Derry V Meath Nfl Round 3

If management was anti Ratoath McGowan wouldn't be playing centre field for the county. Mc Gill is a fine footballer, but management have to make tough choices. Sean Boylan, as loved as he is was rootless when it came to the Meath panel.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 18/02/2023 07:54:10    2458762

Replying To atta:  "If management was anti Ratoath McGowan wouldn't be playing centre field for the county. Mc Gill is a fine footballer, but management have to make tough choices. Sean Boylan, as loved as he is was rootless when it came to the Meath panel."
Absolutely ! Thats the way it should be . It should be noted also that we may have unearthed options for full back line. Conor maybe through injury or whatever has not come back to form .Maybe he will in time and maybe return.Regardless thanks due to him for his contribution to date
On a separate note it can be amusing how a regular poster and traveller can so rapidly grab an opportunity to jump to conclusions of guilty till proven innocent it seems Eventhough when COR was named here as a potential manager his response was "AH NO not him" Why not wait for facts first ? Anyway more importantly safe driving to day to the same poster. Hope the road ahead shows signs of continuous improvement in every sence.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 18/02/2023 09:13:48    2458766

Replying To Crinigan:  "No need for the sh*t stirring lads, if you'd a bit of class you'd keep that comment to yourself. A lot of people on here would hear many comments in peoples company but would have the good grace and decorum not to tell everything they hear about what so and so said."
Because O Rourke's comment was very classy!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 18/02/2023 09:22:28    2458768

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "His fitness levels are nowhere near where they need to be, gets found out regularly in running drills, he's been on the panel a long time and it's not good enough in this age to be showing up as unfit as he does. O'Rourke took a stand and fair play to him. Buy in or go home."
What an absolute load of rubbish!! He one of the fastest players in the squad and has never faded in any games he's played in. Different positions require different levels of fitness. There's not a forward in this county to have gotten the better of him in club football that I've seen so if he takes an extra minute to run 5km I wouldn't Beto worried.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 18/02/2023 10:04:35    2458778

Replying To ratlag:  "What an absolute load of rubbish!! He one of the fastest players in the squad and has never faded in any games he's played in. Different positions require different levels of fitness. There's not a forward in this county to have gotten the better of him in club football that I've seen so if he takes an extra minute to run 5km I wouldn't Beto worried."
That might cut it at club level, but there is clearly a massive jump even from Senior club football to Senior inter County football. There have been several fade outs in my opinion. Three anialations against Dublin in 2019, 2020 and 2022. The first half against Dublin 2021 can also be thrown in.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 18/02/2023 10:43:25    2458786

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  ""Couple of passengers on the panel who shouldn't be there but are because of their club". Have to disagree with you there RoyalDunne. I disagreed when people said that about Andy and I disagree now. The Meath job is hard and pressurised enough without making it harder on yourself by favouring clubs and I don't think Colm cares what club you play for"
We'll said Leitrim, some people seem to want to have a cut off Colm already about anything. The knives are out for no apparent reason at all, and you'll never please everyone. As someone said Boylan himself could be ruthless and you have to be in this game. Look at the 91 all Ireland final, O'Rourke himself didn't start, rightly or wrongly but Boylan made the call on a very national stage on the biggest day of the year.

This Conor McGill story has a lot of knickers in a twist. If Conor is good enough he'll get back in later in the season. I think he's more than capable of that. Talk of dropping him in front of the squad is laughable, but I do beIieve he might've said to the squad Conor isn't part of things for now. Conor is up there with Keogy and Sully as our most experienced player so to avoid questions Colm might've told the squad that Conor was gone for now. If that's dropping him in front of the squad, well some people just choose to be glass half empty.

Colm has said the squad will be an open door, show me you're doing it at club level and you'll be brought in. Tbf to him Andy was the exact same. Let's see as the season goes if players get brought back in.

Discipline seems to be a big thing and why should it not be. If Colm dropped players in the past isn't that showing the whole squad there's standards and they apply to everyone, that no one is above the squad. That's badly needed right now to build the bond within this squad and get those extra few gains.

