Meath 2024

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Rating the OB cup higher than the TC.... Good God that is your best one yet. Some waffle ."
Definitely the third best competition after the All Ireland and Leinster! Where you get to play against the top teams! And before you say it.....Dublins third team would actually win the tailtean cup if they were in it!! ..there's an idea now!!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 10/01/2024 17:26:44    2519455

Replying To JonnieG:  "I doubt Donal will be going around gloating about being a Tailteann Cup winner to be honest! He is a bigger and better player than that! He would have been chasing Leinsters and AIs and as i said before, unfortunately not all great players get what they deserve!
And I have no interest in gloating on my predictions as I am a true Meath supporter who wants to see us back contesting for Leinsters and All Irelands. I have no interest in words like "transition" or predictions on where we might be in 2/3 years!
When there is a decent pool of players available, the results should immediate! Look what good managers have done with teams like Mickey Harte and louth or Burke with Roscommon! And I don't think for one minute that our players are worse than what those teams have!
I just don't think our players are getting the best coaching setup they deserve and that will be our downfall!
We have had over 10 years to get a blueprint in place to try and get to Dublin's level and we are no closer! And now we have a coaching staff in place that's nowhere near what it should be. And that's no disrespect to the likes of Giles! I like to see him in the setup but working along side some really experienced top class coaches.
It is simple....we have not progressed as a footballing county in terms of our coaching or system of play! we still think that we can go out and just try and score as much as we can and forget to defend!
And unfortunately this year will be no different because we don't have the coaching structure in place"
Remind me what Louth and Roscommon have won

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 10/01/2024 17:39:58    2519459

Replying To mmc:  "Remind me what Louth and Roscommon have won"
Louth 2 promotions in a row and a good showing against Dublin in the final round of Div2 where they finished 3rd and could have got promoted to Div1 .......and they comprehensively beat kildare and MEATH on the way ..Oh......And a Leinster Final! You might think getting to a Leinster final is easy these days but we couldnt beat Offaly!!

Roscommon nearly got to a league Final in Div1!! Not to mention the fact they beat Dublin in the All Ireland series!!
Let me know if you need anything else there mmc!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 10/01/2024 21:14:55    2519491

Oh... and how did Roscommon get to Div1??.......you guessed it - they won Div2 the year before that!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 10/01/2024 21:16:54    2519492

The arrogance of this post is ridiculous. Meath have 1 provincial title in 23 years and even that one is tainted. Aside from that we've played in division 1 for only 1 year, won a cup last year to prove we were the 17th best. And as far as championship wins, who's the last big team we beat in the championship (wouldn't count Kildare as they a very similar level to us), Galway in 2011 probably. Lads on the panel now were 7 when that happened. In the last 9 years Roscommon have won division 2 four times, played five seasons in division 1 (6 including this year), won the Connacht title twice, have championship wins over Galway and Mayo, drew with Dublin last year in the championship. And more importantly they are absolutely maximising their potential given their population which is less than a third of ours and financial disadvantages. For anybody 30 or younger a fairer question from a Roscommon person would be what have Meath done/won. And if you want to recite the history of the 80's and 90's and further back then fair enough. But you're on a slippery slope to becoming a Cavan supporter at that point haha

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 10/01/2024 23:08:09    2519512

Replying To JonnieG:  "Louth 2 promotions in a row and a good showing against Dublin in the final round of Div2 where they finished 3rd and could have got promoted to Div1 .......and they comprehensively beat kildare and MEATH on the way ..Oh......And a Leinster Final! You might think getting to a Leinster final is easy these days but we couldnt beat Offaly!!

Roscommon nearly got to a league Final in Div1!! Not to mention the fact they beat Dublin in the All Ireland series!!
Let me know if you need anything else there mmc!!"
Louth won div 4 and 3 playing against the same teams you slated Meath for beating in winning the Tailtean Cup .
Louth didn't comprehensively beat Meath in Navan Meath handed them the game and that was a Louth team in their 3rd year with that management Meath had a new team and new management .
Louth didn't get promoted and Roscommon didn't get to a league final Roscommon didn't beat Dublin they drew with them playing absolute dire football so as I said Louth and Roscommon won nothing and will win nothing this year .
Just to remind you Meath bet Louth last week in that big cup you were on about and they will beat them in the league and if they play Roscommon at any stage during the year I'd fancy Meath to take them .
Rome wasn't built in a day and COR may not be the man that sees this Meath panel fulfill their potential but he has put together potentially a very good young Meath team that in time I'll be surprised if they don't win at least a leinster Playing football unlike the teams and Managers you have praised .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 10/01/2024 23:09:20    2519513

