Meath V Down TC Final.

Replying To Maestro:  "
Replying To JonnieG:  ""5 championship wins in a row" ?? you mean "Cup" wins... against Div 3 and 4 sides!! We were knocked out of the "championship" (Leinster) by one of those Div 3 teams! and we didn't even make the other "Championship" because of our very poor league performance!!
And you are talking about COR improving the team? I even saw an article in the Independent talking about him improving Meath.... coincidently a paper he writes for!

Lets not be getting ahead of ourselves here. Still conceding scores like 2:14 against teams like Antrim. We have been doing it all year and if those Div 3 and 4 teams were Div 1 and 2 teams you would not be talking about improvement!!
Was it not obvious during the league ( with the worst Against record in all of the leagues) that we needed to work on a better defensive system or work on players tacking abilities
We got obliterated by Dublin and I pick Dublin because he said himself that he should be judged on those matches against the Dubs.

And this BS about building a team an bringing in new lads...... how long am I hearing that in Meath? mickey Harte goes to louth and the impact is immediate. He doesn't have to wait for for a few new births in the county. That guy for Roscommon same. Good managers dont have to talk about "rebuilding" at senior intercounty level because the players are already "built" and they shape them into a performing team!
We beat Cork in the very first league match this year ....... Cork are now in an all Ireland QF!! So between us and Cork.....who is improving??

His very fist mistake was his backroom staff. Of all people I thought COR would have gone for one of the top experienced coaches in the game. Like Kevin McStay did. To be fair to Bernard Flynn his backroom staff included Rocheford and Quirke i think! Why didnt COR have someone like that?
And because of that you could see that naivety in all our performances this year. No game plan on turnovers, no defensive system from what I could see.
Now I am not saying that the coaches that are there are not good but at least one with an abundance of mens senior intercounty experience in the modern game would have helped!! I heard good things about the ex ladies coach but a different game and maybe he too could benefit from a more experienced head working with him.

I believe that if he did that, we would not be playing TC this year!! And lets face it... I wouldnt be going to any homecoming if they win that!!

So disagree on any improvement this year. Terrible year and nothing to write home about even if we win the Final.

If COR is to improve anything next year he must look for a big coaching ticket. Someone that can make them a unit (attack and defence) and can quickly spot a flaw and change things up if needed during a match!"
There is clear improvement to where we were this time last year.
We has a very disappointing league this year and yet we won the same amount of games as the previous years.
In the championship we scored 12 point at home to Wicklow and conceded 27 to Dublin before Clare comfortably knocked us out. This was a team McEntee was building for 6 years
Looking at the team now and the scores we are getting.
With the players that have been brought in by O'Rourke I have a lot more optimism going into next year.
They are by no means anywhere near the finished article but there be could be the makings of a good team there."
Agreed........Defence in urgent need of coaching to compete against better teams ahead..2 weeks on intensive tighening up in defensively is a no brainer at this point. It has to be said AGAIN this is a longer term project than a few months . If we could see improvement in defence to the same extent as forwards and midfield that would be welcome. However ,we are where we have been for years now i. e. Tailtean cup standard . I think we are at the point where we are working with the best available players. Players who wish to play must know they need to fully commit to make the panel even . Positive vibes from the camp are praiseworthy to all concerned . Logically, standards of preparation to meet our needs at training sessions is the only agenda . We are on the right road .The road has been relatively flat up to now but hills upwards now starting with Down. All we can do about that is prepare properly.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 27/06/2023 09:03:41    2489847

Replying To JonnieG:  ""5 championship wins in a row" ?? you mean "Cup" wins... against Div 3 and 4 sides!! We were knocked out of the "championship" (Leinster) by one of those Div 3 teams! and we didn't even make the other "Championship" because of our very poor league performance!!
And you are talking about COR improving the team? I even saw an article in the Independent talking about him improving Meath.... coincidently a paper he writes for!

Lets not be getting ahead of ourselves here. Still conceding scores like 2:14 against teams like Antrim. We have been doing it all year and if those Div 3 and 4 teams were Div 1 and 2 teams you would not be talking about improvement!!
Was it not obvious during the league ( with the worst Against record in all of the leagues) that we needed to work on a better defensive system or work on players tacking abilities
We got obliterated by Dublin and I pick Dublin because he said himself that he should be judged on those matches against the Dubs.

