Intermediate Championship 2019

Replying To Dalriada:  "You're obviously just reading someone elses posts and regurgitating them here. You clearly have no idea of how many lads "carried" the Tones over the years - There's 4 McLoughlins that have played on teams from Junior through to Senior, not one! Yes Corrigan was there too but so was Darren McGrath, Richie Brady, Stephen Shepherd, Cian Ward, Alan Callaghan, Eoghan Harrington, David Nolan, Shane Glynn to name just a few more.
What information have you gathered on the "youth" at the Tones to publicly claim they have don't have the hunger or desire, elaborate please...…."
I don't know why your throwing out random names there. only 2 McLoughlin's played senior football for the Tones. I think the results this year speak for themselves. What young lads stepped up to replace Corrigan, Harrington or McLoughlin this year. To see lads who won U21 two years ago now playing Junior D football proves the point.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 17/10/2019 13:15:46    2244061

Replying To Dalriada:  "Perhaps you'd like to answer my question? What are you basing your comments on ? Or are you just another opionated failed footballer who likes to openly criticise players without foundation?"
My reply was censored maybe just as well. Sorry for getting you so worked up on the Tones. You've no problem starting rumours about Tony Kearney going to Monalty though!

Back on topic, I think Trim will do it.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 17/10/2019 14:36:20    2244088

Replying To latouche25:  "I don't know why your throwing out random names there. only 2 McLoughlin's played senior football for the Tones. I think the results this year speak for themselves. What young lads stepped up to replace Corrigan, Harrington or McLoughlin this year. To see lads who won U21 two years ago now playing Junior D football proves the point."
Is that right? Well my good man read my post again, I said 4 McLoughlins played from Junior to Senior, I didn't say all 4 played Senior. In fact, 3 of them have played Senior football for the Tones.
With regards to Corrigan, where would you get any man to replace him? He hasn't been born yet! As for Harro and Niall, they don't require replacing just yet as they are still playing.
Come on, base your posts on accuracy please.

Dalriada (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 18/10/2019 07:41:49    2244168

Replying To summerof09:  "My reply was censored maybe just as well. Sorry for getting you so worked up on the Tones. You've no problem starting rumours about Tony Kearney going to Monalty though!

Back on topic, I think Trim will do it."
Oh so you were going a bit OTT were you? I'm not starting any rumours, I merely just asked if anyone had heard anything similar as I would like to see TK staying on at the Tones.
I think Trim won't do it.

Dalriada (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 18/10/2019 07:44:06    2244169

Have a sneaky feeling Nobber might catch Trim cold tomorrow, they certainly have the fire power to do it

ladshey (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 25/10/2019 17:36:31    2245785

Trim by 4 or 5 points

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 25/10/2019 19:12:53    2245799

Congratulations to Nobber. Sounds like their forwards had a field day!

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 26/10/2019 17:34:12    2245958

Didn't see that coming, an absolute hammering, well done Nobber, all this talk of rusty was a bit OTT, win a champo as soon as he leaves, fair achievement to all involved.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1048 - 26/10/2019 18:06:55    2245964

Replying To Dalriada:  "Is that right? Well my good man read my post again, I said 4 McLoughlins played from Junior to Senior, I didn't say all 4 played Senior. In fact, 3 of them have played Senior football for the Tones.
With regards to Corrigan, where would you get any man to replace him? He hasn't been born yet! As for Harro and Niall, they don't require replacing just yet as they are still playing.
Come on, base your posts on accuracy please."
Maybe you should have read my post. I said what lads stepped up to replace Harrington or Mc Loughlin this year. Harrington didn't play all year and probably won't again as he's 34 or so Mc Loughlin only played a game for the seniors and he's 36or7. To make out Corrigan is irreplaceable is just proving my point. There's plenty of lads there to replace him. They just need motivation. I don't recall 3 mc Loughlins playing senior championship for the tones.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 26/10/2019 18:08:06    2245965

Replying To ladshey:  "Have a sneaky feeling Nobber might catch Trim cold tomorrow, they certainly have the fire power to do it"
Fair play to you got it right, it appears that they steamrolled them. I see Trim brought Luke Moran on after about 20 minutes so he must have been fit to start. This lad was fullback on the County Junior team last year and cannot start with his club this year..strange but then that's Trim's business. Nobber's ex county man was not left on the sideline!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 26/10/2019 21:01:32    2246010

Replying To latouche25:  "Maybe you should have read my post. I said what lads stepped up to replace Harrington or Mc Loughlin this year. Harrington didn't play all year and probably won't again as he's 34 or so Mc Loughlin only played a game for the seniors and he's 36or7. To make out Corrigan is irreplaceable is just proving my point. There's plenty of lads there to replace him. They just need motivation. I don't recall 3 mc Loughlins playing senior championship for the tones."
Oh right, so you dont recall so it didnt happen, back to my original comment.......base your posts on facts, not recollections or personal opinions. Oisin Corrigan is Keith McLoughlins son, Steven's nephew.....another McLoughlin to grace the Tones shirt.....perhaps he's the man to replace his uncle...who knows?
Congratulations to Nobber

Dalriada (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 26/10/2019 22:14:16    2246020

Replying To summerof09:  "My reply was censored maybe just as well. Sorry for getting you so worked up on the Tones. You've no problem starting rumours about Tony Kearney going to Monalty though!

