Meath V Donegal

Cheers

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 01/02/2020 19:49:46    2264244

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I like your general common sense approach Hteam. But I am going to disagree. Sure I get the fact some goalkeepers will not commit. Management cant do anything there. But didn't Jake Hannigan And Burlinham walk because Mc Entee brought back Gallagher or a near 40 year man. What was all that about ? Also Marcus Brennan in his mid 30's last year. Joe Sheridan brought. That was never going to work either.

My point is if Mc Entee invested in youth instead of these stop gaps keepers we might be in a better position today.
Also I get your point that players have to take responsibility of course they do. But just take the well oiled Dublin machine Cluckston gets a arm chair ride he has at least two have at two option/clear targets every kick out. With clever running players creating and creating space. All he has to do is bang the ball into space created at his leisure.
We struggle to come up with one option. I blame tactics mostly for this.
I am not Colgan greatest fan but people are quick point when misplaced a balls. But he dose a lot right too that largely goes unnoticed. Although I am sure about him in the long term.

On a side note you mentioned the Mayo game last year. I think Colgan messed up and deserved his black card and peno against him. But ref ran 60 yards to give that. Cillian o'Sullivan was pulled and dragged the whole game on and off the ball it was a joke line men and ref did nothing the whole game. Boyle cleared pulled a meath player down on the way into goal and ref never gave a black and cops out and gives a yellow. Yet hw was quiet prepared to nail Colgan. So I have sympathy for Andy with regards this. Easy target for the ref."
All fair comments bobkarlgees, gk is undoubtedly an area of concern for us and I accept that management could do better.

I have to say I am a fan of McEntee, so maybe that skews my view sometimes but I always try to look past that and say it as I see it. So for me McEntee has improved the team in all areas since MOD bar goalie and the kickout strategy (or lack of it).

Now as for Colgan and his kickouts, I actually thought he was slowly getting better as the summer went on last year. Players were making runs and he was finding his man on occasions but I suppose people are more likely to remember the mistakes rather than the good work.

But anyway, we have a big game tomorrow and it would be a huge lift to the whole squad if we could get a result, which I believe is possible.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/02/2020 20:14:15    2264258

Replying To Htaem:  "All fair comments bobkarlgees, gk is undoubtedly an area of concern for us and I accept that management could do better.

I have to say I am a fan of McEntee, so maybe that skews my view sometimes but I always try to look past that and say it as I see it. So for me McEntee has improved the team in all areas since MOD bar goalie and the kickout strategy (or lack of it).

Now as for Colgan and his kickouts, I actually thought he was slowly getting better as the summer went on last year. Players were making runs and he was finding his man on occasions but I suppose people are more likely to remember the mistakes rather than the good work.

But anyway, we have a big game tomorrow and it would be a huge lift to the whole squad if we could get a result, which I believe is possible."
Yeah, I have to say after tonight's games a win tomorrow would put a pep in our step. Let's face it the final will be Dublin v Kerry , the rest of us playing for survival, mayo and galway still to play at home and Monaghan on last day, win v donegal and we hold positive outlook, a loss and things start to look bad even at this early stage.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/02/2020 20:53:28    2264285

Replying To Htaem:  "All fair comments bobkarlgees, gk is undoubtedly an area of concern for us and I accept that management could do better.

But anyway, we have a big game tomorrow and it would be a huge lift to the whole squad if we could get a result, which I believe is possible."
Yes 100%. Dare I say we kinda deserve a bit of luck getting over the line against one of these big teams. But you make your luck. Hopefully we can make something happen tommorrow.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 01/02/2020 22:11:44    2264337

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yes 100%. Dare I say we kinda deserve a bit of luck getting over the line against one of these big teams. But you make your luck. Hopefully we can make something happen tommorrow."
Hopefully. As all has said a bit of luck can decide games like this.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/02/2020 22:57:56    2264353

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah, I have to say after tonight's games a win tomorrow would put a pep in our step. Let's face it the final will be Dublin v Kerry , the rest of us playing for survival, mayo and galway still to play at home and Monaghan on last day, win v donegal and we hold positive outlook, a loss and things start to look bad even at this early stage."
That's my feeling on it as well, that actually this game counts for a lot more than just 2 points, I think it will have a big bearing on whether we can stay up. Win today and we can go against Mayo with some confidence and from there who knows. 2 losses from 2 though would be a demoralising start

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 02/02/2020 08:14:49    2264379

Best wishes to the players and management today.
We need a win. Let's make pt the 16 man.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2020 08:52:35    2264385

Replying To cabbage:  "That's my feeling on it as well, that actually this game counts for a lot more than just 2 points, I think it will have a big bearing on whether we can stay up. Win today and we can go against Mayo with some confidence and from there who knows. 2 losses from 2 though would be a demoralising start"
Exactly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/02/2020 09:24:35    2264387

Replying To jackhackett:  "Only 3 of that side currently on the sidelines with injury Bear."
Yes such a pity

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/02/2020 10:49:44    2264404

Let's get the chants going for today. Roar the team on. Make navan a fortress.

