Club Championship 2023

Replying To Blackspot09:  "This is an odd post.

A lad gets taken off and you are implying his transfer isn't working out??"
If you read my post again I also said he was very poor against summerhill not scoring at all in that game and only one points yesterday

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 14/08/2023 18:28:30    2500548

Replying To COUNTYTOCOUNTY:  "What a weekend of club football.
Dunsh comfortable really and gathering good momentum, they can do damage if they play at 100%, Costello is the business. The Ha showing the pretenders of Meath football how to score goals they were too top heavy the other day and have finally sorted it i think.
Simonstown doing another good job on a big named forward to go 2/2. Dunsh and Simonstown can cause a big upset. McKeever the hero, thought Dunboyne were by far the better side. Sench bottling a massive lead is no surprise, no fitness whatsoever and a full back whos had 2-17 kicked off him in two games. Lynch V Lenihan shootout in a place for the QF.
Are the Cilles just a league team?? i really over-hyped them. They might be in the running for the pretenders crown. Ratoath will be looking at leinster so whoever is second in meath may just take it and be happy. Skyrne my favs to go down. Moynalvey to qualify.
Very good game in PT for 11mins until Sran Finnegan decided to be stupid. Ive watched Tones for a while now and this lad loves the attention- a great player with 0 sense. Summerhill will take some stopping for anyone other than ratoath, they are ticking away nicely and can relax now in Round 3, Will be interesting if they draw each other before that.
Bracks bringing it to a round 3 shootout V Tones, very impressive dismantling of a poor kells side who are in relegation for first time in 10 years.

My Players of the round - Aaron Lynch and James Toher (Trim), Cillian O'Sullivan (Moynalvey) Jack O'Connor (Curraha) Josh Carolan (Simonstown) Eogahn Frayne (SHill)"
Don't think the runners up in this years championship will just take it and be happy. Summerhill are being disrespected here I think some people believe its a forgone conclusion that ratoath will win the Keegan, however I don't believe it will be by any stretch. Ratoath have played nobody yet in championship in Skryne and Moynalvey (the two teams favorite for relegation), while Summerhill have played the Tones and the bracks ( two teams that will be good contest for whoever they play). They have beaten both teams convincingly enough and reports say that they haven't played well for the whole game in either game, only played in patches and blew both teams away. To say that they will be happy to take second place and be happy with it is incredibly wrong, the last three times the two teams have met there has only been a point in it twice with ratoath winning and a draw once. This could change come October...

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 14/08/2023 20:36:10    2500561

Replying To Blackspot09:  "This is an odd post.

A lad gets taken off and you are implying his transfer isn't working out??"
If u read my post again I made more than one point on the reason its not working out for him

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 15/08/2023 09:44:33    2500585

Replying To Meathboyos86:  "Don't think the runners up in this years championship will just take it and be happy. Summerhill are being disrespected here I think some people believe its a forgone conclusion that ratoath will win the Keegan, however I don't believe it will be by any stretch. Ratoath have played nobody yet in championship in Skryne and Moynalvey (the two teams favorite for relegation), while Summerhill have played the Tones and the bracks ( two teams that will be good contest for whoever they play). They have beaten both teams convincingly enough and reports say that they haven't played well for the whole game in either game, only played in patches and blew both teams away. To say that they will be happy to take second place and be happy with it is incredibly wrong, the last three times the two teams have met there has only been a point in it twice with ratoath winning and a draw once. This could change come October..."
Indeed. Nothing is won after two games of the group stages. This time 4 years ago, after Summerhill beat us in the group, it was confidently stated by many here that Ratoath would never win anything after such a poor performance. Now, we've won 3 Keegan Cups in 4 years.
We've played and convincingly beaten two relatively poor teams so far so nothing can really be extrapolated from those games. Summerhill have been equally (if not more) impressive against better teams on paper. They have gotten closer to us each time we've played them in the knockouts since the 2019 final win and they should have beaten us last year. If (potentially when) the two sides meet in the knockouts, there won't be much between them.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 15/08/2023 10:12:13    2500589

Replying To thelutch:  "Only 4 out of 4 for me also.
Was a weekend of some strange scorelines and results but round 2 is always do or die for teams.

