McEntee's comments re burning hurls

Was he speaking in jest? Even if he was, seems to me that quite a few people in Meath would be happy to see hurling dumped. And I'm not just talking about the casual supporter...

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 09/09/2015 09:34:02    1784962

SmallHouse

1784962 Was he speaking in jest? Even if he was, seems to me that quite a few people in Meath would be happy to see hurling dumped. And I'm not just talking about the casual supporter...

It does not matter if he was. His comment's are completely out of place and not welcome in this county. for a man in his position, he should know better. Most people would agree that the powers that be could not care less about hurling in meath, but they are missing the big picture. Hurling has had far more success at minor,u21 and senior over the last few years than football.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 09/09/2015 09:41:10    1784969

Comments not helpful, that's for sure. Not sure it's entirely fair to compare football with hurling at underage level where Meath teams are competing in 'B' championships etc, unlike the footballers.

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 09/09/2015 09:58:53    1784979

Anyone that really thinks that there is more of a chance of a meath hurling team winning an all ireland before a football team needs to take a good look at themselves! And I dont count 'B' or 'C' competitions as All Irelands. The Meath football teams (U21, Minor, Junior, Senior) all compete, and conpete well in my opinion reaching Leinster Finals etc, in the proper all ireland competitions. The Meath hurling teams dont and thats a fact. In recent years all the meath hurlers have won is a nicky rackard cup, the third tier competition in ireland have struggled at christy ring level ever since! Meath club hurling is no better either where no referees or umpires are even interested in officiating at these games! Meath will always be a totally dominant football county always has been always will be, as will Kilkenny always be a hurling county through and through. Notably in Kilkenny they play there football championship finals in march and april time so that it is out of the way and doesnt interfere with the county or club hurling! Maybe meath should adapt the same approach by playing the hurling championship off in between january and april and have it done and dusted before the club football kicks off. It would certainly free up the fixture list as well!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 09/09/2015 10:25:16    1784995

Big Joe , looks like you'd be supplying the lighter fuel to Gerry's comments . Respect where respect is due . Meath Hurling needs to be grown . Anyone that has played with or against a dual player knows that they tend to be at the top of their game in relation to pure steeliness, eye hand cor-ordination etc. . Respect is required , comments of your sort are not welcome , by the majority , but do keep making them as everyone is entitled to their opinion . From, A Meath Supporter , or both codes An MI Abu

Chaisleain_Abu (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 09/09/2015 11:10:51    1785019

big joe 14 . U are right i would not bother to look at the template of Tipp , Dublin or Kerry just luck at Killkenny the have it spot on just give Brian Coady a call and he will tell u ther is no football in KIllkenny .

Rathcairn (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 09/09/2015 12:27:46    1785081

I'd have thought Westmeath would be a more appropriate model to follow...

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 09/09/2015 12:34:24    1785084

There are always bigots here spouting that there is no place for Hurling in Meath. Mc Entee was totally serious in his comments and he calls himself an Irish man. Hurling is our national game and any true GAA person that thinks hurls should be burned are a disgrace to the country. I have been lucky enough to have traveled to many countries across the world. I have been asked many times in most of these countries about Hurling, Never been asked about football. To say Football teams are competing at the highest level is laughable, Our Minors well beaten by mighty Longford. U21 similar fate and to crown it off the Seniors losing to Westmeath for the first time in history. Give it a rest. If all our dual players at Minor level concentrated on hurling first instead of football then we would have had a better chance of winning the leinster minor hurling final.
The really disgusting point of this statement was that the hurling chairman was sitting in the front row and never took him to task on the comment. The county chairman should also have took him to task.
For people to say Meath has always been a football county obviously don't know very much about the history of the GAA in Meath.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 09/09/2015 15:27:09    1785226

McEntee should be asked to retract his comments and if he doesnt he should be sacked off whatever committee he is on. And I was always a massive fan of his.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 09/09/2015 15:38:18    1785233

Give it a rest sure Kilkenny more or less do the same thing but are smart enough not to say it!!
We should concentrate on the football , lip service to the hurlers

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 09/09/2015 15:52:58    1785250

There's no point even giving attention to his comments. Its not like McEntee will see the furore and go "actually you're right, we should put more emphasis on developing hurling".

