The Andy Mc Factor - Tailteann Cup

Replying To royalproxy:  "You forgot…
'I was talking to a lad who said x y and z. I've no reason to believe it's not true…so it's FACT

Empty vessels do indeed make the most noise!!"
Fair point….

My opinions a fact cos I say it is…..

And don't forget - I've no connections within the set up but what I've heard from lad x (inter county players second cousin four times removed on his dogs gerbils mothers side) is a fact and Colm said exactly this and did the following….

Anyways on with the important stuff

Looking forward to Sunday, Andy McEntee is a good manager, not without fault- as with every manager. Antrim will be tough beaten, however Carlow scored 1-15 so we should be looking to put up a much bigger score on a wider and longer Croke Park which most of our lads have some familiarity with.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 21/06/2023 11:25:26    2488072

Replying To brian:  "Careful now… you can't be asking for correct answers from dunners….. or you'll be told

1) the incorrect answers
2) you've multiple accounts
3) the vast majority of people agree with RD
4) you're a keyboard warrior
5) a nameless faceless bully, who RD stands up to
6) come see me at a game….
7) that you're stalking him on social media….
8) I'll pull up your previous posts saying you said such and such….

Is that all of the lines that get trotted out or are there some other pearlers out there

If Colm O'Rourke came out at the start of the year and said I hope we land in the Tailteann cup imagine the uproar and calls for his removal. Of course they're going to say you only improve playing better teams because their aim is the highest possible competition they can play in. It's psychology 101. Otherwise there's no point in them going out on the pitch.

Sure doesn't the lad convince himself before every game Meath will win and Hon the royal and the rest of it, having his snack box and telling everyone where he's going.

The lad can't answer a proper question cos he's knows he'll show himself up. He simply reminds me of that old saying a college professor told me, empty cans make the most cans…"
Sums him up pretty well lad! Very accurate.
A top order clown and a mouth piece

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 359 - 21/06/2023 11:34:27    2488076

Replying To brian:  "Fair point….

And don't forget - I've no connections within the set up but what I've heard from lad x (inter county players second cousin four times removed on his dogs gerbils mothers side) is a fact and Colm said exactly this and did the following….

Looking forward to Sunday, Andy McEntee is a good manager, not without fault- as with every manager. Antrim will be tough beaten, however Carlow scored 1-15 so we should be looking to put up a much bigger score on a wider and longer Croke Park which most of our lads have some familiarity with."
I was struck by how relaxed Andy was when interviewed after Carlow win, I know its easier after win but I expect he is under a lot less pressure so best of luck to him going forward, Sunday being the exception. He brought up a good point about the benefit the lower ranked teams are getting from being together for extended period, something the top teams get year on year.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 21/06/2023 11:54:13    2488094

Dessie Farrell last month: we got caught out after playing div 2 teams all year and we weren't ready today playing a div 1 team. That's Dublin!!.it is all well and good getting a bit of confidence in this thing but as preparation for competing in Sam next year (hopefully), it won't do us much good imo, bar the little bit of confidence. Wether that's enough let's see.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 21/06/2023 11:56:06    2488095

Replying To brian:  "Careful now… you can't be asking for correct answers from dunners….. or you'll be told

1) the incorrect answers
2) you've multiple accounts
3) the vast majority of people agree with RD
4) you're a keyboard warrior
5) a nameless faceless bully, who RD stands up to
6) come see me at a game….
7) that you're stalking him on social media….
8) I'll pull up your previous posts saying you said such and such….

Is that all of the lines that get trotted out or are there some other pearlers out there

If Colm O'Rourke came out at the start of the year and said I hope we land in the Tailteann cup imagine the uproar and calls for his removal. Of course they're going to say you only improve playing better teams because their aim is the highest possible competition they can play in. It's psychology 101. Otherwise there's no point in them going out on the pitch.

Sure doesn't the lad convince himself before every game Meath will win and Hon the royal and the rest of it, having his snack box and telling everyone where he's going.

The lad can't answer a proper question cos he's knows he'll show himself up. He simply reminds me of that old saying a college professor told me, empty cans make the most cans…"
Actually Brian an FBI profiler wouldn't be ac accurate!

