Meath Vs Louth

Local rivalry renewed next week … any positives take from yesterday?? Need to regroup for the Louth men!!

Royalman11 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 19/02/2023 11:47:11    2458987

Replying To Royalman11:  "Local rivalry renewed next week … any positives take from yesterday?? Need to regroup for the Louth men!!"
Lesson learned, thats the only positive that can be taken, players and management got a major reality check and hopefully lessons taken on board by all concerned. Louth have been competitive in all their games to date and can count themselves unlucky not to have got something from Derry and Clare. They will fancy their chances against Meath and its going to be difficult to break down what is lightly to bo a packed defence. Expect a big crowd and hopefully we can get two more points on the board.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 20/02/2023 12:16:24    2459335

Replying To seadog54:  "Lesson learned, thats the only positive that can be taken, players and management got a major reality check and hopefully lessons taken on board by all concerned. Louth have been competitive in all their games to date and can count themselves unlucky not to have got something from Derry and Clare. They will fancy their chances against Meath and its going to be difficult to break down what is lightly to bo a packed defence. Expect a big crowd and hopefully we can get two more points on the board."
Big crowd needed. Bounce back time

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 344 - 20/02/2023 19:59:49    2459514

Replying To seasiderblues:  "Big crowd needed. Bounce back time"
Expect a good turnout from both counties, perfect chance to bounce back, two more points will move us very close to safety, take a bit of pressure off and with a few lads to come back would set us up nicely for the league run in. MH will have other ideas and will feel if Louth dont let in a handful of goals they will be in with a good shout.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 21/02/2023 14:01:02    2459593

Not going to be easy, Louth are very much on par with Clare.
Goals will be key here.

My team for the game would be as follows if everyone is available:
1.) Hogan
2.) A O Neill
3.) Flood
4.) O Higgins
5.) Keoghan
6.) Harnan
7.) D O Neill
8.) Flynn
9.) Jones
10.) O Sullivan
11.) McGowan
12.) Scully
13.) Walsh
14.) Costello
15.) Morris

O Reilly and Moriarty unlucky to lose out but if Costello and Walsh aren't fit then they come in.

Keoghan back to the wing to allow him get forward more. Harnan to center back as he probably is the best we have on the panel imo. O Neill takes the other spot, he done very little wrong again Cork and adds that bit of athleticism and physicality.

Flynn if fit and still on the panel needs to come in and see if he is capable of making the step up.
Need to also find McGowans position, he plays in the half forward line for Ratoath a lot so it could be worth trying him at center forward.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 21/02/2023 15:50:56    2459622

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Not going to be easy, Louth are very much on par with Clare.
Goals will be key here.

1.) Hogan
2.) A O Neill
3.) Flood
4.) O Higgins
5.) Keoghan
6.) Harnan
7.) D O Neill
8.) Flynn
9.) Jones
10.) O Sullivan
11.) McGowan
12.) Scully
13.) Walsh
14.) Costello
15.) Morris

O Reilly and Moriarty unlucky to lose out but if Costello and Walsh aren't fit then they come in.

Keoghan back to the wing to allow him get forward more. Harnan to center back as he probably is the best we have on the panel imo. O Neill takes the other spot, he done very little wrong again Cork and adds that bit of athleticism and physicality.

Flynn if fit and still on the panel needs to come in and see if he is capable of making the step up.
Need to also find McGowans position, he plays in the half forward line for Ratoath a lot so it could be worth trying him at center forward."
Agree with a lot of this. Shane McEntee in for Harnan and Harkin in for O'Higgins and that would be my team. Flynn has now played 2 full games for Ratoath and about 40 mins twice for TUD in Sigerson so he should be fit. Haven't heard anything that's he's left the panel really hope he is still there and think he is

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 21/02/2023 16:48:14    2459636

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Agree with a lot of this. Shane McEntee in for Harnan and Harkin in for O'Higgins and that would be my team. Flynn has now played 2 full games for Ratoath and about 40 mins twice for TUD in Sigerson so he should be fit. Haven't heard anything that's he's left the panel really hope he is still there and think he is"
Wouldn't disagree with bringing in Harkin or Shane.

Shane would be better suited to come in for Dan O Neill, I would have gone with Shane there only that it would be nice to see if O Neill is going to cut it at this level or not.

Wouldn't disagree with Harkin either but personally I'd give O Higgins another go as he is still only 21, if it's not going well then bring in Harkin.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 21/02/2023 17:10:56    2459643

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Not going to be easy, Louth are very much on par with Clare.
Goals will be key here.

