Meath Vs Galway

Are we improving from team and football terms yes.from the whinging and moaning goin on on the line noooo.
Lets concentrate where we can control if deflecting the blame on to officials is the story now we are in trouble.coach these lads now for the scenarios that occurred yday.nally those b preaching these things at WORKSHOPS. Time he started to implement them.football wise he has it nearly there but these teams are ready and willing to win at all cost.galway in fairness would have been like us few year ago theyve now under joyce gotten mean and nasty twist to them.
Hes doin his job the rest can only b down to outside influences.but if your not reading a team likewise its same result next time and so on.2 more games to really work on it so lets try get few points and take the summer by storm.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 02/03/2020 16:36:05    2271728

Replying To southmeathgael:  "O'Reilly has been a stand out performer in the league, far better option then Conlon. Also Ryan is as solid as a centre back we have had in years, very hard to drop him"
"Far better option than Conlon". Conlon scored 3 points from play yesterday. O' Reilly scored nothing. G'lad
Here's a crazy suggestion, why not play them both in the full forward line?

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 02/03/2020 17:57:37    2271747

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Consistency is key, and we have had that now with 3 on the bounce once we found our feet, in spite of what personnel were available. Whatever about big losses we have had through injury, it's almost more encouraging to see the system in place can still hold it's own at this level, and no doubt we will be stronger come the summer.

People talking about losing games being a worry is a complete nonsense, Keogan said the same during the week. Going toe to toe with the Kerrys, Galways, etc. will do far more for this team than giving out our annual beating to the likes of Clare, Laois etc will ever do.

We will be back up for a better and longer crack at it I feel, and I don't think many will fancy meeting us in the summer, in contrast to other years we could have been seen as a soft touch.

The worry for some this time last year was we peaked for the league, this year I feel our best is definitely yet to come which bodes well."
Think you nailed it here encouraging signs, but just feel like this league has been a real wasted opportunity, just 1 win would have been huge for the confidence of the team, really is a lot of pressure on Andy and the team to knock off 1 good team in this year's championship, between the super 8s and this league we have blown so many chances at knocking off a div 1 team

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 02/03/2020 18:59:36    2271766

1st Choice 15 Simple as..

1.Brennan
2.Lavin
3.McGill
4.Toner
5.J Mcentee
6.Harnan
7.Keoghan
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.Devine
11.McMahon
12.O'Sullivan
13.Walsh
14.Newman
15.Lenihan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 02/03/2020 20:55:00    2271791

Replying To grahamc9897:  "1st Choice 15 Simple as..

1.Brennan
2.Lavin
3.McGill
4.Toner
5.J Mcentee
6.Harnan
7.Keoghan
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.Devine
11.McMahon
12.O'Sullivan
13.Walsh
14.Newman
15.Lenihan"
Would ye not bring O'Sullivan on as an impact sub?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 02/03/2020 22:11:50    2271807

Replying To Selwyn:  ""Far better option than Conlon". Conlon scored 3 points from play yesterday. O' Reilly scored nothing. G'lad
Here's a crazy suggestion, why not play them both in the full forward line?"
The discussion is if everyone is fit and there isn't room for both. Walsh Newman lenihan would prob be my 3 any way, but I feel Reilly gives a more physical presence and there was 4 other games before this one where he did score ya know, plus, and crucially, he can kick a ball more then 20 yards.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 03/03/2020 06:54:01    2271841

Replying To grahamc9897:  "1st Choice 15 Simple as..

1.Brennan
2.Lavin
3.McGill
4.Toner
5.J Mcentee
6.Harnan
7.Keoghan
8.Menton
9.Jones
10.Devine
11.McMahon
12.O'Sullivan
13.Walsh
14.Newman
15.Lenihan"
I would have Ronan Ryan in ahead of Toner would be only change I would suggest, but Toner has been good in the league so far

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 03/03/2020 08:33:03    2271851

Replying To Borderroyal:  "Are we improving from team and football terms yes.from the whinging and moaning goin on on the line noooo.
Lets concentrate where we can control if deflecting the blame on to officials is the story now we are in trouble.coach these lads now for the scenarios that occurred yday.nally those b preaching these things at WORKSHOPS. Time he started to implement them.football wise he has it nearly there but these teams are ready and willing to win at all cost.galway in fairness would have been like us few year ago theyve now under joyce gotten mean and nasty twist to them.
Hes doin his job the rest can only b down to outside influences.but if your not reading a team likewise its same result next time and so on.2 more games to really work on it so lets try get few points and take the summer by storm."
I think Galway developed their nasty streak under Kevin Walsh after they took a few hidings from Mayo, who themselves were no angels. Joyce is just continuing it on and the players are probably driving it at this stage. They are entitled to do what they want, but is up to a strong referee to cut it out early by punishing this carry on, which the referee did not do on Sunday as he let it all go and Galway continued to get away with it. Not much Meath could have done to prevent Galway doing it, as they mainly doing it on Meath kickouts, when Meath players were trying to get free.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 03/03/2020 09:19:03    2271867