And this BS about building a team an bringing in new lads...... how long am I hearing that in Meath? mickey Harte goes to louth and the impact is immediate. He doesn't have to wait for for a few new births in the county. That guy for Roscommon same. Good managers dont have to talk about "rebuilding" at senior intercounty level because the players are already "built" and they shape them into a performing team!
We beat Cork in the very first league match this year ....... Cork are now in an all Ireland QF!! So between us and Cork.....who is improving??

His very fist mistake was his backroom staff. Of all people I thought COR would have gone for one of the top experienced coaches in the game. Like Kevin McStay did. To be fair to Bernard Flynn his backroom staff included Rocheford and Quirke i think! Why didnt COR have someone like that?
And because of that you could see that naivety in all our performances this year. No game plan on turnovers, no defensive system from what I could see.
Now I am not saying that the coaches that are there are not good but at least one with an abundance of mens senior intercounty experience in the modern game would have helped!! I heard good things about the ex ladies coach but a different game and maybe he too could benefit from a more experienced head working with him.

I believe that if he did that, we would not be playing TC this year!! And lets face it... I wouldnt be going to any homecoming if they win that!!

So disagree on any improvement this year. Terrible year and nothing to write home about even if we win the Final.

If COR is to improve anything next year he must look for a big coaching ticket. Someone that can make them a unit (attack and defence) and can quickly spot a flaw and change things up if needed during a match!"
We has a very disappointing league this year and yet we won the same amount of games as the previous years.
In the championship we scored 12 point at home to Wicklow and conceded 27 to Dublin before Clare comfortably knocked us out. This was a team McEntee was building for 6 years
With the players that have been brought in by O'Rourke I have a lot more optimism going into next year.
They are by no means anywhere near the finished article but there be could be the makings of a good team there."
That was a team McEntee was building for 5 years before the legs were completely cut from under him in November by the county board and it destroyed the whole thing. And even last year we still done better in the league. We won a Leinster championship game and we didn't get the luxury of only playing division 3 and 4 sides. Now don't get me wrong there has been improvement this year and there is a bit more evidence of what we're trying to do. But the proof of it will be next year when we are playing better teams. In Andy McEntee's 6 years we only lost to a division 3/4 team once, Longford 2018. So beating division 3/4 teams in itself doesn't prove anything. And you say look at the scores we are putting up, the only team of a decent level we've faced is Down and we scored 1-11. So while it is good to be winning games I would pump the breaks on saying it's a clear improvement on last year. It might be in some areas, but it's a mile off in other areas, and that was a situation last year that was made a mess of by the county board decision the previous winter

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1471 - 27/06/2023 09:14:19    2489852

How can you honestly say there is a clear improvement on last year? It's impossible to say that at the moment with the opposition we are facing.

In the championship we have played 1 semi decent team who are improving in Down 2 middle of the road div 3 teams in Offaly and Antrim and 3 absolutely woeful teams in Tipp Waterford and Wexford.

We scored 4-13 v Wicklow last year in the championship not 12 points. Do goals not count in your world?

Of the 8 scorers on Sunday 6 of them were given their debuts by AM yet somehow people seem to think COR has invented bringing new players on to the panel .

We won't know if there is any clear improvement until next years Div 2 campaign and as well hopefully an All Ireland campaign but to say there is a clear improvement because we are racking up big scores v Wexford Antrim Waterford and the like is absolutely laughable.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 27/06/2023 09:27:59    2489860

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "What are you on about ?"
specifics absent yes.......You would have to read the small print on this one ...LOL

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 27/06/2023 10:09:31    2489892

People need to move on here from the constant comparisons between Andy and Colm. I would say overall Andy did well with Meath (not brilliant) but his time was clearly up. Andy was given ample time and got a group of players to improve but the cycle for this group was clearly coming to an end and the graph was going downwards for probably the last 2 years.
We needed to bring in new players and a new voice at management to freshen things up and start again. That has happened so now, we are still in the early days so I think we need stand back a bit, let this develope a bit now to see where it goes.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1365 - 27/06/2023 10:31:02    2489902

Replying To Blackspot09:  "
Replying To Maestro:  "[quote=JonnieG:  ""5 championship wins in a row" ?? you mean "Cup" wins... against Div 3 and 4 sides!! We were knocked out of the "championship" (Leinster) by one of those Div 3 teams! and we didn't even make the other "Championship" because of our very poor league performance!!

