Armagh V Meath. Rd 2.

Last year we were mediocre playing against poor teams from division 4 & 3 nevermind division one or 2 teams. When we come up against a half decent team with a game plan and good defensive structure we look like a team that have never played together. We will lose possibly all our remaining games in this division maybe except one against louth or kildare. This style is too old school thinking we can just go out and play 15 v 15 and kick loads of ball into the forwards. Sounds great in theory but every team these days get 13 to 15 men back inside 45 and we definitely dont have the ball winning forward for that style. We look so under coached, players not getting any better. Id love to know who takes the defensive side of the game and coaches the players to actually improve in training. Need to get a modern top quality coach in if meath are gonna have any chance of progressing as we have some good young players on panel and coming up in the next few years.

Meath4Sam2020 (Meath) - Posts: 132 - 03/02/2024 22:30:22    2524096

Replying To mmc:  "Regressing from what ???
We haven't been competitive at the top level for almost 20 years we have played div 1 football for one year since 2006 and we know how that went but we have people on here that belive that a couple of new coaches is the answer to everything is laughable.
The Tailtean Cup win was our level and has been our level for a long time and a lot of people on here need to realise that ..
Our senior club teams can't compete in leinster so why the massive optimism when it comes to our county team .
We haven't been competitive at u20 or the previous u21 for years we have at minor but that's kids football that's u17 and the majority of them don't make it so people believing that our winning minors are the answer are living with false hope .
We have a lot of good young talented players but every county has them and that's a fact but most of them don't progress into top senior county players .
Meath are a middle of the road team at the moment and are probably over reliant on too many young players coming through at the one time ."
We have regressed since Colm took over.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2024 22:42:35    2524097

We haven't been competitive at the top level for almost 20 years we have played div 1 football for one year since 2006 and we know how that went but we have people on here that belive that a couple of new coaches is the answer to everything is laughable.
The Tailtean Cup win was our level and has been our level for a long time and a lot of people on here need to realise that ..
Our senior club teams can't compete in leinster so why the massive optimism when it comes to our county team .
We haven't been competitive at u20 or the previous u21 for years we have at minor but that's kids football that's u17 and the majority of them don't make it so people believing that our winning minors are the answer are living with false hope .
We have a lot of good young talented players but every county has them and that's a fact but most of them don't progress into top senior county players .
Meath are a middle of the road team at the moment and are probably over reliant on too many young players coming through at the one time ."
Sometimes being a Meath football fan genuinely gives me a headache, and It isnt even the players or performances, it's the fanbase. I love the forum and love the discourse with other fans, but the level of cognitive dissonance among Meath fans is astounding. Sometimes id rather pack it in altogether to avoid the toxicity of it all.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 03/02/2024 22:45:04    2524098

Andy's league returns in division 2, 9 points, 7 points, 12 points, 2/3 wins in the group on the shortened 2021 league, 6 points in his last year after his own county board had cut the legs from under him. Last year we got 5 points worse than Andy's worst year, and would you even bet on us getting 5 this year? Andy's teams had their faults (free takers, goalkeeping woes, poor fetching midfielder's) but you knew what you were getting from them effort and intensity wise (prior to 2022 which was a mess from the county board vote onwards). For a 12 month period with I would say less talented players we played the best teams in Ireland and for the most part we could actually compete in the games. Under this management we played Dublin, Derry and Armagh in the league. The games were done by half time. And the previous manager nearly beat us with Antrim last year and don't be surprised if he's managing Antrim in a higher division than us either. So yes I would call that a clear and massive regression

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 03/02/2024 22:47:02    2524099

Tailteann cup is not our level and whether it is or not does not excuse the fact that we are after being beaten to an armagh team by 12 points without rian O'Neill and ethan rafferty.

Are you seriously saying we couldn't get a better management team? Our senior club 2 years ago, were a kick of a ball away from reaching a Leinster final and this year lost to a strong Naas team while missing their best player. Not to mention the fact that our junior and intermediate teams are very strong. So that point is nonsense.

You say we don't have good footballers, why are so many of them playing sigerson football? Look at Monaghan, do you think the team they had out last week is much better than ours? They were missing Beggan McManus and McCarthy and look at the performance they put in. A manager maximizing his teams potential. No one is saying we should be winning all Irelands, what we are saying is, we should be beating Offaly, Louth, Limerick, Fermanagh and not getting our arses handed to us when we play a half decent team.