I'm not sure what "club" he's favouring as there's only Brian Conlan from Simonstown, who's not starting that I think that might be being inferred to here. Maybe Colm ties to Skryne are Bri referred too but I think Campuon is more than deserving of being involved. I think v Cork and Clare there were 14-15 different clubs represented on the day. Dunno how anyone could label that as favouring any single club.

At times Andy had a lot of lads from Ratoath, Dunboyne and St Colmcilles. But he was picking what he believed were the best players within the county. Colm is doing the same. I think Andy might've favoured guys he might've managed in the past at county and club level but that was more from them knowing his style of play and how he'd want a team to play, which I understood. In early years there were a lot of lads from senior clubs but I think in later years he brought in a lot of the younger players lads who were from intermediate and junior clubs as they were the best underage talent coming through. Colm is doing that now, bring in the best of our underage squads, and not looking at the badge on their club jersey.

Look at the starting team today
Longwood
Wolfe tones St Brigids Drumbaragh
Curraha Rathkenny Senchelstown
Dunboyne Ratoath
Moynalvey Oldcastle Skryne
Kings court Dunboyne Na Fianna

All grades and all areas of the county represented. 14 clubs with players starting. Club bias is one thing you can't aim at Colm O'Rourke. And as many have pointed out if there's some perceived bias against Ratoath why are Daithi McGowan and Jack Flynn involved, and did I hear Cian Rodgers had also been invited in too.

Anyways best of luck this evening. Let's hope for a good performance, continued improvements, resolving the kick outs even a little would be nice.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/02/2023 11:53:49    2458804

Best of luck to Colm and the lads. Long trip up to Celtic Park today f9r this must win game. Deery is a lovely city. Should be aiming for the 2 points. Derry are a real yo yo county, I wouldn't rate them at all. Flash in the pan last year in a very poor province where all teams are now at a middling level.

Meath constantly failing to get the better of Dublin in Leinster should stand to them. A hard game every year against probably the best team ever to play Gaelic Football the last 15 years has brought on this young team to acknowledge just what's needed to get to the top. With that if we hit hit the long ball in quick and early we should win this easy enough. Be a close game but Meath to win by 9 or so.

Hon the Royal!

Evernal (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 18/02/2023 11:57:16    2458805

Making my journey shortly. Best wishes to Colm donal all the team and management. Win here and promotion is definitely on.
Hon the royal.
Ps what happened or didn't happen during the week has to be put aside for the good of Meath football both at county and club level. Let's hope cool heads can prevail like did with Brian Conlon under previous management

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2023 12:07:40    2458810

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  ""Couple of passengers on the panel who shouldn't be there but are because of their club". Have to disagree with you there RoyalDunne. I disagreed when people said that about Andy and I disagree now. The Meath job is hard and pressurised enough without making it harder on yourself by favouring clubs and I don't think Colm cares what club you play for"
That's what it's all about opinions. I do think there is one that is not ic standard and actually he was there under previous one too. As I said it's all opinions just for me I think he has been given every chance and hasn't produced yet. Hopefully the faith that both Andy and Colm has in him will prove correct one day.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2023 12:11:25    2458813

I.domt know the full details of this situation, and I'm a Ratoath man albeit one living outside the parish, so I'm holdimg off on making judgements or casting aspertions about the whole matter but needless to say I am saddened, and indeed shocked, to think that someome as consistent as Comor, who was the 2022 footballer of the year, would no longer be part of the panel. Conor is an excellent footballer and, from my judgement of meeting him, an excellent person in general, I certainly couldn't see any other reason other than injury/fitness as being the reason he's not on the panel.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/02/2023 12:41:41    2458817

Replying To ratlag:  "What an absolute load of rubbish!! He one of the fastest players in the squad and has never faded in any games he's played in. Different positions require different levels of fitness. There's not a forward in this county to have gotten the better of him in club football that I've seen so if he takes an extra minute to run 5km I wouldn't Beto worried."
Agree! Without question McGill has been the best full back in the County for the past 5 years!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 18/02/2023 12:43:43    2458818