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 21/06/2023 12:06:22    2488101

Replying To brian:  "Fair point….

Looking forward to Sunday, Andy McEntee is a good manager, not without fault- as with every manager. Antrim will be tough beaten, however Carlow scored 1-15 so we should be looking to put up a much bigger score on a wider and longer Croke Park which most of our lads have some familiarity with."
Brian you have said multiple times that you are going to ignore royaldunne from now on, yet in nearly every post since then you mention him, I think you two have the ultimate love hate relationship, lol.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 21/06/2023 12:55:33    2488122

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Brian you have said multiple times that you are going to ignore royaldunne from now on, yet in nearly every post since then you mention him, I think you two have the ultimate love hate relationship, lol."
And you seem to pop up whenever RD is getter a bit of kickback…

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 21/06/2023 13:06:01    2488129

Replying To Ed2010:  "Dessie Farrell last month: we got caught out after playing div 2 teams all year and we weren't ready today playing a div 1 team. That's Dublin!!.it is all well and good getting a bit of confidence in this thing but as preparation for competing in Sam next year (hopefully), it won't do us much good imo, bar the little bit of confidence. Wether that's enough let's see."
Same Dessie told all what a difficult game they expected from Sligo, all smoke and mirrors. One year playing Div 2 football would have little affect on a team like Dublin, maybe if they played there for a few years. Season only starting for them. Our situtation is a lot different, is it better to get a chance to reset and build a decent panel or carry on as before, something had to change,its all if's and but's, however, I think we will see the positives in next years league.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 21/06/2023 14:03:09    2488154

Mayo were beaten by cork, who were very nearly a division 3 team. I wouldn't mind Dessie Farrell, for him the championship only starts now.
On a separate note I think it's great to be back in croke Park on a summer Sunday. The only issue I have is the ticket prices. It will cost me 65 for 2 adults, and 3 kids.
That would put some people off considering it is on the telly.
I believe the tailteann cup is a step in the right direction for the GAA, but it needs to be un hitched from the league.
We need three national competitions.
1. National football league
2. All Ireland senior championship
3. Tailteann cup.
I am rambling now bit we need to ban the advanced mark, and eliminate kickouts inside the 44 metre line.
Also any goalkeeper seen outside the 21 yard line should be shot.
Football has become a torturous watch. Balls passing back and forth, teams holding on to the ball for 7 minutes, what absolute garbage.
It is well past time the rule maker's return the game to its simple glory

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 21/06/2023 14:40:48    2488170

Andy Mc factor.........Not sure what this means..... does it feed in to the anti COR agenda. ? Maybe we will have MOD ,COLM COYLE EAMONN and even Sean Boylan factor? What next ? what rubbish ? giving oxygen to a poster who wants to continue inventing makey up rubbish to hinder progress attempts. A Meath supporter???? just cut the pipe and stop this rubbish.
On the real issue or agenda of continuous improvement even against weak opposition i see things coming together and going in the right direction . At 6/4 Meath are a good bet to win this cup. I take my hat off to James mc Entee as an example for the ATTITUDE shown to work his way back on the team No blaming or excuses ,take responsility yourself to get back. I understand the atmophere in camp is healthy with full buy in by all .. Now we WLL get progress .It will take time as we all know. The foundation stone of ATTITUDE will lift all boats We will know more against stronger opposition ,but i believe some grounds for optimism in the medium term at least.
I dont think we are well placed to pick the team on this forum .Selectors and management team see the full picture. However, from what can be seen i see Costello with a lot of potential (i dont know the man). I think he has a lot more to offer. I know our midfield is developing nicely maybe .I would like to see him at full throttle in the middle third for the full duration...... Onwards and Upwards .... the begrudgers and agendas !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 21/06/2023 14:51:51    2488175

Replying To seadog54:  "Same Dessie told all what a difficult game they expected from Sligo, all smoke and mirrors. One year playing Div 2 football would have little affect on a team like Dublin, maybe if they played there for a few years. Season only starting for them. Our situtation is a lot different, is it better to get a chance to reset and build a decent panel or carry on as before, something had to change,its all if's and but's, however, I think we will see the positives in next years league."
Nice try. Smoke and daggers yes, before a game 100%, you hardly expect him to come out and say we are going to hammer sligo. I quoted dessie from AFTER the game, and he was talking ABT playing a higher division team not a lower one.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 21/06/2023 15:47:42    2488188

