Meath V Westmeath

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I agree 100% with everything he says. Paddy O'Rourke's comments were his opinion, which he should have kept to himself as they have done absolutely no one any good what so ever, apart from himself and a few other lazy people who like to keep the negative narrative going towards county football. Any half decent club player or general fitness enthusiast is putting in 5/6 days a week (Collectively/Individually) into there training/preparation for there chosen sport and I can guarantee they don't get the luxuries Mr O'Rourke would have been getting when training with Meath, i.e. Top class coaches, top class meals provided after every session/match, a team of doctors/physios, gym membership, nutritonist's, gear and many more we don't hear about. Meath's time will come again and it will be people like Andy McEntee that we will be thankful to for remaining at the coal face when times were tough instead of taking the easy option and walking away and putting the feet up."
Here here, excellent post. You have put to paper (so to speak) what i feel about the whole thing. I know couple of the lads personally and by God are they training their socks off, managing their personal, work life along with what is asked from them by management both with team and in their own time. AND DO NOT COMPLAIN. They love it and it shows on the pitch. You either have your heart in it and are prepared to do what is asked of you or not and quite honestly any player that complains about the training and what is being asked of them SHOULD leave we don't need lads playing reluctantly, moaning and just been there for the sake of saying they play for Meath.
God be with the days when lads were hardcore training under Sean Boylan. You didnt hear anyone complaining back then. Lads nowadays are spoilt if you ask me, too easy for them to throw their toys of their prams.
Andy will never be the next Boylan but he is taking the rough at the moment and hopefully the smooth will follow. I believe under his watchful eye we will progess.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 08/05/2018 16:13:00    2097328

Replying To BigJoe14:  "I agree 100% with everything he says. Paddy O'Rourke's comments were his opinion, which he should have kept to himself as they have done absolutely no one any good what so ever, apart from himself and a few other lazy people who like to keep the negative narrative going towards county football. Any half decent club player or general fitness enthusiast is putting in 5/6 days a week (Collectively/Individually) into there training/preparation for there chosen sport and I can guarantee they don't get the luxuries Mr O'Rourke would have been getting when training with Meath, i.e. Top class coaches, top class meals provided after every session/match, a team of doctors/physios, gym membership, nutritonist's, gear and many more we don't hear about. Meath's time will come again and it will be people like Andy McEntee that we will be thankful to for remaining at the coal face when times were tough instead of taking the easy option and walking away and putting the feet up."
"I agree 100% with everything he says. Paddy O'Rourke's comments were his opinion, which he should have kept to himself as they have done absolutely no one any good what so ever, apart from himself and a few other lazy people who like to keep the negative narrative going towards county football.

- I am not a fan of Paddy O'Rourke, I met him once and didn't warm to him - but I have some sympathy for him in this regard. Yes, this is his opinion, but he was asked by teh Meath Chronicle for an interview afterwards and he gave his honest view.

Any half decent club player or general fitness enthusiast is putting in 5/6 days a week (Collectively/Individually) into there training/preparation for there chosen sport and I can guarantee they don't get the luxuries Mr O'Rourke would have been getting when training with Meath, i.e. Top class coaches, top class meals provided after every session/match, a team of doctors/physios, gym membership, nutritonist's, gear and many more we don't hear about. -

You are right to some extent here - county players do get some benefits that club players don't enjoy - but most of these lads grew up playing with their clubs and the way the county game has gone they don't get to play with their clubs as often anymore. A point O'Rourke alluded to - ''I've been made Skryne captain and it's been fantastic reintegrating back into the scene, and getting back to being good friends with these lads I grew up with. The isolation is now over. No longer am I away from it for months at a time, just to parachute back in briefly for the county championship''. - I can imagine lads love playing with their clubs and after 8/9 years of only being on teh outside of that getting back to it must be great! I would add that players on different county panels get different levels of benefits and I don't believe the Meath lads get as much as you would imagine. I also know from going to Dunganny a few nights a week for a few years - They arrive in Dunganny at 6.30 (most straight from work or college) and finish after 10.00 - surely they are entitled to be fed!

Meath's time will come again and it will be people like Andy McEntee that we will be thankful to for remaining at the coal face when times were tough instead of taking the easy option and walking away and putting the feet up.