Replying To southmeathgael:  "The discussion is if everyone is fit and there isn't room for both. Walsh Newman lenihan would prob be my 3 any way, but I feel Reilly gives a more physical presence and there was 4 other games before this one where he did score ya know, plus, and crucially, he can kick a ball more then 20 yards."
Walsh, Newman and lenihan is most certainly the best 3. Hard to see how you can argue with this, Reilly is a better ball carrier, Physical etc and Conlan isn't a threat outside the 21 based on last year anyway. There will be certain games going a certain way where Conlan will be a better option, if meath are well on top (like Laois last year) and the ball is going in to him close to goal where he will rack up scores no doubt, but in tighter games last year he struggle to make a consistent impact

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 03/03/2020 09:33:37    2271870

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I think Galway developed their nasty streak under Kevin Walsh after they took a few hidings from Mayo, who themselves were no angels. Joyce is just continuing it on and the players are probably driving it at this stage. They are entitled to do what they want, but is up to a strong referee to cut it out early by punishing this carry on, which the referee did not do on Sunday as he let it all go and Galway continued to get away with it. Not much Meath could have done to prevent Galway doing it, as they mainly doing it on Meath kickouts, when Meath players were trying to get free."
I think that nasty streak is what has left Meath behind against the better counties in recent years. All well and good having talent but cuteness and knowing what it takes to win at all costs is somthing we are lacking in compared to the others in div 1.

Managing the ref is just as important.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 03/03/2020 09:45:29    2271872

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "I think that nasty streak is what has left Meath behind against the better counties in recent years. All well and good having talent but cuteness and knowing what it takes to win at all costs is somthing we are lacking in compared to the others in div 1.

Managing the ref is just as important."
You are correct on both counts there. I think it would benefit us far more if we took the Dublin approach to the ref, where the Dublin players question absolutely every last single decision the ref makes and usually have three or four players straight up in his face pleading innocence/remonstrating, while Jim Gavin (now Dessie Farrell) would just quietly/sneakily be constantly in the lines mans ear as he is passing without jumping up and down and turning them against you. While I completely understand Andy McEntee's frustration at some of the decisions that have been going against us, it probably isn't doing us any favours having Andy going ballistic for the entire game at the ref while the players don't remonstrate at all really. It is probably pissing the referee off more at us. We need the players doing the remonstrating to the ref and Andy keeping as calm as he can on the line.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 03/03/2020 10:31:52    2271885

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I think Galway developed their nasty streak under Kevin Walsh after they took a few hidings from Mayo, who themselves were no angels. Joyce is just continuing it on and the players are probably driving it at this stage. They are entitled to do what they want, but is up to a strong referee to cut it out early by punishing this carry on, which the referee did not do on Sunday as he let it all go and Galway continued to get away with it. Not much Meath could have done to prevent Galway doing it, as they mainly doing it on Meath kickouts, when Meath players were trying to get free."
Refs will do what they do.cant change them i agree with you 100% but need to return the nastiness back on teams ourselves.losing the plot from start to finish along the line to me it only makes me think manager not fully concentrating on game.quiet word b better maybe.just my thoughts on it.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 03/03/2020 11:10:54    2271898

Replying To BigJoe14:  "You are correct on both counts there. I think it would benefit us far more if we took the Dublin approach to the ref, where the Dublin players question absolutely every last single decision the ref makes and usually have three or four players straight up in his face pleading innocence/remonstrating, while Jim Gavin (now Dessie Farrell) would just quietly/sneakily be constantly in the lines mans ear as he is passing without jumping up and down and turning them against you. While I completely understand Andy McEntee's frustration at some of the decisions that have been going against us, it probably isn't doing us any favours having Andy going ballistic for the entire game at the ref while the players don't remonstrate at all really. It is probably pissing the referee off more at us. We need the players doing the remonstrating to the ref and Andy keeping as calm as he can on the line."
If our players are in the refs face like the dubs don't you know they will get yellow and red cards.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 03/03/2020 19:41:38    2272047

Replying To BigJoe14:  "You are correct on both counts there. I think it would benefit us far more if we took the Dublin approach to the ref, where the Dublin players question absolutely every last single decision the ref makes and usually have three or four players straight up in his face pleading innocence/remonstrating, while Jim Gavin (now Dessie Farrell) would just quietly/sneakily be constantly in the lines mans ear as he is passing without jumping up and down and turning them against you. While I completely understand Andy McEntee's frustration at some of the decisions that have been going against us, it probably isn't doing us any favours having Andy going ballistic for the entire game at the ref while the players don't remonstrate at all really. It is probably pissing the referee off more at us. We need the players doing the remonstrating to the ref and Andy keeping as calm as he can on the line."
If our players are in the refs face like the dubs don't you know they will get yellow and red cards.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 03/03/2020 19:45:47    2272048

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "If our players are in the refs face like the dubs don't you know they will get yellow and red cards."
This is exactly right. The dubs get away with murder as the GAA won't do anything to their golden goose. No toher county would get away with the harassment of referees and officials.

