Meath V Armagh Rd3

Wind definitely picked up as the game progressed. I would say some poor decision making and slowing up the play was our biggest enemy in the first 20 mibites of the second half. Turning point in the second half for me was James McEntee went on one superb run down along the stand side with an excellent foot pass to Keogan who was fouled. After that Keogan, Lavin, Tomas O' Reilly etc drove at the Armagh defense which paid the dividend. I was very impressed with our forwards hassling of the Armagh Backs In the first half in particular with a number of turnovers to our advantage. Still plenty to be worked on but signs of progress. It's a very tight group now and every game is going to be a dog fight.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 10/02/2019 17:41:43    2164135

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Second half collapse was down to bad tactics but they rallied well. Not bad 2 wins from 3. Who's up next?"
I'm not having this second half collapse nonsense. With a huge wind blowing into one goal the team who had it in whatever half are always gonna dominate. Yes at times in the 1st 20 minutes of the 2nd half we were extremely sloppy but have you ever played into a wind like that? It's extremely difficult to make headway up the pitch. I'm not sure what people expect the team to do..go and win the 2nd half against a huge wind like by 8 or 9 points. Never gonna happen . Playing against a wind like that in the 2nd half with a lead like we had is all about soaking up the onslaught which is inevitably gonna come and then tagging on some scores to Keep them at arms length. We were 9 up at HT and won by 6. Hardly a collapse. Don't be going looking for negatives that aren't there .

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 10/02/2019 17:54:00    2164144

Replying To Diego:  "Wind definitely picked up as the game progressed. I would say some poor decision making and slowing up the play was our biggest enemy in the first 20 mibites of the second half. Turning point in the second half for me was James McEntee went on one superb run down along the stand side with an excellent foot pass to Keogan who was fouled. After that Keogan, Lavin, Tomas O' Reilly etc drove at the Armagh defense which paid the dividend. I was very impressed with our forwards hassling of the Armagh Backs In the first half in particular with a number of turnovers to our advantage. Still plenty to be worked on but signs of progress. It's a very tight group now and every game is going to be a dog fight."
I agree with everything you said there. The forwards put in a shift and some of the scores in the first half (although into the wind) were a breath of fresh air to see. They also played a high pressure game on short kickouts and it worked well. Newman brings a cool head to the full forward line and his influence, although subtle is very noticeable. Im impressed with the workrate of the new additions to the team. Whenever McEntee and Keogan can use their running game from deep, Meath are quite dangerous. The downsides from what I saw was the midfield went absent in the second half for long stages and the players made silly/ nervy errors when Armagh put on the pressure to make it 1-10 to 0-12. Suddenly the sloppy passing, slow build-up, and running into cul-de-sacs returned. I honestly thought they had blown it but the resolve shown and impact off the bench swung it back. Hopefully thats the turning of a corner. This division is wide open.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 10/02/2019 18:03:39    2164153

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "I wasn't at the game no, so I'm totally willing to accept my comment is misguided! I didn't know about the conditions so fair enough.

As I said, delighted with the win though!"
That;s ok your let away this time :). Nobody is allowed mention second half collapses here anymore... :)
But it was'nt entirely down to wind, Armagh come back. We got caught in possession and go turn over a lot in that first 20 in the second half. There was wipe spread panic all over the pitch. some hand passing was terrible. We got wiped out midfield. If we had of conceded a goal int that period Armagh where dominant. It could easy of been curtains for us. But we slogged it out and got vital scores Mickey Newman with a excellent free and Thomas Reilly with well taken score in the second half just kept the score board ticking over. Fair play to the lads for sticking to it and getting a much needed result.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 10/02/2019 18:10:05    2164161

Replying To Aloblack:  "I'm not having this second half collapse nonsense. With a huge wind blowing into one goal the team who had it in whatever half are always gonna dominate. Yes at times in the 1st 20 minutes of the 2nd half we were extremely sloppy but have you ever played into a wind like that? It's extremely difficult to make headway up the pitch. I'm not sure what people expect the team to do..go and win the 2nd half against a huge wind like by 8 or 9 points. Never gonna happen . Playing against a wind like that in the 2nd half with a lead like we had is all about soaking up the onslaught which is inevitably gonna come and then tagging on some scores to Keep them at arms length. We were 9 up at HT and won by 6. Hardly a collapse. Don't be going looking for negatives that aren't there ."
Agreed with all this. There wad no 2nd galf collapse. Just very hard to play into a wind like that. Sure look at every other match today with huge winds and matches of 2 halves. Listening to radio 1 on wsy home for example, Roscommon 10 up at half time only to draw. Tipperary 4 down and winning by 5 points. Longford 8 down in pearse park only to win by 2. Conditions were horrid to play against.

