Meath V Dublin

Replying To meath1977:  "You need to learn how to read mate. your the only one that is on about hammerings on here. I said if they are hammered we would be in good company as they have hammered everyone else this last few year. I don't believe we will be hammered either. if Dublin win they will earn it. Meath by two points stick that in your pipe and smoke it"
Talk about sitting on both sides of the fence enjoy the game Sunday by the sounds of it its your first game in a while lay off the funny stuff in the pipe lol

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 267 - 18/06/2019 22:33:16    2197365

I expect that as with the targets for the year as a whole, the management and players will set realistic and achievable targets for the match on Sunday. That might be to restrict Dublin to x number of scores or to kick x number of scores. The idea being that if they achieve those smaller targets they might be in with a shout of beating the handicap and maybe upsetting the odds. They will want to take something out of it and then build on that for the key match which will be the qualifier to get into super 8s. I think there will be nothing in it at halftime - we are more battle hardened at this stage of the season than Dublin which should level things up. Dublin have a stronger panel and will pull away towards the end but they will definitely know they've been in a match.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 18/06/2019 23:06:29    2197375

Replying To waynoI:  "Oh right so if you live in an area you've to be associated with that club do you ? Is that all sports in that area or what ? Do you associate with you local soccer rugby gaa golf etc etc club? Do you go to league of Ireland games for your most local club ?

Why do you live in westmeath ? Why dont you move back home ? Serious question. You're living in a neighbouring county just like I am but support the one you're from.

The question I was asked is why do I live in meath, I also asked a question to cringan, yourself or anyone else, why do all polish people not live in Poland. Why dont all Irish people live in Ireland. Should we send all the Irish people in America, London, Asia, Australia etc home ?

Where I live has nothing to do with talking about the football, I'm certainly not insecure about living in meath, I do get more insecure when people try to have cheap little digs about my resident and circumstances around it."
The point he is making Waynol is that GAA is different to all the examples you have listed above. The vast majority of the posters on this forum would have an affinity to their local club, whether that's playing, coaching, involved in organizing or even just as a regular spectator.

The thing about the vast majority of Hill 16 and it's occupants any day Dublin are playing is that there is very little difference in them and soccer fans in the premier league. Their involvement in football consists of putting their jersey on, going for pints etc stand on the terrace and sing songs, few more pints and away home. And the next time they see an O'Neill's ball not on TV is the next time dublin are playing.

My club is full of people from all over the country due to the proximity to Dublin and jobs. GAA people get involved in GAA. Doesn't have to be their club or located in their county and that's the simple point that was being made to you and you so clearly never picked up on.

Now go and make sure you have your Dublin jersey washed and ironed for Sunday! :)

Marara (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 19/06/2019 00:41:57    2197402

Replying To mmc:  "Talk about sitting on both sides of the fence enjoy the game Sunday by the sounds of it its your first game in a while lay off the funny stuff in the pipe lol"
whatever You think

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 19/06/2019 06:45:32    2197426

Replying To waynoI:  "Question.

Everyone knows what a win/narrow defeat will do for meath in terms of confidence going forward.

Meath have had a really good year and the progress has been clear for all to see, so what if Dublin dish out an absolute pasting.

What if Dublin start well, get a lead, as a result are drained of confidence, Dublin show no let up and win by upwards of 15 points. What affect does that have on yous as a fanbase but also to the team"
Are fanbase will remain the same. We've had an average of 5k fans going to home/Croker matches. I wouldn't expect many more to travel on Sunday. These 5k fans have been attending with the knowledge we are miles off Dublin so when it's confirmed it won't change much. If anything our fanbase will increase for the league next year.

But it could be very damaging to the team and they might lose long term motivation. We seen what happened to the last decent meath side after getting a few hidings off you in 2013/15.

We seen what happened to Kildare after you Hammered them in the final. They regressed a lot.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/06/2019 06:54:52    2197427

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Are fanbase will remain the same. We've had an average of 5k fans going to home/Croker matches. I wouldn't expect many more to travel on Sunday. These 5k fans have been attending with the knowledge we are miles off Dublin so when it's confirmed it won't change much. If anything our fanbase will increase for the league next year.

