Meath Panel 2023

Obviously very early for this and so much could change with championship form and the regional championship which I believe is taking place this year. But with the new management coming in I thought I'd put a panel out there to start the conversation. I am assuming/praying that Keoghan and Menton will return Admittedly I wouldn't get to go to as many junior games as I do senior or inter so maybe there are some names I haven't considered enough.

Goalkeepers
Harry Hogan, Billy Hogan, Andy Beakey, Sean Brennan

Backs
Eoin Harkin, Paraic Harnan, Conor Harnan, James O'Hare, Donal Keoghan, Conor McGill, Cathal Hickey, Shane McEntee, Conor Harford, Adam O'Neil, Niall O'Reilly, Robin Clarke, Brian Conlon

Midfielders
Brian Menton, Ronan Jones, Daithi McGowan, Jack Flynn, Adam Flanagan, Oisin Reilly, Cian McBride (he hasn't played in the AFL yet and is out of contract at the end of the year so very possible he returns unless he breaks through).

Forwards
Jordy Morris, Frank O'Reilly, Jack O'Connor, Diarmuid Moriarty, Matt Costello, Luke Mitchell, Mickey Newman (ask and see will he play), Donal Lenihan (ask and see will he play), Cillian O'Sullivan, Shane Walsh, Jason Scully, Cathal Finnegan, Darragh Campion, Eoghan Frayne, Aaron Lynch, Thomas O'Reilly

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 26/07/2022 17:05:52    2434658

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Obviously very early for this and so much could change with championship form and the regional championship which I believe is taking place this year. But with the new management coming in I thought I'd put a panel out there to start the conversation. I am assuming/praying that Keoghan and Menton will return Admittedly I wouldn't get to go to as many junior games as I do senior or inter so maybe there are some names I haven't considered enough.

Goalkeepers

Backs
Eoin Harkin, Paraic Harnan, Conor Harnan, James O'Hare, Donal Keoghan, Conor McGill, Cathal Hickey, Shane McEntee, Conor Harford, Adam O'Neil, Niall O'Reilly, Robin Clarke, Brian Conlon

Midfielders
Brian Menton, Ronan Jones, Daithi McGowan, Jack Flynn, Adam Flanagan, Oisin Reilly, Cian McBride (he hasn't played in the AFL yet and is out of contract at the end of the year so very possible he returns unless he breaks through).

Forwards
Jordy Morris, Frank O'Reilly, Jack O'Connor, Diarmuid Moriarty, Matt Costello, Luke Mitchell, Mickey Newman (ask and see will he play), Donal Lenihan (ask and see will he play), Cillian O'Sullivan, Shane Walsh, Jason Scully, Cathal Finnegan, Darragh Campion, Eoghan Frayne, Aaron Lynch, Thomas O'Reilly"
Cathal Finneagan a must for me. I've been bigging him up since he was a teenager and not making county panels. Best free taker in Meath in my opinion.

Fionn Reilly be back on the scene anytime soon?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1320 - 27/07/2022 09:36:49    2434749

Don't think Fionn is back but cathal should get a look.

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 27/07/2022 10:05:50    2434761

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Obviously very early for this and so much could change with championship form and the regional championship which I believe is taking place this year. But with the new management coming in I thought I'd put a panel out there to start the conversation. I am assuming/praying that Keoghan and Menton will return Admittedly I wouldn't get to go to as many junior games as I do senior or inter so maybe there are some names I haven't considered enough.

Goalkeepers

Backs

Midfielders

Forwards
Jordy Morris, Frank O'Reilly, Jack O'Connor, Diarmuid Moriarty, Matt Costello, Luke Mitchell, Mickey Newman (ask and see will he play), Donal Lenihan (ask and see will he play), Cillian O'Sullivan, Shane Walsh, Jason Scully, Cathal Finnegan, Darragh Campion, Eoghan Frayne, Aaron Lynch, Thomas O'Reilly"
Great list there LR,

Dunno about Mickey and Donal but its worth a conversation. I think Mickey's personal health would rule him out, think his consultant told him he'd a year or two max at club level left. Article by Gordon Manning at Christmas highlighted Mickey's situation.

If McBride is home then invite him in. Andy i think did for 2020 when he was home. So see what he has about him.