- I certainly agree with this. I am a big fan of McEntee and I don't think Meath could have a better Mentor at this time. I think he is laying foundations that will pay benefits and I think he deserves time. I think he knows and respects the commitments the palyers give and in the background he is trying to do more for them. He has a support team around him that are trying to put structures and funding in place that will assist with this. I also think he wants to work with players who are of a similar mind set to himself - again I can't argue with that - you see it in other counties and also see it in other sports so it is only natural some lads will opt out and Andy probably won't be unduly worried as long as they are guys he doesn't believe will add value

We need to learn all the lessons we can - whether we like them or not. POR is entitled to his opinion and is entitled to express it - so is Andy - I think both sets of comments leave future players in no doubt about what is expected

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 08/05/2018 16:27:27    2097332

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Here here, excellent post. You have put to paper (so to speak) what i feel about the whole thing. I know couple of the lads personally and by God are they training their socks off, managing their personal, work life along with what is asked from them by management both with team and in their own time. AND DO NOT COMPLAIN. They love it and it shows on the pitch. You either have your heart in it and are prepared to do what is asked of you or not and quite honestly any player that complains about the training and what is being asked of them SHOULD leave we don't need lads playing reluctantly, moaning and just been there for the sake of saying they play for Meath.
God be with the days when lads were hardcore training under Sean Boylan. You didnt hear anyone complaining back then. Lads nowadays are spoilt if you ask me, too easy for them to throw their toys of their prams.
Andy will never be the next Boylan but he is taking the rough at the moment and hopefully the smooth will follow. I believe under his watchful eye we will progess."
Very refreshing to read posts like this. I would imagine the players that are working hard and doing their best for Meath football are not impressed with players leaving panel etc..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/05/2018 17:26:54    2097345

Sir. You have just won post of the year.
Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2018 18:28:17    2097359

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Very refreshing to read posts like this. I would imagine the players that are working hard and doing their best for Meath football are not impressed with players leaving panel etc.."
Also if you look at it objectively, por comments came after Clare game. And prior to Cavan. Perhaps it upset the whole system and focus of the panel. ?? Just saying.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2018 18:38:50    2097362

Replying To royaldunne:  "Also if you look at it objectively, por comments came after Clare game. And prior to Cavan. Perhaps it upset the whole system and focus of the panel. ?? Just saying."
I think I referenced that after the Tipp game, I certainly didn't think the timing was good at all and I wondered why he came out with it after we had made a decent start to the league campaign. No harm to the man but I can't believe those comments didn't upset, dissapoint or disturb some of the other players, it may be over simplistic or considered lazy analysis or just stupid to suggest such comments had anything to do with our mid campaign slump in the league but it certainly didn't do any good and it's intetesting to see McEntee reference it now so close to the championship. Time to shove a few words down a few throats perhaps!!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/05/2018 18:55:38    2097365

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Here here, excellent post. You have put to paper (so to speak) what i feel about the whole thing. I know couple of the lads personally and by God are they training their socks off, managing their personal, work life along with what is asked from them by management both with team and in their own time. AND DO NOT COMPLAIN. They love it and it shows on the pitch. You either have your heart in it and are prepared to do what is asked of you or not and quite honestly any player that complains about the training and what is being asked of them SHOULD leave we don't need lads playing reluctantly, moaning and just been there for the sake of saying they play for Meath.
Andy will never be the next Boylan but he is taking the rough at the moment and hopefully the smooth will follow. I believe under his watchful eye we will progess."
And straight away we have another contender for post of the year. You lads are reaffirming my belief in Meath supporters.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2018 18:59:48    2097367

Paddy I rourke was wrong in doin that interview in my book,but Andy McEntee to now of all times to bring it up again is a joke. Why or what is he trying to acheive.it gets better every week.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 08/05/2018 19:15:30    2097373

Replying To Reco:  "Paddy I rourke was wrong in doin that interview in my book,but Andy McEntee to now of all times to bring it up again is a joke. Why or what is he trying to acheive.it gets better every week."
Andy put it to bed. Of that there can be nothing only admiration. Things like paddy's crap cannot be left fester. Just shoot it down and move on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2018 19:27:57    2097376

Replying To Reco:  "Paddy I rourke was wrong in doin that interview in my book,but Andy McEntee to now of all times to bring it up again is a joke. Why or what is he trying to acheive.it gets better every week."
He is trying to lay down a marker and let people know what is required. It's all about the bigger picture, it's not just about what Paddy said either.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/05/2018 19:29:11    2097378

The reporter asked Andy McEntee the question about Paddy O' Rourke....it wasn't like Andy McEntee sat there wanting to talk about Paddy O'Rourke...i am sure he preferred if the subject wasn't brought up also, he couldn't say to the reporter "no comment" i don't want to talk about it ! The question was put forward and he answered it ,thats the way i see it.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 08/05/2018 20:02:12    2097387

Replying To royaldunne:  "And straight away we have another contender for post of the year. You lads are reaffirming my belief in Meath supporters."
haha would you give over with this nonsense...

