Club Championship 2023

Replying To hyperache:  "Few shocks last night, especially at Intermediate. Nobber and Drumbaragh with huge wins, both were probably favs for relegation before the game.

St Pat's were outstanding too, they beat a good Meath Hill side comfortably, scoreline flatter Meath Hill a bit because Pats were definitely superior.

From what I've seen so far, Rathkenny are a cut above the rest at Intermediate and my favs to win outright, will be interesting to see how they get on against NOM tomorrow. St Pat's and Duleek are probably best of the rest.

Thought that was a big result for Dunshaughlin last night too, Na Fianna are a very solid senior team and they always seemed to be in control. Ruairi Kinsella is a very good talent and it was good to see him hit 1-3 from play. Not sure how bad Conor Gray's injury is though, would be a big loss for them if he were to go.

Colmcille's disappointing too, thought they might have too much firepower but couldn't put the game to bed."
Colmcilles are the most overrated team on this forum
They where really poor v skyrne and again v Moynalvey
No denying they some good players but not as many as people on here think and on top of that they do not have a winning mentality
I heard one of their players got a yellow card for diving
This speaks volumes of who they are as a team

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 12/08/2023 16:20:48    2500205

Replying To Awaywin:  "Colmcilles are the most overrated team on this forum
They where really poor v skyrne and again v Moynalvey
No denying they some good players but not as many as people on here think and on top of that they do not have a winning mentality
I heard one of their players got a yellow card for diving
This speaks volumes of who they are as a team"
Colmcilles obviously don't tickle your fancy.
Very little has been written about their chances in the championship so I think you have your own agenda against them.
Granted, poor enough in their two matches to date but remain unbeaten with a huge test next.
They are a young side who will progress over the coming years… never nice to see a player get booked for diving if that actuality happened, maybe it did with your anti Cilles tinted glasses on !!

Royalman11 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 12/08/2023 17:59:42    2500214

Replying To Royalman11:  "Colmcilles obviously don't tickle your fancy.
Very little has been written about their chances in the championship so I think you have your own agenda against them.
Granted, poor enough in their two matches to date but remain unbeaten with a huge test next.
They are a young side who will progress over the coming years… never nice to see a player get booked for diving if that actuality happened, maybe it did with your anti Cilles tinted glasses on !!"
Definitely happened
And we have been hearing about this coming young side for a long time now

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 12/08/2023 19:39:20    2500229

Another major shock with the Ha beating Don/Ash 4-4 to 1-12

RR (Meath) - Posts: 139 - 12/08/2023 19:59:50    2500231

Trim v Senechalstown. Senechalstown 7 points up at half time and only kick 3 points in second half. End up losing by 3. Big second half from Trim led by Lynch and Toher... Seneschalstown will run some missed chances, including a missed penalty.

Amarach (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 12/08/2023 20:46:36    2500236

Replying To Awaywin:  "Definitely happened
And we have been hearing about this coming young side for a long time now"
Really??
Enlighten the forum users so …

Royalman11 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 12/08/2023 21:01:06    2500237

Trim scraped through tough test from dogged yellow fuzz , Aaron lynch won this game by himself , ran the show. Ashbourne once again failing to deliver when needed against what many would describe as one of the poorer teams in championship.

Moynalveys result yesterday shook up the relegation picture , skyrne in my opinion are the worst team in Sennior at the moment taking form into consideration, a view many traditionalists of Meath football will disagree with , prehaps will it be the first time in the history of Meath Sennior football that the tara men are relegated???

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 12/08/2023 22:27:24    2500249

Replying To Faithfulmeath:  "Trim scraped through tough test from dogged yellow fuzz , Aaron lynch won this game by himself , ran the show. Ashbourne once again failing to deliver when needed against what many would describe as one of the poorer teams in championship.

Moynalveys result yesterday shook up the relegation picture , skyrne in my opinion are the worst team in Sennior at the moment taking form into consideration, a view many traditionalists of Meath football will disagree with , prehaps will it be the first time in the history of Meath Sennior football that the tara men are relegated???"
Trim down 8 lads or something supposedly - will they be back I wonder

countyman123 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 12/08/2023 23:15:08    2500255

Replying To Faithfulmeath:  "Trim scraped through tough test from dogged yellow fuzz , Aaron lynch won this game by himself , ran the show. Ashbourne once again failing to deliver when needed against what many would describe as one of the poorer teams in championship.

Moynalveys result yesterday shook up the relegation picture , skyrne in my opinion are the worst team in Sennior at the moment taking form into consideration, a view many traditionalists of Meath football will disagree with , prehaps will it be the first time in the history of Meath Sennior football that the tara men are relegated???"
Ye the hill of tara men are very poor indeed, will be a very interesting contest in the last round with the skyrne men playing the boys from moynalvey who are good craic on the lager. Both the teams in my opinion will meet again in the in the intermediate play off and would have to fancy the Tara men if they can get the infamous for all of the wrong reasons dara campion back.

Predictions for championship winners and relegation?