@Crinigan, I've no idea re Fionn Reilly, but if he's available why not ask him

A few names I'd throw in the mix

Defence - Niall Kane, Brian McGrath, Seamus Lavin, David Toner, James McEntee (still has something to offer), Shane Gallagher
Midfield - Think you've nailed it
Forwards - Niall Finnerty (i think!!) David McLoughlin, Barry Dardis, Michael Deegan (controversial i know)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 27/07/2022 10:14:24    2434766

Goalkeepers

Backs

Midfielders

Forwards
I'd add Lavin (Dunboyne) Gallagher (Simonstown) and McGowan (Ratoath) to the backs, and I'd also have Muldoon from Kells over both Clark and Brian Conlon.
The midfields has a few lads that can play half back/half forward as well.
Forward wise I'd add Joey Wallace (Ratoath)
For the pre-season and even O Byrne Cup I'd bring in lads from the 20's and Minor team as well, get them on the S&C programme and even give them the experience of that level of fitness/football training so that they know what they need to get to as a minimum to make it at the senior grade, the likes of Kelly, Corbitt, Emanuell, Corcoran, Leonard and possibly 1 or 2 more that I'm forgetting. They may not all push on but should be given every opportunity to at least have the chance

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 27/07/2022 10:45:44    2434778

Goalkeepers

Backs

Midfielders

Forwards
Great list there LR,

Dunno about Mickey and Donal but its worth a conversation. I think Mickey's personal health would rule him out, think his consultant told him he'd a year or two max at club level left. Article by Gordon Manning at Christmas highlighted Mickey's situation.

If McBride is home then invite him in. Andy i think did for 2020 when he was home. So see what he has about him.

Defence - Niall Kane, Brian McGrath, Seamus Lavin, David Toner, James McEntee (still has something to offer), Shane Gallagher
Forwards - Niall Finnerty (i think!!) David McLoughlin, Barry Dardis, Michael Deegan (controversial i know)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 27/07/2022 10:59:28    2434786

Refreshing to hear that there is currently no longer a Meath squad and everyone has to earn the right for their place. No doubt we will see some familiar faces return but a clear out was necessary.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 515 - 27/07/2022 11:14:06    2434797

Replying To winatallcost:  "Refreshing to hear that there is currently no longer a Meath squad and everyone has to earn the right for their place. No doubt we will see some familiar faces return but a clear out was necessary."
Good to see a clean slate policy, everyone has equal chance. Also a positive to see panel of young lads brought in to gain experience, get advice and build confidence without any pressure.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2152 - 27/07/2022 13:10:42    2434848

Replying To brian:  "Great list there LR,

Forwards - Niall Finnerty (i think!!) David McLoughlin, Barry Dardis, Michael Deegan (controversial i know)"
David Toner? Tell us more.

PatrickTopping (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 27/07/2022 13:36:13    2434859

Replying To PatrickTopping:  "David Toner? Tell us more."
I know no more, was involved previously so maybe worth another look if he's back playing football.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 27/07/2022 15:10:58    2434887

Replying To brian:  "I know no more, was involved previously so maybe worth another look if he's back playing football."
Toner is in Canada and by all accounts has little to no intention of coming home............but that still leaves a tiny chance that he might. If he does though he may be looked at as half back as he was never a corner back at all

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 27/07/2022 15:20:51    2434893

Seamus Lavin is the big addition if we can get him back. Superb footballer

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 27/07/2022 15:33:38    2434901

Replying To ratlag:  "Toner is in Canada and by all accounts has little to no intention of coming home............but that still leaves a tiny chance that he might. If he does though he may be looked at as half back as he was never a corner back at all"
Thought as much and good luck to the lad

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 27/07/2022 15:33:51    2434902

Looks like there needs to be a starting with a blank page approach. See who shines in club games, have a series of trials and ability tests, and try to get the qualities needed in Croke park games. Leagues irrelevant

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 519 - 27/07/2022 15:58:43    2434909

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "Seamus Lavin is the big addition if we can get him back. Superb footballer"
Yeah no doubt and was a loss this year. Unfortunately don't think he'll be back next year

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1470 - 27/07/2022 16:28:00    2434917

