Meath V Wexford

Great result and great performance! Well done to Colm and team. Plenty of harmony and commitment from all. Keep it going lads

royalproxy (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 19/06/2023 09:02:48    2487051

Replying To Crinigan:  "Nice to have you on the forum GreenandRed. Great to see you involved in your local club as well."
Cheers Crinigan.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 19/06/2023 10:01:09    2487092

That was as good of a performance as I've seen from Meath in quite a while, the first 20 mins were flawless. Free flowing, fast, direct attacking football. Now Wexford sort of lay down, but we put them to the sword which is what you want to see.

Some excellent performances, Jordan Morris seems to have found a bit of swagger, looks confident and everything he hit turned to gold. James McEntee hit some really tidy scores, Conor Gray has been outstanding at midfield since coming in, he's such a good target man. Drifted into the square a few times too, but we didn't make use of him. Costello was quietly effective, I think out full forward line hit 1-12 which is good to see.

I thought Daithi McGowan was sublime when he came on, such an elegant player. I can't have him not starting going forward, there's a lot of genuine competition in the squad which is good to see. And I'm seeing progress from the league.

It wasn't without a few negatives though, I suppose the game was up at half time, but we were very flat for the first quarter of the 2nd half, and we coughed up a couple of goal chances that Antrim and certainly Down would take

Tailteann Cup looks to have been a blessing in disguise, it's where we're at, we are stringing together some good performances, and look like we should be in a final although Antrim will be a big test. Down v Meath would be a cracking final if we get there.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 19/06/2023 10:50:53    2487150

Our best performance of the year. Wexford were wide open and gave two fast inside forwards in Morris and Lynch 2 vs 2 inside the 45. But defensively we did look better. I would imagine Andy McEntee will know we struggle against a packed defense and will have Antrim set up to play a very different shape of game. But we have more firepower and should have enough

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1471 - 19/06/2023 10:58:43    2487159

Can't believe how bad Wexford were. Worse than tipp or Waterford by some distance. Still can only beat what's in front of you. And we did it well. Morris lynch and in particular motm James mcentee some class effort and delighted that he was approached to come back after been dropped, anyone can make a mistake to see that error and rectify it is the mark of a man so fair play to Colm for realising that and approaching James. And also fair play to James for returning shows huge commitment to Meath and what's best for county on all sides. Hopefully we have turned a corner but to be honest until we face Down again it's hard to know. But I'm the eternal optimist.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2023 10:59:56    2487161

Good win,played some lovely football and scored some very good points from a fair distance out.James mac on fire ,Morris very good first half,Greay done well midfield and great to get games into him.Magowan kicked some lovely scores when he came on.Harnan best game in a while,subs all done well when they came on but I suppose it's easier coming on when winning well.Would like us somehow to get Costello on the ball more because think he is going to be key player for us in the next few years.I thought Wexford would be better than they showed but not taking away from our good display.I still worry though we coughed up a few goal chances and were opened up a few times in defence and with the next game in croker there will be alot more space.Hopefully Jones will be available next day his work rate could be key.Well done to management and team on a good performance and a step in the right direction.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 19/06/2023 11:25:06    2487193

Thought it was going to be comfortable but Jesus Wexford were shocking feel bad for there fans who traveled for it. Antrim should be more competitive but we should be beating them by at least 5 with down to play in final

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 19/06/2023 12:28:13    2487258

Very happy with the win and the performance, finally we are seeing some consistency. We have to be realistic and accept the level we are at but the Tailteann Cup has been great for us this year and it shows in the players they are playing with more confidence. Wexford were poor yes although we started brilliantly and took our chances which has been a big problem in the recent past. James McEntee has been excellent in the last two games, he has slotted in very well and is finally showing evidence of the potential everyone knew he had. Morris moved well in the first half and kicked some lovely scores. Flynn and Gray got around the place well. We'll need big performances from them in Croke Park. Any news on Ronan Jones was he injured? McGowan impressed when he came in and must be pushing hard for a start. The backs as a unit again did well following on from a big performance against Down. Keogan once again was everywhere he looks nearly back to his best after a tough year.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1996 - 19/06/2023 13:41:10    2487327

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can't believe how bad Wexford were. Worse than tipp or Waterford by some distance. Still can only beat what's in front of you. And we did it well. Morris lynch and in particular motm James mcentee some class effort and delighted that he was approached to come back after been dropped, anyone can make a mistake to see that error and rectify it is the mark of a man so fair play to Colm for realising that and approaching James. And also fair play to James for returning shows huge commitment to Meath and what's best for county on all sides. Hopefully we have turned a corner but to be honest until we face Down again it's hard to know. But I'm the eternal optimist.
Hon the royal"
Was James not dropped because he was massively unfit early in the year. Colm told him to get fit and he'd be considered?? So, Colm did the right thing? He didn't make any mistake