Fair play to Moynalvey and Curraha, huge results for both clubs and leaves them in with a chance of making quarters.

The relegation could be very interesting also, two giants of Meath Football down through the years already in it with Kells and Skyrne.

NOW THIS IS WHERE I THINK THE RELEGATION SETUP IS A TERRIBLE BAD IDEA BECAUSE I WILL EXPLAIN IT NOW.

Lets take group C

Skyrne have nothing to play for now as they can only achieve 2 points. What would I do if I was managing Skyrne ?
Id be preparing for the quarter final of relegation which means I would be holding back any lads that are carrying knocks and certainly holding back my Top player or 2. This gives Moynalvey a massive advantage now in race for 2nd because Ratoath could dish out a 10 point win to secure top spot and Moynalvey win by 3 will put them through on score difference.

NOW IF IT WAS ONLY ONE TEAM INTO RELEGATION YOU END UP WITH A FIERCE BATTLE BETWEEN SKYRNE AND MOYNALVEY TO TO AVOID FINISHING BOTTOM !!!

So group A

Still all to play for which is great. Correct me if I'm wrong but did don/Ash qualify before with just 2 points on score difference ? lightening strike twice ? If am wrong I apologise.

Group B

Dead rubber With Simonstown and Senchalstown now BUT if it was only bottom team into relegation, Senchalstown could still finish 3rd and avoid it.

Group C

As explained above.

Group D

One dead Rubber between The Hill and Kells , no hope of Kells making third.

Conclusion

Three dead rubbers but there could be only one if relegation was different.

Also , A team with 3 or 4 points should not be going into relegation with teams who have none.

LASTLY

Its time to seed the championship and change relegation.

4 semi finalists in one pot A
4 beaten quarter finalists in pot B
4 teams who finish third in pot C
3 Teams who stayed up and intermediate winner into pot D

Just my opinion."
Agree with everything in this post.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 15/08/2023 11:11:55    2500602

Was a weekend of some strange scorelines and results but round 2 is always do or die for teams.

Fair play to Moynalvey and Curraha, huge results for both clubs and leaves them in with a chance of making quarters.

The relegation could be very interesting also, two giants of Meath Football down through the years already in it with Kells and Skyrne.

NOW THIS IS WHERE I THINK THE RELEGATION SETUP IS A TERRIBLE BAD IDEA BECAUSE I WILL EXPLAIN IT NOW.

Lets take group C

Skyrne have nothing to play for now as they can only achieve 2 points. What would I do if I was managing Skyrne ?
Id be preparing for the quarter final of relegation which means I would be holding back any lads that are carrying knocks and certainly holding back my Top player or 2. This gives Moynalvey a massive advantage now in race for 2nd because Ratoath could dish out a 10 point win to secure top spot and Moynalvey win by 3 will put them through on score difference.

NOW IF IT WAS ONLY ONE TEAM INTO RELEGATION YOU END UP WITH A FIERCE BATTLE BETWEEN SKYRNE AND MOYNALVEY TO TO AVOID FINISHING BOTTOM !!!

So group A

Still all to play for which is great. Correct me if I'm wrong but did don/Ash qualify before with just 2 points on score difference ? lightening strike twice ? If am wrong I apologise.

Group B

Dead rubber With Simonstown and Senchalstown now BUT if it was only bottom team into relegation, Senchalstown could still finish 3rd and avoid it.

Group C

As explained above.

Group D

Conclusion

Also , A team with 3 or 4 points should not be going into relegation with teams who have none.

LASTLY

Just my opinion."
Fully agree here and said the same when this format was first released. Bottom of each group only going into a relegation semi final is the best way to keep every game competitive and to avoid dead rubbers. This BS of 'more games for players' is absolute rubbish which was said when it was mentioned about reducing the numbers in senior and intermediate and also in reducing the number of teams in the leagues. Group C in particular would still be very interesting if that was the case, but now it is basically two nothing games being played. Group A is still interesting due tot he fact that all can still qualify.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 15/08/2023 11:19:53    2500604

Lets take group C

So group A

Group B

Group C

As explained above.