Look at last weekend, James McCarthy punched a guy in the throat late in the game. Not even a card. If the roles had been reversed a six month ban would've been handed down and the typical dirty Tyrone.

This Dublin team are as cynical as they come and they'll do anything to win. They engineer situations to break the momentum of teams at the end of games. How many times do you see them drag down players in the later minutes and injury time. The main culprits are always Small, Fenton, Howard and Scully. In the league alone this year they did it against Donegal, Monagahan and Tyrone. 3 out of the five games. The worst thing is they don't need to do it. Their ability is unquestioned and they don't need to do it.

Wasn't it Small who dragged Murphy (who's no angel himself but he gives and takes in equal measures) down when Donegal were closing the gap and ruined any momentum they had. Referee sends them both off.

When we play them on the 14th you can be sure they'll do the same to us.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/03/2020 10:50:00    2272135

Replying To brian:  "This is exactly right. The dubs get away with murder as the GAA won't do anything to their golden goose. No toher county would get away with the harassment of referees and officials.

Look at last weekend, James McCarthy punched a guy in the throat late in the game. Not even a card. If the roles had been reversed a six month ban would've been handed down and the typical dirty Tyrone.

This Dublin team are as cynical as they come and they'll do anything to win. They engineer situations to break the momentum of teams at the end of games. How many times do you see them drag down players in the later minutes and injury time. The main culprits are always Small, Fenton, Howard and Scully. In the league alone this year they did it against Donegal, Monagahan and Tyrone. 3 out of the five games. The worst thing is they don't need to do it. Their ability is unquestioned and they don't need to do it.

Wasn't it Small who dragged Murphy (who's no angel himself but he gives and takes in equal measures) down when Donegal were closing the gap and ruined any momentum they had. Referee sends them both off.

When we play them on the 14th you can be sure they'll do the same to us."
Isn't it interesting that Micheal Murphy got sent of against Dublin a few weeks ago, and not against Meath. When he was doing the same thing. Seems like you can get away with more the higher profile you are. People talking about Andy Mc Entee complaining Meath black cards and refs given Meath a hard time.
You can see form the reaction why Meath get a hard time and bad calls from the refs.
Nobody cares,
Its not news if COS or Mc Gill gets a black card. But it is if Micheal Murphy of James Mc Carthy ( not picking on these just that they are high profile) until Meath starting getting to these levels nobody will care. Its a joke but its the way it is.
For example when Damien Lawlor asked Vincent Hogan was Andy Mc Entee correct to complain about not playing the correct time against Mayo while Dublin got 9 minutes of injury time against Monaghan. Lawlor asked Hogan twice and, twice Hogan basically dismissed Mc Entee and said ref was correct play 9 minutes for Dublin.
This the type of attitude that is out towards Meath at the moment.
Nobody in Meath wants every decision to go our way that's not possible for any team. But it would be nice to rock to game and not be worried about the referee or for the ref to a talking point afterwards. it bugging the hell out of me lately.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 04/03/2020 11:48:04    2272152

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Isn't it interesting that Micheal Murphy got sent of against Dublin a few weeks ago, and not against Meath. When he was doing the same thing. Seems like you can get away with more the higher profile you are. People talking about Andy Mc Entee complaining Meath black cards and refs given Meath a hard time.
You can see form the reaction why Meath get a hard time and bad calls from the refs.
Nobody cares,
Its not news if COS or Mc Gill gets a black card. But it is if Micheal Murphy of James Mc Carthy ( not picking on these just that they are high profile) until Meath starting getting to these levels nobody will care. Its a joke but its the way it is.
For example when Damien Lawlor asked Vincent Hogan was Andy Mc Entee correct to complain about not playing the correct time against Mayo while Dublin got 9 minutes of injury time against Monaghan. Lawlor asked Hogan twice and, twice Hogan basically dismissed Mc Entee and said ref was correct play 9 minutes for Dublin.
This the type of attitude that is out towards Meath at the moment.
Nobody in Meath wants every decision to go our way that's not possible for any team. But it would be nice to rock to game and not be worried about the referee or for the ref to a talking point afterwards. it bugging the hell out of me lately."
Good point - been frustrated with refs so long now. Then again its a thankless task with frequent rule changes etc.

We could say that we could resort to Galway style tactics aka last weekend against the dubs but you can be damn sure we will lose players to a red card or at least the sin bin. We need to up our physicality but if we adopt the Galway pulling and dragging approach I don't think it will work in our favour.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 08/03/2020 14:34:10    2272816