Tinchy1 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 19/06/2023 13:54:05    2487336

Replying To Tinchy1:  "Was James not dropped because he was massively unfit early in the year. Colm told him to get fit and he'd be considered?? So, Colm did the right thing? He didn't make any mistake"
Great credit to James Mac, management set him a goal at start of season he went away and did what was required to get himself up to required level. Showed great desire to wear the county jersey, no excues or complaints and looks very fit and playing with confidence. Also great example to all who have ambition to play for Meath.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 19/06/2023 14:33:36    2487361

Replying To Tinchy1:  "Was James not dropped because he was massively unfit early in the year. Colm told him to get fit and he'd be considered?? So, Colm did the right thing? He didn't make any mistake"
Think he told a couple of players the same.

Fair play to James for the way he reacted and how he is playing now.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6346 - 19/06/2023 14:38:04    2487367

Replying To Jinxie:  "Think he told a couple of players the same.

Fair play to James for the way he reacted and how he is playing now."
We'll said jinxie and others. And great stuff James, we'll done to you lad. Hes also studying to be a doctor I believe and was doing night shifts last week.

Some posters just can't give Colm any credit for how he's handled things

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 19/06/2023 14:52:04    2487375

Not sure about that. Maybe

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2023 15:29:25    2487409

Replying To brian:  "We'll said jinxie and others. And great stuff James, we'll done to you lad. Hes also studying to be a doctor I believe and was doing night shifts last week.

Some posters just can't give Colm any credit for how he's handled things"
You have a problem reading English? Did I clearly give Colm credit for realising the quality of James. I'm just surprised in you, you said last year he shouldn't be on the team and was only there cause he was the manager's nephew. I can copy ur post if you want. Or are you happy to admit you were wrong ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2023 15:31:42    2487414

Replying To men_of_49:  "Very happy with the win and the performance, finally we are seeing some consistency. We have to be realistic and accept the level we are at but the Tailteann Cup has been great for us this year and it shows in the players they are playing with more confidence. Wexford were poor yes although we started brilliantly and took our chances which has been a big problem in the recent past. James McEntee has been excellent in the last two games, he has slotted in very well and is finally showing evidence of the potential everyone knew he had. Morris moved well in the first half and kicked some lovely scores. Flynn and Gray got around the place well. We'll need big performances from them in Croke Park. Any news on Ronan Jones was he injured? McGowan impressed when he came in and must be pushing hard for a start. The backs as a unit again did well following on from a big performance against Down. Keogan once again was everywhere he looks nearly back to his best after a tough year."
The Tailteann Cup has been great for this Meath team in transition. They should now go on and win it and hopefully we will be on an upward curve for years and never have to play in it again. Would be nice to see Donal Keoghan lift a trophy after all his years of service. He deserved to lift better ones but unfortunately for him and a few more who sacrificed everything for the county for the past decade, their Meath careers coincided with the decade of Dublin dominance.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 19/06/2023 15:55:35    2487439

Massive credit due to James McEntee: with his profession and all the years he's put into county it would have been easy for him to pack it in. Has showed hunger to get back and is playing as good of football as he's ever played in 11 which has been a problem position, albeit against lower level opposition. Really hope Conor McGill can do similar next year. We have seen the advantage of having Harnan and James Mc's experience in the spine of the team

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1471 - 20/06/2023 10:45:57    2487710

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Massive credit due to James McEntee: with his profession and all the years he's put into county it would have been easy for him to pack it in. Has showed hunger to get back and is playing as good of football as he's ever played in 11 which has been a problem position, albeit against lower level opposition. Really hope Conor McGill can do similar next year. We have seen the advantage of having Harnan and James Mc's experience in the spine of the team"
Totally agree.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2023 13:05:46    2487791

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Massive credit due to James McEntee: with his profession and all the years he's put into county it would have been easy for him to pack it in. Has showed hunger to get back and is playing as good of football as he's ever played in 11 which has been a problem position, albeit against lower level opposition. Really hope Conor McGill can do similar next year. We have seen the advantage of having Harnan and James Mc's experience in the spine of the team"
Playing great stuff. What's his profession?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 20/06/2023 18:47:20    2487951

Replying To Crinigan:  "Playing great stuff. What's his profession?"
Doctor, listened to COR talk about him on Chronicle podcast and effort he put in to get back on panel, plus the fact he worked nights the week of Wexford game, fantastic commitment.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 20/06/2023 23:37:17    2487990

James McEntee's perfoormance demonstrates the value of the experienced player in a key pivotal position like CHF.

Hopefully COR can see this and make an approach to Conor McGill with a view to him returning to the panel for next year. We need to push on next year.

One plus in my mind regarding the Wexford game was the strength of the bench, it looks to be getting stronger and the arrival of the under 20's has helped that.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 21/06/2023 10:46:25    2488054