Club Championship 2023

Replying To COUNTYTOCOUNTY:  "Meath SFC round 2 predictions
Group A Dunshaughlin vs NaFianna : Dunsh will be winning comfortably here looking at how they were v Curraha. Walsh out for the year will cost NaF in the long run as they still rely on the queenys. Expect this to be close for 35-40 mins and then Dunsh to steam roll. Dunsh by 7
Ashbourne V Curraha : The pretenders of Meath football could be in relegation play-offs after this one, if Curraha push Moriarty on and put McEntee at 6 they can exploit a bad Ashbourne side. The Ha by 2

Group B Dunboyne V Simonstown : A tasty tie if it lives up to expected this weekend as i expect both of these to come out of the group. Dunboyne very reliant on Lenihan but Sench played into this giving him acres. Simonstown were shocking V Trim, brilliant defensively, horrific going forward, had Brian Conlons brother at 14 and never kicked the ball with a gale force wind. Draw with goals.
Sench V Trim : Pressume finnegan will be back after his stint in the US, if Lynch is kept to 0-0 it could be massive for sench with a young team coming through. I wouldn't be surprised to see sench clip this one with Trim investing in the hurling. Sench by 1

Group C Moynalvey V Cilles : Cilles should be winning this handy enough really but as always we don't know what Cilles will turn up. If Moynalvey can turn this into a scrappy dog fight they can get something but i suspect Jody Devine to get it right. Cilles by 10+
Skyrne V Ratoath : Ratoath gearing up for a Leinster challenge I'd imagine simply too strong for anyone. Skyrne have good young players coming through but with young Finnerty away they won't score much. Ratoath by 10-20
Two dead rubber last round games essentially.

Group D Tones V Summerhill : Game of the weekend without a doubt. Both Summerhill and Tones have the know how against big teams and are always in the business end. Summerhill i feel lack that little spark upfront while Tones are so good all over the pitch, Ward will be at 11 playing QuarterBack and if the Hill can stop him picking out the passes they will be doing well. Midfield will win this tie. If SHill start like they did V Bracks it'll be game over after 15mins as the Tones will shut up shop. Not going to sit on the fence with this, Tones by 2 based on first round performances
Kells V Bracks : The bracks are actually quite a good side and have just gotten horrendous championship groups the last two years, a very young and dogged side who are enjoyable to watch. Kells are getting slow and don't have many young footballers progressing through other than Tormey who plays at 12. Kells lacked spirit and quality V Tones, they were bullied from start to finish and i think the Bracks are a similar style of team to Tones just lacking a little more quality. Bracks to send Kells fighting for senior. Bracks by 3

On a side note is there any players that have impressed in the first round? Mak Devlin from Simonstown stood out for me, kept Lynch very quiet although was black carded after a referee mistake. Daire Lynch (Trim), Jeff Kavanagh (Cilles), Conor Sheppard ( Tones) and Cathal Hickey all impressive too"
What a weekend of club football.
Dunsh comfortable really and gathering good momentum, they can do damage if they play at 100%, Costello is the business. The Ha showing the pretenders of Meath football how to score goals they were too top heavy the other day and have finally sorted it i think.
Simonstown doing another good job on a big named forward to go 2/2. Dunsh and Simonstown can cause a big upset. McKeever the hero, thought Dunboyne were by far the better side. Sench bottling a massive lead is no surprise, no fitness whatsoever and a full back whos had 2-17 kicked off him in two games. Lynch V Lenihan shootout in a place for the QF.
Are the Cilles just a league team?? i really over-hyped them. They might be in the running for the pretenders crown. Ratoath will be looking at leinster so whoever is second in meath may just take it and be happy. Skyrne my favs to go down. Moynalvey to qualify.
Very good game in PT for 11mins until Sran Finnegan decided to be stupid. Ive watched Tones for a while now and this lad loves the attention- a great player with 0 sense. Summerhill will take some stopping for anyone other than ratoath, they are ticking away nicely and can relax now in Round 3, Will be interesting if they draw each other before that.
Bracks bringing it to a round 3 shootout V Tones, very impressive dismantling of a poor kells side who are in relegation for first time in 10 years.