Replying To Ed2010:  "Nice try. Smoke and daggers yes, before a game 100%, you hardly expect him to come out and say we are going to hammer sligo. I quoted dessie from AFTER the game, and he was talking ABT playing a higher division team not a lower one."
Derry, Cork, Kildare and Dublin all doing quite well in championship, so Dessie's point does not really stand up. Just a lame excuse to attempt to deflect. Dublin will have big say in Sam and short stay in Div 2 will have had little impact.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 21/06/2023 16:02:33    2488196

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Brian you have said multiple times that you are going to ignore royaldunne from now on, yet in nearly every post since then you mention him, I think you two have the ultimate love hate relationship, lol."
Maybe Brian is royaldunne?...
#splitpersonality

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 359 - 21/06/2023 16:03:29    2488197

Replying To atta:  "Mayo were beaten by cork, who were very nearly a division 3 team. I wouldn't mind Dessie Farrell, for him the championship only starts now.
On a separate note I think it's great to be back in croke Park on a summer Sunday. The only issue I have is the ticket prices. It will cost me 65 for 2 adults, and 3 kids.
That would put some people off considering it is on the telly.
I believe the tailteann cup is a step in the right direction for the GAA, but it needs to be un hitched from the league.
We need three national competitions.
1. National football league
2. All Ireland senior championship
3. Tailteann cup.
I am rambling now bit we need to ban the advanced mark, and eliminate kickouts inside the 44 metre line.
Also any goalkeeper seen outside the 21 yard line should be shot.
Football has become a torturous watch. Balls passing back and forth, teams holding on to the ball for 7 minutes, what absolute garbage.
It is well past time the rule maker's return the game to its simple glory"
I agree with rule changes, we want to see a faster game and the powers that be decide to slow thing down with a mark, incredible. it's a poor watch alright but until the rules change for the better it's only going to get worse, I don't have any faith they will change tho. Agree kick out beyond the 40 is a no brainer(or best attempt if very windy) but you would need to ensure both teams don't all drop into the middle, so may be difficult to police.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 21/06/2023 16:04:54    2488198

Have to say, a few short weeks ago it was all doom and gloom here. In that few short weeks the team and management have gelled and obviously committed to each other. We're seeing the benefit of all that with the recent performances and long May it continue. Still early days but looking good!

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 21/06/2023 17:27:13    2488228

Good article in the Examiner about Colm and team. Refreshing read, players and mgt actually enjoying training and playing. Looks like Ronan Jones might be starting Sunday too. Worth a read lads

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 22/06/2023 10:12:37    2488339

Replying To royalproxy:  "Good article in the Examiner about Colm and team. Refreshing read, players and mgt actually enjoying training and playing. Looks like Ronan Jones might be starting Sunday too. Worth a read lads"
Agreed Refreshing ,encouraging, and very welcome.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 22/06/2023 12:00:09    2488370

Replying To royalproxy:  "Good article in the Examiner about Colm and team. Refreshing read, players and mgt actually enjoying training and playing. Looks like Ronan Jones might be starting Sunday too. Worth a read lads"
Meath feature in Times and Indo today also. Sounds like a laid back group and getting the best out of TC. Players getting lots of credit for driving things forward, which is good to see.. Would be great to win it out, but think by and large it has served its purpose.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 22/06/2023 13:06:41    2488396

Replying To seadog54:  "Meath feature in Times and Indo today also. Sounds like a laid back group and getting the best out of TC. Players getting lots of credit for driving things forward, which is good to see.. Would be great to win it out, but think by and large it has served its purpose."
Yeah, great to see a bit of buzz around the team again.

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 22/06/2023 13:59:57    2488424

Strong team announced what's the story with Walsh is his season done? It's a real pity that he's out would have been good to see him playing would have got great confidence playing

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 23/06/2023 10:37:36    2488584