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "The arrogance of this post is ridiculous. Meath have 1 provincial title in 23 years and even that one is tainted. Aside from that we've played in division 1 for only 1 year, won a cup last year to prove we were the 17th best. And as far as championship wins, who's the last big team we beat in the championship (wouldn't count Kildare as they a very similar level to us), Galway in 2011 probably. Lads on the panel now were 7 when that happened. In the last 9 years Roscommon have won division 2 four times, played five seasons in division 1 (6 including this year), won the Connacht title twice, have championship wins over Galway and Mayo, drew with Dublin last year in the championship. And more importantly they are absolutely maximising their potential given their population which is less than a third of ours and financial disadvantages. For anybody 30 or younger a fairer question from a Roscommon person would be what have Meath done/won. And if you want to recite the history of the 80's and 90's and further back then fair enough. But you're on a slippery slope to becoming a Cavan supporter at that point haha"
Got to agree with this. Look perhaps some people are getting carried away with the tc win. Realistically it is above the obc. But not by much. I'd rate it obc, tc, league (division 2) provincial, and all ire. I think any player this year would rather a league two medal than the tc one. Roscommon (a county I actually don't really like) are way ahead of Meath at the moment and it pains me to say that. For me I have been justifiably critical of Colm and his standard of management, we should never have won the tc. Cause we should never have been in it in the first place. The reason we were was bad management. He brought back some responsibilities when we did win it, the qualification was more important I think not only to fans but to donal keoghan than the trophy. (He said as much in interviews after )
After saying all that it's a new year , a clean slate for everyone including management, however there is no second chances this year , it's time to do the job or get off the pot. That means 2 things. Promotion (hopefully a title worth celebrating) and a good run In championship. Nothing else matters.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/01/2024 09:43:19    2519544

Replying To mmc:  "Louth won div 4 and 3 playing against the same teams you slated Meath for beating in winning the Tailtean Cup .
Louth didn't comprehensively beat Meath in Navan Meath handed them the game and that was a Louth team in their 3rd year with that management Meath had a new team and new management .
Louth didn't get promoted and Roscommon didn't get to a league final Roscommon didn't beat Dublin they drew with them playing absolute dire football so as I said Louth and Roscommon won nothing and will win nothing this year .
Just to remind you Meath bet Louth last week in that big cup you were on about and they will beat them in the league and if they play Roscommon at any stage during the year I'd fancy Meath to take them .
Rome wasn't built in a day and COR may not be the man that sees this Meath panel fulfill their potential but he has put together potentially a very good young Meath team that in time I'll be surprised if they don't win at least a leinster Playing football unlike the teams and Managers you have praised ."
You really are not getting the point are you?? Absolute ludicrous post!
And if i hear one more time about managers bringing in young lads that will fulfill their potential in years to come....!! tripe!!
If you dont think COR is the man who will see this team "fulfill their potential"..... why is he there then?

COR, like any intercounty manager, was brought in to do one main job - win games! With the resources he has. if you are picked to play senior intecounty football, its because you are good enough and ready. Not because you might be ready in a few years time. that what development squads are for!!
And i believe we have a panel of players that are good enough now. The problem is (and I'll say it again) they are not being coached right.
If this bunch is not coached right and made fulfill their potential now and not later on, then they will end up like the other "potential but no prizes" brigade we have had for last few years now.
We had a lot of fantastic footballers over the last few years who were let down by the bad coaching structures in place at senior level. They were never good enough and unfortunately it has not changed this time either!

If you are happy with mediocrity now then thats your choice but I can guarantee that if someone like Mikey harte (and his coaching staff) took over Meath last year we would be gunning for a league tile this year at the very least! And a good stab at the Dubs in Leinster too!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 11/01/2024 12:00:23    2519579

Replying To JonnieG:  "You really are not getting the point are you?? Absolute ludicrous post!
And if i hear one more time about managers bringing in young lads that will fulfill their potential in years to come....!! tripe!!
If you dont think COR is the man who will see this team "fulfill their potential"..... why is he there then?

