Meath V Louth

Replying To meath1977:  "there was a gale blowing in the first half"
Admitedly yes the pitch and wind were both factors but to score three points in over 40minutes against one of the worst teams in the country is very poor.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 31/03/2018 22:04:45    2089810

Replying To Analyst:  "Great to see Conlon getting a run....."
Why????

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 31/03/2018 22:21:23    2089817

Replying To kiloughter:  "Fair point. Patience is a virtue and all that. In our case as alluded by Damien Comer (who did not play against ye last year) in the Times today we have been developing for a few seasons and yet are quite young. From a fans viewpoint delighted we persisted with big Kevin as I always wanted minimum 5 yrs for whoever came in in 2015. I presume ye must stick with Andy McEntee as in fairness when the chips were down ye delivered. Louth are not great but a bit like most bordering counties will look for a performance against a neighbour. Longford will be no mugs but a championship battle Meath need at their stage of development. As for us performance tomorrow even in defeat in the hope that we evolve to tackle our noisey neighbours on May 13th."
Seems to have been the right call sticking with Walsh alright, he was a brilliant player and could turn out to be successful coach if things go his way. Ye we'll have it tough against Longford no doubt, victory certainly isn't certain and even if we do win then it's the Dubs up next and we're just not equipped to beat them at present, that's plain to see.

Galway on the other hand should give them a right game tomorrow, best of luck, hope yous do it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 31/03/2018 23:35:34    2089844

Let's call a spade a spade lads ..it was a disaster of a year so far ..don't see it getting much better

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 01/04/2018 00:17:34    2089850

Lads did you actually see the state of the pitch?? The ball couldnt even bounce out there. Dire straits. Menton, Biggy, Brennan, Lenihan.. to name a few that got a fair few whacks out there. We kept our heads and we sailed on! Longford going to be tough but i reckon with April bringing club to the table we all should be in a good position to do what we need to do! Lads playing fellow players from county to club...where would you get it. Hon the royals!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 01/04/2018 02:36:44    2089852

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Admitedly yes the pitch and wind were both factors but to score three points in over 40minutes against one of the worst teams in the country is very poor."
Yes, totally agree, shocking stuff in the first half. awful. looks like the players where been told not to shoot. passing over and back nobody seem to want the ball. Not pace in attack then getting turned over easily. Throw back to MOD days.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 01/04/2018 07:55:46    2089858

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yes, totally agree, shocking stuff in the first half. awful. looks like the players where been told not to shoot. passing over and back nobody seem to want the ball. Not pace in attack then getting turned over easily. Throw back to MOD days."
Louth had 15 players behind ball. The first time I ever saw a free been taken from about 30 out with not one player In the opposition half ,all retreated. I never saw that in inter county game before.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/04/2018 09:00:16    2089865

Our system is the running game so hold up play for biggy cos and the two mcentees to make the break, while it is not perfect by any means, we are getting better at it. So we have to get use to the patient build ups and lateral passing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/04/2018 09:02:51    2089866

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Let's call a spade a spade lads ..it was a disaster of a year so far ..don't see it getting much better"
That is about it in a nutshell. No point in pretending we have a system even. Its god direct it. Lateral passing with often no purpose. Looks like we may have to start all over again even, unless we want to continue with more of the same rubbish.... 3 points in 20 something mins against a team in Div 3 in a critical match ? that's rubbish !!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 01/04/2018 09:29:00    2089870

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Let's call a spade a spade lads ..it was a disaster of a year so far ..don't see it getting much better"
So far has it really been that different to other seasons ?, we had the weakest 2 teams to play at the end which made us look over our shoulder up to yesterday but we are mid table in division 2, 7 points out if 14 (level on points with fourth place). Overall it seems like a typical Meath league performance from most of the last 10 season's.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 01/04/2018 09:44:05    2089874

Replying To bdbuddah:  "So far has it really been that different to other seasons ?, we had the weakest 2 teams to play at the end which made us look over our shoulder up to yesterday but we are mid table in division 2, 7 points out if 14 (level on points with fourth place). Overall it seems like a typical Meath league performance from most of the last 10 season's."
dead right our best chance gone to get to division one weakest division 2 for years next year will be a different kettle of fish