My Players of the round - Aaron Lynch and James Toher (Trim), Cillian O'Sullivan (Moynalvey) Jack O'Connor (Curraha) Josh Carolan (Simonstown) Eogahn Frayne (SHill)

COUNTYTOCOUNTY (Meath) - Posts: 23 - 14/08/2023 10:54:03    2500426

Well 2 rounds done and the cream has certainly come to the top, Summerhill sent out a warning shot to everyone with their ruthless display against a very soft Tones team. Ratoath responded with a thumping of Skryne certainly the top 2 in the county. The rest a mile off. The race for relegation is more interesting we are in trouble after falling to the Bracks but Skryne look to be in trouble as well, Moynalvy were favourite to go down but appear to have improved or is it the rest of that group are so poor. Ashbourne also in trouble but will survive. Interesting times indeed.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 14/08/2023 12:53:39    2500460

I see niall Smullen taken off for the bracks yesterday and i seen him play against summerhill(very poor) just doesn't seem his transfer is working out for him

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 14/08/2023 13:00:14    2500461

Replying To royal1967:  "I see niall Smullen taken off for the bracks yesterday and i seen him play against summerhill(very poor) just doesn't seem his transfer is working out for him"
There were 5 subs taken off and niall appears to have been the last when match was won. What's the agenda. Dont hear you mentioning Summerhill's midfielder.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 14/08/2023 13:32:26    2500469

Who do people predict to come first and second in each group . Group A for example technically nobody through and 3/4 teams can top the group . If you take the big 2 out of it the Meath championship has never been as competitive

Pead0bum84 (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 14/08/2023 13:49:47    2500477

Replying To royal1967:  "I see niall Smullen taken off for the bracks yesterday and i seen him play against summerhill(very poor) just doesn't seem his transfer is working out for him"
This is an odd post.

A lad gets taken off and you are implying his transfer isn't working out??

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 14/08/2023 13:54:22    2500479

Replying To Foley91:  "There were 5 subs taken off and niall appears to have been the last when match was won. What's the agenda. Dont hear you mentioning Summerhill's midfielder."
Sorry seem to hav hit a nerve I don't have an agenda just a observation as regards the summerhill midfielder I thought he had a good enough game against the bracks didn't hear anything from this weekend but seen summerhill report and he wasn't taken off

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 14/08/2023 14:04:58    2500484

Replying To latouche25:  "Well 2 rounds done and the cream has certainly come to the top, Summerhill sent out a warning shot to everyone with their ruthless display against a very soft Tones team. Ratoath responded with a thumping of Skryne certainly the top 2 in the county. The rest a mile off. The race for relegation is more interesting we are in trouble after falling to the Bracks but Skryne look to be in trouble as well, Moynalvy were favourite to go down but appear to have improved or is it the rest of that group are so poor. Ashbourne also in trouble but will survive. Interesting times indeed."
Senior Football Championship

Summerhill 2-13 Wolfe Tones 0-11

Simonstown 1-10 Dunboyne 0-11

Ratoath 7-14 Skryne 1-9

Ballinabrackey 2-13 Gaeil Colmcille 0-14

Curraha 4-4 Donaghmore Ashbourne 1-12

Trim 2-13 Seneschalstown 2-10

Dunshaughlin 2-10 Na Fianna 0-12

Moynalvey 0-10 St. Colmcilles 0-10

Not a great week for me on the prediction side with only 4 correct calls!!

I thought Cilles would have enough to get by Moynalvey although I did think it would be close! I believe Cillian O'Sullivan was outstanding for Moynalvey! Next round is very important for these two!

I thought Trim would struggle with so many absentees! But didn't realise Cathal Finnegan was away for Senechalstown. Hear Aaron Lynch was excellent!

I pick Don/Ash every year to be a contender! I'm a big fan of Curraha but didn't see them winning this! Delighted to have gotten that one wrong!! They have a serious forward unit!

Again, I always feel Dunboyne will go well and I thought Simonstowns best days were behind them! But got that wrong too!!

Dunshaughlin are motoring nicely and also have a couple of lads to come back - Luke Mitchell played a full game for their second string on Sunday I hear!

Summerhill got a good win against Tones although I see Tones had a number of lads in the bin at different stages. But Summerhill are real contenders!

