Meath V Kildare

All roads lead to Navan next Sunday for what I believe is a promotion match.

The winner will ensure safety in the Division for another year and fancy themselves for promotion.

I think the starting team v Armagh will be selected. We seem to have tidied up at the back but midfield has a tendency to be cleaned out and we have been wasteful with chances.

A draw would be a good result but hoping for a Meath win.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 24/02/2019 17:16:00    2167561

Replying To Royalio11:  "All roads lead to Navan next Sunday for what I believe is a promotion match.

The winner will ensure safety in the Division for another year and fancy themselves for promotion.

I think the starting team v Armagh will be selected. We seem to have tidied up at the back but midfield has a tendency to be cleaned out and we have been wasteful with chances.

A draw would be a good result but hoping for a Meath win."
Depends on injury, hamstring kept James Mac out last night this type of injury can take time to clear up, also Ben Brennan picked up a very heavy knock last night, in fairness to him he shook of the challange and surged forward to kick great point. Kildare are getting many of their first choice player back it time for run in.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 24/02/2019 18:07:59    2167603

Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Ryan
Gallagher/Kane
Keoghan
J mcentee
Menton
S McEntee
Devine
Brennan /Reilly
Reilly/campion
McMahon
Newman
Dardis/O'Reilly.

Those no starting will play a pivotal role in this game. The injury to mcentee (James) will hopefully clear up. O'Sullivan requested to be taken off yesterday evening someone said it was his hamstring, Brennan didn't look comfortable coming off either. So I'm not sure will any of the 3 start or play any part. This is a must win game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/02/2019 18:15:57    2167606

Yeah this is our league final and possibly the most important match meath play this year. Anyone who calls themself a meath supporter should be here. Get everyone behind the team and we might finally make it back to division 1. We owe Kildare one, so there's that too. Up the Royals.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 24/02/2019 20:23:39    2167680

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Yeah this is our league final and possibly the most important match meath play this year. Anyone who calls themself a meath supporter should be here. Get everyone behind the team and we might finally make it back to division 1. We owe Kildare one, so there's that too. Up the Royals."
Now ye said it....the supporters now need to get out in force and help the lads get over the line. The team have really turned things round and given us much to cheer.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 24/02/2019 21:59:39    2167743

Has the makings of an excellent contest, place should be packed!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/02/2019 22:01:54    2167745

Replying To seadog54:  "Depends on injury, hamstring kept James Mac out last night this type of injury can take time to clear up, also Ben Brennan picked up a very heavy knock last night, in fairness to him he shook of the challange and surged forward to kick great point. Kildare are getting many of their first choice player back it time for run in."
Heard Andy McEntee on LMFM today, seemed to suggest James McEntee wont be available next Sunday

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 24/02/2019 22:09:17    2167752

Replying To Richieq:  "Heard Andy McEntee on LMFM today, seemed to suggest James McEntee wont be available next Sunday"
Balls

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2019 07:39:36    2167813

Replying To realdub:  "Has the makings of an excellent contest, place should be packed!"
Ahh this is what we love.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2019 07:40:06    2167814

Replying To royaldunne:  "Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Ryan
Gallagher/Kane
Keoghan
J mcentee
Menton
S McEntee
Devine
Brennan /Reilly
Reilly/campion
McMahon
Newman
Dardis/O'Reilly.

Those no starting will play a pivotal role in this game. The injury to mcentee (James) will hopefully clear up. O'Sullivan requested to be taken off yesterday evening someone said it was his hamstring, Brennan didn't look comfortable coming off either. So I'm not sure will any of the 3 start or play any part. This is a must win game."
Royal, not having a pop off you here but a couple of quick ones
1) is McCoy not worthy of starting after a solid performance. I'd definitely still be starting Kane. The six which started the first three games was working well, i'd try and avoid disrupting it too much and make the minimum of changes with James McEntee out
2) Campion has been one of our best players and surely deserves to start. Maybe i'm misreading your team slightly.
3) Dardis made a great impact Saturday and maybe keep that in reserve we need that type of impact coming of the bench to close out matches

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/02/2019 09:02:52    2167838

Realistically 2 wins and we are promoted- Simple as that

butterfly (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 25/02/2019 09:25:49    2167848

