Meath V Kildare

Replying To nobull456:  "I was at the same match.....Eventhough we won i was disappointed . Two poor teams... Yes Meath were better in the last 15 mins after being clueless in the first half. The penalty was fully deserved,well taken , but put a shine on our fight back qualities .Kildare had enough possesion to win even after the penalty...Our midfield poor. Our full forwards never in situ when needed at the end of attack from defence. There is no blind optimism on the basis of this display from this supporter."
how do you judge quality of teams in todays conditions. I am never disappointed with a win, have had plenty of practice been disappointed with losses. Did not read any comments that even seemed remotely like blind optimism, take the win for what it was, a win over Kildare who have had the upper had on us for quite a while and two points on the board.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 03/03/2019 18:59:21    2169802

Replying To nobull456:  "I was at the same match.....Eventhough we won i was disappointed . Two poor teams... Yes Meath were better in the last 15 mins after being clueless in the first half. The penalty was fully deserved,well taken , but put a shine on our fight back qualities .Kildare had enough possesion to win even after the penalty...Our midfield poor. Our full forwards never in situ when needed at the end of attack from defence. There is no blind optimism on the basis of this display from this supporter."
Such bull crap. Such a silly comment to write. This is a young Meath team who are doing their level best to get us back up. What a win that was today and then to read that $$$$. Did you see the weather out there

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 03/03/2019 19:17:29    2169810

Today was all about the grit and determination.

I thought we were far and away the better team in terms of defence and attacking play.

Although we were dreadful with the amount of wides kicked and wasted chances we didn't give up and kept bringing the fight to Kildare. That fight in Meath has been lost and shows the mental strength that this team is building.

The progress signs are there and hopefully Meath will keep the focus and get promotion.

I hope we don't pay the price on a few injuries as Brennan and Kane seemed to have bad knocks.

A word on the Ref, I thought he was horrendous. Kildare brought a nasty cynical plan with digs and dives and the ref wasn't cute enough for it. He missed several clear pushes and blew frees when Meath choked up Kildare players.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 03/03/2019 19:24:41    2169812

Today was all about the grit and determination.

I thought we were far and away the better team in terms of defence and attacking play.

Although we were dreadful with the amount of wides kicked and wasted chances we didn't give up and kept bringing the fight to Kildare. That fight in Meath has been lost and shows the mental strength that this team is building.

The progress signs are there and hopefully Meath will keep the focus and get promotion.

I hope we don't pay the price on a few injuries as Brennan and Kane seemed to have bad knocks.

A word on the Ref, I thought he was horrendous. Kildare brought a nasty cynical plan with digs and dives and the ref wasn't cute enough for it. He missed several clear pushes and blew frees when Meath choked up Kildare players.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 03/03/2019 19:25:16    2169813

Hats off to supporters from both sides Tday im still thawing out. On game we might b picking up the pieces after the injury count. The backs are real solid unit at the minute dardis is worth a punt give him a real chance not token shite few minutes here and there.our gqame management at end was iffy but left pt Tday with maybe a real thinking we are not to bad.but if a player is tired regardless of who he is get him off fresh legs will help the team.panel what it's called use it.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 03/03/2019 19:26:51    2169816

Replying To royal69er:  "think you're being very harsh on the lads there. kildare had plenty of possession alright but every time in the 2nd half they came up the field we took the ball off them. How many wides did they have ?"
i dont know how many wides they had. I do know we had far too many wides. Only for the penalty we would have thrown it away.Thrown it away against poor opposition. That is not good enough full stop! Yes some positives O sullivan shows he is back ....great long range point from Campion. Very good pass from Graham Reilly to teamate going trough for goal attempt that did not work out. Those isolated highlights are not enough against poor opposition.
I am at a total loss to understand how any supporter could be happy with to days display. Its nice to win yes . I take issue with the adjectives used in some reports given . if i were to guess Andy Mc Entees feelings i would say he is relieved but not satisfied. There is a hell of a difference!! Lets not fall into the trap of accepting mediocrity. That attitude will get us nowhere!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 03/03/2019 19:28:30    2169817

Replying To bert09:  "Dude...we had 26 shots today versus 13 for Kildare. Yes, our accuracy could be better but that is for another day.
Hard work finally being rewarded.

