Tailteann Cup

Replying To seadog54:  "Yes we beat Longfort with ease that year, they overturned us last time. Offaly ran us very close in Navan and we also got a very lucky draw against them in league, so little between us in recent meetings. As I said before door is open for all, simply do what management require and issues disappear. Full back line this year have been under severe pressure, however, some blame must go to the way we are set up, little or no protection. Full back line under previous manager also got regular roastings and that with a lot more protection. Louth have forwards who can kick scores from distance, our ratio of scores from distance is dreadful.
Learning on the job has drawbacks no doubt and I thought this year may be a write off. What was the option, where were the experienced managers or coaches when post was advertised? Again I say, dont be worried by pundits taking cheap shots, we also had this during the good years, always felt a thick skin is required of Meath supporters..There is no embarrassment in losing to a team more or less on our level. Its the way of sport. Same negative things were said about SB and many other managers in various sports, recently many the expert wanted rid of Andy Farrell from Irish rugby, look where we are now. Success comes with time and patience, what would you suggest, change manager less than a year in? I know its what some want, for me its insanity. Good to see divisional system up and running, add in development squad and closer links with u2o, all give players a clear path to intercounty football, now is not the time to panic, structures are in place give them a fair chance to work."
I do agree with some of what you said here, but how do you know success comes with time and patience? You can't guarantee that, if you could no manager would ever be let go. Structures are irrelevent to the position of the senior manager, Tony mentee talking this morning on otb saying he has no influence with anything other than the senior team, which should be the way. County board are in charge of structures not Colm. Again would love Colm to work, but we have no plan. is that not a glaring red flag for you? I don't think it is bizarre that a manager could be gotten rid of, a team that drew with us this year got rid of their manager, and donegal also got rid of their manager because the set up was amateurish. The same thing that our camp was called a few times over recent weeks. Would be interested to hear if we were to loose to tipperary, would you still be in favour of keeping him?

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 09/05/2023 15:48:30    2477064

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "I do agree with some of what you said here, but how do you know success comes with time and patience? You can't guarantee that, if you could no manager would ever be let go. Structures are irrelevent to the position of the senior manager, Tony mentee talking this morning on otb saying he has no influence with anything other than the senior team, which should be the way. County board are in charge of structures not Colm. Again would love Colm to work, but we have no plan. is that not a glaring red flag for you? I don't think it is bizarre that a manager could be gotten rid of, a team that drew with us this year got rid of their manager, and donegal also got rid of their manager because the set up was amateurish. The same thing that our camp was called a few times over recent weeks. Would be interested to hear if we were to loose to tipperary, would you still be in favour of keeping him?"
Yes allow him the time agreed, doubt if we see any major change against Tipp, for me its a medium to long term project. Listening to COR over the years I would expect he took position in understanding he has imput into structures that helps bring young players on. Did not do Donegal any favours getting rid of Paddy C. If we do likewise, what then? Make more usless promises to next man up, only to go back on their word in six months, if things not changing. Lots outside (and some within) county are delighted to slag us off, but best ignored. If things are to work out we cannot be judgeing setup on a game per game basis. Its a big ask, everyone wants success and there certainly is no guarantee it will happen. But at least we tried, staggering along, getting nowhere has had its day.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 09/05/2023 16:36:22    2477083

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "I do agree with some of what you said here, but how do you know success comes with time and patience? You can't guarantee that, if you could no manager would ever be let go. Structures are irrelevent to the position of the senior manager, Tony mentee talking this morning on otb saying he has no influence with anything other than the senior team, which should be the way. County board are in charge of structures not Colm. Again would love Colm to work, but we have no plan. is that not a glaring red flag for you? I don't think it is bizarre that a manager could be gotten rid of, a team that drew with us this year got rid of their manager, and donegal also got rid of their manager because the set up was amateurish. The same thing that our camp was called a few times over recent weeks. Would be interested to hear if we were to loose to tipperary, would you still be in favour of keeping him?"
One final point, I think COR has enough honesty and integrity to admit he is not the right man for the job and will step down if he feels what he is doing is in some way holding Meath football back. Belive this will not happen and he will leave us in a better state than when he took over. Tony Mac is an outside manager paid to do a specific job and no reason for him to have a long term interest in future of Sligo football. We have a manager who has witnessed the decline and wants to do something about it. Doubt if he will still be manager when things get better but at least got us heading in right direction.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 09/05/2023 16:54:11    2477088

100% agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/05/2023 17:55:44    2477108