How can you honestly say there is a clear improvement on last year? It's impossible to say that at the moment with the opposition we are facing.

In the championship we have played 1 semi decent team who are improving in Down 2 middle of the road div 3 teams in Offaly and Antrim and 3 absolutely woeful teams in Tipp Waterford and Wexford.

We scored 4-13 v Wicklow last year in the championship not 12 points. Do goals not count in your world?

Of the 8 scorers on Sunday 6 of them were given their debuts by AM yet somehow people seem to think COR has invented bringing new players on to the panel .

We won't know if there is any clear improvement until next years Div 2 campaign and as well hopefully an All Ireland campaign but to say there is a clear improvement because we are racking up big scores v Wexford Antrim Waterford and the like is absolutely laughable."]Nice to see a bit of sense being talked here rather than the usual 'Anti-Andy' or 'Anti-Colm' rubbish. There have been some minor improvements i.e Midfield looks like we have 3 solid options when fit in Gray, Flynn and Jones. Costello has looked better the last game or two and the free role to move between the inside and half forward line suits him.

However, while the like of Morris and Lynch and scoring well now, it is against Div 3 and Div 4 teams. Now these lads seem like confidence players so maybe a year like this will help to propel them on a bit, but make no mistake, they are a long way off being solid consistent Intercounty forwards. One area that has definitely not improved and is possibly worse than in previous years is our Defense. It may have tightened up since the beginning of the year but we were cut open time and time again by Antrim. We conceded 1-14 against Waterford, and 2-14 against Antrim. We conceded 1-09 against Down but they kicked nearly 20 wides in that game aswell. Yes we can say we've conceded low scores against Tipp and Wexford and sure Down didn't score and thats football, but if we are talking about improvement then we are comparing chalk and cheese between this year and previous ones.

I obviously hope that we can go on now and beat Down to win some silverware and boost the spirit in the camp and the county but if we play like we did against Antrim and against Down in the group game then I can see us being bet by 3 or 4 points having only really played well for a 15-20min period

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 27/06/2023 11:41:56    2489947

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "
Replying To Maestro:  "[quote=JonnieG:  ""5 championship wins in a row" ?? you mean "Cup" wins... against Div 3 and 4 sides!! We were knocked out of the "championship" (Leinster) by one of those Div 3 teams! and we didn't even make the other "Championship" because of our very poor league performance!!

That was a team McEntee was building for 5 years before the legs were completely cut from under him in November by the county board and it destroyed the whole thing. And even last year we still done better in the league. We won a Leinster championship game and we didn't get the luxury of only playing division 3 and 4 sides. Now don't get me wrong there has been improvement this year and there is a bit more evidence of what we're trying to do. But the proof of it will be next year when we are playing better teams. In Andy McEntee's 6 years we only lost to a division 3/4 team once, Longford 2018. So beating division 3/4 teams in itself doesn't prove anything. And you say look at the scores we are putting up, the only team of a decent level we've faced is Down and we scored 1-11. So while it is good to be winning games I would pump the breaks on saying it's a clear improvement on last year. It might be in some areas, but it's a mile off in other areas, and that was a situation last year that was made a mess of by the county board decision the previous winter"]Absolutely. Great post

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2023 11:42:58    2489949

Replying To Blackspot09:  "

We won't know if there is any clear improvement until next years Div 2 campaign and as well hopefully an All Ireland campaign but to say there is a clear improvement because we are racking up big scores v Wexford Antrim Waterford and the like is absolutely laughable."]I had to laugh at the 12 points v Wicklow shows the type of intellect we dealing with. I mean a quick google and it will show it's absolutely made up bs. But that's the anti Andy thing. Same people were saying James Mac was only on team last year cause of his uncle , are now praising cor for bringing him back. I don't understand all this new fandangled stuff :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2023 11:47:58    2489956