We are regressing from the team Andy mc built which got us to division 1, was a game away from doing that again and got us closest to the dubs in 10 years.

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 03/02/2024 22:48:41    2524100

Eoghan Frayne in an interview after the game ''you can make excuses and say lads are playing college football, but we probably just didn't play well enough'' a 20 year old taking responsibility

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 03/02/2024 22:53:03    2524101

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Andy's league returns in division 2, 9 points, 7 points, 12 points, 2/3 wins in the group on the shortened 2021 league, 6 points in his last year after his own county board had cut the legs from under him. Last year we got 5 points worse than Andy's worst year, and would you even bet on us getting 5 this year? Andy's teams had their faults (free takers, goalkeeping woes, poor fetching midfielder's) but you knew what you were getting from them effort and intensity wise (prior to 2022 which was a mess from the county board vote onwards). For a 12 month period with I would say less talented players we played the best teams in Ireland and for the most part we could actually compete in the games. Under this management we played Dublin, Derry and Armagh in the league. The games were done by half time. And the previous manager nearly beat us with Antrim last year and don't be surprised if he's managing Antrim in a higher division than us either. So yes I would call that a clear and massive regression"
Exactly.

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 03/02/2024 22:54:26    2524102

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh so would I than what's there. Actually I'd take banty. No I'll go one better I'd take O'Dowd."
I thought MOD's teams played to a plan and had an attacking flair. His problem was that they lasted only 50 to 55 minutes. Something just wasn't right with fitness, probably in today's terms, strength and conditioning.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 03/02/2024 23:00:16    2524103

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Tailteann cup is not our level and whether it is or not does not excuse the fact that we are after being beaten to an armagh team by 12 points without rian O'Neill and ethan rafferty.

Are you seriously saying we couldn't get a better management team? Our senior club 2 years ago, were a kick of a ball away from reaching a Leinster final and this year lost to a strong Naas team while missing their best player. Not to mention the fact that our junior and intermediate teams are very strong. So that point is nonsense.

You say we don't have good footballers, why are so many of them playing sigerson football? Look at Monaghan, do you think the team they had out last week is much better than ours? They were missing Beggan McManus and McCarthy and look at the performance they put in. A manager maximizing his teams potential. No one is saying we should be winning all Irelands, what we are saying is, we should be beating Offaly, Louth, Limerick, Fermanagh and not getting our arses handed to us when we play a half decent team.

We are regressing from the team Andy mc built which got us to division 1, was a game away from doing that again and got us closest to the dubs in 10 years."
Firstly where did I say we don't have good players ??
Secondly a kick of a ball away from a lenister final that was a fair achievement against a poor team from westmeath The Downs !! when did a last meath team win a lenister club ???
And if the best you can come up with is regressing from Andy McEntees brilliant 6 years in charge don't make me laugh .
We got bet in every game in div bar 1 draw .
That one game away from it again was during covid when all we had to do was beat Down and Westmeath to get to a playoff and only for westmeath somehow let a 4 point go in Navan we were in a relegation game and we were hammered in the playoff by kildare only for a few late goals made it look competitive . So stop trying to convince yourself that everything was wonderful until ORourke took over !!! It wasn't.

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 03/02/2024 23:13:31    2524105

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Andy's league returns in division 2, 9 points, 7 points, 12 points, 2/3 wins in the group on the shortened 2021 league, 6 points in his last year after his own county board had cut the legs from under him. Last year we got 5 points worse than Andy's worst year, and would you even bet on us getting 5 this year? Andy's teams had their faults (free takers, goalkeeping woes, poor fetching midfielder's) but you knew what you were getting from them effort and intensity wise (prior to 2022 which was a mess from the county board vote onwards). For a 12 month period with I would say less talented players we played the best teams in Ireland and for the most part we could actually compete in the games. Under this management we played Dublin, Derry and Armagh in the league. The games were done by half time. And the previous manager nearly beat us with Antrim last year and don't be surprised if he's managing Antrim in a higher division than us either. So yes I would call that a clear and massive regression"
Again so much better put than I could have. But this is exactly 100% accurate.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2024 23:27:15    2524106