1.) Hogan
2.) A O Neill
3.) Flood
4.) O Higgins
5.) Keoghan
6.) Harnan
7.) D O Neill
8.) Flynn
9.) Jones
10.) O Sullivan
11.) McGowan
12.) Scully
13.) Walsh
14.) Costello
15.) Morris

Need to also find McGowans position, he plays in the half forward line for Ratoath a lot so it could be worth trying him at center forward."
Would be good to see Flynn get a run and agree moving DK to wing back, not sure about Harnan, but whoever is going well in training be it him or Shane Mac fair enough. Half forwards, midfield and half backs need to be on their toes as Louth will bring men back and look to catch us on the break. Think both Flood and O Higgins look like decent footballers, just need more protection and time to settle in.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 21/02/2023 17:15:34    2459646

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Agree with a lot of this. Shane McEntee in for Harnan and Harkin in for O'Higgins and that would be my team. Flynn has now played 2 full games for Ratoath and about 40 mins twice for TUD in Sigerson so he should be fit. Haven't heard anything that's he's left the panel really hope he is still there and think he is"
Yep agree with this.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2023 18:36:35    2459666

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

royaldunne (18470)
20/02/2023
10:24:06

Meath V Louth Nfl Round 4.

Let's draw a line in the sand under Derry and the Shocking performance. It's a local clash. I'm not been disrespectful to louth but if we can't beat them at home then we will end up in a relegation battle.
The players and management will want to make a point I'm sure in this game and prove Saturday was a one off against a very good team.
I would start Flynn in midfield ahead of Conlon if he is fit and on panel. Another poster wrote he played for rathoath this week along with McGill. So is he still on panel does anyone know ? Also hopefully walsh and Costello are fit to take part. They are the 3 changes I'd make

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 22/02/2023 15:09:33    2459778

The following messages were posted in reply to the new thread by Royaldunne.

Oldsam (18)
20/02/2023
11:57:21

Replying To royaldunne: "Let's draw a line in the sand under Derry and the Shocking performance. It's a local clash. I'm not been disrespectful to louth but if we can't beat them at home then we will end up in a relegation battle.
The players and management will want to make a point I'm sure in this game and prove Saturday was a one off against a very good team.
I would start Flynn in midfield ahead of Conlon if he is fit and on panel. Another poster wrote he played for rathoath this week along with McGill. So is he still on panel does anyone know ? Also hopefully walsh and Costello are fit to take part. They are the 3 changes I'd make"
I dont see the louth game been a walk in the park , local rivals, louth fighting relegation also how meath react to their performance in Owenbeag . Alot will tell us about Meath , this weekend coming I think .

Ollie2 (633)
20/02/2023
12:16:33

Replying To royaldunne: "Let's draw a line in the sand under Derry and the Shocking performance. It's a local clash. I'm not been disrespectful to louth but if we can't beat them at home then we will end up in a relegation battle.
I would start Flynn in midfield ahead of Conlon if he is fit and on panel. Another poster wrote he played for rathoath this week along with McGill. So is he still on panel does anyone know ? Also hopefully walsh and Costello are fit to take part. They are the 3 changes I'd make"
Good man Royaldunne. How is she cutting? Looking forward to the battle of the Boyne clash in Naaaaaaavan. Pints before hand and after it in Fitzsimons. The last time Meath beat Louth in Navan was in the qualfiers in 2002. Louth play well in Navan. Bring it on.

Northmeath1993 (45)
20/02/2023
13:15:17

"Good man Royaldunne. How is she cutting? Looking forward to the battle of the Boyne clash in Naaaaaaavan. Pints before hand and after it in Fitzsimons. The last time Meath beat Louth in Navan was in the qualfiers in 2002. Louth play well in Navan. Bring it on."
Shush you're gonna hold smoke

royaldunne (18470)
20/02/2023
13:49:30

Replying To Oldsam: "I dont see the louth game been a walk in the park , local rivals, louth fighting relegation also how meath react to their performance in Owenbeag . Alot will tell us about Meath , this weekend coming I think ."
Oh neither do I. It will be close. But if there is to be any signs of improvement we need to win

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 22/02/2023 15:15:21    2459780

royaldunne (18470)
20/02/2023
15:23:16

Replying To Ollie2: "Good man Royaldunne. How is she cutting? Looking forward to the battle of the Boyne clash in Naaaaaaavan. Pints before hand and after it in Fitzsimons. The last time Meath beat Louth in Navan was in the qualfiers in 2002. Louth play well in Navan. Bring it on."
Ahh me old friend great to see you keeping well. Unfortunately pints before or after match is beyond me these days. But I'll join in for a lucozade and a bit of craic. Louth have no fear of navan and I think it ought be safe to say they view the ground as much as a home venue as possible. They've had great days there. Not only v Meath.

