Derry V Meath Nfl Round 3

Poor performance last night and that is the most frustrating thing.I didn't expect us to beat Derry away if I'm honest but thought we would give them a game of it.You cant go away v Derry and give them a goal inside the first minute an uphill battle after that.We got cleaned out at midfield and everytime we got up the pitch we either kicked the ball away or carried it into traffic and got turned over.While the full back line is getting slated here I think we have too look at further out the pitch bot giving them protection or putting pressure on the kick in.It can be a very unforgiven place in the full back line if outfield is not putting pressure on.I think Harry might be a bit disappointed with the 2nd goal which killed the game off just before halftime.Not scoring for 30 odd minutes is very worrying.I do think though Derry are a top 6/7 team.Some people would have you believe they aren't very good but you dont win Ulster without having something about you.They have a system(while it can be hard to look at sometimes its working) under a shrewd manager.They only missed out by a point last year getting promotion and then won Ulster and are alot further down the road than we are.Its a huge game now next week v Louth (wont be easy at all)as results today have four teams on 2 points just behind us.Hopefully we get a performance next week and see what happens.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 19/02/2023 18:08:01    2459114

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "Mgmt were not happy at the condition he showed up in, unlike others who were cut immediatley COR gave Conor a chance to get in shape, it never improved so he was dropped off the panel. This has been handled totally fair by all involved. He has been found to fade out of games over the years, Its up to Conor now to get into inter county shape."
Don't ever recall him fading in a game tbh. It's the condition thing I don't get. He was injured and therefore wouldn't have been able to train much. That from what I have heard changed last week when he went back to full training. And he made a complaint about the way they were training. That seems to have been the issue.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2023 18:48:11    2459138

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Poor performance last night and that is the most frustrating thing.I didn't expect us to beat Derry away if I'm honest but thought we would give them a game of it.You cant go away v Derry and give them a goal inside the first minute an uphill battle after that.We got cleaned out at midfield and everytime we got up the pitch we either kicked the ball away or carried it into traffic and got turned over.While the full back line is getting slated here I think we have too look at further out the pitch bot giving them protection or putting pressure on the kick in.It can be a very unforgiven place in the full back line if outfield is not putting pressure on.I think Harry might be a bit disappointed with the 2nd goal which killed the game off just before halftime.Not scoring for 30 odd minutes is very worrying.I do think though Derry are a top 6/7 team.Some people would have you believe they aren't very good but you dont win Ulster without having something about you.They have a system(while it can be hard to look at sometimes its working) under a shrewd manager.They only missed out by a point last year getting promotion and then won Ulster and are alot further down the road than we are.Its a huge game now next week v Louth (wont be easy at all)as results today have four teams on 2 points just behind us.Hopefully we get a performance next week and see what happens."
Next week is pivotal now. As relegation is not out of the realms of possibility. That been said I think we will bounce back. If Colm has any ambitions going forward then we must bounce back immediately . And I'm confident that we will.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2023 18:56:41    2459146

If before the league we knew we'd have 4 points after 3 games, sitting in 3rd, with games against louth and limerick up next to cement AI ireland and division 2 status, we'd have taken that in a shot. Performance last night was dissapointing, but can be used to our benefit . No-one will care about it if we win the next 2....but lessons have to be learned from last night

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 19/02/2023 18:58:56    2459150

Replying To seadog54:  "Said when he took the job he would give it two years and would not overstay his welcome if there was no improvement. Going to take a while, especially getting the new lads up to required lever of SC and overall fitness. If we can get the three lads back from injury it should steady the ship for rest of league."
Well I hope he doesn't stick to that and walk away after 2 years if there is no improvement because personally I can't see there being any improvement this year or next year.

Thats not because COR but because we are where we are and I don't see us getting any better with this current set of the players. The All Ireland minor team are only u19 this year so even if we drafted in a good few of them next year it would be way too much to ask of those young lads to come into the starting team and improve it.

That's why I see it as probably 2025 before things improve so if COR was to walk away after 2024 we'd be back to square one with new management

So I hope if after year 2 we are no further along which I expect will be the case he sticks it out.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 871 - 19/02/2023 19:03:29    2459157

Replying To Blackspot09:  "And your point is? So they weren't responsible solely for yesterdays Defensive shambles. Nobody said they were.