Group D

Conclusion

LASTLY

Just my opinion."
Seneschalstown are guaranteed to be bottom. They've lost to Dunboyne and Trim and can only finish level with one of them and both have the head to head on them.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 15/08/2023 11:22:22    2500608

Replying To Meathboyos86:  "Don't think the runners up in this years championship will just take it and be happy. Summerhill are being disrespected here I think some people believe its a forgone conclusion that ratoath will win the Keegan, however I don't believe it will be by any stretch. Ratoath have played nobody yet in championship in Skryne and Moynalvey (the two teams favorite for relegation), while Summerhill have played the Tones and the bracks ( two teams that will be good contest for whoever they play). They have beaten both teams convincingly enough and reports say that they haven't played well for the whole game in either game, only played in patches and blew both teams away. To say that they will be happy to take second place and be happy with it is incredibly wrong, the last three times the two teams have met there has only been a point in it twice with ratoath winning and a draw once. This could change come October..."
I didn't say they will be happy i said should. Let's be real here, Ratoath are the best team in the county bar none. They have county players all over the pitch and even on the bench, Summerhill are a great team and without any disrespect to them they don't know how to win a Keegan. They have been in 4 and cannot get over the line. If Ratoath don't cross a Dublin Club until the Leinster Final they should be in with a chance of winning it.

COUNTYTOCOUNTY (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 15/08/2023 11:54:37    2500610

Replying To royal1967:  "If u read my post again I made more than one point on the reason its not working out for him"
Don't need to read it again.

Its an odd post. Implying a lads transfer isn't working out because he's not playing that well at the moment is bizarre. All players have dips in form. I've seen the bracks play a few times since the start of last year and in those games he was very good.

Adam Flanagan playing well at the moment but saw them last year once or twice and he was anonymous and don't remember anyone questioning his transfer not working out. Same if he has two bad games in the round 3 and the 1/4s which can happen does that mean his transfer isn't working?

It's just a strange take on it in my opinion. I prefer to judge him on his entire time with the bracks so far. I'm not the man to do that but I'm sure there are some bracks lads on here who can.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 15/08/2023 12:03:55    2500613

Replying To ratlag:  "Not to bad in round 1 but a few teams did surprise me, hopefully closer to a full house this weekend
Group A
Dunshaughlin vs Na Fianna: Dunshaughlin
Na Fianna surprised me the last week in beating the Ha, managed well without Walsh and defensively stodd up well against a decent set f forwards. Dunshaughlin edged out a tight game against Ashbourne, but losing Niall Murphy will be a massive blow to them. I think this will be another very close game for them but they will just about come out the right side of a one score game in the end.

Donaghmore/Ashbourne vs Curragha: Don/Ash
A poor performance against Dunshaughlin last week and yet they still could have won the game. Didn't take advanatge of Grays black card. Curragha have the forwards to trouble Ashboure just as Dunshaughlin did but I think they won't have the defenders to keep out the Ashbourne attack. I think Ashbourne should win comfortably but as I said last week, it depends on what Ashbourne show up.

Group B
Dunboyne vs Simonstown: Simonstown
A good win last week for both teams, Lenihan leading the line excellently for Dunboyne, while Simonstown did as I though and parked the bus to frustrate Trim and win a low scoring affair. Leno away on his honeymoon isn't ideal preparation and I think another display or defensive counter attacking football from Simonstown will see them eek out another low scoring victory to make it 2 from 2..

Trim vs Seneschalstown: Trim
Win or gone in this one so could be an absolute shoot out or just as easily be a tight cagey affair. Trim need to make the space for Lynch do do his damage. Senchalstown beaten by Lenihan basically and face another team with one main attacking threat. IF they shut him down they can win easily but I'm not to sure if they can so I will edge to a Trim win by the smallest of margins

Group C
Moynalvey vs St Colmcilles: Cilles
Moynalvey far more impressive than I had imagined against Ratoath and while they never looked like troubling the Champions, they were not blown away by any stretch of the imagination. Cilles were very poor against Skryne and against a better attacking team would have lost. If Moynalvey can stay solid defensively and get O Sullivan and McLoughlin on the ball they could potentially cause a shock but I don't imagine Cilles will be that poor two games in a row so will go with them for the win.