Replying To butterfly:  "Realistically 2 wins and we are promoted- Simple as that"
I'm afraid it's not as simple as that. We could beat Kildare and Clare but still need a result against Fermanagh because if we finish level on points with Donegal, Donegal will be promoted on the head to head, assuming Donegal win all their matches.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 25/02/2019 11:25:55    2167912

Replying To brian:  "Royal, not having a pop off you here but a couple of quick ones
1) is McCoy not worthy of starting after a solid performance. I'd definitely still be starting Kane. The six which started the first three games was working well, i'd try and avoid disrupting it too much and make the minimum of changes with James McEntee out
2) Campion has been one of our best players and surely deserves to start. Maybe i'm misreading your team slightly.
3) Dardis made a great impact Saturday and maybe keep that in reserve we need that type of impact coming of the bench to close out matches"
Yeah just should have pointed out a bit more clearly I'd presume if Brennan is injured and not available Reilly will start. But where to put him? Straight 11 or swap with campion. I'd however go with McCoy starter. But to be honest it's a toss up with him and Kane.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2019 12:42:52    2167958

This one will probably hinge on who has the stronger bench. If McEntee, O'Sullivan and Brennan are all out we start to look a little bare. Our first 15 will be fairly solid but do we have 4/5 guys to come in and make an impact in the last 15/20 minutes? No offence to some of the panel members but many of them won't have seen much action so far this year. Still, it's an opportunity for someone to come in and make a name for themselves. Haven't been following Kildare closely but they seem to be getting more lads back every week so this will be a big challenge!

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 25/02/2019 14:28:12    2168021

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah just should have pointed out a bit more clearly I'd presume if Brennan is injured and not available Reilly will start. But where to put him? Straight 11 or swap with campion. I'd however go with McCoy starter. But to be honest it's a toss up with him and Kane."
Fair enough RD, was thinking i'd misread it alright

Sunday is going to be a huge game and I think if we can win this one too it would give the whole squad a massive shot in the arm and confidence heading into the final two games. Win Sunday and we should be going into the division two final.

For me if James is still out (and no reason to believe he won't be) I'd go with McCoy-Keoghan-Kane as the half back line. Gallagher for me is a bit off the other players.

Also fair play to Ronan Ryan, he's come in and not looked out of place at all. The full back line looks well bedded down now and the same bunch together builds understanding and trust amongst the unit. Sunday will be a huge test for them all but they've shown they've been up to so far this year.

Mento and Shane are no world beaters but we could be worse off and time together should bring them on further.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/02/2019 14:34:46    2168026

This is just a assumption, but assuming mcentee O'Sullivan and Brennan are not going to start , for me the changes I'd say would be McCoy Devine?? Reilly,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2019 19:03:47    2168118

I might pop over to Navan and watch this match. I love Meath v Kildare matches. I have a soft spot for the Lillies and after my beloved Wee County, they would be my second county that I would like to see do well. It's gonna be some battle. I will give the Royals to win a narrow hard fought match.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/02/2019 19:06:38    2168120

Replying To royaldunne:  "This is just a assumption, but assuming mcentee O'Sullivan and Brennan are not going to start , for me the changes I'd say would be McCoy Devine?? Reilly,"
Agree , i think they would be the best changes but hopefully 1 or 2 of the 3 will be ok for Sunday. After Sunday we will have 13 days to the next game which will help to get everyone back fit again. Really looking forward to this one should be a close game.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 25/02/2019 19:31:47    2168127

Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Ryan
Gallagher
Keoghan
Kane
Menton
S McEntee
Devine
Campion
Reilly
McMahon
Newman
O'Reilly.

Promotion is in our hands now. Need a big game from Reilly, McMahon and Newman these lads have been around a while and this is the biggest game we have played in the league for years.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 25/02/2019 21:41:32    2168185

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Colgan
Lavin
McGill
Ryan
Gallagher
Keoghan
Kane
Menton
S McEntee
Devine
Campion
Reilly
McMahon
Newman
O'Reilly.

Promotion is in our hands now. Need a big game from Reilly, McMahon and Newman these lads have been around a while and this is the biggest game we have played in the league for years."
Ur right, in fairness to the 3 players you mentioned I don't think they have been coming up short this year. All 3 have had decent performances. Yeah there has been the odd mistake. But that has happened with every player.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2019 22:25:20    2168198