Meath V Dublin

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Flynn, McGowan, Hogan and O Connor wouldn't be in the condition they are in at the minute if they had done 2/3 years top quality S&C work.
You can see the lads who have put it in for a number of years in Keoghan, McEntee, O Sullivan, O Reilly, Jones, Conlon, Walsh are all at a different level than the other fellas

In the last couple of years teams have put more of a focus on Olympic lifts and plyo work to increase that explosive power, some teams like Mayo, Tyrone, Dublin are more advanced so others are catching up.

S&C is only a small 5% though, fitness, nutrition, recovery all play important factors. Lads can be doing all the S&C they want but if nutrition, sleep and recovery isn't there then it will take longer to see the benefits."
Some waffle.

The S&C Meath have been doing over the past few seasons has been widely praised and something we certainly weren't found wanting on . Now all of a sudden it's the problem and the reason we are off the pace.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 12/03/2023 14:40:57    2463518

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Yes. We're not starting slow and we're not fading out of games, the ones we lost we were in with a chance of winning.

Derry is the exception here as they are a lot further on in their development."
Wow. Zero evidence to suggest we are fitter than last year.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 12/03/2023 14:44:15    2463519

Replying To nobull456:  "Fitness is not the issue at present. The basic football skills (well documented) so often and needing attention are the issue. Too soon to expect any significant improvement. Dont worry Colm will do the job but it will take time. Refreshingly as he said he will go in 2 years if not. I dont think he will outstay his welcome .We live and we learn!"
First thing you have to do is have the team fit. The vast majority of them are not. Then you can work on the finer details. I have no doubt Colm is committed to the cause and for all our sakes I hope he is successful. But what are we basing improvements on ? What worries me is some people (not anyone I've met or talked to at games ) but on here are making excuses after excuses for our performances. Let me be VERY CLEAR, Colm must be given the two years. But under no circumstances can us as the paying fans be silenced by bs saying we fitter than last year. That's leprechaun stuff. Also in Derry game that we went man to man, in louth game that we had totally under control to lose. V Limerick 3 shots to win by a point 3 different kickers also how unfit we looked against a team that had already decided to get rid of their manager.
Colm will be there next year but those mistakes where the book stops with him must be sorted. And to have this attitude of let it pass because he's one of the greatest players to ever play the game doesn't wash with me. I think constructive criticism is all anyone has offered. And I hope to see a clear plan A and if needed a plan B v Dublin. This game is massive for Meath and I suspect Colm knows that only too well. And he will make sure the players bring their A game . All the errors of this season will be forgotten if we win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/03/2023 14:49:07    2463522

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Some waffle.

The S&C Meath have been doing over the past few seasons has been widely praised and something we certainly weren't found wanting on . Now all of a sudden it's the problem and the reason we are off the pace."
Would have to question any praise for our s/c, we have been bullied way to often, especiall our forwards, Shane Walsh is only one example, big skillful lad but so easy to knock off the ball, no forwards who were capable of winning their own ball. Add it Hickey, Harkin and other regulars and where is the evidence we were any near level required. When we came up against Dublin it was men playing boys and before the Dublin were so far ahead of everyone else excuse is trotted out, that is not a valid point, many teams at least matched them it that area. We have been found wanting against all the top 10/12 teams. Few belive we were good enough in any area for years now. Management have taken ownership of this and realise, much to the annoyance of some, that it will take time to get things right. Lets get it right this time and at least lay the foundations for improvement, otherwise be willing to accept the same failings that has dogged us for years.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 12/03/2023 15:35:56    2463531

All tickets gone from ticketmaster? Hardly sold out already?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6344 - 12/03/2023 16:13:30    2463538

I saw on the Dublin forum they were putting out warnings a few weeks back to buy up tickets. A lot of people in Meath would have been expecting to buy a ticket Thursday or Friday this week.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 12/03/2023 16:42:04    2463541

Replying To Jinxie:  "All tickets gone from ticketmaster? Hardly sold out already?"
And u16 not admitted without a ticket , first time I've seen this for league. So warning if you bringing the family buy tickets. Herself looks after it with my young ones at Xmas buying us all season tickets. But if anyone has a season ticket download it asap or I'd be worried they'd say enough sold

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/03/2023 18:56:42    2463577

Replying To royal11:  "I saw on the Dublin forum they were putting out warnings a few weeks back to buy up tickets. A lot of people in Meath would have been expecting to buy a ticket Thursday or Friday this week."
Vast majority are already gone. And just seen today u16s won't get in without a ticket. So be aware everyone

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/03/2023 18:57:37    2463578

Replying To royaldunne:  "Vast majority are already gone. And just seen today u16s won't get in without a ticket. So be aware everyone"
Low availability on ticketmaster .35yrs since last met in Navan in league just hope we put it to them will need to big performance around middle.