Bracks seem to be really settling into Senior and will be hard for anyone to beat. Their next game against Tones could be a cracker!!

Ratoath made light work of Skyrne - I thought it would be a lot closer! I think if any team beats Ratoath they will take Keegan home!!

As always the relegation battle looks like it will be just as interesting as the main event!! Could Kells go down?? Or Skyrne!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 482 - 14/08/2023 14:25:10    2500487

Replying To Foley91:  "There were 5 subs taken off and niall appears to have been the last when match was won. What's the agenda. Dont hear you mentioning Summerhill's midfielder."
Adam Flanagan should be on the meath Panel, he's been fantastic for Summerhill!

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 14/08/2023 14:28:51    2500489

Flanagan playing well I'd say that's the reason he hasn't brought him up considering he said smullen was poor which I tend to agree with

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 14/08/2023 14:42:07    2500495

Was also at the game the bracks were unlucky not to score that goal by chrisno connor would of changed the game summerhill midfield seemed far to strong for the bracks to deal with and yes he was very poor that day sometimes when you leave your home club for a higher graded team doesnt always work out which appears to be the case

Ba7 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 14/08/2023 14:47:09    2500496

In Senior, after Round 2 it looks like everyone is battling to be the bridesmaid to Ratoath. Summerhill and maybe Dunshaughlin could go deep in the competition.

Intermediate is a lot more interesting, seems to be no clear favs, maybe O'Mahony's might push on after their win over Rathkenny. There's something to play for in almost all of the groups heading into the final round.

Fascinating match up between Duleek and Castletown in the round 3 to determine who tops the group, either of these teams are capable of a big championship run, maybe a bit soon for the latter but I always had these two getting out of the group.

Bective's win over another dismal Dunderry performance means their round 3 clash with Meath Hill is a winner takes all in group D.

Clann na nGael look best at Junior so far, huge win over a Syddan team many fancied as a team who could go all the way. St Brigid's look very comfortable at the level also after winning Junior B last year. Definitely one to watch.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 14/08/2023 15:11:55    2500501

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Senior Football Championship

Summerhill 2-13 Wolfe Tones 0-11

Simonstown 1-10 Dunboyne 0-11

Ratoath 7-14 Skryne 1-9

Ballinabrackey 2-13 Gaeil Colmcille 0-14

Curraha 4-4 Donaghmore Ashbourne 1-12

Trim 2-13 Seneschalstown 2-10

Dunshaughlin 2-10 Na Fianna 0-12

Moynalvey 0-10 St. Colmcilles 0-10

Not a great week for me on the prediction side with only 4 correct calls!!

I thought Cilles would have enough to get by Moynalvey although I did think it would be close! I believe Cillian O'Sullivan was outstanding for Moynalvey! Next round is very important for these two!

I thought Trim would struggle with so many absentees! But didn't realise Cathal Finnegan was away for Senechalstown. Hear Aaron Lynch was excellent!

I pick Don/Ash every year to be a contender! I'm a big fan of Curraha but didn't see them winning this! Delighted to have gotten that one wrong!! They have a serious forward unit!

Again, I always feel Dunboyne will go well and I thought Simonstowns best days were behind them! But got that wrong too!!

Dunshaughlin are motoring nicely and also have a couple of lads to come back - Luke Mitchell played a full game for their second string on Sunday I hear!

Summerhill got a good win against Tones although I see Tones had a number of lads in the bin at different stages. But Summerhill are real contenders!

Bracks seem to be really settling into Senior and will be hard for anyone to beat. Their next game against Tones could be a cracker!!

Ratoath made light work of Skyrne - I thought it would be a lot closer! I think if any team beats Ratoath they will take Keegan home!!

As always the relegation battle looks like it will be just as interesting as the main event!! Could Kells go down?? Or Skyrne!"
Cathal Finnegan played for Senechalstown, and was probably their best performer on the day

Amarach (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 14/08/2023 15:44:39    2500509

Without 3 key defenders (McGill, McGowan, O Ferraigh) and two key attackers (Rogers, Wallace) Ratoath looked like they were out for a stroll yesterday. Hard to make a case against them and they'll only get better.

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 14/08/2023 15:44:52    2500510

are the quarter final fixtured predetermined by groups or is there a draw after the final rd.