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Don't think you can say a game was over at halftime. If football was to work like that then every comeback would be invalid. Westmeath came back at us In 2016 and beat us in what is regarded as one of their best ever results, so I think it is unfair to say the game was over at half time. Mcgill is the odd one out because he consistently been one of our best players in last 6 years and won club footballer of the year. Our full back line all year has been roasted and the best full back in meath isn't there. Also in 21 we absolutely annihilated longford in pairc tailteann before the Dublin game, the offaly team that we lost to this year only beat longford by a point. Derry have top class players now because Gallagher is a top class coach, louth have no better forwards than us, maybe mulroy but on the balance not much separates. Think it's also a touch foolish to say that no one gives us a second thought, the week after the offaly game we were laughed at on most radio stations and tv stations. Does the fact that you admit management are learning on the job not extremely worry you? They had more than enough to beat louth limerick and a Kildare team that were in disarray, and an Offaly team. Even after that I parked the league and said okay lets see what championship had to offer, look at the difference in performances between both Kildare and meath, both teams who struggled heavily in the league. Kildare put in two huge shifts while we got embarrassed in tullamore. I do want this management team to succeed, but there are huge red flags everywhere."
Red flags everywhere we look. Some can't see that on here. But they seem to be In minority compared to those at the games.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/05/2023 17:57:19    2477110

I am very interested to see what the 26 is. Will Walsh be back fit and will any of the 20's make the matchday panel. While our talent level in the county isn't good and we've been borderline Tailteann cup for a long time this year we have even underperformed that. Bar the Cork game there's been no positives. Lack of a plan and structure, lack of effort, no coherent sense of a pecking order or settled team. I do think we have a team that could win a Tailteann cup or atleast be right in the mix but given what I've seen this year I think we will lose to Down and I don't see us getting past a quarter final. I hope I'm proven wrong

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1471 - 09/05/2023 18:09:39    2477115

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Lads I think this is all getting ridiculous now and completely off point, royaldunne you need to stop loading the cannons that there using to fire at you and get behind this meath team both management and players.

For those that take great pleasure in winding him up about his loyalty to meath you need to lay off, Royaldunne like the rest of us is disappointed how our year has unravelled especially after the bright start we got down in Cork but we are were we are. And one thing is certain I'm confident royaldunne will be there in navan supporting meath.

Its not all doom and gloom and the tailtean cup is a tournament that we have a chance of winning, I havnt heard of any players dropping of the panel, so that's encouraging and if anything possible proof that there still all behind colm and taking our current situation serious, all managers deserve time and colm is no different. He deserves at the least two years if not the three to turn things around, look at kildare they also had a terrible league but now after a encouraging performance against dublin look like they might have a decent championship.

Two good things that colm has helped to set up so far in his rein as meath manager, which are very positive is a regional competition and a development squad to try and find the right players for meath now and in the future, I'm confident meath will start to show signs of improvement soon and I'm actually looking forward to the tipp game now, meath by 4 to 8 points."
Look I'll be there early on Saturday evening they will have my full support. As always. On the regional thing I thought that was brought in in previous management time but didn't take place due to the pandemic? . I could be wrong on that.
I'll be honest with you if Colm came out and said look I have made a error in judgment on a few things I'd give him a pass, the McGill thing, going man to man v both Derry and dubs, that our fitness has gone backwards, and that the style of play he is trying to play isn't working. I'd say fair play first year in what is a totally different game to what he played , and coaching at schools and club levels is just not the same as a inter county team, I think vast majority of people would let it pass myself included. My problem is we aren't seeing the evidence of that. I do think barring a complete and utter meltdown that we will progress, tipp are a shadow of the team that won munster and were in division 2, they have struggled this year in particular, also Waterford I'd rate as 31 in the country. So our only real problem is Down and even a loss to them will still see us second. We can only judge after that, has the rot stopped. ? We can only judge when we get to latter stages
And rather than writing this twice I'll cc jinxie :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/05/2023 18:15:54    2477119

Replying To seadog54:  "One final point, I think COR has enough honesty and integrity to admit he is not the right man for the job and will step down if he feels what he is doing is in some way holding Meath football back. Belive this will not happen and he will leave us in a better state than when he took over. Tony Mac is an outside manager paid to do a specific job and no reason for him to have a long term interest in future of Sligo football. We have a manager who has witnessed the decline and wants to do something about it. Doubt if he will still be manager when things get better but at least got us heading in right direction."
If I was a Meath footballer and came on here and read everything , I would probably pack my bags and head for the states , it seem everything is the problem like Meath club football the decline of Meath football and the only way we get better if a meteorite hits 70% of the country , I mean if we played more compact against Derry in the third game of the League this year we might have got a result , there seems to be a lot needed to be done if you go by what a lot of lads say on here but yet mostly none of it has anything to do with it what happens on the pitch.