Ratoath vs Skyrne: Ratoath
Ratoath never came out of second gear in round one and this will be no different. Injuries to McGill from last week only adds to a crowded physio room but they will have to much depth and talent at their disposal for a very average Skryne team.

Group D
Summerhill vs Wolfe tones: Summerhill
Tones surprised I think everyone by the manner in which they beat Kells. They look better than I had given them credit for and will give the Hill a much tougher test than I would have predicted 2 weeks ago, however I still don't think they will win. Summerhill were slow to get going against a well drilled and decent Bracks team, however when they got going they showed they are by no means willing to just allow Ratoath take another county title and will be in around the mix once again come the end of the year.

Kells vs Ballinabrackey: Bracks
I couldn't believe how badly beaten Kells were against Tones and would ordinarily be saying that they would be looking to bounce back with a vengeance, however I think the Bracks are a team that nobody will want to play when the NEED a win. Kells missing the Reillys massively and although hes a good player still, have no apparent replacement or heir to Beano who at 36 (I think) is not the player he once was. I think the Bracks will set up to frustrate Kells and pick them off near the end of the game"
Another 6 out of 8 again this week. The Ha doing to Ashbourne what I thought they would do to Na Fianna. Strange decision at the end to just kick the free wide instead of over the bar seeing how tight the group is and score difference could be a factor.
Ashbourne doing their usual failing to show up but could still end up in a Quarter final if they manage to beat Na Fianna which is still likely if they actually play to their potential (That is an almighty IF though at this stage) and Dunshaughlin make it 3 from 3 against the HA, although depending on the injury to Gray that would be a massive loss to them.

Moynalvey the other one to let me down and I have to hold my hands up and say it looks like I was completely wrong about them. I had them pegged as certs to go down but their showing against Ratoath coupled with a draw against another under whelming team in Cilles means that they could make a Quarter final themselves if they beat a terrible Skryne team and Ratoath do them a favour in their game.

Skryne and Kells already in the relegation which is probably a bit of a surprise but knockout football is a different animal and I wouldn't be saying either are dead just yet although both will need to up their games considerably

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 15/08/2023 12:39:32    2500620

Nothing guaranteed at this point - still plenty to play for!

I think the teams looking in best form at this point are Ratoath, Summerhill, Dunshaughlin and Simonstown! Summerhill have a good squad and will have learned lessons from the past few years! Dunshaughlin have a young team, gaining experience all the time and I believe have a few lads to come back from injury! Ratoath look very strong despite missing a few players - not sure if they will get the likes of Rogers or Joey W back. I haven't seen Simonstown yet and I'm surprised they are going as well as they are!

I thin the winners are likely to come from these plus maybe Tones! despite having 14 men for a big part of the game they stayed in it!!

I know a few Ratoath lads and they are 100% taking nothing for granted! I would say the people saying they will win it easy are from other clubs! Ratoath still have memories of their loss to Tones in 2020 fresh in their heads - they won't take anyone lightly I'd say!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 482 - 15/08/2023 12:47:41    2500622

Replying To COUNTYTOCOUNTY:  "I didn't say they will be happy i said should. Let's be real here, Ratoath are the best team in the county bar none. They have county players all over the pitch and even on the bench, Summerhill are a great team and without any disrespect to them they don't know how to win a Keegan. They have been in 4 and cannot get over the line. If Ratoath don't cross a Dublin Club until the Leinster Final they should be in with a chance of winning it."
Would agree with a lot of the above apart from the last part regarding Ratoath in Leinster. They have not come across a Dublin club in Leinster yet and have ended up losing to two Westmeath teams, one of which have since been relegated to Intermediate in Westmeath. Ratoath were deservedly beaten on both occasions.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 937 - 15/08/2023 13:31:33    2500628

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Nothing guaranteed at this point - still plenty to play for!