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 02/02/2020 11:43:48    2264412

See we got Richieq converted over to the donegal camp, he's very quiet this while,
Practically adopted at this stage!

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 02/02/2020 12:15:27    2264420

Soooo lads.... now that the inter county season is done with,

Who do yis think will win the Keegan Cup this year?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 02/02/2020 16:11:54    2264476

Terrible stuff, wouldn't know where to start with that performance

Harnan6 (Meath) - Posts: 32 - 02/02/2020 16:12:49    2264477

12 wides to 7 points, its hard to be that bad.. what a nightmare start to division 1

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 02/02/2020 16:22:37    2264483

Replying To redser123:  "12 wides to 7 points, its hard to be that bad.. what a nightmare start to division 1"
You really suprised ! As I said last week lambs to the slaughter !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 02/02/2020 16:58:20    2264504

Disgraceful attitude by some fans leaving early. Where was the atmosphere? Donegal probably never played in such a timid environment. We as fans need to deliver and put in our bit too. A few chants before the game would have helped the team

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 02/02/2020 17:12:43    2264510

Few points from today's game:
1.marcus brennan should be our number 1 keeper going forward for the rest of the year as hes the best we've got at the minute. Made 2 great stops from Murphy's pen and brennan's shot in the second half which he deflected onto the cross bar. Few bad kickouts but for the most part solid enough lack movement out the field is a huge problem

2. Donegal are what we should be looking to emulate in regards to kickouts. They only lost one for the whole game and have a clear kick out plan which the execute to perfection most of the time and can vary from long to short. Another areas there brilliant at is pushing up on the opposition kickouts they cut out most option in the second have by doing a full press on kickouts while meath tried to do zonal press and it was way to easy for them to find free men.

3. The lack of quality forwards is a real concern. Today Thomas o Reilly was the only one that performed. And I just don't know what mcentee sees in eamon Wallace as he was atrocious today and gave the ball away numerous times and looks unfit i don't know how he wasnt taken off before Costello as I felt it was unfair to take him off as there were players playing worse in that first half in my opinion. Joey deserves another few chances as I see potential in him.

4 we don't seem to be as fit as we where last year looking at the game today really lacked pace and power from the middle 8 and couldn't make any line breaks through the donegal defence as support lines and runners weren't there

Meath4Sam2020 (Meath) - Posts: 132 - 02/02/2020 17:17:59    2264514

Ah Christ we are awful to watch. I am now firmly of the opinion our line does not think about the game, the opposition or the elements game on game.

First of all this defensive setup is alien to The Meath way. Dropping so many players behind the ball and us with the wind in the first place is bad enough but it is inviting Donegal onto us and they just toyed with us. I mean we needed to keep their defenders honest and we did not do that remotely.

I mean I clocked a good 25 mins in first half were we had the wind and no inside forward in sight. I mean we were as good at keeping the ball as they were in parts but we had no one to kick it inside and worse still with no one inside we had no one either could run a line of an inside forward .

And the unforgivable thing is this. When you have a wind like that you have to really gamble and go with a full on press on their Kickouts. Instead what we do, we kept the spare men back in our own half of the field marking no one and doing nothing instead of pushing right up and choking their kickout.

I mean tactically our line is at nothing. I mean nothing. We could have beaten Tyrone and today we made Donegal look good.

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 02/02/2020 17:30:29    2264521

Look we had a bad day at the office, very poor performance, but this is the level we want to reach, we want to be playing in Div1 consistently.

This is our first time at the top level since 2006 (first standalone Div1 since 1997!!), and while we all hoped we could go toe to toe, it's just not happening for us yet. We have a lot to learn and hopefully we will learn.

I know the injuries are a bit of an excuse but to be fair we are missing half our defense and some key forwards as well. To have any real chance we needed to be at or near full strength, but we're a mile off that.

Anyway the year is young yet, we can't abandon ship this early just because things aren't going well.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/02/2020 17:56:24    2264533

Replying To LoyalRoyal66:  "Disgraceful attitude by some fans leaving early. Where was the atmosphere? Donegal probably never played in such a timid environment. We as fans need to deliver and put in our bit too. A few chants before the game would have helped the team"
very true so called meath supporters are a disgrace. they could not wait to get home to Facebook and lash the team

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 02/02/2020 17:59:14    2264537