I think COR has a decent backroom team and needs to listen more to them and put more faith into them is that a solution?

Try not talk ourselves into a hole lads , it's not a graveyard we will get out of it , but again if I was reading stuff on here and I was a county player I more interested what happens on the pitch than what happened for the last 30 years of Meath football! It's football not politics

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 879 - 09/05/2023 19:19:10    2477124

Replying To seadog54:  "One final point, I think COR has enough honesty and integrity to admit he is not the right man for the job and will step down if he feels what he is doing is in some way holding Meath football back. Belive this will not happen and he will leave us in a better state than when he took over. Tony Mac is an outside manager paid to do a specific job and no reason for him to have a long term interest in future of Sligo football. We have a manager who has witnessed the decline and wants to do something about it. Doubt if he will still be manager when things get better but at least got us heading in right direction."
Allowing for the caveat of the talent in the county not being up to scratch where is the evidence we are going in the right direction. We are even worse than last year when the county board cut the legs from the management team. We are far worse than 2 years ago and a miles off the level of 3 and 4 years ago. Tony McEntee is an outside manager yes but getting Sligo up to division 3, getting them a Tailteann cup semi final. Giving a better platform and level for their successful under 20 teams to come into. That's clearly getting them in the right direction and helping the long term of Sligo football. How is there any evidence at all Meath are going in the right direction this year. We've played 8 competitive games and only played well in 1 of them. The performances just got worse and worse. Our 2 worst performances were the last 2

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1471 - 09/05/2023 23:39:33    2477152

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Allowing for the caveat of the talent in the county not being up to scratch where is the evidence we are going in the right direction. We are even worse than last year when the county board cut the legs from the management team. We are far worse than 2 years ago and a miles off the level of 3 and 4 years ago. Tony McEntee is an outside manager yes but getting Sligo up to division 3, getting them a Tailteann cup semi final. Giving a better platform and level for their successful under 20 teams to come into. That's clearly getting them in the right direction and helping the long term of Sligo football. How is there any evidence at all Meath are going in the right direction this year. We've played 8 competitive games and only played well in 1 of them. The performances just got worse and worse. Our 2 worst performances were the last 2"
Absolutely agree with this. It's an analytical approach to where we are. We can bury our heads in the sand all we like. But unless management changes things very quickly the next incumbent will actually be where some people on here think we were when Colm came in. We have gone back at an alarming rate. I'm sure Colm knows this but I believe he is dogmatic and sees football been played in a different way, the unfortunate reality about that is it's so easy countered these days we are been beat by teams who are individually not better than us. The lack of consistency and belief in the team is all the evidence anyone should need.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/05/2023 09:42:05    2477185

I think every Meath supporter knows our status at present..There are problems yes .no argument. There have been problems for years ..no argument. What do we do now ? surely thats the only relevant question. We looked for a new manager a few months ago .We got one He no more than anybody else was not made to measure for the role .Anyway, apart from that ,the response to the vacancy was very poor. Because of our status the Meath gig is not attractive to the established few managers who might with adjustments and learning fit into the role in time. So we had a few shapes thrown One or two big names got some publicity in case they might be forgotten . Not a snowballs chance they were interested in Meaths recovery.
We got Colm eventually after some reluctance on his part to take the job . He stated quite clearly he would give it 2 years to see some better results or he would go. I BUY THAT ! So after a few months am i happy . NO ! Do i want him to go NO. Is it fair to make a judgement call on him at this time ..NO......Has he made mistakes YES . So what now ?
Firstly we have to see beyond frustration and yes try to be contructive. Somebody said Colm does not listen enough to coaches .I dont know . Colm should ask himself that one! WE do know that Colm said he does not have all the technical stuff and will bring in expertise. Well thats no big deal ..thats his job as manager. Why is it not done? presumably seen as too soon maybe. So what now ? Will Colm O Rourke learn and adjust.... Thats my banker .he will ! What qualities are required now . O Rourke leads work in the trenches using every possible resourse. He will do that any way ,and wont need reminders from anyone. I divert to show and remind of his qualities and willingness to dig in .1991 all ireland final against Down . O Rourke out of a sich bed comes on and displays true grit and sheer guts ,his value system and how it works. oK WHATS THAT GOT TO DO WITH ANYTHING ? Personal qualities dont evaporate ! They transfer to other situations when the chips are down . O Rourke will be wiser and adjust as needed as a manager . I applaud his courage to try to improve our lot. Players who are willing to get into the trenches with him i applaud them too. Yes it will be slow recovery . I t will happen .Absolutely no surrender! If thats old fashioned
so be it . That was the culture for years .I just want to see those days again . We can begin next match!
P.S. Maybe we supporters could help by asking ourselves how can we better help from the trenches? Constructive critisism i suggest is all i can think of. onwards and upwards !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 10/05/2023 11:16:24    2477244