Let's just enjoy today for what it is.

The better team won on the day.

Well done to everyone and best wishes to Niall Kane who broke his arm today and Ben Brennan who also had a bad injury."
Agreed. I think nobull trying too hard to live up to his username.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/03/2019 19:28:52    2169819

Looks like you're on the way back up, could be just the lift ye need!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2019 19:38:18    2169825

Replying To nobull456:  "i dont know how many wides they had. I do know we had far too many wides. Only for the penalty we would have thrown it away.Thrown it away against poor opposition. That is not good enough full stop! Yes some positives O sullivan shows he is back ....great long range point from Campion. Very good pass from Graham Reilly to teamate going trough for goal attempt that did not work out. Those isolated highlights are not enough against poor opposition.
I am at a total loss to understand how any supporter could be happy with to days display. Its nice to win yes . I take issue with the adjectives used in some reports given . if i were to guess Andy Mc Entees feelings i would say he is relieved but not satisfied. There is a hell of a difference!! Lets not fall into the trap of accepting mediocrity. That attitude will get us nowhere!"
Calm down there Roy Keane with your accepting mediocrity nonsense . In conditions like today all that matters is getting the win. Absolutely nothing else.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 03/03/2019 19:49:46    2169834

Against popular opinion I'm with nobull on this. Meath were very poor at times and pass and shot selection was well below whats required. I'm not sure what o'sullivans role is. He's all over the place and on a wet day carried the ball for too long. We were wide open in the first half and our full back ok were exposed one on one. Kildare lauded the midfield in the first half. It's a reflection of how far we've fallen that we are dancing out of navan in March after a win over a poor kildare team on the way down.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 03/03/2019 19:58:08    2169838

Best of luck with recovery to Naill Kane who picked up a broken arm in the heat of battle today.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 03/03/2019 20:07:28    2169845

if people keep harping on about how far we have fallen then most teams in ireland cant celebrate a win, look at down,cork,cavan all counties with numerous all irelands that dosent mean they keep whinging about how far they have fallen.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 688 - 03/03/2019 20:11:46    2169848

Replying To Foley91:  "Against popular opinion I'm with nobull on this. Meath were very poor at times and pass and shot selection was well below whats required. I'm not sure what o'sullivans role is. He's all over the place and on a wet day carried the ball for too long. We were wide open in the first half and our full back ok were exposed one on one. Kildare lauded the midfield in the first half. It's a reflection of how far we've fallen that we are dancing out of navan in March after a win over a poor kildare team on the way down."
Ah give over will you, yes the performance was below par at times and yes our shooting was way off at times but the guts, heart and determination shown in that second half was immense, 12 months ago we wouldn't have won a game like that and you would be spouting the exact same stuff, we have won 4 out of 5 and are on the brink of Division 1 after a display and ending that had Navan on its feet and in all honesty if we had our shooting boots on we would have won that game between 4-6 points, we dominated the second half almost entirely. There is improvement in this team and I'm glad to see Meath supporters realise that and showed their support in numbers today despite the awful weather.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/03/2019 20:14:28    2169851

Replying To Foley91:  "Against popular opinion I'm with nobull on this. Meath were very poor at times and pass and shot selection was well below whats required. I'm not sure what o'sullivans role is. He's all over the place and on a wet day carried the ball for too long. We were wide open in the first half and our full back ok were exposed one on one. Kildare lauded the midfield in the first half. It's a reflection of how far we've fallen that we are dancing out of navan in March after a win over a poor kildare team on the way down."
Weather conditions were atrocious, I'd say every game played today was littered with mistakes even dublin made hard work of the rossies, what everyone was thrilled with was the old battling never say die displays of old been shown by this young meath team. On a day like today the result is all that matters and meath now have one foot in division one football, hon the royals

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 03/03/2019 20:15:09    2169852

Replying To Royalio11:  "Today was all about the grit and determination.