Replying To ratlag:  "I'd add Lavin (Dunboyne) Gallagher (Simonstown) and McGowan (Ratoath) to the backs, and I'd also have Muldoon from Kells over both Clark and Brian Conlon.
The midfields has a few lads that can play half back/half forward as well.
Forward wise I'd add Joey Wallace (Ratoath)
For the pre-season and even O Byrne Cup I'd bring in lads from the 20's and Minor team as well, get them on the S&C programme and even give them the experience of that level of fitness/football training so that they know what they need to get to as a minimum to make it at the senior grade, the likes of Kelly, Corbitt, Emanuell, Corcoran, Leonard and possibly 1 or 2 more that I'm forgetting. They may not all push on but should be given every opportunity to at least have the chance"
Congratulations Colm and best of luck. Fair play for taking it on.
I would be in no hurry bringing in those young lads you named, they all have two years left at under 20 (2023 & 2024), in fact I think it would be wrong from a player development point of view, I wouldn't even be in any rush bringing in any of next years under 20's.
What would be really good for that group would be if Colm and his amazing back room team took a big interest in getting involved with the under 20 team too.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 27/07/2022 17:05:35    2434931

Replying To Meathball:  "Congratulations Colm and best of luck. Fair play for taking it on.
I would be in no hurry bringing in those young lads you named, they all have two years left at under 20 (2023 & 2024), in fact I think it would be wrong from a player development point of view, I wouldn't even be in any rush bringing in any of next years under 20's.
What would be really good for that group would be if Colm and his amazing back room team took a big interest in getting involved with the under 20 team too."
I don't mean to bring them in for the full year as I don't think any of them would impact the starting 15 or matchday panel, but to get them on the S&C programme straight away and a month or two's pre season (roughly Nov-Dec/Jan) training with the senior team will:
1. No doubt benefit them for the U20's campaign and their respective club campaigns
2. Give them an taste and insight into what will be required of them at Senior level under Colm (and any other manager thereafter)
3. Possibly be a wake up call to any of the lads in there at the moment to say that these lads are being looked at properly and are a viable option if they meet the requirements laid down by the management

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 28/07/2022 08:26:05    2434986

Replying To brian:  "Great list there LR,

Forwards - Niall Finnerty (i think!!) David McLoughlin, Barry Dardis, Michael Deegan (controversial i know)"
Can't understand how Cathal Lacey Dunboyne isn't being mentioned by anyone, one of the best forwards in Meath right now. Maybe after club championship people will start taking notice.

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 404 - 28/07/2022 08:50:59    2434989

Replying To ratlag:  "I don't mean to bring them in for the full year as I don't think any of them would impact the starting 15 or matchday panel, but to get them on the S&C programme straight away and a month or two's pre season (roughly Nov-Dec/Jan) training with the senior team will:
1. No doubt benefit them for the U20's campaign and their respective club campaigns
2. Give them an taste and insight into what will be required of them at Senior level under Colm (and any other manager thereafter)
3. Possibly be a wake up call to any of the lads in there at the moment to say that these lads are being looked at properly and are a viable option if they meet the requirements laid down by the management"
Ratlag, i think Colm himself said in his interview with Fergal Lynch that his plan is to have a panel of lads in the maybe 18-21 age range having access to all of those facilities around Fitness, S&C , sports science, nutrition etc. That they can get involved with higher standards of coaching and hopefully develop their game and if they show out in that they might be brought into the senior squad to see how they do, whilst not having to work as hard just to get up to the iftness levels required alone, I think that's great joined up thinking , would hopefully benefit the U20 teams, and shows lads there's a route into the county panel for everyone.

Think he's also said the panel will be open door so if you're doing it at club level you will get an opportunity to show it. And to be fair I would say Andy was always open to bringing in lads if needed to freshen up the squad, Walsh in 2019, the U20's in 2020 etc.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 28/07/2022 09:52:10    2435005

Replying To redser123:  "Can't understand how Cathal Lacey Dunboyne isn't being mentioned by anyone, one of the best forwards in Meath right now. Maybe after club championship people will start taking notice."
Always good to hear other names, and new names too redser ;) I think Colm's policy will be open and transparent, give players a chance at least to show what they can do and with the younger panel of players have 50-60 lads involved that all have access to the things they need to improve and get to inter county standard.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1955 - 28/07/2022 09:54:30    2435006