Tactics if Meath play Dublin next year?

Replying To grahamc9897:  "He said Plenty of chances for lads to come through..Read the comment before you jump all over it"
That's exactly what I meant, plenty of CHANCES for lads.
Let's remember Donal keoghan himself wasn't considered as a great player , then came on when seamus Kenny got injured and made a huge impact. There is a chance for lads on the fringe to knuckle down , iron out a few issues and make a shirt their own. It's the chance that some may take.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/10/2017 19:04:25    2056680

Replying To royaldunne:  "2010 all over again Ollie (minus the ahem at end ) Lol"
Ah Royaldunne another dagger through me Wee heart haha.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/10/2017 19:12:31    2056685

Replying To grahamc9897:  "He said Plenty of chances for lads to come through..Read the comment before you jump all over it"
Honest question here - who, may I ask, are these lads who can bring Meath football forward?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 20/10/2017 19:17:19    2056687

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look if lads are not fully committed perhaps it's better on them to move on at least for a year to refocus themselves on what they want. It's a shame for the county set up, I'd say jones will be the biggest loss of those traveling, Donal, I think his masters has to take precedence, so totally understand that too, when he went to Andy and told him he would play last year but only on the condition he was not captain, and had a couple of mares of games , perhaps he is better off focusing on his degree and coming back afterward.
Plenty of chances for lads to come through and claim a position. Can't wait until first week in Jan"
I love to live in the world you are in, Meath have nothing comeing through at the level of Dublin or even Kildare and if we are going to lose the players you are talking about our goose is Cooked for next year.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 20/10/2017 19:37:16    2056692

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Honest question here - who, may I ask, are these lads who can bring Meath football forward?"
I Have no idea to be honest and never claimed that I did..I was simply pointing out that you misunderstood Royaldunnes Point..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/10/2017 20:29:52    2056700

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I Have no idea to be honest and never claimed that I did..I was simply pointing out that you misunderstood Royaldunnes Point.."
Indeed. I didn't mention any player, but it could be any number if they take their chance

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/10/2017 21:43:51    2056710

More directionless negativity. Yeah let's never play Dublin again because we might lose. The majority of you need to dry your eyes and man up. Your attitudes stink.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 20/10/2017 23:01:35    2056722

If lads are considering travelling next year I'd like to think they will stick around for the league before departing. The league is what really matters. That's when we need them.

If they want to travel while we either get beaten by Longford or hammered out the gates then I'd encourage that.

And yes if they were dubs they'd probably not be leaving. It's a completely different ball game across the border.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/10/2017 06:08:36    2056731

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "More directionless negativity. Yeah let's never play Dublin again because we might lose. The majority of you need to dry your eyes and man up. Your attitudes stink."
Ah will ya give over......its not negativety.....its simply being honest with ourselves and stating things factually.....we are so far behind Dublin it's scary and I can say now in my opinion no matter how the league goes or what players we have we aren't Getting within 8 points of them. Believe you me that sickens nobody more then myself but it's just the reality of it now.....and to suggest that fans showing blind faith and possitivity on a forum is somehow going to change the outcome is make believe stuff altogether.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 21/10/2017 06:31:39    2056733

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "More directionless negativity. Yeah let's never play Dublin again because we might lose. The majority of you need to dry your eyes and man up. Your attitudes stink."
Ye I think some people are a bit too quick to raise the white flag, we don't even kick a competitive ball until February (I enjoy O'Byrne cup but it doesn't really count) so I'd reserve judgement for a bit.

Especially where the championship is concerned, I know we haven't done anything in a long while but a new year always brings new hope. However if you surrender before we even start then all hope is gone.....so what's the bloody point?

Ps, I'm not saying we're going to have a good year and I'm not saying we're going to have a bad year, all I am saying is we have to wait and see.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/10/2017 09:25:13    2056743

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Ah will ya give over......its not negativety.....its simply being honest with ourselves and stating things factually.....we are so far behind Dublin it's scary and I can say now in my opinion no matter how the league goes or what players we have we aren't Getting within 8 points of them. Believe you me that sickens nobody more then myself but it's just the reality of it now.....and to suggest that fans showing blind faith and possitivity on a forum is somehow going to change the outcome is make believe stuff altogether."
But in fairness you did say "Now it's a first week of july exit again I'm afraid", now that is negativity no matter what way you dress it up.

As for being behind Dublin, well yes of course we are, everybody is, the challenge at this stage is to try and close the gap, not beat them off the park! Anyway we're not playing Dublin, we're playing Longford, let's talk about the Dubs the next time we play them.

Ps, again I'm not saying you're wrong in your assessment, but why be so pessimistic 7 months ahead of the championship?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/10/2017 10:17:29    2056751

In relation to these stories about players not playing next year, has there been a new panel/squad picked and they are not part of it or is it all just rumours?