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/05/2018 20:03:39    2097388

Replying To Richieq:  "I think I referenced that after the Tipp game, I certainly didn't think the timing was good at all and I wondered why he came out with it after we had made a decent start to the league campaign. No harm to the man but I can't believe those comments didn't upset, dissapoint or disturb some of the other players, it may be over simplistic or considered lazy analysis or just stupid to suggest such comments had anything to do with our mid campaign slump in the league but it certainly didn't do any good and it's intetesting to see McEntee reference it now so close to the championship. Time to shove a few words down a few throats perhaps!!!!"
That's exactly what I was thinking

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/05/2018 20:32:17    2097395

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "The reporter asked Andy McEntee the question about Paddy O' Rourke....it wasn't like Andy McEntee sat there wanting to talk about Paddy O'Rourke...i am sure he preferred if the subject wasn't brought up also, he couldn't say to the reporter "no comment" i don't want to talk about it ! The question was put forward and he answered it ,thats the way i see it."
He was asked the question and that is fine but when O'Rourke was asked the question he answered it also. So why is it ok for one person to answer a question and it not alright for another one to do the same?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/05/2018 00:16:20    2097423

Replying To browncows:  "He was asked the question and that is fine but when O'Rourke was asked the question he answered it also. So why is it ok for one person to answer a question and it not alright for another one to do the same?"
Exactly. We all know Andy doesnt hide behind doors and he will answer any question put to him honestly that's what i like most about this man, no bull***t. Hopefully, mentally the lads are going to be set up for this Longford game. No worries about our fitness or stamina. I do feel sorry for them, we are always in the spot light for something or other. But sure look what doesnt kill us makes us stronger.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/05/2018 08:56:33    2097441

Kevin mc stay got abuse from all qtrs held his council and look wot he achieved just saying McEntee cokld have said nothing and prove all wrong.seems wrong

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 09/05/2018 10:18:34    2097473

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Exactly. We all know Andy doesnt hide behind doors and he will answer any question put to him honestly that's what i like most about this man, no bull***t. Hopefully, mentally the lads are going to be set up for this Longford game. No worries about our fitness or stamina. I do feel sorry for them, we are always in the spot light for something or other. But sure look what doesnt kill us makes us stronger."
I suggest these side shows have amusement value only. Andy knows very well the real issue is to deliver a team that is prepared in all areas. The real objective is the team to play to its full potential,and thus show real progress. I think it is realistic to expect a 7or 8 point win against both Westmeath and Longford because both teams are weaker opposition.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1226 - 09/05/2018 10:21:51    2097476

Replying To nobull456:  "I suggest these side shows have amusement value only. Andy knows very well the real issue is to deliver a team that is prepared in all areas. The real objective is the team to play to its full potential,and thus show real progress. I think it is realistic to expect a 7or 8 point win against both Westmeath and Longford because both teams are weaker opposition."
Thats it and its what we should be concentrating on. We need to show that we have made progress but i dont think we can do that until we get over these 2 games. Fair enough 1 is only the O'Bryne cup no big deal at this stage, but we need that win to boost moral, not only players but supporters. We are always said to "look strong" against weaker teams no matter how well we play. So until we start meeting the "big boys" we wont know how good we are, that's just my opinion.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/05/2018 10:41:28    2097480

Replying To Reco:  "Kevin mc stay got abuse from all qtrs held his council and look wot he achieved just saying McEntee cokld have said nothing and prove all wrong.seems wrong"
It was a very low blow he gave by stating to the media that we weren't going to win anything so what is the point. That must have been a punch in the guts for Andy and Co, he is entitled to his opinion on the matter just as much are Mr. O'Rourke is when asked. Nothing wrong in that.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/05/2018 12:05:23    2097506

Replying To browncows:  "He was asked the question and that is fine but when O'Rourke was asked the question he answered it also. So why is it ok for one person to answer a question and it not alright for another one to do the same?"
O Rourke disrespected his former teammates, the Meath management team, future Meath players and supporters who travel to support the team through good times and bad. Very poor judgement on his part.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 09/05/2018 12:12:41    2097510