Replying To mmc:  "Firstly where did I say we don't have good players ??
Secondly a kick of a ball away from a lenister final that was a fair achievement against a poor team from westmeath The Downs !! when did a last meath team win a lenister club ???
And if the best you can come up with is regressing from Andy McEntees brilliant 6 years in charge don't make me laugh .
That one game away from it again was during covid when all we had to do was beat Down and Westmeath to get to a playoff and only for westmeath somehow let a 4 point go in Navan we were in a relegation game and we were hammered in the playoff by kildare only for a few late goals made it look competitive . So stop trying to convince yourself that everything was wonderful until ORourke took over !!! It wasn't."
It wasn't. But it was hell lot better than what we have now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/02/2024 23:33:07    2524110

That one game away from it again was during covid when all we had to do was beat Down and Westmeath to get to a playoff and only for westmeath somehow let a 4 point go in Navan we were in a relegation game and we were hammered in the playoff by kildare only for a few late goals made it look competitive . So stop trying to convince yourself that everything was wonderful until ORourke took over !!! It wasn't."
You're just glossing over the part of where we got to division 1 by winning 6/7 games in divison 2. And yes we got 1 draw and lost 6 in division 1. We hadn't a great team. But we lost to Mayo by 1, Galway by 2, Kerry away by 3. We can't even stay competitive with a top 8 team for 35 minutes now nevermind 60. And as for "only for a few late goals made it look competitive" that promotion playoff game finished 1-14 to 0-14 so not sure what game you're thinking of

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 03/02/2024 23:36:36    2524111

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Eoghan Frayne in an interview after the game ''you can make excuses and say lads are playing college football, but we probably just didn't play well enough'' a 20 year old taking responsibility"
Not surprised, Eoghan was a fantastic captain for all the meath underage teams he was on and a big leader in that summerhill keegan cup winning team. With all the negativity going on I still have a lot of hope for the future with the likes of himself and Conor Gray. We might have to suffer for a while more as the more experienced players are just not good enough in my opinion.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 404 - 03/02/2024 23:59:31    2524114

Replying To MillerX:  "I thought MOD's teams played to a plan and had an attacking flair. His problem was that they lasted only 50 to 55 minutes. Something just wasn't right with fitness, probably in today's terms, strength and conditioning."
MoD's teams were sensational when in full flow. They just faded as spectacularly as they played. He was onto something though…

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 04/02/2024 01:51:41    2524122

We need some high level coaches to compete in Division 2...We have the players but don't see any system of play with this team...had concerns when I seen Eivers and Garrigan not involved this year and had concerns last year with the input that both supposedly had with team.. we need good quality coaches in let them do their job as the players are there to compete in Division 2

HARRYM (Wicklow) - Posts: 64 - 04/02/2024 07:50:04    2524125

We have pretty decent players but no Poacher, Tally, Rochford figure coach that knows systems like it or not that's the key to having a steady plan.
With players known there roles communicating this on field.
We're like a jnr b outfit, shar it'll be grand type of stuff.
I'd worry for div 2 status now

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 04/02/2024 08:21:57    2524126

Who said it was wonderful? In andys third year we had the best league campaign in 15 years, next year we will be in Division 3. You can't seem to understand that sometimes you have to look past results, in every game we were seriously competitive bar Donegal, would you call yday competitive ?

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 04/02/2024 09:43:06    2524135

Replying To Borderroyal:  "We have pretty decent players but no Poacher, Tally, Rochford figure coach that knows systems like it or not that's the key to having a steady plan.
With players known there roles communicating this on field.
We're like a jnr b outfit, shar it'll be grand type of stuff.
I'd worry for div 2 status now"
Agree. The whole sure we will be fine in a few years is beginning to ware thin. County management is a whole different ballgame and senior county is at another level. It is now 12 months since we beat a team in either division 2 or all Ireland championship. That is unacceptable.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2024 09:58:16    2524137

Andy was there for 5 years and we got to Div 1 and never won a match, obviously you think that was success. We were going nowhere over the last 6-7 years and maybe that could happen again. We got to Div 1 having the majority of our league matches at home for previous 2 years!
Question? When was the last time we beat Armagh in the Athletic Grounds?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/02/2024 10:28:26    2524142

Can see us losing every match in the league

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/02/2024 10:42:13    2524147