Face Facts Worst Meath Team In Years

This is worst Meath team I have seen in years no plan to there game. No hunger to get stuck in. We playing 3 sweepers behind ball so if we do turn it over we have no forward line to kick it to.
Management is struggling, why harry Rooney wasn't starting is a joke. We had a out ball all second half to Brian Conlon Gallagher wouldn't look at him to give him ball and we could build up field kept booting ball into middle of field and we couldn't win anything. Really feel sorry for likes of Keoghan and biggy how they have the passion to go play for that useless team baffles me.
Its embarrassing how bad we are.

MeathOnHill16 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 12/03/2018 19:18:46    2084063

Replying To MeathOnHill16:  "This is worst Meath team I have seen in years no plan to there game. No hunger to get stuck in. We playing 3 sweepers behind ball so if we do turn it over we have no forward line to kick it to.
Management is struggling, why harry Rooney wasn't starting is a joke. We had a out ball all second half to Brian Conlon Gallagher wouldn't look at him to give him ball and we could build up field kept booting ball into middle of field and we couldn't win anything. Really feel sorry for likes of Keoghan and biggy how they have the passion to go play for that useless team baffles me.
Its embarrassing how bad we are."
We still have Louth and Down to play ...so sadly things could get worse !

Everybody would expect use to come out fighting against Louth and Down and get a result ...but i don't know if we hit rock bottom just yet

Hopefully things will get better ,but its hard to stay positive as a fan when there is absolutely nothing to be positive about.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 12/03/2018 21:10:09    2084098

Replying To MeathOnHill16:  "This is worst Meath team I have seen in years no plan to there game. No hunger to get stuck in. We playing 3 sweepers behind ball so if we do turn it over we have no forward line to kick it to.
No plan means bad organisation not necessarily the worst team ever. I feel we not getting the best out of what we have there which is a lot of micko squad anyway.are we goin to win league even doin what I'm saying prob not but I feel we would b more competitive.goalie was a bad call yday and as you said to not use unmarked man in second half is very poor tactically wise. Fear was there you could see that they were afraid to make a risky decision. He has to look at this now,again we have no football coach or it seems that way. Was Mickey burke the worst player at that time to b taken off I seen different.comlon not midfielder yes he played better at wing back our half backs are lost at times and nothing to kick forward to is criminal no tackling from forwards leaves teams easy to cut thru us for scores. Hard to see Andy change now but if he went back to when he took over first and believed in that I think we might get some semblance of a team to follow with pride. Now they need us more than ever I for one will follow them. But I fear for another manager gone and we back to stRt again.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 12/03/2018 21:39:44    2084109

I understand the frustration, I'm sure every Meath fan is feeling the same, but it's nothing new, we've been struggling for a long time. Now I'm sure the lads are doing their best, I'm not here to knock their efforts, it's just that unfortunately it appears their best may not even be good enough to survive in division 2.

I don't think it's fair to say that this is the worst Meath team in years though, we've had 2 or 3 good seasons since 2001, but other than that we've been anywhere between average and weak since 2001. The current team are not clicking at present and it's difficult to take but I can't say they're any poorer than what's gone before them in the recent past, not yet anyhow.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/03/2018 21:52:33    2084112

very true

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 12/03/2018 21:54:59    2084113

Really lads....does this warrant its own thread?? At least all the other counties will see in flashing lights what we the supporters think of the lads. Im not saying we are not the worst team but come on... its own thread!!!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 12/03/2018 22:21:12    2084119

This thread is a bit sensationalist and gratuitous. Who cares if it's the worst Meath team? I've actually seen worse ones but in any case we should focus on solutions and not be so disrespectful to the players currently VOLUNTEERING to represent the county.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 12/03/2018 22:28:55    2084123

Jaysus lads there was a fella on your pages (Royal some thing or other) and he said before the Cavan game ye were better than us, belonged in Div 1 and something about ye were the only team that could beat Dublin due to having a tradition. I told him he was talking pure rubbish. Glad to see for yer own sake ye realise how far behind ye are falling. Ye need to get your underage structures sorted out and I'm afraid is 6/7 years before you reap the rewards.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 12/03/2018 23:17:44    2084133

Replying To Crinigan:  "This thread is a bit sensationalist and gratuitous. Who cares if it's the worst Meath team? I've actually seen worse ones but in any case we should focus on solutions and not be so disrespectful to the players currently VOLUNTEERING to represent the county."
agree with you 100% (and reading your comments -you appear to know you game unlike some) and just wonder how good some of these posters were when trying to play the game - I suspect not very good. It is easy to post up teams and run down players. A little bit of respect goes a long way, sometimes it helps to put the brain in gear before making a comment.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/03/2018 00:57:06    2084148

Its official now, the hurlers are ranked at No 16 in the NHL.

Footballers are currently at No15 i.e seventh in an 8 team Division 2. Now here is a challenge to our footballers, stay ahead of the hurlers!

If the footballers are relegated to Division 3 they automatically drop in the rankings to 17 or 18 in the country!!!

Over to you lads, how can a team drawn from the entire county be ranked lower than a team drawn from a quarter of the county? Surely to (you know what) this can't happen get on the f....ing bikes and perform......if not and I was a county chairman I would seriously look at your level of funding. Instead I would invest the diverted funding in the Minor board, club coaches, hurlers, scor, handball, rounders etc. All activities promoted by the GAA. Any hard headed businessman will invest on a performance basis.