But after yesterdays horror show to say you can see an improvement in the full back line or any line on the pitch or any individual player for that matter is absolute bizarre ."
First day out, it was O Hare and Hickey if I remember and O Hare gave away a few frees which were converted to scores. Hickey was the same in the Cork game, he was caught the wrong side of his man multiple times.

O Neill against Clare gave away possession every cheaply and I think it was O Higgins in the other corner and he continued to carry the ball into traffic. They also allowed their men to also win primary possession instead of trying to get a hand in.

Yesterday, both O Neill and O Higgins were caught behind their men and it did lead to multiple points as it allowed Derry to get primary possession in the full forward line and runners coming off the shoulder for easy points. However there was a lot less of taking the ball into the tackle and didn't give away possession as much.

Both these lads are still only 21 so they have a load of room for improvement. I'm not saying they aren't at fault for yesterday, they are but I think they are gradually improving and our problems lie further out the field.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/02/2023 19:19:10    2459168

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Well I hope he doesn't stick to that and walk away after 2 years if there is no improvement because personally I can't see there being any improvement this year or next year.

Thats not because COR but because we are where we are and I don't see us getting any better with this current set of the players. The All Ireland minor team are only u19 this year so even if we drafted in a good few of them next year it would be way too much to ask of those young lads to come into the starting team and improve it.

That's why I see it as probably 2025 before things improve so if COR was to walk away after 2024 we'd be back to square one with new management

So I hope if after year 2 we are no further along which I expect will be the case he sticks it out."
Agreed, expect him to stay as long as there is improvement and as you say it is going to take a fair while. Just watched the interview with T T, thought he came across well, two lads well matched.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 19/02/2023 19:25:13    2459172

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "First day out, it was O Hare and Hickey if I remember and O Hare gave away a few frees which were converted to scores. Hickey was the same in the Cork game, he was caught the wrong side of his man multiple times.

O Neill against Clare gave away possession every cheaply and I think it was O Higgins in the other corner and he continued to carry the ball into traffic. They also allowed their men to also win primary possession instead of trying to get a hand in.

Yesterday, both O Neill and O Higgins were caught behind their men and it did lead to multiple points as it allowed Derry to get primary possession in the full forward line and runners coming off the shoulder for easy points. However there was a lot less of taking the ball into the tackle and didn't give away possession as much.

Both these lads are still only 21 so they have a load of room for improvement. I'm not saying they aren't at fault for yesterday, they are but I think they are gradually improving and our problems lie further out the field."
I honestly can't see how you could see any improvement anywhere on the pitch in that performance yesterday compared with the first 2 games . It's actually mind boggling. It was an abject performance. Not blaming the full back like the half back line or any line in particular. From 1 to 20 it was awful

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 871 - 19/02/2023 20:13:14    2459196

Replying To seadog54:  "Agreed, expect him to stay as long as there is improvement and as you say it is going to take a fair while. Just watched the interview with T T, thought he came across well, two lads well matched."
It was a brilliant interview. My fear is I don't see us improving this year or next year .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 871 - 19/02/2023 20:14:08    2459197

Replying To Blackspot09:  "It was a brilliant interview. My fear is I don't see us improving this year or next year ."
Great interview. But I wouldn't be so worried going forward. Andy steadied the ship and brought in players who are now coming good, Colm must take us to next level. But we won't be competing for honours until combination of O'Bric , McCarthy Kevin Reilly and or Gillespie takes over. Which I feel will be in two years. That doesn't have to be a starting over.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2023 20:37:45    2459209

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I honestly can't see how you could see any improvement anywhere on the pitch in that performance yesterday compared with the first 2 games . It's actually mind boggling. It was an abject performance. Not blaming the full back like the half back line or any line in particular. From 1 to 20 it was awful"
Watched the game there again. Of the 20, I would say 16 were shocking. Flood and O Neill had decent games in the backs and done very little wrong. O Sullivan worked hard while O Reilly tried to bring the fight to Derry by himself upfront

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/02/2023 21:27:26    2459231