A word on the Ref, I thought he was horrendous. Kildare brought a nasty cynical plan with digs and dives and the ref wasn't cute enough for it. He missed several clear pushes and blew frees when Meath choked up Kildare players."
Agreed, kildare had an edge to them today I haven't seen for.........well I've never seen it being honest, and the ref was poor at times particularly in the second half I felt, but what odds we won in a fantastic finish and right now that will do me

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/03/2019 20:17:39    2169854

Great win Today not the prettiest but after all our bad days this was a good day in dreadful conditions .
Fair play to the lads for keeping at it its was tough going but they made it hard on themselves .
Meath dominated the game with the amount of possession they had but at times the forward play was awful .
The Defence played well especially in the second have , Keoghan looked as good as ever class player and was great to see Harnan back .
I thought the midfield played very well in the second half had a lot more support than the first half some of Colgan's kick outs in the first half gave our midfield especially Menton no chance .
Our forwards were poor for most of the game if Meath lost today they could take full responsibility for it but thankfully that wasn't the case .
I still don't see what Micky Newman is meant to be doing to me he offers nothing to the Meath attack in the position he plays .
Cian O'Sullivan kicked a great second half point but he continues to loose way to much ball in the tackle .
Mickey Burke why does he always want to go sideways or backwards his free kick with a few minutes to go could have cost the game , from when he picked up the ball he had nothing else on his mind only to kick it backwards dreadful it's one rule the GAA should change that free kicks must go forward .
It was a tough day for forwards in the conditions but they do need to be way more clinical in front of goal .
All roads lead to Clare in 2 weeks time great to be in this position would be great back to Div1 get to a final in Croke Park in April .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 03/03/2019 20:20:44    2169859

Lads, no one is getting carried away here. We aren't settling for mediocrity. We are happy to see progress. And everyone here wants even more progress after this. Settling for mediocrity would be accepting another year in Division 2. We can't suddenly start winning All Ireland's overnight it's takes a lot of small steps going in the right direction. Today we saw a number of small steps. It wasn't perfect by any means but the lads fought so hard and never quit. That's whats important. After 18 years since 2001 when the downward trend began for us it's nice to see sign of us starting to rise once more.

We've won nothing yet but considering how bad 2017 was it really needed to set that right. I'm delighted but I'm not deluded either. Still plenty of hard work to be done.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 03/03/2019 20:29:11    2169866

And despite today's performance we are still sitting on top of division 2. Doesn't get any better than that does it?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 03/03/2019 20:36:56    2169875

I'm not surprised that people are jumping down on the team today.

Bigger picture is being missed. Meath of the last 15 years would have lost that game today. Credit must be given where they kept battling bravely despite the mistakes and atrocious wides.

Any other year we would have lost the game and the chance of promotion for another year and it would be more doom and gloom.

People need to cop on and see this result for what it is. A win from heart and guts.

To play so badly and win is what good teams do and Meath are going in the correct direction.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 03/03/2019 20:58:39    2169886

1 Yes at times we were poor as were Kildare, did ya not notice the conditions ?? 2. The game has changed its not 1991, Cillian was immense today making interceptions in the backs, winning dirty ball in midfield & scoring a monster point. 3 yes Kildare lauded midfield in FIRST half, how come they didnt do the same in 2nd ?? 4. Its a reflection of how far we have come since the days of coughing up 8 & 9 point leads that people were happy coming out of pt. As a SUPPORTER, ( you might want to look up that word), I want to see improvement in the team & this year I've seen plenty of it. We need to keep that up against Clare on the 16th. HON THE ROYALS

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 03/03/2019 20:59:14    2169887