I think the teams looking in best form at this point are Ratoath, Summerhill, Dunshaughlin and Simonstown! Summerhill have a good squad and will have learned lessons from the past few years! Dunshaughlin have a young team, gaining experience all the time and I believe have a few lads to come back from injury! Ratoath look very strong despite missing a few players - not sure if they will get the likes of Rogers or Joey W back. I haven't seen Simonstown yet and I'm surprised they are going as well as they are!

I thin the winners are likely to come from these plus maybe Tones! despite having 14 men for a big part of the game they stayed in it!!

I know a few Ratoath lads and they are 100% taking nothing for granted! I would say the people saying they will win it easy are from other clubs! Ratoath still have memories of their loss to Tones in 2020 fresh in their heads - they won't take anyone lightly I'd say!"
3 of them 4 finished inside the top 4 in the league... Is there anything to be said about carrying league form over to championship? Ratoath haven't lost a game all year as far as I am aware, although they should have been beat in the league final and the last two league games were touch and go. Summerhill lost and drew their last two but won 7/11 league games. Simonstown have gone 7 games ( 5 in league 2 in championship) unbeaten - a team some here were tipping to finish last in their group.
I do agree Ratoath look extremely strong and i cannot see another outcome other than them lifting the Keegan.
Some serious questions need to be asked of Cilles - twice in a row they have been excellent in the league (this years only losses were first round V Simonstown and V Ratoath in Round 10) and probably should have won the league. Then they go onto eriously under perform in league - What is the issue here

COUNTYTOCOUNTY (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 15/08/2023 14:00:54    2500638

Simonstown are one of only two teams (after 2 rounds) who are guaranteed to top their group, yet in scoring terms they are only the 12th of the 16 teams in relation to scoring (2-17).
Only Skryne, Gael Colmcille, St Colmcilles & Moynalvey have scored less.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 15/08/2023 14:50:38    2500645

Lets take group C

So group A

Group B

Group C

As explained above.

Group D

Conclusion

LASTLY

Just my opinion."
There are no dead rubber games in next round

In relegation finishing 3rd gives you a Q final against a team who finished last which is potentially an easier game for survival

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 15/08/2023 15:32:53    2500651

Interesting the poster above mentioning Tones going down to 14

Theyve had red cards in the last two rounds of the hurling championship as well as at the weekend. Seems to he a club wide discipline issue

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 15/08/2023 15:41:55    2500652

Replying To Meathball:  "Simonstown are one of only two teams (after 2 rounds) who are guaranteed to top their group, yet in scoring terms they are only the 12th of the 16 teams in relation to scoring (2-17).
Only Skryne, Gael Colmcille, St Colmcilles & Moynalvey have scored less."
Who is the other one..?? Felt like Group B was the more evenly matched group but Simonstown have shone well. Listened to it on WAM and sounded like a smash and grab by them.
I doubt they care how much they have scored considering they are in a QF. Who has conceded the least? I'm sure Simonstown will be in the top 3 if they have only scored the 4th highest but are top of their group and into the knockouts

COUNTYTOCOUNTY (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 15/08/2023 15:50:32    2500655

Replying To Awaywin:  "There are no dead rubber games in next round

In relegation finishing 3rd gives you a Q final against a team who finished last which is potentially an easier game for survival"
Simonstown v Seneschalstown is a dead rubber. Simonstown guaranteed top spot and Seneschalstown guaranteed to be bottom.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 15/08/2023 16:04:33    2500662

Replying To Meathball:  "Simonstown are one of only two teams (after 2 rounds) who are guaranteed to top their group, yet in scoring terms they are only the 12th of the 16 teams in relation to scoring (2-17).
Only Skryne, Gael Colmcille, St Colmcilles & Moynalvey have scored less."
What does it matter what they have scored if they are conceding less.
They scored 23 points against Ratoath last year and lost by 8 points.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 15/08/2023 18:58:48    2500680

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Simonstown v Seneschalstown is a dead rubber. Simonstown guaranteed top spot and Seneschalstown guaranteed to be bottom."
Kells and summerhill the same.

Islander21 (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 15/08/2023 19:19:00    2500682