Back on topic, I think Trim will do it."
I was right.....again.
Well done Nobber

Dalriada (Meath) - Posts: 39 - 26/10/2019 22:17:23    2246021

Replying To latouche25:  "Maybe you should have read my post. I said what lads stepped up to replace Harrington or Mc Loughlin this year. Harrington didn't play all year and probably won't again as he's 34 or so Mc Loughlin only played a game for the seniors and he's 36or7. To make out Corrigan is irreplaceable is just proving my point. There's plenty of lads there to replace him. They just need motivation. I don't recall 3 mc Loughlins playing senior championship for the tones."
Ciaran, Niall and Aonghus mc Loughlin have all played Senior for Tones. With regard to replacing lads of course there are lads there. Most clubs would love to have the young talent available in Tones. Does this mean they have to win a Senior championship or be deemed not good enough ? Not in my opinion. Getting the best out of lads is whats needed. I hope that whoever comes in does that, on that point Nobber certainly got the best out of their players today as did Moylough, Well done to both sides today

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 26/10/2019 22:54:23    2246024

Yesterday was almost a textbook example of how to use a sweeper and open up space for your forwards at the same time. Nobber snuffed out the threat of the Trim full forward line and at the same time generated space for their forwards up front.
It looked as if Trim Didn't have a plan B to deal with this and changes were just in personnel. Trim pulled it back to two points before half time but Nobber forwards had the measure of Trim backs and the third goal before half time was crucial.
Great performance from the Nobber forwards but I thought the midfielder Thomas Murtagh took the game to Trim for the whole game. Himself and Jordan Morris should be considered for Meath panel for 2020.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 27/10/2019 08:41:31    2246054

Replying To Dalriada:  "Oh right, so you dont recall so it didnt happen, back to my original comment.......base your posts on facts, not recollections or personal opinions. Oisin Corrigan is Keith McLoughlins son, Steven's nephew.....another McLoughlin to grace the Tones shirt.....perhaps he's the man to replace his uncle...who knows?
Congratulations to Nobber"
Hardly when he's only playing Junior D.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 27/10/2019 17:52:20    2246148

Well done to Nobber on a fantastic performance on Sat in what is possibly the hardest championship to call. Trim's over reliance on Lynch, suspect defence and poor midfield totally exposed. Looking at earlier championship results Oldcastle, Meath Hill, Walterstown & Castletown will all probably have big regrets particularly with Rathkenny, St Patricks and Longwood dropping down and now in the mix for 2020,

AnFearBan1234 (Meath) - Posts: 110 - 28/10/2019 12:15:38    2246270

Replying To AnFearBan1234:  "Well done to Nobber on a fantastic performance on Sat in what is possibly the hardest championship to call. Trim's over reliance on Lynch, suspect defence and poor midfield totally exposed. Looking at earlier championship results Oldcastle, Meath Hill, Walterstown & Castletown will all probably have big regrets particularly with Rathkenny, St Patricks and Longwood dropping down and now in the mix for 2020,"
Trim didn't become a bad intermediate team overnight. I did think that their defence was a bit inexperienced and wrote here that I wasn't sue if they would beat Duleek/Bell because of that. However they got over that and beat Oldcastle well.
Ssturday's hammering was as much about a great display from Nobber as a poor display from Trim. Nobber git it tactically spot on and Trim didn't react. Trim were actually well back into it when the third goal came just before half time.
Regarding other teams I would just agree with Castletown having regrets and also agree that Intermediate will be some dogfight in 2020. The team that does come up though should be well placed to survive at senior.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 29/10/2019 07:52:47    2246393

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Trim didn't become a bad intermediate team overnight. I did think that their defence was a bit inexperienced and wrote here that I wasn't sue if they would beat Duleek/Bell because of that. However they got over that and beat Oldcastle well.
Ssturday's hammering was as much about a great display from Nobber as a poor display from Trim. Nobber git it tactically spot on and Trim didn't react. Trim were actually well back into it when the third goal came just before half time.
Regarding other teams I would just agree with Castletown having regrets and also agree that Intermediate will be some dogfight in 2020. The team that does come up though should be well placed to survive at senior."
The gap between intermediate and Senior is widening i would say.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 29/10/2019 10:31:07    2246423

Replying To Analyst:  "The gap between intermediate and Senior is widening i would say."
I can foresee some very one sided games in the IFC next year, three senior going down and two junior going up. I don't think this was thought out very well, in days past when the Junior finalists or divisional winners went up to Intermediate many soon opted to drop back fairly quickly as many were out of their depth.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 29/10/2019 11:48:14    2246446

Replying To MillerX:  "I can foresee some very one sided games in the IFC next year, three senior going down and two junior going up. I don't think this was thought out very well, in days past when the Junior finalists or divisional winners went up to Intermediate many soon opted to drop back fairly quickly as many were out of their depth."
After commenting on the ridiculousness of our new Intermediate championship on another thread I had a read back on the Club Structures Report that produced the new format. They practically admit that the 20 team IFC isn't designed with football purposes in mind, it's solely to ensure the support of clubs who are happy to lose almost every game they play but don't mind as long as they can claim to play Intermediate:

"The reason that the proposal suggests 20 rather than 16 in the intermediate championship is an acknowledgment of the vociferous opposition from the intermediate ranks to a significant relegation programme. Without intermediate club support reform may not be possible.....Many will argue that will not help standards in the intermediate grade."

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 29/10/2019 16:23:57    2246493