But it could be very damaging to the team and they might lose long term motivation. We seen what happened to the last decent meath side after getting a few hidings off you in 2013/15.

We seen what happened to Kildare after you Hammered them in the final. They regressed a lot."
Can I ask jack one question? How do you make out only 5k will go to match? Meath cb have already said there is over 6k sold as of yesterday (so I've heard) not counting season tickets etc, now I expect some of them are dubs living in Meath (the man you answering question to been prime example) are you telling me that not one Meath man or woman will buy a ticket between now and Sunday, and no walk ups?? There was a estimated 5/6 k Meath fans at league final you are saying that the Leinster final will draw same or less??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2019 10:02:13    2197460

there will be 35,000 at the match at most, which is very poor when you think about it. supporters dont want to go watch Dublin win by 8-12 points in third gear.

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 19/06/2019 10:27:38    2197470

Replying To overthehill72:  "there will be 35,000 at the match at most, which is very poor when you think about it. supporters dont want to go watch Dublin win by 8-12 points in third gear."
It begs the question, Why open up Croke Park for the Dubs when they can no longer fill it.

seanboylansdonkey (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 19/06/2019 10:38:00    2197475

Replying To seanboylansdonkey:  "It begs the question, Why open up Croke Park for the Dubs when they can no longer fill it."
Its s Leinster final, so regardless who is in it it should be played in Croke park.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 19/06/2019 11:03:59    2197494

Replying To Analyst:  "Its s Leinster final, so regardless who is in it it should be played in Croke park."
I wouldn't necessarily agree with that. If there is a small crowd in croke park its one of the last places I want to be at to watch a game. Place is souless and has virtually no atmosphere

RealTalk101 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 19/06/2019 11:50:23    2197514

Replying To RealTalk101:  "I wouldn't necessarily agree with that. If there is a small crowd in croke park its one of the last places I want to be at to watch a game. Place is souless and has virtually no atmosphere"
With less than 50000 it is as you say, agree but teams want to play there

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 19/06/2019 12:43:37    2197544

Replying To overthehill72:  "there will be 35,000 at the match at most, which is very poor when you think about it. supporters dont want to go watch Dublin win by 8-12 points in third gear."
there estimating between 50 to 55 thousand on sunday,

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 19/06/2019 13:33:59    2197576

Best of luck to the lads on sunday
All about the performance , the result should not define the season
Hopefully a spirited display keeps confidence up and get good draw in qualifiers

I would like to see us go out and give it a good shot , nothing to lose
Nobody wants to travel up to see us sat back , try keep the score down and accept the inevitable - no thanks

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 19/06/2019 13:41:15    2197580

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "there estimating between 50 to 55 thousand on sunday,"
Paper today says they're expecting 40k approx and they'll be lucky to get that I'd say.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 19/06/2019 14:49:24    2197612

Replying To Marara:  "The point he is making Waynol is that GAA is different to all the examples you have listed above. The vast majority of the posters on this forum would have an affinity to their local club, whether that's playing, coaching, involved in organizing or even just as a regular spectator.

The thing about the vast majority of Hill 16 and it's occupants any day Dublin are playing is that there is very little difference in them and soccer fans in the premier league. Their involvement in football consists of putting their jersey on, going for pints etc stand on the terrace and sing songs, few more pints and away home. And the next time they see an O'Neill's ball not on TV is the next time dublin are playing.

My club is full of people from all over the country due to the proximity to Dublin and jobs. GAA people get involved in GAA. Doesn't have to be their club or located in their county and that's the simple point that was being made to you and you so clearly never picked up on.

Now go and make sure you have your Dublin jersey washed and ironed for Sunday! :)"
Even if that is the point that RD is making (or anyone for that matter), it's total snobbery. What gives someone who is involved with a club a right to judge someone else who isnt. There are a lot of "real GAA people" with serious superiority complexes. People who will look down their nose at you for even daring to call themselves a GAA fan despite not being involved in the local club.