Replying To royaldunne:  "Great interview. But I wouldn't be so worried going forward. Andy steadied the ship and brought in players who are now coming good, Colm must take us to next level. But we won't be competing for honours until combination of O'Bric , McCarthy Kevin Reilly and or Gillespie takes over. Which I feel will be in two years. That doesn't have to be a starting over."
Just checking ! Do you want to read your post again? In the interest of common loyalty do you not think you should show loyalty to the new manager Colm O Rourke . Just even try to park your loyalty to a past manager who had his chance.I know you said at the very start you did not want Colm. Do you not think he should be given a fair chance ? He has really just started the job. No doubt Colm will prove a fast learner. I hope he will come to grips with the situation .I hear he can have the necessary ruthless streak as required for any good manager.
Generally your posts seem to be biased ,parochial, and annoying. You pose as someone who has the inside track .The latest spoof suggesting you know the facts about the player alleged to be dropped is just that ..a spoof. I did find your posts amusing for a while .From here i will just pass. Finally over and out ? Good health to you and yours !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 19/02/2023 21:35:14    2459234

After rewatching the game, some of the same problems from Andy still are evident after 6 matches on CoR.

1.) Lack of a kickout strategy. I counted 5 times in the first half when Hogan just bombed the ball into the middle of the pitch, we actually won a couple of breaking balls but that was it. At the game and watching it back you can see no movement from the players outfield looking for kick outs. Keoghan tried a bit.

2.) Lack of a dominant midfielder. We won't be able to compete with a top side until we unearth someone who can at least compete with Glass, Fenton etc.

3.) Frees in general. We brought Hogan up for a 45 only for him to kick it backwards. The amount of frees we had that we kicked backwards was ridiculous.

It is clear that O Rourke has a game plan and it involves kicking but the amount of times we kicked the ball down Derrys throat and only for them to come roaring up the field was insane. Against a Kerry, Mayo or Dublin our kicking game could work but Derry, Galway, Roscommon and Armagh just get bodies back and it is difficult to kick through the lines against them unless it is done at pace.

Someone mentioned in previous posts about kicking through the lines and that works well if the team goes man on man. If they don't then you need to kick at pace. Kerry make it look easy because they do it at pace, it's look up and give the pass and the person who is receiving is already in space because they made the run. With us, our receivers are static or not moving enough.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/02/2023 21:46:57    2459240

Replying To nobull456:  "Just checking ! Do you want to read your post again? In the interest of common loyalty do you not think you should show loyalty to the new manager Colm O Rourke . Just even try to park your loyalty to a past manager who had his chance.I know you said at the very start you did not want Colm. Do you not think he should be given a fair chance ? He has really just started the job. No doubt Colm will prove a fast learner. I hope he will come to grips with the situation .I hear he can have the necessary ruthless streak as required for any good manager.
Generally your posts seem to be biased ,parochial, and annoying. You pose as someone who has the inside track .The latest spoof suggesting you know the facts about the player alleged to be dropped is just that ..a spoof. I did find your posts amusing for a while .From here i will just pass. Finally over and out ? Good health to you and yours !"
Its been the same rubbish post after post, met a man who told him this or that, expects us to belive he has the onside track, panel upset by dropping of a player who choose not to fight for his place. Expect panel were more than happy that everyone started with clean sheet and an end to the favourtism that existed. COR will get the best out of panel and provide a good enviorment for lads who want to play for Meath. Walsh and Costello are good examples, just drifting along, now seem to have a new lease of life.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 19/02/2023 21:57:06    2459243

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ok I know this is aimed at me. But can the 7 people who liked this disrespectful comment on McGill please come on under this comment and say me.
If it was just done to somehow target myself I couldn't give a flying fk. But to disrespect a player of Connors commitment to county is beneath contemptible. So if u have any balls at all comment under this comment,keyboard warriors. And show urself. Otherwise it's the same person logging in and out of different accounts. Which I think is the case."
Just to say Conor plate do for Ratoath in the Feis Cup at the weekend! He is simply the best full back in Meath! Ratoath also had Jack Flynn playing!
I know Feis Cup is a long way removed from inter county but both lads looked sharp!! Played Simonstown as it happens!!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 20/02/2023 08:24:19    2459251