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 19 - 13/08/2023 00:09:37    2500261

I know people have different options on this but you have to hand it to the St Paul's players for taking the field again last night it must be extremely hard going out knowing what is coming

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 13/08/2023 10:59:46    2500279

Replying To countyman123:  "Trim down 8 lads or something supposedly - will they be back I wonder"
Surly not missing that many? Where are they all gone?

Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 13/08/2023 12:48:21    2500287

Replying To Tobefair80:  "Surly not missing that many? Where are they all gone?"
Unlikely to be back, 3/4 definitely gone for the year

Meathgaalad (Meath) - Posts: 169 - 13/08/2023 14:05:32    2500295

Replying To royal1967:  "I know people have different options on this but you have to hand it to the St Paul's players for taking the field again last night it must be extremely hard going out knowing what is coming"
Questions need to be asked as to why they were put in that championship

1234me2 (Meath) - Posts: 15 - 13/08/2023 20:23:06    2500343

Replying To Meathgaalad:  "Unlikely to be back, 3/4 definitely gone for the year"
Honeymoon for Alan Douglas.. multiple gone on J1s, multiple gone to Australia, haven't the same depth as they do with the hurlers but a vital win against sench may have saved them from bother

tuppy23 (Meath) - Posts: 154 - 14/08/2023 06:55:32    2500385

Replying To Meathgaalad:  "Unlikely to be back, 3/4 definitely gone for the year"
Trim will most likely win the hurling again this year and will probably get to the knockout stages of the football so I would be very surprised if they don't get these lads back for a few weeks to close the year out with them.

Tobefair80 (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 14/08/2023 08:20:40    2500388

Replying To Crinigan:  "It was same for Blackhall when they were decent. Most Meath GAA people, including journalists are not from south Meath - so Kildare border teams get little interest and there is not much knowledge of the best players etc. Na Fianna in my opinion have 3rd best team in Meath (not that you'd think it on here!) and a decent motivator and competent manager in Cormac Davy."
For sure under performed at the weekend and Walsh a massive loss . Dunsh deserving winners on the day far fitter team I went to watch 4 games this weekend bracks dunsh shill and curraha all deserving of their victories

Pead0bum84 (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 14/08/2023 09:53:41    2500404

Replying To Meathball:  "I really do get hard to see how you can come to that conclusion, the 3rd best team in Meath?
They are in a weak group and Dunshaughlin should be way too strong for Na Fianna and even more so as the game is in Pairc Tailteann, where if the young Dunshaughlin forwards hit form it could end up being a big winning margin.
With Shane Walsh gone which is really unfortunate for Na Fianna, there is no comparison between having a 37 year old leading the Na Fianna attack and having Matthew Costello, Ruairi Kinsella at 11 and younger rising stars the other end against a weak Na Fianna defence.
The other game Ashbourne and Curraha should be close and looks to be a very attractive fixture, as the loser will probably be dumped out of the Keegan Cup. I will stick my neck out and pick the Ha to win."
Was at the game fair enough without walsh it's debatable there place in the ranking . I personally think costello did not perform the 37 year old you are referring to so I don't get this made up rubbish you are coming out with . Better team won on the night but saying a lad is no good any more due to age is just arrogant . My personal rankings of teams in Meath as it stands 1. Ratoath 2. Summerhill 3. The field . It's a 1 horse race with shill with a small chance but the rest are miles off it atm

Pead0bum84 (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 14/08/2023 09:58:16    2500405

Getting my predictions in early for next round

Na fianna to beat don ash by 4
Dunsh to beat curraha by 2

Group b
Dunboyne to beat trim by 10
Simonstown to beat sench by 6

Group C
Ratoath to steamroll colmcilles by 12+ ( no team getting within 6 of ratoath unless it's in a cagey final maybe )
Moynalvey to beat skryne by 1 pt and to go through on score diff

Group D
Summerhill to win by 12+
Bracks to beat Wolfe tones by 1

Pead0bum84 (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 14/08/2023 10:07:55    2500407

Replying To Pead0bum84:  "Was at the game fair enough without walsh it's debatable there place in the ranking . I personally think costello did not perform the 37 year old you are referring to so I don't get this made up rubbish you are coming out with . Better team won on the night but saying a lad is no good any more due to age is just arrogant . My personal rankings of teams in Meath as it stands 1. Ratoath 2. Summerhill 3. The field . It's a 1 horse race with shill with a small chance but the rest are miles off it atm"
To be fair where did he say the 37 year old was no longer any good ?? He made the point that Dunshaughlins attack would be in better shape with a current meath forward probably at his peak and a young up and coming future meath forward.

Not sure how you would perceive that as arrogant. It's just an obvious fact. The 37 year old was a fantastic player and still is a very good player but obviously he's not at his absolute peak through nobodys fault only father time.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 14/08/2023 10:25:34    2500412

Replying To Tobefair80:  "Trim will most likely win the hurling again this year and will probably get to the knockout stages of the football so I would be very surprised if they don't get these lads back for a few weeks to close the year out with them."
I can't see Trim getting to a quarter final. They will get to the knockout stages of the relegation play off/

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 14/08/2023 10:38:26    2500417