COR, like any intercounty manager, was brought in to do one main job - win games! With the resources he has. if you are picked to play senior intecounty football, its because you are good enough and ready. Not because you might be ready in a few years time. that what development squads are for!!
And i believe we have a panel of players that are good enough now. The problem is (and I'll say it again) they are not being coached right.
If this bunch is not coached right and made fulfill their potential now and not later on, then they will end up like the other "potential but no prizes" brigade we have had for last few years now.
We had a lot of fantastic footballers over the last few years who were let down by the bad coaching structures in place at senior level. They were never good enough and unfortunately it has not changed this time either!

If you are happy with mediocrity now then thats your choice but I can guarantee that if someone like Mikey harte (and his coaching staff) took over Meath last year we would be gunning for a league tile this year at the very least! And a good stab at the Dubs in Leinster too!"
My problem with the whole Colm new team line is that majority were there already, off top of my head
D K
Cos
Harnan
J mac
S mac
All were brought in by mod.
Hogan
Hickey
Costello
Jones
Coffee
Morris
Walsh
Grey
Lynch
All brought onto panel by A mac
There's probably more that I forgot about. Or may I have mixed up one or two ( jones in particular). But you get my general point. This is not a new team by cor. He has brought in a few lads and elevated those on development squads to players.
So less of the great reset.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/01/2024 12:26:04    2519584

Replying To JonnieG:  "You really are not getting the point are you?? Absolute ludicrous post!

If you are happy with mediocrity now then thats your choice but I can guarantee that if someone like Mikey harte (and his coaching staff) took over Meath last year we would be gunning for a league tile this year at the very least! And a good stab at the Dubs in Leinster too!"
I agree with most of your comments ,but I still think Meath are bringing lads straight to senior for development instead of playing those who are better now. Maybe that is not the idea but cor is not playing our best. There was little effort made to forage for talent.
You ask why is he there. According to the accounts expenses for 4or5 manager and selectors increased from about 25k to 125k. As in why are most of us in jobs. Except we have to perform.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 11/01/2024 12:29:27    2519585

Replying To Ashrules:  "I agree with most of your comments ,but I still think Meath are bringing lads straight to senior for development instead of playing those who are better now. Maybe that is not the idea but cor is not playing our best. There was little effort made to forage for talent.
You ask why is he there. According to the accounts expenses for 4or5 manager and selectors increased from about 25k to 125k. As in why are most of us in jobs. Except we have to perform."
Its funny you say that - I see you are from Dublin? One thing i have become very aware of is that Meath will play Dublin at minor or U20s and more recently we have been either getting the better of them or at least match them!!
But then what happens is the dublin guys literally disappear off the radar for a couple of years while the Meath lads are hooshed straight to the senior panel if showing promise
Then a few years later some of the same Dublin guys appear on the dublin senior panel or team and they have become super athletes and great players. And then usually destroy the same Meath lads who have been slogging it out at senior level for a lot of years at that stage!
you are correct - Again i don't see how meath cannot emulate that coaching strategy that Dublin have used so well for years now!!

Royaldunne....equally correct! This notion that COR is giving all this youth a chance is just BS. At senior intercounty level there should be the proper mix of experience and youth. And there is a lot of experience there now.

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 11/01/2024 14:02:51    2519617

Replying To royaldunne:  "My problem with the whole Colm new team line is that majority were there already, off top of my head
D K
Cos
Harnan
J mac
S mac
Hogan
Hickey
Costello
Jones
Coffee
Morris
Walsh
Grey
Lynch
There's probably more that I forgot about. Or may I have mixed up one or two ( jones in particular). But you get my general point. This is not a new team by cor. He has brought in a few lads and elevated those on development squads to players.
So less of the great reset."
Gray, coffey lynch brought onto the panel by mcentee, come off it will ya.. they may have trained with them, but they have been brought through and given starts under COR along with many others like flynn, caulfield etc. The team that starts the league this year will be by and large his bar a few and I wish them the best, no matter what COR says to the media, cause at the end of the day all managers have egos the size of a house and all say the same things to cover themselves, he's no different to them all.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 11/01/2024 14:16:42    2519620

Replying To JonnieG:  "Its funny you say that - I see you are from Dublin? One thing i have become very aware of is that Meath will play Dublin at minor or U20s and more recently we have been either getting the better of them or at least match them!!
But then what happens is the dublin guys literally disappear off the radar for a couple of years while the Meath lads are hooshed straight to the senior panel if showing promise
Then a few years later some of the same Dublin guys appear on the dublin senior panel or team and they have become super athletes and great players. And then usually destroy the same Meath lads who have been slogging it out at senior level for a lot of years at that stage!
you are correct - Again i don't see how meath cannot emulate that coaching strategy that Dublin have used so well for years now!!