Replying To nobull456:  "Just checking ! Do you want to read your post again? In the interest of common loyalty do you not think you should show loyalty to the new manager Colm O Rourke . Just even try to park your loyalty to a past manager who had his chance.I know you said at the very start you did not want Colm. Do you not think he should be given a fair chance ? He has really just started the job. No doubt Colm will prove a fast learner. I hope he will come to grips with the situation .I hear he can have the necessary ruthless streak as required for any good manager.
Generally your posts seem to be biased ,parochial, and annoying. You pose as someone who has the inside track .The latest spoof suggesting you know the facts about the player alleged to be dropped is just that ..a spoof. I did find your posts amusing for a while .From here i will just pass. Finally over and out ? Good health to you and yours !"
First off Colm has my 100% support. The post I was responding to was simply when we will be successful ie compete for all ire glory. Even I who is absolutely optimistic on Meath football cannot see that happen in near future so it will probably be under a different regime, surely that cannot be interpreted as been disloyal. On the inside line ? I have at no point said I have any info into the set up. And if you read my posts you would see I put in that is what I was told in owenbeg. Not by any member of back room team or player as any of the players I would know have moved on or are not included in panel. The two clubs I would have connections with have no representation on the team. I was repeating what I was told by a very annoyed member of rathoath club. The validity of those claims are up in the air. However it is worth saying them. And I also repeated on numerous occasions that as is always the case the truth lays someways in between both versions.
I look forward to Colm taking the next step with us. And as always I will travel the length and width of the country to support him and the players. That does not mean I will not criticise what I see as bad management as I did with previous managers. And you did a lot of it too.
Anyway good luck to you and yours. And as always.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2023 09:02:16    2459264

Replying To seadog54:  "Its been the same rubbish post after post, met a man who told him this or that, expects us to belive he has the onside track, panel upset by dropping of a player who choose not to fight for his place. Expect panel were more than happy that everyone started with clean sheet and an end to the favourtism that existed. COR will get the best out of panel and provide a good enviorment for lads who want to play for Meath. Walsh and Costello are good examples, just drifting along, now seem to have a new lease of life."
Says the guy who probably watched it on tv, you don't like what the real supporters are saying? That's not my problem that's urs. As for favourites from clubs. ?? Remind me who started in midfield?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2023 09:04:26    2459265

Replying To ASaminthehand:  "Just to say Conor plate do for Ratoath in the Feis Cup at the weekend! He is simply the best full back in Meath! Ratoath also had Jack Flynn playing!
I know Feis Cup is a long way removed from inter county but both lads looked sharp!! Played Simonstown as it happens!!"
Both played ? Honestly did you see any signs of been unfit in either ? Particularly Connor. As you say there is a world of difference between feis cup and inter county football but lethargy would be seen towards end of game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2023 09:49:50    2459277

Replying To royaldunne:  "Both played ? Honestly did you see any signs of been unfit in either ? Particularly Connor. As you say there is a world of difference between feis cup and inter county football but lethargy would be seen towards end of game."
Yes - both played - both looked fine. Flynn apparently has played a couple of games (coming on as a sub) in Sigerson so maybe he is working his way back - but he looked fine. McGill looked fine too - sailed through the game. But, it is Feis Cup and I don't think Simonstown are all that strong!
I don't know the full story behind McGill situation - I'd say only the player and COR do. If McGill is out of favour with COR then that's that. COR is the Manager and the buck stops with him. It's just a pity - McGill is in my opinion, the best full back we have!
As for Flynn, I know he was injured late last year, and perhaps COR wants him to play with the club before bringing him back into the squad. At least I hope that is the case because he looks like our best bet in mid field!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 482 - 20/02/2023 10:19:57    2459285

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Yes - both played - both looked fine. Flynn apparently has played a couple of games (coming on as a sub) in Sigerson so maybe he is working his way back - but he looked fine. McGill looked fine too - sailed through the game. But, it is Feis Cup and I don't think Simonstown are all that strong!
I don't know the full story behind McGill situation - I'd say only the player and COR do. If McGill is out of favour with COR then that's that. COR is the Manager and the buck stops with him. It's just a pity - McGill is in my opinion, the best full back we have!
As for Flynn, I know he was injured late last year, and perhaps COR wants him to play with the club before bringing him back into the squad. At least I hope that is the case because he looks like our best bet in mid field!"
Definitely. It's the managers call. As you say it's a pity as he is the best fb in county and one of the best in country. One of the few who would get onto most teams. So definitely a pity. Hopefully it can be resolved going forward for the good of the county. They don't have to like each other. We have all played for people we don't like and I played players when I coached I couldn't get on with. So hopefully.
Yeah I'd say that's the deal with Flynn. Hopefully will be included v Louth.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/02/2023 10:55:27    2459307