Dont understand some people on here,giving out when losing in the league/leinster (rightly so)and now when we win a couple of games giving out saying its poor opponents.I dont think anyone on here is saying we are back.In fact far from it we are but come on let's give the lads some credit.The way the team and management have approached the Tailteann cup is refreshing.They have given it everything and to see some of the players embracing after the match shows how much they care.Lets be honest not many days leaving croke park the last few years with a positive result.Yes we have only played division 3/4 teams I get that but Westmeath are a division 3 team yet they have put it up to top end teams in this years championship so not much between top half of division 3 and 2.Being honest,its been a disappointing season not going to lie but it is nice to see us putting a few wins together and young lads gaining vital experience like winning in croke park rather than get a beating.there.Of course let's not get carried away with the wins(against weaker opponents)but why not enjoy us winning games rather diminishing them?We have a long way to go and the defence does worry me but we have improved I think in midfield Gray has done very well since he came in, Flynn is improving well and hopefully Jones might be fit in three weeks.Lynch and Morris also doing well and Costello show what a class act he can and hopefully will be in the future.I would worry about the collapse having been 7 up reduced to 1 was it the subs not getting up to speed or did we just take our eye off the ball I dont know?It was good though to see us stretch the lead back out after they got back to 1 with the momentum behind them and the Down and Laois crowd cheering them on as well but we managed to hold out which is a big positive in my eyes.No doubt we will have to improve to win the final especially in defence Down will punish us for mistakes or standing off them but we can get at them as well so think it's a 50 50 game.Its certainly a better place to be than were we were after the Offaly match and hopefully we can get over the line v Down and kick on from there for next year.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 27/06/2023 12:16:19    2489985

Can I ask is shane walsh still on the panel or has he a long term injury

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 27/06/2023 13:04:11    2490032

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Dont understand some people on here,giving out when losing in the league/leinster (rightly so)and now when we win a couple of games giving out saying its poor opponents.I dont think anyone on here is saying we are back.In fact far from it we are but come on let's give the lads some credit.The way the team and management have approached the Tailteann cup is refreshing.They have given it everything and to see some of the players embracing after the match shows how much they care.Lets be honest not many days leaving croke park the last few years with a positive result.Yes we have only played division 3/4 teams I get that but Westmeath are a division 3 team yet they have put it up to top end teams in this years championship so not much between top half of division 3 and 2.Being honest,its been a disappointing season not going to lie but it is nice to see us putting a few wins together and young lads gaining vital experience like winning in croke park rather than get a beating.there.Of course let's not get carried away with the wins(against weaker opponents)but why not enjoy us winning games rather diminishing them?We have a long way to go and the defence does worry me but we have improved I think in midfield Gray has done very well since he came in, Flynn is improving well and hopefully Jones might be fit in three weeks.Lynch and Morris also doing well and Costello show what a class act he can and hopefully will be in the future.I would worry about the collapse having been 7 up reduced to 1 was it the subs not getting up to speed or did we just take our eye off the ball I dont know?It was good though to see us stretch the lead back out after they got back to 1 with the momentum behind them and the Down and Laois crowd cheering them on as well but we managed to hold out which is a big positive in my eyes.No doubt we will have to improve to win the final especially in defence Down will punish us for mistakes or standing off them but we can get at them as well so think it's a 50 50 game.Its certainly a better place to be than were we were after the Offaly match and hopefully we can get over the line v Down and kick on from there for next year."
I'd agree broadly. I think most people's opinions that I've read on here have a problem with saying we have improved this year from last. And when you look at the opposition that is clearly not comparing like with like. The truth is we don't know where we are, we are comprehensively beating division 4 teams and winning narrowly against div 3. I agree with the Westmeath comparison and was a narrow wide at end that imo cost them from playing Kerry this weekend (think they would have beat Donegal) . But that all been said credit has to be given to management and players for embracing this, god knows many supporters (myself included) did not, while I went to all the games and was happy for a win, if we got beat would it have bothered me like the loses to Offaly, louth Derry Dublin Kildare and the draw with limerick? Not in the slightest I think majority of supporter were ambivalent to it. Now last week facing old manager has created a bit of buzz and now a final. There's a little excitement. So full credit to the lads for pushing on and putting in the effort.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2023 13:12:20    2490036