Royal.Legend (602)
20/02/2023
18:51:39

Am I right in saying that our last match in navan against louth was the day they relegated us to div 3, this is going to be a close game with confidence being low after the derry game, louth will feel they can get points here and they were very unlucky not to take something from there game against derry, but I'm always optimistic regarding meath unfortunately its blind optimism most of the time, so I'm going with meath to show character and bounce back after last week's demoralising defeat, fair play to all the meath supporters who made the journey to derry there was a good few of us there unfortunately it was one of them days that seems to happen all to often to us since 2010, if o rourke changes anything in the next few years its hopefully eradicating this non performances and brings a level of consistency to our play.

royaldunne (18470)
21/02/2023
09:47:55

Replying To Royal.Legend: "Am I right in saying that our last match in navan against louth was the day they relegated us to div 3, this is going to be a close game with confidence being low after the derry game, louth will feel they can get points here and they were very unlucky not to take something from there game against derry, but I'm always optimistic regarding meath unfortunately its blind optimism most of the time, so I'm going with meath to show character and bounce back after last week's demoralising defeat, fair play to all the meath supporters who made the journey to derry there was a good few of us there unfortunately it was one of them days that seems to happen all to often to us since 2010, if o rourke changes anything in the next few years its hopefully eradicating this non performances and brings a level of consistency to our play."
Have to show character and a bit of pride in the jersey. For that I'm going for a Meath win by 4/5.

Ollie2 (633)
21/02/2023
12:08:31

Replying To Royal.Legend: "Am I right in saying that our last match in navan against louth was the day they relegated us to div 3, this is going to be a close game with confidence being low after the derry game, louth will feel they can get points here and they were very unlucky not to take something from there game against derry, but I'm always optimistic regarding meath unfortunately its blind optimism most of the time, so I'm going with meath to show character and bounce back after last week's demoralising defeat, fair play to all the meath supporters who made the journey to derry there was a good few of us there unfortunately it was one of them days that seems to happen all to often to us since 2010, if o rourke changes anything in the next few years its hopefully eradicating this non performances and brings a level of consistency to our play."
Royal legend that was the league match in Navan back in 2012 between Louth and Meath. They played 3 more times since then in Navan all in the O Byrne cup. In 2013 during mid week it ended a draw in the group stage. In 2017 Louth beat Meath in the O Byrne cup semi-final. In 2020 Louth beat Meath in the first group match.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 22/02/2023 15:21:16    2459783

Ollie2 (633)
21/02/2023
12:10:07

Replying To royaldunne: "Ahh me old friend great to see you keeping well. Unfortunately pints before or after match is beyond me these days. But I'll join in for a lucozade and a bit of craic. Louth have no fear of navan and I think it ought be safe to say they view the ground as much as a home venue as possible. They've had great days there. Not only v Meath."
All good this end Royaldunne. Come over to me in Fitzsimons and ill buy you a double Lucozade. Ill be wearing my 57 Louth top.

royaldunne (18470)
21/02/2023
13:22:06

Replying To Ollie2: "All good this end Royaldunne. Come over to me in Fitzsimons and ill buy you a double Lucozade. Ill be wearing my 57 Louth top."
No problem

royaldunne (18470)
21/02/2023
15:56:02

Will be interesting to see what team starts. Flynn should at least be on bench if not starting. Has to be a few changes from last week, lessons have to be learned. Hopefully both walsh and Costello are back in frame

royaldunne (18470)
22/02/2023
07:59:12

Anyone have any info on Costello? Hear he might not be back until championship is this true ?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 22/02/2023 15:24:53    2459784

Well lads, long time no posts
What is the story with tickets, I have 3 x u16s that want to visit the great Pairc Tailteann on Sunday, do they need tickets?
Thanks

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 22/02/2023 16:14:51    2459798

I'd be interested to see how Campion would do at centre back. He was playing a sweeper for his college team. In the games so far he's played quite deep and carried the ball forward. Most teams have a ball playing centre back now. Could free up DK to play wing back. I'm not sure Harnan (post injuries) or McEntee(nowadays) have the mobility to play that role at inter county level.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 22/02/2023 20:32:53    2459815

Replying To joej:  "Well lads, long time no posts
What is the story with tickets, I have 3 x u16s that want to visit the great Pairc Tailteann on Sunday, do they need tickets?
Thanks"
Joe under 16s are free so you dont need tickets for them. Ill see you at the clubhouse at 11.00 am.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 23/02/2023 09:40:49    2459833

Anyone know if there is any truth that the Ratoath lads are gone from the panel?I've heard it from a couple of people.Maybe someone from Ratoath or connections to team might know?If true that's not good.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 23/02/2023 10:03:24    2459840

McGill gone is all Ive heard. Jack Flynn was at training during the week. Can't imagine D. McGowan would go given his game time. The development panel is still running on the side, Rogers left the Meath hurlers to join that a while back not sure if he's still in it.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 23/02/2023 11:50:00    2459865

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Anyone know if there is any truth that the Ratoath lads are gone from the panel?I've heard it from a couple of people.Maybe someone from Ratoath or connections to team might know?If true that's not good."
Either you are trying to stir the pot here or else someone is pulling your leg

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 872 - 23/02/2023 12:19:19    2459870

Replying To royal11:  "McGill gone is all Ive heard. Jack Flynn was at training during the week. Can't imagine D. McGowan would go given his game time. The development panel is still running on the side, Rogers left the Meath hurlers to join that a while back not sure if he's still in it."
Thanks Royal 11 good to hear that.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 23/02/2023 12:47:08    2459877