Islander21 (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 14/08/2023 15:49:11    2500512

Replying To Islander21:  "are the quarter final fixtured predetermined by groups or is there a draw after the final rd."
Pretty sure it's a draw. All the top teams in one pot and 2nd placed teams in the other. And teams from the same group can't play each other again in the 1/4 finals

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 14/08/2023 16:33:23    2500524

Replying To Islander21:  "are the quarter final fixtured predetermined by groups or is there a draw after the final rd."
I believe it's group A vs B and C vs D. There should be a draw or some sort of seeding but that's just how it is.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 14/08/2023 16:40:17    2500529

Replying To hyperache:  "I believe it's group A vs B and C vs D. There should be a draw or some sort of seeding but that's just how it is."
It's a draw; 4 group winners drawn against 4 group runners up, with repeat pairings not allowed.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1650 - 14/08/2023 16:55:41    2500532

Replying To Amarach:  "Cathal Finnegan played for Senechalstown, and was probably their best performer on the day"
good stuff - was told on Saturday he was travelling!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 482 - 14/08/2023 16:56:57    2500533

Replying To thelutch:  "Na Fianna to scrape past Dunshauglin and book their place in the quarters
I fancy Donaghmore/Ash to bounce back and keep their qualification hopes alive

Dunboyne to also book their place in the quarters leaving Simonstown needing a win in the last round
Trim to just edge out Senchalstown and send them into another relegation battle.

Cilles will have a bit too much firing power for Moynalvey in this one.
Ratoath to win but not as comfortable as everyone will think, Cup final for Skyrne and they will put up a decent fight.

Summerhill and Tones probably the tie of the round, both teams will guarantee a quarter spot with a win so I expect a great contest. The way The Hill finished out the game in Rd 1 was impressive and know how to defend a lead, So ill just side with The Hill.

Bracks and Kells will both be very disappointed with their second half displays in Rd 1, I'm hoping my beloved Bracks can get the job done but will be a dogfight, but I'm also hoping The Hill win the early kick off as if the Tones win this will leave this game a dead rubber in my opinion. Even if we win and beat Tones our score difference will fall short as The Hill will beat Kells in last round."
Only 4 out of 4 for me also.
Was a weekend of some strange scorelines and results but round 2 is always do or die for teams.

Fair play to Moynalvey and Curraha, huge results for both clubs and leaves them in with a chance of making quarters.

The relegation could be very interesting also, two giants of Meath Football down through the years already in it with Kells and Skyrne.

NOW THIS IS WHERE I THINK THE RELEGATION SETUP IS A TERRIBLE BAD IDEA BECAUSE I WILL EXPLAIN IT NOW.

Lets take group C

Skyrne have nothing to play for now as they can only achieve 2 points. What would I do if I was managing Skyrne ?
Id be preparing for the quarter final of relegation which means I would be holding back any lads that are carrying knocks and certainly holding back my Top player or 2. This gives Moynalvey a massive advantage now in race for 2nd because Ratoath could dish out a 10 point win to secure top spot and Moynalvey win by 3 will put them through on score difference.

NOW IF IT WAS ONLY ONE TEAM INTO RELEGATION YOU END UP WITH A FIERCE BATTLE BETWEEN SKYRNE AND MOYNALVEY TO TO AVOID FINISHING BOTTOM !!!

So group A

Still all to play for which is great. Correct me if I'm wrong but did don/Ash qualify before with just 2 points on score difference ? lightening strike twice ? If am wrong I apologise.

Group B

Dead rubber With Simonstown and Senchalstown now BUT if it was only bottom team into relegation, Senchalstown could still finish 3rd and avoid it.

Group C

As explained above.

Group D

One dead Rubber between The Hill and Kells , no hope of Kells making third.

Conclusion

Three dead rubbers but there could be only one if relegation was different.

Also , A team with 3 or 4 points should not be going into relegation with teams who have none.

LASTLY

Its time to seed the championship and change relegation.

4 semi finalists in one pot A
4 beaten quarter finalists in pot B
4 teams who finish third in pot C
3 Teams who stayed up and intermediate winner into pot D

Just my opinion.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 14/08/2023 17:40:42    2500536