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Dont understand some people on here,giving out when losing in the league/leinster (rightly so)and now when we win a couple of games giving out saying its poor opponents.I dont think anyone on here is saying we are back.In fact far from it we are but come on let's give the lads some credit.The way the team and management have approached the Tailteann cup is refreshing.They have given it everything and to see some of the players embracing after the match shows how much they care.Lets be honest not many days leaving croke park the last few years with a positive result.Yes we have only played division 3/4 teams I get that but Westmeath are a division 3 team yet they have put it up to top end teams in this years championship so not much between top half of division 3 and 2.Being honest,its been a disappointing season not going to lie but it is nice to see us putting a few wins together and young lads gaining vital experience like winning in croke park rather than get a beating.there.Of course let's not get carried away with the wins(against weaker opponents)but why not enjoy us winning games rather diminishing them?We have a long way to go and the defence does worry me but we have improved I think in midfield Gray has done very well since he came in, Flynn is improving well and hopefully Jones might be fit in three weeks.Lynch and Morris also doing well and Costello show what a class act he can and hopefully will be in the future.I would worry about the collapse having been 7 up reduced to 1 was it the subs not getting up to speed or did we just take our eye off the ball I dont know?It was good though to see us stretch the lead back out after they got back to 1 with the momentum behind them and the Down and Laois crowd cheering them on as well but we managed to hold out which is a big positive in my eyes.No doubt we will have to improve to win the final especially in defence Down will punish us for mistakes or standing off them but we can get at them as well so think it's a 50 50 game.Its certainly a better place to be than were we were after the Offaly match and hopefully we can get over the line v Down and kick on from there for next year."
I think the argument here is have we improved or not after the first year and in my opinion the answer is no.
People getting excited about having an improved midfield and forward line with some new young lads....... because they played ok against Waterford and Wexford!! but remember most of them were also there in our league games where we finished near the bottom of the pile and against Offaly! Where we didn't rack up big scores.
So a bit naive to be saying that these lads are good yet!! As someone else said above - proof of the pudding will be in next years Div 2!!
I am also a bit shocked at the naivety in the management setup to thing that we can go out in the modern game and just try and score more than the opposition without worrying on our own defense!! That needs to change next year too. That should have changes this year and yet we were nearly pipped by Antrim in the second last match of the year who went on a scoring spree near the end!! Absolutely inexcusable and beyond belief!!
Getting positive about seeing us "stretch the lead back out after they got back to 1 with the momentum behind them" is not where I want the ambition level to be with my county to be honest!!
And i know people will say we are not the team we used to be but that will never diminish the expectation levels I have for my county! I want us to be competing for All Irelands again and not TCs. And if we have to "rebuild" and "bring in new players" every time we get a new manager we are going nowhere!! I will go back to Mickey Harte and Louth who nearly got promoted to Div 1 this year after being in Div 4 two years ago! Do you think they imported a bunch of super hero's out of the blue? No.... just a good manager showing that there is not that much gulf in class between Louth footballers and all other counties maybe with the exception of 3 or 4 counties like dubs, Kerry etc...
Unless you are telling me all of a sudden that there is a gulf in class between the Louth clubs and the Meath clubs??
you can be assured that Mickey Harte was terribly disappointed in their All Ireland campaign but thats the level we have to be at......being disappointed that we got beaten against th big teams!

So this year is a write-off in my opinion and I will only see improvement next year if we are fighting for promotion to Div 1 and we have a decent run in the All Ireland (if we get there) beating some good teams on the way!!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 27/06/2023 13:28:19    2490047

Replying To Foley91:  "Can I ask is shane walsh still on the panel or has he a long term injury"
Long term injury. Very bad hamstring tear. Apparently he will miss the club championship for Na Fianna also. You'd have to feel for him, been desperately unlucky

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1471 - 27/06/2023 13:48:56    2490059

Replying To JonnieG:  "I think the argument here is have we improved or not after the first year and in my opinion the answer is no.
People getting excited about having an improved midfield and forward line with some new young lads....... because they played ok against Waterford and Wexford!! but remember most of them were also there in our league games where we finished near the bottom of the pile and against Offaly! Where we didn't rack up big scores.
So a bit naive to be saying that these lads are good yet!! As someone else said above - proof of the pudding will be in next years Div 2!!
I am also a bit shocked at the naivety in the management setup to thing that we can go out in the modern game and just try and score more than the opposition without worrying on our own defense!! That needs to change next year too. That should have changes this year and yet we were nearly pipped by Antrim in the second last match of the year who went on a scoring spree near the end!! Absolutely inexcusable and beyond belief!!
Getting positive about seeing us "stretch the lead back out after they got back to 1 with the momentum behind them" is not where I want the ambition level to be with my county to be honest!!
And i know people will say we are not the team we used to be but that will never diminish the expectation levels I have for my county! I want us to be competing for All Irelands again and not TCs. And if we have to "rebuild" and "bring in new players" every time we get a new manager we are going nowhere!! I will go back to Mickey Harte and Louth who nearly got promoted to Div 1 this year after being in Div 4 two years ago! Do you think they imported a bunch of super hero's out of the blue? No.... just a good manager showing that there is not that much gulf in class between Louth footballers and all other counties maybe with the exception of 3 or 4 counties like dubs, Kerry etc...
Unless you are telling me all of a sudden that there is a gulf in class between the Louth clubs and the Meath clubs??
you can be assured that Mickey Harte was terribly disappointed in their All Ireland campaign but thats the level we have to be at......being disappointed that we got beaten against th big teams!