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 01/04/2018 11:14:08    2089898

Be very interesting to see who is going to line up for OByrne cup final. Half of the team who played yesterday wont be playing it. Be good opportunity for lads who didnt get alot of play in league to play this. Cant see too many travelling for it either.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 01/04/2018 13:48:55    2089925

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Be very interesting to see who is going to line up for OByrne cup final. Half of the team who played yesterday wont be playing it. Be good opportunity for lads who didnt get alot of play in league to play this. Cant see too many travelling for it either."
There were about 8 lads standing by the dugout before the game. They being the 3 that were named but didn't start Lavin McKeever and Luke Moran. Anybody recognie the others, I presume they are the completion of the current panel?

urizen (Meath) - Posts: 115 - 01/04/2018 14:35:19    2089936

Replying To bdbuddah:  "So far has it really been that different to other seasons ?, we had the weakest 2 teams to play at the end which made us look over our shoulder up to yesterday but we are mid table in division 2, 7 points out if 14 (level on points with fourth place). Overall it seems like a typical Meath league performance from most of the last 10 season's."
Most posters saying the League was the priority This year and look how that worked out...Alot of people convinced we were going up.Not really sure what the thinking was behind that ..We simply cannot beat any decent teams it will be more of the same next year ..No chance of promotion in fact another survivial struggle

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 01/04/2018 14:43:52    2089939

Replying To urizen:  "There were about 8 lads standing by the dugout before the game. They being the 3 that were named but didn't start Lavin McKeever and Luke Moran. Anybody recognie the others, I presume they are the completion of the current panel?"
Think Alan Forde was one of them. I wonder how is recovery is going. It must be nearly a year since his injury.

Westtip (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 01/04/2018 14:56:44    2089944

Bit of over reaction here, it's been a poor league campaign but not a disaster, relegation would have been a disaster. We've performed to our level (an average div2 team) as we have done for the majority of the last 10 or so years, it's been nothing different.

I'll accept that, that's very disappointing and highly frustrating because probably most of us remember the good days and we all desperately want to see some signs that we're improving and it's just not happening. But we have to give the new manager some time, Rome wasn't built in a day and all that.

Also, personally I think we're going to find it difficult to improve on the intercounty scene while we persist with such a poor club championship structure, we have to get our house in order first and we simply won't do it!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/04/2018 15:33:58    2089949

Replying To Htaem:  "Bit of over reaction here, it's been a poor league campaign but not a disaster, relegation would have been a disaster. We've performed to our level (an average div2 team) as we have done for the majority of the last 10 or so years, it's been nothing different.

I'll accept that, that's very disappointing and highly frustrating because probably most of us remember the good days and we all desperately want to see some signs that we're improving and it's just not happening. But we have to give the new manager some time, Rome wasn't built in a day and all that.

Also, personally I think we're going to find it difficult to improve on the intercounty scene while we persist with such a poor club championship structure, we have to get our house in order first and we simply won't do it!"
I agree with most of this post but in fairness club competition structures are there to suit the needs and aspirations of the clubs not the county team.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1349 - 01/04/2018 18:50:00    2090073

I think a deep look at ourselves is required. Great work to survive but. Are we happy to survive ? Or do we want to progress? If we have ambitious to progress we need to freshness up the forward and think of the future. Get the young lads on for the championship. The status quo is not working

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 01/04/2018 19:06:39    2090082

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I think a deep look at ourselves is required. Great work to survive but. Are we happy to survive ? Or do we want to progress? If we have ambitious to progress we need to freshness up the forward and think of the future. Get the young lads on for the championship. The status quo is not working"
Want to name a few of the players that deserve a start for championship.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 01/04/2018 19:36:28    2090094

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I think a deep look at ourselves is required. Great work to survive but. Are we happy to survive ? Or do we want to progress? If we have ambitious to progress we need to freshness up the forward and think of the future. Get the young lads on for the championship. The status quo is not working"
I would expect the County Board or the director of football or whoever is monitoring progress.will discuss the failure to meet the stated objective to get promotion, Arising should follow remedial action. As you say status quo is not working,

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 01/04/2018 20:19:09    2090123