First of all best of luck to Colm and all the team v Derry today.It would be great to get the win but think it's a big ask up in Derry.Hopefully we put in a good performance and see where it takes us.On Conor magil being dropped or not playing it's a blow if I'm honest because he was/is a
very good player.I dont know the ins and outs of what's going on in training so got to trust management.Maybe he will be back if gets himself right after injury dont know but just want to say thanks for the commitment and effort over the years if he has finished and best of luck to the lad.It would be great to see him back as I think he has more to give but who knows.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 18/02/2023 12:58:28    2458826

Replying To Richieq:  "I.domt know the full details of this situation, and I'm a Ratoath man albeit one living outside the parish, so I'm holdimg off on making judgements or casting aspertions about the whole matter but needless to say I am saddened, and indeed shocked, to think that someome as consistent as Comor, who was the 2022 footballer of the year, would no longer be part of the panel. Conor is an excellent footballer and, from my judgement of meeting him, an excellent person in general, I certainly couldn't see any other reason other than injury/fitness as being the reason he's not on the panel."
Well said. And at least not a long journey for you today.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2023 13:39:32    2458836

Replying To BigJoe14:  "That might cut it at club level, but there is clearly a massive jump even from Senior club football to Senior inter County football. There have been several fade outs in my opinion. Three anialations against Dublin in 2019, 2020 and 2022. The first half against Dublin 2021 can also be thrown in."
First of all , we are all Meath men so personally I wouldn't care if there are no Club men of mine on the team once they win!

We have given Rourkey the job as he was the best man for the job and we let him see fit to pick whoever he wants and lets be fair to seems to be working at the minute so we cant criticize

Only disappointing thing about it seems to be the manner in which he was dropped , if hes not fit then wouldn't the county panel be the best place for him to get fit?? why drop him off the panel completely if its just a fitness thing?
He did win player of the year last year also . . If theres better defenders in the county then happy days lets pick them but hes def one of our better defenders

Regarding these fade outs he apparently had, you cannot blame him for the fade outs against Dublin , we couldn't keep the ball kicked out to them so to blame the full back is ridiculous

Anyway massive game tonight which this thread is supposed to be about , I feel if we don't lose this will be a massive result . . always find it hard against Derry going back Donkeys years so lets all get behind the team and forget the politics

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 18/02/2023 13:56:34    2458838

Replying To BigJoe14:  "That might cut it at club level, but there is clearly a massive jump even from Senior club football to Senior inter County football. There have been several fade outs in my opinion. Three anialations against Dublin in 2019, 2020 and 2022. The first half against Dublin 2021 can also be thrown in."
That is absolutely ridiculous. Majority of the team were hopeless in all them games ya mentioned, but sure single out mcgill. And by the way in 2019 he was one of our better players against Dublin. The full back line all played well that day, scores came from further put the field.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 18/02/2023 14:52:32    2458851

Absolute muck.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 18/02/2023 17:37:42    2458886

I'm going to ignore BigJoes comment about the Dublin games as examples of McGill fading out because as many people pointed out they were team demolitions.

However, McGill in or not I doubt he would make much difference to this score line. Campion and Scully not existent for me so far and half back line not tracking runners

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 18/02/2023 17:43:46    2458888

Wow. I'm soaked and in disbelief, worst half of football since I was soaked in salthill. No cohesion at all, fb line is at sea, the kicking the ball into a player surrounded is stupidity personified. Man for man football against Derry is never going to work. What are management thinking? Naive in abundance. I pray and hope that we get some respectability in second half. Cause that was embarrassing. And lot of players tbh not pulling their weight.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/02/2023 17:47:37    2458889

Usual stuff whenever we play a decent team

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 18/02/2023 18:25:37    2458891

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wow. I'm soaked and in disbelief, worst half of football since I was soaked in salthill. No cohesion at all, fb line is at sea, the kicking the ball into a player surrounded is stupidity personified. Man for man football against Derry is never going to work. What are management thinking? Naive in abundance. I pray and hope that we get some respectability in second half. Cause that was embarrassing. And lot of players tbh not pulling their weight."
We were never getting near Derry still miles off beating any sort of top side

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 18/02/2023 18:29:16    2458892