The solution to your woes are beat Louth and Down or else the train will leave the station and won't come back for a long time.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 13/03/2018 01:06:47    2084151

Why do we insist on creating posts like this, I have no problem being critical, in a proper manner, but creating posts look me this is not only disrespectful to players and management but it gives the hoardes from outside the county a good opportunity to have a kick at us, and they don't often need a second invite. Bottom line lads unless we have solutions or constructive criticism, without titles such as "worse
Meath team ever" being bandied about then I suggest we shut up.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 13/03/2018 10:05:33    2084188

Replying To Richieq:  "Why do we insist on creating posts like this, I have no problem being critical, in a proper manner, but creating posts look me this is not only disrespectful to players and management but it gives the hoardes from outside the county a good opportunity to have a kick at us, and they don't often need a second invite. Bottom line lads unless we have solutions or constructive criticism, without titles such as "worse
Meath team ever" being bandied about then I suggest we shut up."
Personally think its an awful shame that someone would want to create this thread. People forget these lads give up their time VOLUNTARILY for their county. All this topic is doing is be belittling the lads and in fairness its not as if moral is not low enough in camp without this type of tripe been created. Shame on the MeathHill16

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/03/2018 10:18:38    2084193

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Personally think its an awful shame that someone would want to create this thread. People forget these lads give up their time VOLUNTARILY for their county. All this topic is doing is be belittling the lads and in fairness its not as if moral is not low enough in camp without this type of tripe been created. Shame on the MeathHill16"
Yeah this thread is a big help alright. Not sure where the line should be drawn as to what is allowed to be posted vs what isn't? Views?

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 13/03/2018 10:54:05    2084208

Personally I don't agree with the setting up of this thread either, I think it was created in haste and born out of frustration. Look we're all frustrated by the way the team is performing and I'd imagine the players and the manager are the most frustrated out of any of us, they're the ones putting the time and effort in and it just isn't happening for them, doesn't get much more frustrating than that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/03/2018 11:09:09    2084217

More accurate to say this is the worse ever period for Meath football since the 1920sz We won a Leinster in 2010 and we don't even look close of winning one for the next 5/6years. Current players who give their time and doing their best not to blame. hoping some of the good work going on at underage will eventually pay off.

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 13/03/2018 12:11:14    2084233

Replying To Htaem:  "Personally I don't agree with the setting up of this thread either, I think it was created in haste and born out of frustration. Look we're all frustrated by the way the team is performing and I'd imagine the players and the manager are the most frustrated out of any of us, they're the ones putting the time and effort in and it just isn't happening for them, doesn't get much more frustrating than that."
Yeah. I wasn't going to post on it, this type of thread is done out of frustration I get that, but it will also be thrown in our faces at every turn over the next couple of years as most of this team will be still playing.
I would ask all to let it drift down. So no need to keep posting, thumbs down this all you want, just don't respond to me, the players deserve better. Please let this be last post. Not the time to discuss this. Let's do it later in the year. Let the panel get on with things

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/03/2018 12:38:42    2084244

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Yeah this thread is a big help alright. Not sure where the line should be drawn as to what is allowed to be posted vs what isn't? Views?"
it's still a football related topic,MeathOnHill16 wording of the tread topic may have been over the top ! But he still asked good questions on football related matters but people just got triggered by the heading !

He questioned the "3 sweepers behind ball so if we do turn it over we have no forward line to kick it to" which is a good point !

He questioned why harry Rooney wasn't starting

He questioned ..We had a out ball all second half to Brian Conlon... Gallagher wouldn't look at him to give him ball and we could build up field kept booting ball into middle of field and we couldn't win anything

He asked a lot of good questions but people decided to attack the heading rather than answer his questions ..which is his own mistake

Maybe if his topic heading was.... Face Facts Worst tactically prepared Meath Team In Years people wouldn't have been triggered and may have created more of debate around his questions !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 13/03/2018 16:14:12    2084308

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "it's still a football related topic,MeathOnHill16 wording of the tread topic may have been over the top ! But he still asked good questions on football related matters but people just got triggered by the heading !

He questioned the "3 sweepers behind ball so if we do turn it over we have no forward line to kick it to" which is a good point !

He questioned ..We had a out ball all second half to Brian Conlon... Gallagher wouldn't look at him to give him ball and we could build up field kept booting ball into middle of field and we couldn't win anything

He asked a lot of good questions but people decided to attack the heading rather than answer his questions ..which is his own mistake

Maybe if his topic heading was.... Face Facts Worst tactically prepared Meath Team In Years people wouldn't have been triggered and may have created more of debate around his questions !"
Excellent post because if im honest i actually didnt even read the rest of his comment...the heading on this just roiled me up.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 13/03/2018 16:27:16    2084311

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "it's still a football related topic,MeathOnHill16 wording of the tread topic may have been over the top ! But he still asked good questions on football related matters but people just got triggered by the heading !

Maybe if his topic heading was.... Face Facts Worst tactically prepared Meath Team In Years people wouldn't have been triggered and may have created more of debate around his questions !"
Fair point

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 13/03/2018 18:35:48    2084330

delete this poll. shocking negativity towards a team who are 4-1-3 for the year.

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 13/03/2018 18:50:47    2084338