Meath V Dublin

Very Little chance in this one,
Just see what happens

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/04/2024 12:50:10    2536556

1/50 dublin to win with paddy power, game on.

Monkeycatcher2 (Australia) - Posts: 3 - 08/04/2024 14:42:46    2536608

Can't see any possible route to a win. And even a credible loss, like Kildare had last year, seems far-fetched. I'd settle for a result that gives us some encouragement for the AI series. Even if that's a dour defensive display that restricts them to 'just' an 8-point loss. Our litmus test is not currently Dublin, it's how we do against Clare, Louth, Roscommon, Cavan or Monaghan (if we're lucky enough to draw any of them). Just hope the lads still have confidence by this time next week. We live in hope.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 08/04/2024 15:23:56    2536628

Replying To MeathAbroad:  "Can't see any possible route to a win. And even a credible loss, like Kildare had last year, seems far-fetched. I'd settle for a result that gives us some encouragement for the AI series. Even if that's a dour defensive display that restricts them to 'just' an 8-point loss. Our litmus test is not currently Dublin, it's how we do against Clare, Louth, Roscommon, Cavan or Monaghan (if we're lucky enough to draw any of them). Just hope the lads still have confidence by this time next week. We live in hope."
Usually a semi final would be best chance against Dublin, however, they look close to their best and will use next two games to iron out any kinks and past evidence suggests a very harsh learning lesson for Meath. As long as they give their all and show some signs of improvement, there is not much more we can ask for at this stage. The main thing here is our ability to regroup and not let the result define their season. A few changes may be needed, Campion in for SW who has had ample chances at this stage. If fit Ronan R needs to come in somewhere across h/b line. GK ? had a very bad day Sunday so has to be up for discussion. For once a moral victory would not be so bad, gladly settle for that.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 08/04/2024 17:11:27    2536669

We're going to get hammered the only question is will it be will we lose by 10 plus points or 20

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 08/04/2024 20:03:36    2536736

its not a Leinster semi final its quater final.very hard to be too interested in this thing on sunday but sure I suppose we have to just give it a go and hope to escape with 8-10 point defeat. hopefully we dont try something crazy like all out defence and end up scoring 3 or 4 points for the 70+ mins. Currently the Hill 16 terrace not open so they must be expecting only 30,000 max. id say nearer to 25,000 would be about right.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 697 - 08/04/2024 22:33:39    2536761

Is Fenton suspended?

meathfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 08/04/2024 23:04:45    2536762

Unfortunately, the Longford game was like watching Curragha v Clonard. Junior level stuff verses the top 10. I hope Brennan rebounds to save us against the dubs!
Aside, we won and we scored well.
For Dublin, we can't afford to play the smaller stature players. They did well against Longford but for Dublin we need all the power we have in the forwards. We were caught out badly with this approach before with the small speedster in the forwards. . It works against certain opponents, but not Dublin.
If we avoid that mistake, we might actually be worth a punt, with the odds they give us!

Tweety (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 08/04/2024 23:12:14    2536763

An issue with the influx of Dubs to south Meath is that there's a lot of lads on the Meath team with a Dublin background who would prefer to be lining out for the Dubs and would consequently be in awe or a fan of their opposing player. Back in the 80s and 90s, the Meath boys would have had a natural antipathy towards the Dubs which brought out the best and nastiest in them.

LobinstownMan (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 09/04/2024 00:14:20    2536771

Replying To meathfan1:  "Is Fenton suspended?"
Doesn't matter who plays for them

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 09/04/2024 05:55:48    2536780

Why is the game not in Navan ?

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 09/04/2024 07:53:36    2536787

Replying To LobinstownMan:  "An issue with the influx of Dubs to south Meath is that there's a lot of lads on the Meath team with a Dublin background who would prefer to be lining out for the Dubs and would consequently be in awe or a fan of their opposing player. Back in the 80s and 90s, the Meath boys would have had a natural antipathy towards the Dubs which brought out the best and nastiest in them."
Total rubbish!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 482 - 09/04/2024 08:09:09    2536789

Replying To Tweety:  "Unfortunately, the Longford game was like watching Curragha v Clonard. Junior level stuff verses the top 10. I hope Brennan rebounds to save us against the dubs!
Aside, we won and we scored well.
For Dublin, we can't afford to play the smaller stature players. They did well against Longford but for Dublin we need all the power we have in the forwards. We were caught out badly with this approach before with the small speedster in the forwards. . It works against certain opponents, but not Dublin.
If we avoid that mistake, we might actually be worth a punt, with the odds they give us!"
So who are the smaller stature players. Have we another panel somewhere else? Who comes in then.