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 09/09/2015 16:30:03    1785276

summerhillof69 your club has more hurlers in it than footballers, if these players decided to stop playing football ye would be f----d
For example the twin Ryans, Young Hughes,Kevin Ryan and his brother. If Jack Regan bothered with football he would be a cretin starter for your senior team, but he could not be arsed with football. Jack Fagan packed in the football , he played with ye at minor level. I wonder if you voiced the comments you made on this forum to The four Ryans, Jack Rregan and all the other duel players that play football with your club what would they think. Your club teams only survive because of the duel players and historically your teams always had duel players on them, Mattie Kerrigan, Bobby White, Fergus Fagan, Mick Cole,Declan Regan and his brothers are just a few that come to mind and even Mark O'Reilly played hurling with Trim.

duelplayer1 (Meath) - Posts: 97 - 09/09/2015 16:46:29    1785291

It might be better if the Hurling section concentrated on developing their game and ignored football.i.e live and let live. As someone who played hurling and remembers a different attitude it sounds pathetic to hear people moaning about the football people not doing enough for hurling/ The County Board not doing enough. To improve hurling involves organising more matches (i.e challenges) and training.

It is no surprise that a stupid question got a stupid answer. Sounds like the intention was to get such a response so questioner should be satisfied.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 09/09/2015 17:09:40    1785304

Anyone that really thinks that they can compare Meath football with Kilkenny hurling needs to take a good look at themselves. We have a bit to go before we get to 36 Sam Maguire's.
To play Devil's Advocate for a minute - Take away the unique genius that was Sean Boylan and Meath have won the grand total of 3 All-Irelands in 110 years - hardly the return of a footballing powerhouse. 1 win every 37 years - a random raffle between 32 teams would get a better return.
3 All-Irelands puts us on a par with Louth, Offaly, Mayo and Tyrone and leaves us trailing behind Kildare, Tipperary, Wexford and Down.
Obviously we did win 4 more with Boylan but nobody can definitively say that we would have won them without his influence.
Our clubs consistently poor performances in the club championships does nothing to dispel the theory that we are a very mediocre footballing county with an inflated sense of over-confidence in our own ability.
Food for thought.

GoalanTwo (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 10/09/2015 09:39:06    1785489

Always said hurling was a waste of perfectly good firewood.
If its your thing fair enough, i don't like it, it will never be popular in majority of Meath. Now build a bridge and get over it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/09/2015 12:07:04    1785565

Before everyone jumps down my throat
Mc entee should be asked to withdraw his statement and make an apology to all people involved in schools and clubs across the county coaching hurling and football to underage kids
(Previous posts are correct brian Cody would never say the same about kilkenny footballers as I'm sure he thinks before talking) we are not the only one who could learn from the man.
I follow both codes and we are a second tier county in both h and f and statements like that are not going to help

umpireview (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 10/09/2015 20:22:01    1785833

Before everyone jumps down my throat
Mc entee should be asked to withdraw his statement and make an apology to all people involved in schools and clubs across the county coaching hurling and football to underage kids
(Previous posts are correct brian Cody would never say the same about kilkenny footballers as I'm sure he thinks before talking) we are not the only one who could learn from the man.
I follow both codes and we are a second tier county in both h and f and statements like that are not going to help

umpireview (Meath) - Posts: 55 - 10/09/2015 20:22:17    1785834

Sick of hearing people call Meath a football county and their only argument being, Meath hurlers compete in a second tier competition! Meath football is a horror to watch, we were bea in the Leinster semi then the first qualifier! Oh how fantastic Meath football is.. I am a hurling man first and foremost however I will support any man or woman that wears the royal jersey, but Meath hurlig is winning, u16B all Ireland, u21B all Ireland final, what have Meath footballers won lately? The 2010 Leinster final is all and that was daylight robbery! Meath is a dual county as much as any other county, its a shame some men can't treat what us clearly the greatest game on earth with some respect instead of glorifying the game that is only going backwards!

tuppy23 (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 10/09/2015 21:47:22    1785858

Gerrys onto something. How about we send them hurlers over to westmeath let them spend pointless money on hurling ya might actually have a decent team then. Otherwise it's just draining football of badly needed resources.

username.if (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 11/09/2015 10:06:18    1785939

It's an absolute disgrace to hear meath men giving out about other meath men representing ther county ifs it's hurling or football as was said in a comment earlier any man or woman in a meath jersey should have the full backing of ther county board and supporters shame on anybody from meath that Dosnt get behind ther own . That the reason meath gaa is the way it is time people either helped out or shut up and get meath back to the standard they should be at and help progress both sports in our county and the ladies football and comagie too .

Thejersey (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 11/09/2015 11:59:54    1786011