How in all seriousness can you say he has got us heading in the right direction? What evidence is there to back up your claim? Please elaborate .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 10/05/2023 11:20:43    2477247

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Allowing for the caveat of the talent in the county not being up to scratch where is the evidence we are going in the right direction. We are even worse than last year when the county board cut the legs from the management team. We are far worse than 2 years ago and a miles off the level of 3 and 4 years ago. Tony McEntee is an outside manager yes but getting Sligo up to division 3, getting them a Tailteann cup semi final. Giving a better platform and level for their successful under 20 teams to come into. That's clearly getting them in the right direction and helping the long term of Sligo football. How is there any evidence at all Meath are going in the right direction this year. We've played 8 competitive games and only played well in 1 of them. The performances just got worse and worse. Our 2 worst performances were the last 2"
I think majority of posters have concerns about recent results and so far there is no evidence of improvement. Thats mot to say we should loose faith and start all over again. You said in an ealier post we have been borderline TC level for ten years now and its hard to disagree. Something has to change about the way we do things or we will remain in also ran bracket. COR seems to think we have the players to improve Meath which is good to hear. Yes Tony Mac won two TC games, London and Leitrim and got promoted from Div four and fair play to them, but that has little to do with us. If we keep the focus on ourselves and ignore the ups and downs of others I belive things will improve. COR has faith in the players and hopefully they start to repay that in coming games.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 10/05/2023 11:39:57    2477257

Replying To Blackspot09:  "How in all seriousness can you say he has got us heading in the right direction? What evidence is there to back up your claim? Please elaborate ."
My point was improvement will come if given time, hopefully over next year or two, however, he may have moved on but left a soliid foundation behind him I am not claiming anything, as with all posters its only an opinion, combined with hope we can finally get our house in order.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 10/05/2023 12:16:45    2477270

Replying To nobull456:  "I think every Meath supporter knows our status at present..There are problems yes .no argument. There have been problems for years ..no argument. What do we do now ? surely thats the only relevant question. We looked for a new manager a few months ago .We got one He no more than anybody else was not made to measure for the role .Anyway, apart from that ,the response to the vacancy was very poor. Because of our status the Meath gig is not attractive to the established few managers who might with adjustments and learning fit into the role in time. So we had a few shapes thrown One or two big names got some publicity in case they might be forgotten . Not a snowballs chance they were interested in Meaths recovery.
We got Colm eventually after some reluctance on his part to take the job . He stated quite clearly he would give it 2 years to see some better results or he would go. I BUY THAT ! So after a few months am i happy . NO ! Do i want him to go NO. Is it fair to make a judgement call on him at this time ..NO......Has he made mistakes YES . So what now ?
Firstly we have to see beyond frustration and yes try to be contructive. Somebody said Colm does not listen enough to coaches .I dont know . Colm should ask himself that one! WE do know that Colm said he does not have all the technical stuff and will bring in expertise. Well thats no big deal ..thats his job as manager. Why is it not done? presumably seen as too soon maybe. So what now ? Will Colm O Rourke learn and adjust.... Thats my banker .he will ! What qualities are required now . O Rourke leads work in the trenches using every possible resourse. He will do that any way ,and wont need reminders from anyone. I divert to show and remind of his qualities and willingness to dig in .1991 all ireland final against Down . O Rourke out of a sich bed comes on and displays true grit and sheer guts ,his value system and how it works. oK WHATS THAT GOT TO DO WITH ANYTHING ? Personal qualities dont evaporate ! They transfer to other situations when the chips are down . O Rourke will be wiser and adjust as needed as a manager . I applaud his courage to try to improve our lot. Players who are willing to get into the trenches with him i applaud them too. Yes it will be slow recovery . I t will happen .Absolutely no surrender! If thats old fashioned
so be it . That was the culture for years .I just want to see those days again . We can begin next match!
P.S. Maybe we supporters could help by asking ourselves how can we better help from the trenches? Constructive critisism i suggest is all i can think of. onwards and upwards !"
Well summed up, I fully understand the desire for instant improvement, but rarely can the bounce be sustained long term. Would prefer for the pain to be front loaded instead of what being on for years now. COR seems to have faith in this group and refused to lay the blame at their door, t least in public, I expect whatt goes on behind closed doors is diffrent. The usuall rumours abound, player said this or that, Colm wont listen to coaches and so on, just rumours and serve little purpose only to sow discontent all part of social media.Its a double header in PT on Saturday and we need to get out and show support for the effort both teams put in.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 10/05/2023 12:35:18    2477278