Terrific result and win for confidence and self belief. I thought James McEntee was excellent today. But all to a man stood up when needed with 10-15 mins to go. Well down. Onto Cork now Saturday week.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 10/02/2019 18:57:52    2164187

Looked bad 20 minutes into second half, but fair play, they really dug in and fully deserved the win. On to Pairc Ui Rinn in two weeks time.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 10/02/2019 19:58:19    2164239

Yeah the wind played it's part, turned to my two girls at halftime and said I hope the 9 points is enough, Armagh were always going to come back , just hit it on target and the wind would do the rest even from good distance , that been said we got cleaned out at midfield , and gave up silly possession with wayward hand passing, and even a ball hitting keoghan in the face , gave up too many balls when not really under pressure, however the subs seemed to settle them a bit, and Newman free certainly gave us back our mojo. Motm for me was James McEntee. That been said there was really no bad performance, just a few rookie mistakes that can be ironed out, the week off should help them prepare, the next game is must win to put us driving seat. Well done to all.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2019 19:58:49    2164240

I see a lot of praise being heaped on james mcentee and rightly so he's been excellent but his cousin shane deserves a mention, played excellent against tipp Donegal and I thought his decision making today was very good, carrying on his good form from the keegan cup

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 403 - 10/02/2019 21:29:53    2164293

Replying To redser123:  "I see a lot of praise being heaped on james mcentee and rightly so he's been excellent but his cousin shane deserves a mention, played excellent against tipp Donegal and I thought his decision making today was very good, carrying on his good form from the keegan cup"
Yep he had a good game, and has improved a lot this year compared to last ,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2019 21:40:39    2164296

Replying To redser123:  "I see a lot of praise being heaped on james mcentee and rightly so he's been excellent but his cousin shane deserves a mention, played excellent against tipp Donegal and I thought his decision making today was very good, carrying on his good form from the keegan cup"
Yeah he has adapted well to midfield. Probably still not an ideal midfield man but him and Menton are the best midfield partnership we have on the panel at the minute.

Seems to be a tactic that he launches a long ball into Newman but I don't think it has worked in any of the games so far. Maybe he shouldn't kick it so high, it gives newmans man time to get set.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 10/02/2019 21:55:39    2164306

Very encouraging. Players with the best teams mostly make the right decisions. Although we took some wild shots with the wind in the first half and made things hard for ourselves in the first 20 minutes of the second half by running into contact, we're beginning to cut down on the errors. The last 15 minutes were excellent. I'd say most of the crowd at the match were pleasantly surprised we showed such good game management. No question about the players' fitness and they seem to be developing the mental toughness that Meath teams have been missing for a long time. Campion and O'Reilly are real additions compared to last year and Keoghan outstanding as usual.

born2broyal (Meath) - Posts: 5 - 10/02/2019 22:01:46    2164310

Today was a good win for us and hopefully we can follow in few weeks with a win in Cork which is very achevieable and Fermanagh winning those 2 matches will put us in a great position for promotion so let's hope we get the job done. There was no 2nd half collapse just wind so strong sure same happened in the Roscommon Tyrone game.