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 21/10/2017 11:40:21    2056769

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Ah will ya give over......its not negativety.....its simply being honest with ourselves and stating things factually.....we are so far behind Dublin it's scary and I can say now in my opinion no matter how the league goes or what players we have we aren't Getting within 8 points of them. Believe you me that sickens nobody more then myself but it's just the reality of it now.....and to suggest that fans showing blind faith and possitivity on a forum is somehow going to change the outcome is make believe stuff altogether."
I agree with you and saying it as you see it is not being pessimistic. Sometimes you have to be able to assess accurately where you are before you start on a successful journey. Some folk write off the O'Byrne cup and say that it is nothing yet interesting enough JIm Gavin (the stand out manager of our time) has quoted it in his success this year. It was won for the first time in 10 years over 1 year ago - winning any competition is good and the Dubs won it last year with a second string. The problem inside the county at present is that you could put out another team, as good as the present one -but it would be no more successful. It is very difficult for players to commit knowing that in the next year or two you are not going to beat the Dubs- the standout team of our time. Now over time I see the team improving (I hope) and I see the Dubs falling from the high level that they are now at-when the decline comes is difficult to predict and I do not go along with this notion of money bringing success. You need the players, you need the commitment and you need the prospect of success. Some posters say it is all about the league- when did the league become more important than the championship? You start where you are and win as many matches as you can going forward-build confidence. I wish everyone involved the very best going forward and just hope that the fools of supporters stay at home- the ones who shout abuse from the stands/side lines when things go wrong on the field of play.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/10/2017 12:31:31    2056777

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I Have no idea to be honest and never claimed that I did..I was simply pointing out that you misunderstood Royaldunnes Point.."
Indeed. I didn't mention any player, but it could be any number if they take their chance

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/10/2017 19:52:07    2056868

Replying To Richieq:  "And you bother contributing here why????"
because iv followed meath all my life, followed meath club football all my life,, an to be quite honest i find some of whats been said here very embarrassing,,,,,,;HERES A REALISTIC TOPIC FOR US ALL TACTICS TO TRY AN BEAT LONGFORD,,,,

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 22/10/2017 09:08:14    2056931

Replying To otherlad:  "because iv followed meath all my life, followed meath club football all my life,, an to be quite honest i find some of whats been said here very embarrassing,,,,,,;HERES A REALISTIC TOPIC FOR US ALL TACTICS TO TRY AN BEAT LONGFORD,,,,"
At last......some sense

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 889 - 22/10/2017 19:46:53    2057038

Replying To otherlad:  "because iv followed meath all my life, followed meath club football all my life,, an to be quite honest i find some of whats been said here very embarrassing,,,,,,;HERES A REALISTIC TOPIC FOR US ALL TACTICS TO TRY AN BEAT LONGFORD,,,,"
And so have I but coming out with statements like concede a walkover and save our supporters the expense and embarrassment is utter rubbish, stay at home and don't be a supporter if you fear expense or embarrassment, comments like that are demeaning towards the efforts of our players, we mightn't be at the top table but that doesn't mean our players aren't putting in massive effort, they don't go out to embarrass anyone. A more careful choice of words is required I would suggest

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/10/2017 21:34:58    2057073

Some of you Meath boys give Royaldunne a hard time, but I'll tell you this, if your county board, players and backroom team had half his passion for Meath instead of rolling over like a puppy dog, things might get better!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 22/10/2017 23:33:28    2057096

Replying To Richieq:  "And so have I but coming out with statements like concede a walkover and save our supporters the expense and embarrassment is utter rubbish, stay at home and don't be a supporter if you fear expense or embarrassment, comments like that are demeaning towards the efforts of our players, we mightn't be at the top table but that doesn't mean our players aren't putting in massive effort, they don't go out to embarrass anyone. A more careful choice of words is required I would suggest"
Ye it seems to be fashionable around here to be hopelessly negative and if you're not pessimistic then you're not talking sense, it's pretty dire stuff, very uninspiring and worse again, some people try to mask it as realism.

Realism is acknowledging that we are not a top team but as you say, our players are putting in a huge effort and deserve a bit of respect. Saying we'll be out the first week of july is just throwing dirt at our players, give them a chance for jaysus sake!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/10/2017 08:17:36    2057113

Replying To realdub:  "Some of you Meath boys give Royaldunne a hard time, but I'll tell you this, if your county board, players and backroom team had half his passion for Meath instead of rolling over like a puppy dog, things might get better!"
Royaldunne has great passion for Meath football that can only be admired...if Royaldunne was playing football for Meath now against Dublin he would probably get a red card 5 minutes in because of his passion :)

Rules in football now only suit puppy dogs....

And the Dublin Gaa basketball team.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 23/10/2017 16:28:22    2057284