Find it laughable that you think he has us in the right direction. We haven't won a game since the first weekend in February, how is that leading us in the right direction. I feel like people only say this because Colm is a meath legend, there is absolutely no logical explanation to say he has us leading in the right direct. Regards you're point on Tony mac, why would he not have long term interest, them doing well looks so well on what he has done out there, who cares if we have a manager who has 'witnessed a decline', everyone in Ireland can see that we are a 'declining' county. Further, a lot of people want to do something about it, but he is in the position to do so, do you think starting eoin harkin against kildare and dropping him that night is us as a county going into the right direction?

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 10/05/2023 12:50:23    2477292

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Find it laughable that you think he has us in the right direction. We haven't won a game since the first weekend in February, how is that leading us in the right direction. I feel like people only say this because Colm is a meath legend, there is absolutely no logical explanation to say he has us leading in the right direct. Regards you're point on Tony mac, why would he not have long term interest, them doing well looks so well on what he has done out there, who cares if we have a manager who has 'witnessed a decline', everyone in Ireland can see that we are a 'declining' county. Further, a lot of people want to do something about it, but he is in the position to do so, do you think starting eoin harkin against kildare and dropping him that night is us as a county going into the right direction?"
Read my post, not going over whole thing again. As I said its just my opinion and if it gives you a laugh fair enough. Dont claim an insight into the working of team, Harkin had his chance and his form had dipped so was released back to club with understanding door is open. We complained for years panel was too static and new blood not getting chance, that has changed but still some are unhappy. Tony ĺMac will move on if a better offer arrives and thats the way of things. What people want to do something about it? Where were they over last few years, as ususll happy to sit back and complain from sideline.My opinion may well change this time next year, until then happy to give all concerned my full support.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 10/05/2023 13:37:42    2477318

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Find it laughable that you think he has us in the right direction. We haven't won a game since the first weekend in February, how is that leading us in the right direction. I feel like people only say this because Colm is a meath legend, there is absolutely no logical explanation to say he has us leading in the right direct. Regards you're point on Tony mac, why would he not have long term interest, them doing well looks so well on what he has done out there, who cares if we have a manager who has 'witnessed a decline', everyone in Ireland can see that we are a 'declining' county. Further, a lot of people want to do something about it, but he is in the position to do so, do you think starting eoin harkin against kildare and dropping him that night is us as a county going into the right direction?"
I can't believe I see someone writing sense and calling out the bs some posters put. Notice they never say WHAT will be the improvement? What is expected? What do they think we will achieve next year ? What improvements will we see

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/05/2023 15:55:12    2477372

Replying To Blackspot09:  "The regional championship?? He literally had nothing whatsoever to do with it. It was due to start a few years ago but due to covid it was put on hold. And again this year he had absolutely no involvement in it at all."
I see we have a few parrots on the forum now which is greet one of my all time favourite birds, the regional championships were indeed suppose to start before o rourke got involved but it did make its debute during the start of his tenure, o rourke is a very hands on manager and I'm sure as one of its main purposes was to identify talent for the meath senior team that I'm sure o rourke had helped out in setting it up, anyway on the match on Saturday I'm looking forward to seeing what team is picked and hopefully the injuries to walsh Jones keogan have cleared up, I think meath at 11/2 with the bookies is a good value bet as we should be there or there abouts. Hon the royals and keep the faith.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 10/05/2023 16:54:34    2477398

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I see we have a few parrots on the forum now which is greet one of my all time favourite birds, the regional championships were indeed suppose to start before o rourke got involved but it did make its debute during the start of his tenure, o rourke is a very hands on manager and I'm sure as one of its main purposes was to identify talent for the meath senior team that I'm sure o rourke had helped out in setting it up, anyway on the match on Saturday I'm looking forward to seeing what team is picked and hopefully the injuries to walsh Jones keogan have cleared up, I think meath at 11/2 with the bookies is a good value bet as we should be there or there abouts. Hon the royals and keep the faith."
Except he had literally nothing whatsoever to do with the setting up or organizing of the regional championships. Neither did the man before him Andy Mac by the way who was the Meath manager when it was meant to start up. I'm sure Colm did and Andy would have used it to try and identify potential new talents but trying to land it as a plus for any manager is laughable. Its one of few things we can actually compliment the County Board on getting up and running.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 11/05/2023 10:15:09    2477504