8. Bryan Menton
9. Conor Gillespie
10. Seamus Kenny
11. Joe Sheridan
12. Graham Reilly
13. Brian Farrell
14. Shane O'Rourke
15. Stephen Bray

I think Moyles, Brendan Murphy, Eoin Harrington, Peadar Byrne, Caomhin King and Cian Ward had their best years in the period between 2006 and 2010, after that it is hard to put them in ahead of others from 2010 to 2019. Mickey Burke is very worthy of his place in this team in my opinion as he was an ever present consistent player from 2010 to 2019. Brian Meade unlucky to lose out but I can't put him ahead of menton and Gillespie. Mickey Newman also unlucky but Bray, Joe and Farrell all had big years in this decade, Bray especially who was a shoe in. Player of the decade also without a shadow of a doubt Donal Keogan, pushed closely by Stephen Bray. Graham Reilly put in some outrageously brilliant individual performances but didn't have the consistency or attitude of Bray and Keogan.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 11/12/2019 15:14:32    2254300

Ever hear the expression "take him off and bring on nobody"?

Well it springs to mind when I think of the past decade of Meath intercounty football. We've been very poor for most of the past decade so not sure there are too many players who deserved to be named in any team of a decade apart from maybe Donal Keoghan who has never let his performance fall below outstanding since his very first game when he came on a sub v Wicklow.

2010 doesn't count as it was in the previous decade and there were a few worthy men there like Seamus Kenny and Cian Ward.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 11/12/2019 15:52:03    2254305

Replying To Crinigan:  "Ever hear the expression "take him off and bring on nobody"?

Well it springs to mind when I think of the past decade of Meath intercounty football. We've been very poor for most of the past decade so not sure there are too many players who deserved to be named in any team of a decade apart from maybe Donal Keoghan who has never let his performance fall below outstanding since his very first game when he came on a sub v Wicklow.

2010 doesn't count as it was in the previous decade and there were a few worthy men there like Seamus Kenny and Cian Ward."
Surely 2010 is part of the 2010's decade!

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 11/12/2019 16:17:35    2254314

Replying To Crinigan:  "Ever hear the expression "take him off and bring on nobody"?

2010 doesn't count as it was in the previous decade and there were a few worthy men there like Seamus Kenny and Cian Ward."
Not sure you understand how decades work Mr Crinigan...

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 11/12/2019 16:21:53    2254315

The decade is the years 2010-2019 (the last 10 years in total)
And the idea of a team of the decade is to pick the best 15 players available from that period, regardless of how goo they were on an overall basis, you've got a pool to pick from so ya pick 15 players or don't say anything

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 11/12/2019 16:37:36    2254316

Hard to argue with the lads picked
But I think conor mcgill was hard done by
Played enough in this decade at a constant level to make it

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 11/12/2019 18:24:04    2254338

By that twisted logic 2020 would be in this decade so poll is a year early.......

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 11/12/2019 22:17:45    2254357

Think these teams show how poor a decade it was for us , some of the players in these teams are very average by county standards .

donal keoghan would walk onto any team , as would some of the other guys from start of decade
micky burke ? are we putting him on these teams for commitment or football ability?

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 12/12/2019 11:04:36    2254402

Replying To hurlit:  "Think these teams show how poor a decade it was for us , some of the players in these teams are very average by county standards .

donal keoghan would walk onto any team , as would some of the other guys from start of decade
micky burke ? are we putting him on these teams for commitment or football ability?"
Fair play to Mickey , he has been on the panel for more or less the entire decade
and has more or less devoted himself to the green jersey which is what we would love about him
and If some of the players had his attitude we would would of gotten to Div 1 a lot quicker

Now I dont mean any disrespect to Mickey but I dont think he should be on the list of the best Meath team of the decade

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 12/12/2019 13:44:06    2254433

Oh what would we give to have Joe, Wardy, Bray and Farrell now

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 12/12/2019 19:08:32    2254494

Mickey Newman ahead of Brian Farrell are you having a laugh.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 12/12/2019 22:20:14    2254558

Replying To latouche25:  "Mickey Newman ahead of Brian Farrell are you having a laugh."
Eh yes. I would say Brian Farrell player until 2013 at latest? Correct me if I am wrong maybe even 2012.
Mickey has been ever present bar one year since 2013.

Anmhi364 (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 13/12/2019 00:17:07    2254573

Replying To Anmhi364:  "Eh yes. I would say Brian Farrell player until 2013 at latest? Correct me if I am wrong maybe even 2012.
Mickey has been ever present bar one year since 2013."
That does not make him a better player?

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 13/12/2019 14:03:58    2254679

Replying To hurlit:  "That does not make him a better player?"
But it does make him a better player for Meath in the 10's. Brian played 3 years for Meath in the 10's. And fairly sure he didn't start in 2010 or 11. Newman got nominated for an all star in 13 and played every year bar 1 since I think. In the 2010's Mickey Newman was by far a better Meath player than Brian Farrell

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 13/12/2019 15:02:38    2254695

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "But it does make him a better player for Meath in the 10's. Brian played 3 years for Meath in the 10's. And fairly sure he didn't start in 2010 or 11. Newman got nominated for an all star in 13 and played every year bar 1 since I think. In the 2010's Mickey Newman was by far a better Meath player than Brian Farrell"
Exactly,some lads cant grasp that its a team of the decade.

Brian Farrell was class but he wasnt a guarenteed starter for meath this decade at any time, Newman has been.

Sure Ollie Murphy is still playing with carnaross and he was a better forward than anyone on the meath team this decade should he be in the team because he was a better player in his prime ?

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 13/12/2019 15:28:49    2254696

McGill played more and far better then Kevin Reilly at full back in this decade.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 13/12/2019 22:26:44    2254768

would a meath team from 2000 to 2010 beat a team from 2010 to present...i think they would

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 14/12/2019 19:33:36    2254859

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Exactly,some lads cant grasp that its a team of the decade.

Brian Farrell was class but he wasnt a guarenteed starter for meath this decade at any time, Newman has been.

Sure Ollie Murphy is still playing with carnaross and he was a better forward than anyone on the meath team this decade should he be in the team because he was a better player in his prime ?"
What exactly are you talking about here. What has Ollie Murphy got to do with it.
If your argument is about lads that played the whole decade then it's a very short list. There's no logic to saying Farrell only played 3 years so he's out yet Gillespie and O'Rourke is in. They didn't play much more. Farrell played at a higher level on a far better team than Newman. But that's my opinion.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 14/12/2019 21:56:38    2254875

Well said alot of lads on this love to run down players who gave huge commitment to playing intercounty. These lads are hiding behind usernames.

Jackpot (Meath) - Posts: 199 - 15/12/2019 08:46:13    2254927

Replying To preddan:  "would a meath team from 2000 to 2010 beat a team from 2010 to present...i think they would"
The 00-09 team would definitely win. There's an all Ireland final appearance as well as 2 semi finals in there. Fay, Geraghty, Moyles, Crawford. Best of Joe Sheridan, Cian Ward, Bray. End of Trevor, Ollie Murphy. Be a fairly good team. Looks like the 00's would beat the 10's. The 90's would beat the 00's. 80's vs 90's be very close. Hopefully in 10 years we'll be saying the 20's were better than the 10's

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 15/12/2019 09:22:59    2254931