    1787442

I actually like Hurling, games like Galway v Tipperary this year are a pleasure to watch and I say that as a football fan, but I do wonder about Hurling fans by times, I went to school with a lot of ardent Meath hurling men and I always found their reasons for liking hurling to be a bit flawed.

Basically for a lot of them it went like this = hurling is class because football is shite, I mean that's a pretty rocky foundation right there, why not simply = hurling is class because hurling is class? simple and genuine. Sadly there is a certain snobbery about hurling fans but I don't care, I still really enjoy it and I'm going to keep watching it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/09/2015 09:38:19    1787483

I would add that too many folk take exception to a single comment made and then proceed to make a meal out of it!. I have always had great respect for GM and nothing has changed. I do know that he has done an excellent job in St B.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 15/09/2015 09:39:22    1787484