Roytherover (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 12/03/2023 21:02:46    2463626

Replying To Roytherover:  "Low availability on ticketmaster .35yrs since last met in Navan in league just hope we put it to them will need to big performance around middle."
Definitely. First game in years I'm going to expecting to get beat. But all I want to see is improvement in fitness levels, and actually put it up to Dublin.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/03/2023 13:52:28    2463719

Clare, Cork, Kildare and obviously Derry have already put it up to or beaten Dublin in this years league so there shouldn't be any reason not to expect same on our home patch. Granted we have quite a few issues but so have they and they appear to be operating in no more than 2nd gear so far. This is round 6 of the league, so its time to out down a marker and show some clear signs of progression and improvement. This is Div. 2 football. Dublin are no more than a division 2 team until this year at least so we shouldn't fear this game and just go for it with pride, enthusiasm and aggression. Every player on the Meath team is playing for their future. They need to throw caution to the wind.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 13/03/2023 15:53:27    2463755

Replying To royal11:  "I saw on the Dublin forum they were putting out warnings a few weeks back to buy up tickets. A lot of people in Meath would have been expecting to buy a ticket Thursday or Friday this week."
There was an announcement at the Louth game about buying tickets early and I think something in the match programme too, this was always going to be a fixture that would test the capacity which I think is down to 11'000, sooner we get some work done on the place the better

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/03/2023 17:22:30    2463774

Replying To Richieq:  "There was an announcement at the Louth game about buying tickets early and I think something in the match programme too, this was always going to be a fixture that would test the capacity which I think is down to 11'000, sooner we get some work done on the place the better"
Yeah there was a code to scan on the program that day.
Absolutely need work to commence asap. No more waiting and waffling on about it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/03/2023 18:25:32    2463784

The toilets under the terrace in pairc tailteann are not a reflection on where Meath are at at the moment.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 13/03/2023 20:48:24    2463806

Replying To royaldunne:  "Definitely. First game in years I'm going to expecting to get beat. But all I want to see is improvement in fitness levels, and actually put it up to Dublin."
Improvement in fitness levels in the 2 weeks since ya last saw them ????? This is why lads on here are so dissapointed all the time, they set unattainable goals in their head for this Meath team.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 15/03/2023 18:45:49    2464104

Replying To royaldunne:  "Definitely. First game in years I'm going to expecting to get beat. But all I want to see is improvement in fitness levels, and actually put it up to Dublin."
It's a sad day on the meath forum when even royaldunne has lost the faith, every team that has played dublin so far bar Limerick has been competitive against them so who knows maybe the unimaginable could happen, either way it be a great occasion to host the dubs in our own patch unfortunately I'd say the rugby might have a negative effect on the attendance.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 16/03/2023 09:54:14    2464135

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Improvement in fitness levels in the 2 weeks since ya last saw them ????? This is why lads on here are so dissapointed all the time, they set unattainable goals in their head for this Meath team."
I'd imagine he means intensity levels, could be wrong just reading between the lines.i think most people on here know where we're at.When we won the first 2 games of course we were going to get a bit excited but in fairness COR said there will be many bumps ahead and has been proven right.Hopefully we get a performance and see were that takes us.Dublin aren't at the level they were at but are still top 2/3 in the country so as a test dont come much bigger.They have been shaky in the league Cork bar a great save could have beaten them and Clare had them on the ropes for a good bit of the game so we should take encouragement from that, having said that we haven't been pulling up trees either.Most of us dont expect to win but I'm sure COR has the lads believing they can (I really hope so) as I've never gone out onto the pitch (playing)believing I couldn't win.I have been on the end of a hiding a few times but always believed we could win before the game otherwise what's the point?If we can put in a big performance and wherever that takes us so be it.Id be happy if we see improvement and then improve again the next day.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 16/03/2023 11:41:41    2464175

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "It's a sad day on the meath forum when even royaldunne has lost the faith, every team that has played dublin so far bar Limerick has been competitive against them so who knows maybe the unimaginable could happen, either way it be a great occasion to host the dubs in our own patch unfortunately I'd say the rugby might have a negative effect on the attendance."
No chance the rugby will effect the attendance. PT will be absolutely full to the brim judging by the amount people i know meath and dublin still looking for tickets.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 16/03/2023 11:44:49    2464176

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "It's a sad day on the meath forum when even royaldunne has lost the faith, every team that has played dublin so far bar Limerick has been competitive against them so who knows maybe the unimaginable could happen, either way it be a great occasion to host the dubs in our own patch unfortunately I'd say the rugby might have a negative effect on the attendance."
Haha, I'm sure Royaldunne still believes!It is great to be playing them at home alright and should be a good atmosphere.Put in a big performance and see where it takes us and I'd be happy.Is the game not sold out?I'd imagine there will be the biggest crowd in years at it.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 16/03/2023 11:46:23    2464177

Sold out,expect local pubs will be packed after match to see Ireland hopefully win the Grand Slam, few have lost faith, just realistic to where we are at. Dublin want to secure promotion and lay down marker for rest of the season, so expect them to put out their strongest team available. We could do with at least a point, just in case Clare pull off a major surprise. Should be a great occassion and expect Meath to give it their all and see where it takes us. All Meath players will want to leave PT with heads held high.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 16/03/2023 14:04:29    2464207