So what if there is very little difference between Dublin fans on hill 16 (which is a ridiculous generalization in anycase) and premier league soccer fans (the vast, vast majority of those who are absolutely impeccably behaved all season). Yet more snobbery. For what it's worth, I've seen and heard some absolutely abhorrent abuse directed towards players at county grounds all over the country from intoxicated people wearing their club colours, would they be an example of "real GAA people" because they're part of a club ? (One of the worst cases of which was in the mayo v Kerry semi final of 2017, which, I went to as a neutral where a group of young Kerry lads where giving aidan o shea dogs abuse while smoking weed with cans they snuck in, while some were in their Dr Crokes gear)

Watch the Sunday game all summer and you'll see groups of young men and women clearly out of their bins on drink, infact, I'd go as far as to say that over the course of 3 months of the summer, versus 9/10 months of watching premier league football youre likely to see more groups of Neanderthal gobshites acting up watching the Sunday game on RTE v super Sunday on SKY. It's actually disgusting how "real GAA people" act as if they are the salt of the earth and how the premier league/soccer in general is full of idiot supporters. From my experience of premier league fans, it's actually the complete opposite, the gaa fans are the morons.

I digress, What I do with my time and money is my business, what anyone does with their time and money is their Business. If not being a part of the local club doesn't make me a true gaa fan then fine by me, I'm not fussed.

I am a supporter of Dublin. I've missed a handful of games in the last 15 years, I travel and have spent thousands watching Dublin home and away, I've missed alot of work time with no pay to travel to watch Dublin, I've never ever gone into a Dublin game locked, and I'll have a pint or two after the summer games or on away days when I'm staying down the country. I still pay a membership to a north Dublin club, I go to alot of Dublin club games as a neutral when I'm not in work, i pay 140euro a year to the county board for my season ticket and I'll go the game on Sunday and have a few post game pints with the lads in the city centre.

I will have my Jersey ready for Sunday, just like I've had it ready for every single game this year and will have it ready going forward.

I think alot of real GAA people could do with losing the holier than thou attitude.

And even after Alllllllllllll that, it still has no relevance to my question, why dont all Irish people live in Ireland, should all Irish people in Australia not just live in castlebar, castleknock etc ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/06/2019 16:14:54    2197642

Replying To seanboylansdonkey:  "It begs the question, Why open up Croke Park for the Dubs when they can no longer fill it."
Players would rather play there.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/06/2019 16:15:45    2197643

Replying To waynoI:  "Players would rather play there."
So the GAA is ran by the players now? We all know it's in Croker because the administrators is a want it. It's a leinster final between meath and Dublin so it absolutely makes sense but it's not in Croker because the players want it.

Now the semi finals should never have been a double header there. Meath v Laois should have been either in navan or portlaoise. Dublin vs Kildare in portlaoise would have made more sense too for the size of the crowd.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/06/2019 16:48:59    2197665

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "So the GAA is ran by the players now? We all know it's in Croker because the administrators is a want it. It's a leinster final between meath and Dublin so it absolutely makes sense but it's not in Croker because the players want it.

Now the semi finals should never have been a double header there. Meath v Laois should have been either in navan or portlaoise. Dublin vs Kildare in portlaoise would have made more sense too for the size of the crowd."
Im saying the players would prefer to play in Croker. Not that they put the game there themselves. .

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/06/2019 17:16:23    2197676

Replying To hurlit:  "Best of luck to the lads on sunday
All about the performance , the result should not define the season
Hopefully a spirited display keeps confidence up and get good draw in qualifiers

I would like to see us go out and give it a good shot , nothing to lose
Nobody wants to travel up to see us sat back , try keep the score down and accept the inevitable - no thanks"
we are going out to win the game and give it 100% this talk oh we will keep the score down is a loan of cow manure

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 19/06/2019 20:14:22    2197728

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Paper today says they're expecting 40k approx and they'll be lucky to get that I'd say."
Thats what happens when you pump money in to a county and create a monster ( its not all about money but its major part of it) and a unsustainable model of a team winning 15+ and a team losing by 15+ nobody wants to watch that. or pay in to watch. What do you do ? Hike prices up good luck with that. A Dub mate of mine isnt going Sunday goes to allot of the games and club games also but has no interest going to half full Croke park. And you cant blame him to be honest.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 19/06/2019 20:59:02    2197750