So this year is a write-off in my opinion and I will only see improvement next year if we are fighting for promotion to Div 1 and we have a decent run in the All Ireland (if we get there) beating some good teams on the way!!"
You are taking many posts out of context, nobody is getting over exited or belive we are anywhere we need to be, posters by and large are happy to see Meath winning a few games. Everybody knows it's Div 3, 4 teams we are playing, but for some reason the fact that COR is doing what he set out to do is really annoying some posters. Seems there was more than one dissapointed man in CP at weekend. We have made many changes since league, both players and style of football, not getting stuck with one game plan and expecting players not suited to adapt. Louth came up through the divisions which gave Harte the chance to experiment and build a decent side, COR is doing similar using TC. Once again harking back to glory days with head firmly planted in the sand has us where we are. "We are Meath" means nothing today, I have no doubt management and panel will do us proud in years to come. You rightly say we should be dissapointed when we loose, however a very small minority seem to be dissapointed when we win.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 27/06/2023 14:39:09    2490090

Replying To seadog54:  "
Replying To JonnieG:  "I think the argument here is have we improved or not after the first year and in my opinion the answer is no.

So this year is a write-off in my opinion and I will only see improvement next year if we are fighting for promotion to Div 1 and we have a decent run in the All Ireland (if we get there) beating some good teams on the way!!"
You are taking many posts out of context, nobody is getting over exited or belive we are anywhere we need to be, posters by and large are happy to see Meath winning a few games. Everybody knows it's Div 3, 4 teams we are playing, but for some reason the fact that COR is doing what he set out to do is really annoying some posters. Seems there was more than one dissapointed man in CP at weekend. We have made many changes since league, both players and style of football, not getting stuck with one game plan and expecting players not suited to adapt. Louth came up through the divisions which gave Harte the chance to experiment and build a decent side, COR is doing similar using TC. Once again harking back to glory days with head firmly planted in the sand has us where we are. "We are Meath" means nothing today, I have no doubt management and panel will do us proud in years to come. You rightly say we should be dissapointed when we loose, however a very small minority seem to be dissapointed when we win."
Who is disappointed when we win. That is utter bs and lies. I was in Croke park with family and enjoyed every second of game. I do know plenty on here who was disappointed when we weren't in tc last year. You been one of them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2023 15:14:14    2490111

Replying To Foley91:  "Can I ask is shane walsh still on the panel or has he a long term injury"
Had yet another set back a few weeks ago and will be out for quite a while. Real pity for him and team, started season so well and seemed well able to link the play. Best of luck to him and hopefully makes a return for next season.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 27/06/2023 15:36:21    2490119

Replying To seadog54:  "

You are taking many posts out of context, nobody is getting over exited or belive we are anywhere we need to be, posters by and large are happy to see Meath winning a few games. Everybody knows it's Div 3, 4 teams we are playing, but for some reason the fact that COR is doing what he set out to do is really annoying some posters. Seems there was more than one dissapointed man in CP at weekend. We have made many changes since league, both players and style of football, not getting stuck with one game plan and expecting players not suited to adapt. Louth came up through the divisions which gave Harte the chance to experiment and build a decent side, COR is doing similar using TC. Once again harking back to glory days with head firmly planted in the sand has us where we are. "We are Meath" means nothing today, I have no doubt management and panel will do us proud in years to come. You rightly say we should be dissapointed when we loose, however a very small minority seem to be dissapointed when we win."
What has COR "set out to do" ??? Rebuild??? Dont say it!!!
Mickey Harte used the O'Byrne Cup to experiment and started on the upward spiral after that!
If you are taking a whole campaign to experiment you are not in the right game. Most managers nowadays do a few years and move on.
And I am not harking back to glory days - I am saying that I expect Meath to be at least maintaining a high ranking in Leinster and at least compete in All Irelands!! but on this years results we have been passed out by Louth, Offaly, Kildare, Westmeath at least and Playing TC!
And as to adapting to different game plans..... I have no clue what you are talking about! 8 points up against Antrim and getting destroyed in the last 10 minutes is not a game plan I have seen before?? I believe closing out a game is a plan they haven't worked on yet!!

