Time To Get Shane Walsh Playing.

Fair play to the lads for grinding out the result tonight. We have a very young team that could do well over the next two years. But Offaly out played us for long spells. We have no real leaders. Don't know the exact story behind the non involvement of Shane Walsh. We can ill afford to be without players of his ability. Time to get the Na Fianna youngster aboard.

Triple H (Meath) - Posts: 551 - 02/07/2019 22:05:31    2204617

Is this get him playing for the 20's or the seniors ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 03/07/2019 18:05:13    2205047

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Is this get him playing for the 20's or the seniors ?"
Why not both or is that not allowed? Seems to be a problem with the young Johnston lad from Offaly as well.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 03/07/2019 19:31:49    2205087

Replying To MillerX:  "Why not both or is that not allowed? Seems to be a problem with the young Johnston lad from Offaly as well."
He opted out of the 20s this year due to his leaving cert. Joined up with the senior panel after completing his exams. If he plays a part on Sunday he would be ineligible for the 20s.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 20:23:51    2205113

It works like Senior and Junior championship. If you play the 20's you can play Senior then. But you can't play Senior and then play 20's

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 03/07/2019 21:05:53    2205138

There are definitely at least three forward positions up for grabs. Ideally we are looking for inside forward ball winners who can take a score. If Walsh is showing enough, I'd throw him in. O' Caolain must start in half forward line.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 510 - 03/07/2019 21:40:42    2205161

Replying To MillerX:  "Why not both or is that not allowed? Seems to be a problem with the young Johnston lad from Offaly as well."
Also on the offaly Cian Johnson situation. Offaly a rule where if your u20 you play for the u20s until your too old for u20 then u play for the senior team

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 21:45:49    2205163

Replying To Aloblack:  "Also on the offaly Cian Johnson situation. Offaly a rule where if your u20 you play for the u20s until your too old for u20 then u play for the senior team"
Not quite sure why i got a red thumb for that..lol.. that's not my opinion thats just me stating a fact about how offaly do it.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 23:00:06    2205216

Replying To Aloblack:  "Also on the offaly Cian Johnson situation. Offaly a rule where if your u20 you play for the u20s until your too old for u20 then u play for the senior team"
Not quite sure why i got a red thumb for that..lol.. that's not my opinion thats just me stating a fact about how offaly do it.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/07/2019 23:01:23    2205219

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "It works like Senior and Junior championship. If you play the 20's you can play Senior then. But you can't play Senior and then play 20's"
Yet in the U20 hurling Championship tonight Adrian Mullen played for Kilkenny and also played last Sunday in the Senior Final. Strange indeed.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 04/07/2019 22:14:36    2205662

Replying To MillerX:  "Yet in the U20 hurling Championship tonight Adrian Mullen played for Kilkenny and also played last Sunday in the Senior Final. Strange indeed."
Shane was not aloud play for u20's the other nite,so it would seem he will play some part on Sunday

royal1967 (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 05/07/2019 07:14:36    2205727

My question is, is any u 20 player eligible to play both Senior and U 20 in the same year? We have people on here saying that Shane Walsh can only play one or the other but not both, yet Adrian Mullen could play both for Kilkenny, is there a anomaly here? Do different eligibility rules apply to hurling and football or it is up to counties to draw up criteria of their own regarding the U 20 competitions.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 05/07/2019 11:21:19    2205825

Replying To MillerX:  "My question is, is any u 20 player eligible to play both Senior and U 20 in the same year? We have people on here saying that Shane Walsh can only play one or the other but not both, yet Adrian Mullen could play both for Kilkenny, is there a anomaly here? Do different eligibility rules apply to hurling and football or it is up to counties to draw up criteria of their own regarding the U 20 competitions."
hurling you can play both. football you cannot.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 05/07/2019 11:42:21    2205833

Replying To MillerX:  "My question is, is any u 20 player eligible to play both Senior and U 20 in the same year? We have people on here saying that Shane Walsh can only play one or the other but not both, yet Adrian Mullen could play both for Kilkenny, is there a anomaly here? Do different eligibility rules apply to hurling and football or it is up to counties to draw up criteria of their own regarding the U 20 competitions."
There's a different rule at national level for hurling and football.

A senior hurler can play U20 with no restrictions.

A senior footballer who has played in the senior championship can only play U20 when his team has been knocked out.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 05/07/2019 11:47:19    2205839

He could play u20 and then play senior. However once he plays senior he can't then go back and play u20. RE the Kilkenny lad who did it . Its possible the rules are different in hurling to football over on this issue. Then u have individual counties who have their own rules. For example offaly who have a rule that no player u20 can bypass the u20s and play for the seniors. They have to play u20s until their too old. Hence the reason Cian Johnson hasn't featured for the seniors and won't until he's over 20

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 05/07/2019 11:49:53    2205845

Replying To Aloblack:  "He could play u20 and then play senior. However once he plays senior he can't then go back and play u20. RE the Kilkenny lad who did it . Its possible the rules are different in hurling to football over on this issue. Then u have individual counties who have their own rules. For example offaly who have a rule that no player u20 can bypass the u20s and play for the seniors. They have to play u20s until their too old. Hence the reason Cian Johnson hasn't featured for the seniors and won't until he's over 20"
Ultan Kelm played senior and u20 championship this year for Fermanagh footballers? So not sure how this rule works?

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 05/07/2019 13:39:57    2205902

Replying To Aloblack:  "He could play u20 and then play senior. However once he plays senior he can't then go back and play u20. RE the Kilkenny lad who did it . Its possible the rules are different in hurling to football over on this issue. Then u have individual counties who have their own rules. For example offaly who have a rule that no player u20 can bypass the u20s and play for the seniors. They have to play u20s until their too old. Hence the reason Cian Johnson hasn't featured for the seniors and won't until he's over 20"
Thank you, that explains a lot.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 05/07/2019 13:47:14    2205906

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Ultan Kelm played senior and u20 championship this year for Fermanagh footballers? So not sure how this rule works?"
I think it's a different story once your county is out of the senior championship?

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 05/07/2019 13:57:19    2205908

Replying To summerof09:  "I think it's a different story once your county is out of the senior championship?"
Yes sorry it is i didn't put that in my last post. God forbid meath lose on Sunday he would be free to play for the 20s. Can't play for both simultaneously

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 05/07/2019 14:14:11    2205915

If he could play for only one of the two teams who would we prefer him to play for at this present moment? I said in previous posts that u20 is the place for him although he is a serious talent and I do believe he is good enough to play senior. But a senior debut in such a big game after a year out due to the leaving cert I just think it's a very big ask for a young lad and Meath have enough players to get past Clare in my opinion anyway. Then again I feel the u20 forward line is very talented too. I wouldn't judge them after one very nervy first round game. He'd be a great addition to either team but u20s is where I'd have him, let the lad develop and gain more confidence and then make the step up. I know he probably didn't decide this himself, Andy I assume wanted him.

Dunsh03 (USA) - Posts: 11 - 05/07/2019 14:36:54    2205919