199710 (Meath) - Posts: 120 - 09/04/2024 08:16:53    2536791

Replying To dickie10:  "its not a Leinster semi final its quater final.very hard to be too interested in this thing on sunday but sure I suppose we have to just give it a go and hope to escape with 8-10 point defeat. hopefully we dont try something crazy like all out defence and end up scoring 3 or 4 points for the 70+ mins. Currently the Hill 16 terrace not open so they must be expecting only 30,000 max. id say nearer to 25,000 would be about right."
There selling tickets for the Hill so its open

199710 (Meath) - Posts: 120 - 09/04/2024 08:18:34    2536793

Replying To LobinstownMan:  "An issue with the influx of Dubs to south Meath is that there's a lot of lads on the Meath team with a Dublin background who would prefer to be lining out for the Dubs and would consequently be in awe or a fan of their opposing player. Back in the 80s and 90s, the Meath boys would have had a natural antipathy towards the Dubs which brought out the best and nastiest in them."
What a ridiculous post

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 09/04/2024 08:37:15    2536798

What a stupid post !

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 09/04/2024 09:22:21    2536807

In fairness this match could be exactly what we need at this point in some ways. I do expect Meath to perform better than expected. However, the culture of acceptance of lack of vision,and REAL reviews over the last 20 years will finally have to be addressed.. Maybe the top table might even take a good look at standards of coaching for example. Why all the expensive training sessions ? Are those sessions fit for purpose? How is the effectiveness of training measured? Improvement? Yes some but happened by finding a good full back for examplein Adam O Neill and by all time great like Donal Keoghan holding his form and continues to inspire. Others lads are continuing to mature. NO improvement brought about by vision and leadership from the top who should always be looking to establish and maintain best practise in everything. I cannot think of even 1 example of visionary thinking from the top since a chairman of some years ago talked about having 3 directors of football or the 3 wise men who would have the freedom to ask the right questions .What happened that idea? How was and how is the need identified then been met now ? Development squads No disrespect but how is effectiveness measured here also
I just read Paul Flynn's (the ex Dublin player)and his piece in last Sundays indo. about his new business venture and how football and coaching has proven so valuable in overall personal development Again Pat Gilroy saw the need with his business head and inspired people like Flynn to further education GOOD coaching will include the whole person not just the footballing skills . I also read several articles written by our own Colm O Rourke years ago and how he sees sport and how it fits with education. Many skills acquired in team sport are transferrable to career and everyday life...One for the top table for development for lads away from the football pitch. I think its sad when players walk away when they consider training is not worth the effort because there is no return. The answer has to be where coaching and development is of the right standard and quality .then wasted time does not fit as a valid excuse. I salute the playing panel and Colm O Rourke and his backroom team for their efforts so far on a tough road ahead. I do want to see full leadership from the top table showing vision begining with a timely reviews where best practice ,and development are at the top of the agenda. No doubt some will say the top table are volunteers and may need development themselves ok so what .do that .Its a learning curve for everybody. Yes its an honour to be asked to serve at the top table .That honour carries a massive resposibility to provide the neccessary resoures to get back in real business. 20 years is too long in the doldrums!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 09/04/2024 09:57:55    2536817

This is 100% a windup, but it should be obvious that nobody hates the Dubs more than those on the border who've had to listen to them gloat for the last 13 years

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 09/04/2024 10:42:47    2536833