Sorry but I am still annoyed we ended up in the TC! The word improve means to get better! so you start at where you left off and work from there. We got worse this year and it is all masked by the mere fact that people are happy and excited we are playing in croke park again (like we pretty much have done every year anyway in the past!!) in a "Final" of the "Gaelic football Grand National for disappointed also rans" :)

I do wait for next year and hope you are right but I believe we are so far behind the curve! a LOT has to be done including a change at the Management layer with some experienced coach to open their eyes and work on the obvious!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 27/06/2023 15:53:42    2490131

Replying To JonnieG:  "
Replying To seadog54:  "[quote=JonnieG:  "I think the argument here is have we improved or not after the first year and in my opinion the answer is no.

Mickey Harte used the O'Byrne Cup to experiment and started on the upward spiral after that!
If you are taking a whole campaign to experiment you are not in the right game. Most managers nowadays do a few years and move on.
And I am not harking back to glory days - I am saying that I expect Meath to be at least maintaining a high ranking in Leinster and at least compete in All Irelands!! but on this years results we have been passed out by Louth, Offaly, Kildare, Westmeath at least and Playing TC!
And as to adapting to different game plans..... I have no clue what you are talking about! 8 points up against Antrim and getting destroyed in the last 10 minutes is not a game plan I have seen before?? I believe closing out a game is a plan they haven't worked on yet!!

Sorry but I am still annoyed we ended up in the TC! The word improve means to get better! so you start at where you left off and work from there. We got worse this year and it is all masked by the mere fact that people are happy and excited we are playing in croke park again (like we pretty much have done every year anyway in the past!!) in a "Final" of the "Gaelic football Grand National for disappointed also rans" :)

I do wait for next year and hope you are right but I believe we are so far behind the curve! a LOT has to be done including a change at the Management layer with some experienced coach to open their eyes and work on the obvious!"]Royaldunne you forgot to sign back in on your original profile :D

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 632 - 27/06/2023 16:27:16    2490154

Replying To JonnieG:  "
Replying To seadog54:  "[quote=JonnieG:  "I think the argument here is have we improved or not after the first year and in my opinion the answer is no.

I do wait for next year and hope you are right but I believe we are so far behind the curve! a LOT has to be done including a change at the Management layer with some experienced coach to open their eyes and work on the obvious!"]Excellent post.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2023 16:32:50    2490162

I think Gray has done very well since he has come in for a young lad in a problem position.Is he the finished article no Can he do it against better teams?We dont know? but the lad has looked good every game I've seen him.My point is can only judge a lad on football hes played and has done well again just my opinion. Brennan in goals, young coffey,Lynch have done well since coming in again the same wont know for sure until they play better teams but so far they have done well.You pick my point about stretching the lead back out what I mean is we responsed to them coming back at us and saw it through and didnt fold which I think is a big positive. i agree we should've managed it better and shouldn't have been reeled back in so yes that's a worry.You talk about Louth yes they have had a decent year but where did they start a couple of years ago yes division 4 and worked up to division 2 so they were beating division 3/4sides before contesting against bigger teams.They got hammerd by Dublin and Kerry (not having a go as most teams have or will)Cork looked comfortable against them but yes they were unlucky v Mayo.You also mention Offaly they could have bet Louth right at the end of normal time when the ball just dropped short into the keepers hand, Westmeath could've beaten Armagh and showed well in their group games so in any match a team can cause problems for better teams.As I've said in above post it's been a disappointing year no doubt and yes we should strive to do better but we are unfortunately a long way off contesting all Irelands as much we would like too.We had a poor league no doubt lucky to stay in division 2 and then caught on the hop by Offaly so after that game id say no we have gone backwards but the few wins in TC gives me hope that green shoots are emerging.Doesn't mask the fact that we have to improve and improve alot to compete against better teams.What I like about things now is the players are all behind this (TC)and see it as a platform to build for future.I honestly thought after losing to Offaly that lads would walk away (like what happened in a few counties )and we would be looking at us struggling for win but no to their credit they kept at it and for that yes I'll give them praise for commitment to the Jersey.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 27/06/2023 17:27:16    2490183