I just thought in the first we wasted a lot of ball at times and sould have had a few more scores on the board at half time if our excution was little better but nothing that can't be sorted out on the training pitch. Thought the subs were very good especially Eoin Lynch gave us some much needed stability around the middle when needed. But every Meath player stood up to be counted when pressure was on and we managed to whether the Armagh storm and push on for a vital win so let's push on now and take this Division by storm and get ourselves in to position to get in to Division One . Motm for me was D. Keogan the chap is pure class. Cmon the Royals

Foreveraroyal (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 10/02/2019 22:51:10    2164328

Replying To Aloblack:  "I'm not having this second half collapse nonsense. With a huge wind blowing into one goal the team who had it in whatever half are always gonna dominate. Yes at times in the 1st 20 minutes of the 2nd half we were extremely sloppy but have you ever played into a wind like that? It's extremely difficult to make headway up the pitch. I'm not sure what people expect the team to do..go and win the 2nd half against a huge wind like by 8 or 9 points. Never gonna happen . Playing against a wind like that in the 2nd half with a lead like we had is all about soaking up the onslaught which is inevitably gonna come and then tagging on some scores to Keep them at arms length. We were 9 up at HT and won by 6. Hardly a collapse. Don't be going looking for negatives that aren't there ."
They conceded point after point for the first 10/15 minutes. Personally I thought they should of had 14 or 15 behind the ball and parked the bus for the first 10 minutes. Try and hold armagh to as little scores as possible then push out and change things up. I just felt with better game management we wouldn't have let them back into it like we did.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 10/02/2019 23:26:05    2164340

Replying To Barney123:  "Yeah he has adapted well to midfield. Probably still not an ideal midfield man but him and Menton are the best midfield partnership we have on the panel at the minute.

Seems to be a tactic that he launches a long ball into Newman but I don't think it has worked in any of the games so far. Maybe he shouldn't kick it so high, it gives newmans man time to get set."
Yes i agree both McEntee cousins are playing very well at minute. Although i don't think Shane is a natural midfielder nor is Bryan Menton. But they are our best midfield partnership at present.

However, i thought Adam Flanagan was coming along as he played O'Byrne Cup and was named for Tipperary match only for Shane McEntee to replace him just before throw in. Any information? Is Sean Tobin awol or injured, not named at all today.

And just wondering is Padraic Harnan available?

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 11/02/2019 00:10:15    2164349

If talking about MOM for me it was Thomas o Reilly he just got 2 points but both where real quality. The one in the second half was really impressive. Against the wind. But it was at a real crucial time when we where under real pressure. So often in the past these chances where squandered. But in the second when we where under real pressure. he was down our half line carrying the ball forward. Looked classy on the creating space also. He put in a great ball to Mickey for a goal chance. But unfortunately Mickey could not hold on to. Also in General Thomas has stood out for me.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/02/2019 06:58:07    2164367

Great to get the win, well done to the lads, it was looking bad after HT, was starting to get that sinking feeling of 'we've blown yet another game', but thankfully we finished strong.

This is going to be a tight division!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/02/2019 08:08:32    2164376

No one going to say anything about our kickouts n the 2nd half?

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 11/02/2019 08:28:15    2164381

Replying To born2broyal:  "Very encouraging. Players with the best teams mostly make the right decisions. Although we took some wild shots with the wind in the first half and made things hard for ourselves in the first 20 minutes of the second half by running into contact, we're beginning to cut down on the errors. The last 15 minutes were excellent. I'd say most of the crowd at the match were pleasantly surprised we showed such good game management. No question about the players' fitness and they seem to be developing the mental toughness that Meath teams have been missing for a long time. Campion and O'Reilly are real additions compared to last year and Keoghan outstanding as usual."
Yes........What happened with our midfield ? Did Menton our captain go AWOL for a long period ? Why? Keoghan took the reins ,and yet made mistakes.but an invaluable player and leader. J mc Entee..developing rapidly.Shane ditto. Maybe playing against the wind encouraged the over use of mickey mouse handpassing at times. A lot to work on, but at least we are going in the right direction.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 11/02/2019 08:48:06    2164384

Replying To Selwyn:  "No one going to say anything about our kickouts n the 2nd half?"
Well i actually taught about the kick outs second half and they where poor. But give to keeper a break it was against very strong wind. it was up to our midfield to work hard to try and judge the flight of the ball which they didn't do that well.
But I taught we went short a few times and did quiet well, with James Mc Antee among others doing well.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 11/02/2019 09:55:27    2164410

Replying To Selwyn:  "No one going to say anything about our kickouts n the 2nd half?"
No we're waiting for you to say it. Fire away there.

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 11/02/2019 10:18:32    2164426