Replying To nobull456:  "In fairness this match could be exactly what we need at this point in some ways. I do expect Meath to perform better than expected. However, the culture of acceptance of lack of vision,and REAL reviews over the last 20 years will finally have to be addressed.. Maybe the top table might even take a good look at standards of coaching for example. Why all the expensive training sessions ? Are those sessions fit for purpose? How is the effectiveness of training measured? Improvement? Yes some but happened by finding a good full back for examplein Adam O Neill and by all time great like Donal Keoghan holding his form and continues to inspire. Others lads are continuing to mature. NO improvement brought about by vision and leadership from the top who should always be looking to establish and maintain best practise in everything. I cannot think of even 1 example of visionary thinking from the top since a chairman of some years ago talked about having 3 directors of football or the 3 wise men who would have the freedom to ask the right questions .What happened that idea? How was and how is the need identified then been met now ? Development squads No disrespect but how is effectiveness measured here also
I just read Paul Flynn's (the ex Dublin player)and his piece in last Sundays indo. about his new business venture and how football and coaching has proven so valuable in overall personal development Again Pat Gilroy saw the need with his business head and inspired people like Flynn to further education GOOD coaching will include the whole person not just the footballing skills . I also read several articles written by our own Colm O Rourke years ago and how he sees sport and how it fits with education. Many skills acquired in team sport are transferrable to career and everyday life...One for the top table for development for lads away from the football pitch. I think its sad when players walk away when they consider training is not worth the effort because there is no return. The answer has to be where coaching and development is of the right standard and quality .then wasted time does not fit as a valid excuse. I salute the playing panel and Colm O Rourke and his backroom team for their efforts so far on a tough road ahead. I do want to see full leadership from the top table showing vision begining with a timely reviews where best practice ,and development are at the top of the agenda. No doubt some will say the top table are volunteers and may need development themselves ok so what .do that .Its a learning curve for everybody. Yes its an honour to be asked to serve at the top table .That honour carries a massive resposibility to provide the neccessary resoures to get back in real business. 20 years is too long in the doldrums!"
The only real thing of importance that I took from this was the GOOD coaching. Its all well and good if you have a population of over a million and you are backed and bankrolled by the then Taoiseach Bertie and the rest of the GAA where you have a blank cheque to bring in any amount of "life coaches", Psychologists, and the other 40 or 50 backroom experts that Dublin have at their disposal. Its a lot easier to come up with a "business model" when you are coming from Dublin!
I see a lot of people taking about this big development plan that is needed to be done by the top brass and for one I do agree with some of that.
But what do you think this big plan should be?? I think you all believe that in order to beat dublin we need to copy their model and do what they are doing. Thats never going to happen because we dont have the same riches. Unless we find a JP from somewhere to bankroll us.
Kerry, Derry, Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal, and a few other of the big hitters....they don have this elusive "business model" or a world class development blueprint in place....
They rely on GOOD coaching!! Very simple.... they come with a way of playing and that filters down to the dev squads and the underage teams.
Kerry were a bit like Meath where they wanted to keep all aspects of the management team from within Kerry but then realized that it wasnt going to work anymore to keep up with the other teams so brought in a Northern defensive coach.
Derry decide they need someone like Harte to bring them to the next level. Donegal the same.
We bring in COR with very little intercounty management experience which is fine as long as he surrounds himself with top class experienced coaches, Thats where the problem lies.
An experienced management would have set up against Longford similar to how we would want to play against Dublin. In fact if COR really did pin the progression on how he fared against the Dubs then he would have set up like that from day one. But we are now going into a dublin match after conceding 3-12 against a Div4 side.

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 09/04/2024 13:33:41    2536891

Replying To nobull456:  "In fairness this match could be exactly what we need at this point in some ways. I do expect Meath to perform better than expected. However, the culture of acceptance of lack of vision,and REAL reviews over the last 20 years will finally have to be addressed.. Maybe the top table might even take a good look at standards of coaching for example. Why all the expensive training sessions ? Are those sessions fit for purpose? How is the effectiveness of training measured? Improvement? Yes some but happened by finding a good full back for examplein Adam O Neill and by all time great like Donal Keoghan holding his form and continues to inspire. Others lads are continuing to mature. NO improvement brought about by vision and leadership from the top who should always be looking to establish and maintain best practise in everything. I cannot think of even 1 example of visionary thinking from the top since a chairman of some years ago talked about having 3 directors of football or the 3 wise men who would have the freedom to ask the right questions .What happened that idea? How was and how is the need identified then been met now ? Development squads No disrespect but how is effectiveness measured here also
I just read Paul Flynn's (the ex Dublin player)and his piece in last Sundays indo. about his new business venture and how football and coaching has proven so valuable in overall personal development Again Pat Gilroy saw the need with his business head and inspired people like Flynn to further education GOOD coaching will include the whole person not just the footballing skills . I also read several articles written by our own Colm O Rourke years ago and how he sees sport and how it fits with education. Many skills acquired in team sport are transferrable to career and everyday life...One for the top table for development for lads away from the football pitch. I think its sad when players walk away when they consider training is not worth the effort because there is no return. The answer has to be where coaching and development is of the right standard and quality .then wasted time does not fit as a valid excuse. I salute the playing panel and Colm O Rourke and his backroom team for their efforts so far on a tough road ahead. I do want to see full leadership from the top table showing vision begining with a timely reviews where best practice ,and development are at the top of the agenda. No doubt some will say the top table are volunteers and may need development themselves ok so what .do that .Its a learning curve for everybody. Yes its an honour to be asked to serve at the top table .That honour carries a massive resposibility to provide the neccessary resoures to get back in real business. 20 years is too long in the doldrums!"
I disagree on some of Flynn's punditry but thanks to his GPA experience he's been really insightful on how important it is to have the Board, management and players all on the same page. I know review can sometimes be a lot of hot air, or useless unless implemented, but I'd love to see one properly examining the factors behind our consistent underperformance. When you've had 8 management teams across 20 years fail to get to the top level then it's time to stop thinking a change of manager will change everything. The best thing to happen to gaelic football in this country would be if Meath, Cork and Kildare all got their houses in order.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 09/04/2024 13:39:25    2536894