Royaldunne....equally correct! This notion that COR is giving all this youth a chance is just BS. At senior intercounty level there should be the proper mix of experience and youth. And there is a lot of experience there now."
Getting the better of Dublin at Minor recently yes. At u 20 level absolutely not.

When is the last time we beat Dublin or even came close to beating Dublin at u20 level ???

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 11/01/2024 14:51:00    2519634

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Gray, coffey lynch brought onto the panel by mcentee, come off it will ya.. they may have trained with them, but they have been brought through and given starts under COR along with many others like flynn, caulfield etc. The team that starts the league this year will be by and large his bar a few and I wish them the best, no matter what COR says to the media, cause at the end of the day all managers have egos the size of a house and all say the same things to cover themselves, he's no different to them all."
Yeah Gray coffey lynch weren't near the panel under AM . All brought in by COR. Jack Flynn was however brought in and had pretty much established himself as either a starter or a sub coming on under AM

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 11/01/2024 14:54:03    2519636

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Gray, coffey lynch brought onto the panel by mcentee, come off it will ya.. they may have trained with them, but they have been brought through and given starts under COR along with many others like flynn, caulfield etc. The team that starts the league this year will be by and large his bar a few and I wish them the best, no matter what COR says to the media, cause at the end of the day all managers have egos the size of a house and all say the same things to cover themselves, he's no different to them all."
I was at a challenge match where both coffee and lynch played under mcentee. So yes not on match day squad but definitely on panel. Same with Flynn.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/01/2024 14:55:15    2519637

Replying To Ashrules:  "I agree with most of your comments ,but I still think Meath are bringing lads straight to senior for development instead of playing those who are better now. Maybe that is not the idea but cor is not playing our best. There was little effort made to forage for talent.
You ask why is he there. According to the accounts expenses for 4or5 manager and selectors increased from about 25k to 125k. As in why are most of us in jobs. Except we have to perform."
What ? Expenses increased from 25k to 125k. ? Are you serious? I know andys mantra of not taking any money couldn't continue. But if this is accurate by Jasus that is some amount of "expenses " been paid.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/01/2024 14:58:28    2519639

Replying To royaldunne:  "My problem with the whole Colm new team line is that majority were there already, off top of my head
D K
Cos
Harnan
J mac
S mac
Hogan
Hickey
Costello
Jones
Coffee
Morris
Walsh
Grey
Lynch
So less of the great reset."
Is Cillian O Sullivan still with panel? Gray only came in last year really. Does it matter anyway as its about results and things were too poor to continue without a change and can't see another better way they could have changed so far. Its all about what happens next!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 11/01/2024 15:39:52    2519653

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Getting the better of Dublin at Minor recently yes. At u 20 level absolutely not.

When is the last time we beat Dublin or even came close to beating Dublin at u20 level ???"
Never at under 20. They've beat us in 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2018 with some hammerings in there. Then at under 21 they beat us in 2016, 2014. You have to go all the way back to 2011 to a team which had Keoghan, Menton and Mickey Newman for the last team we beat them at that level

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 11/01/2024 16:01:41    2519658

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Never at under 20. They've beat us in 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2018 with some hammerings in there. Then at under 21 they beat us in 2016, 2014. You have to go all the way back to 2011 to a team which had Keoghan, Menton and Mickey Newman for the last team we beat them at that level"
Ok so JonnieG on the ball again I see with his "we've been getting the better of or at least matching Dublin at u20 level recently" statement

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 11/01/2024 16:22:03    2519661

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Ok so JonnieG on the ball again I see with his "we've been getting the better of or at least matching Dublin at u20 level recently" statement"
If you are going to "quote" me Blackspot09 you should at least take a computer class in copy & paste first!! :)
Dont remember a hammering last year - 3 or 4 points in the end which was far from the norm of the senior team!

But anyway it is hard for some of ye to get the point here! We are a county in decline because of our coaching strategy and things are not getting rectified quick enough!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 11/01/2024 17:19:14    2519671